Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dash cam saves your ass (no Roundabout stuff please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

if I had more time on my hands I'd find him and troll him ta fcuk, in real life like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,088 ✭✭✭celticbest

moxin wrote: »
    He is the same cyclist who had the famous "Motorist Meltdown" video a while back that went viral with hundreds of thousands of views. Too much publicity made him take it down but there are other copies out there! :D

As you can see, he ain't any angel at all.

The word that comes to mind to describe him is Pr!ck....

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Spook_ie wrote: »
    Probably, but there were a lot of cyclists all around the bus to be watching for, overtaking on the right, overtaking on the left, cycling in the middle of the bus lane, really is time for them to remove the "mandatory" cycle lanes and put them to better use giving people in ALL classes of traffic more room on Dublin's evermore congested streets

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057222705

eerr, Cyclists don't "have" to use the cycle lane. They removed that requirement.
    Problem is if cyclist then don't use the cycle lanes...such as in this situation no doubt the bus driver would complain that the cyclist should have been in the cycle lane.

Cyclists just can't win when it comes to people driving with no due care or attention,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Cabaal wrote: »
    Cyclists just can't win when it comes to people driving with no due care or attention,

Oh you mean like this cyclist who not only changed lane (from the cycle lane to the far right lane) without signaling but also straddles the white line while trying to put his headphones back in

http://i.imgur.com/CwfqwcP.png

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,574 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

moxin wrote: »
    As you can see, he ain't any angel at all.

Thing is, he's still perfectly in the right in that video. She completely overreacted.

You'll also notice that every single other car on that road is slightly to the right allowing traffic on the left to pass,

She's the only one who decided to drive on the right side of the road thus blocking his progress as she left zero space for him to pass her on the proper side of the road, if she had met a car she would have had to pull over to make space....so how is it any different for a bike?

Caliden wrote: »
    Oh you mean like this cyclist who not only changed lane (from the cycle lane to the far right lane) without signaling but also straddles the white line while trying to put his headphones back in

http://i.imgur.com/CwfqwcP.png

So another cyclist doing something else makes what the bus driver did ok?

The bus driver was still driving with no due care and attention, he shou;dn't be in the cycle lane like he was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

Cabaal wrote: »
    So another cyclist doing something else makes what the bus driver did ok?

The bus driver was still driving with no due care and attention, he shouldn't be in the cycle lane like he was.

Just poking holes in your statement "Cyclists just can't win....".

Just because he can go inside the bus doesn't mean he should. The bus driver was in the wrong but to risk your life to prove a point is the dumbest thing I've ever heard.

Anyone on the road must do their upmost to avoid a collision. If I crashed into an illegally parked car blocking my path I'd still be at fault.

Kind of reminds me of this video:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bzE-IMaegzQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Guys, there is a thread discussing the topic of the cyclist and bus issue on both the Motors and Cycling forum. I feel that this thread should be for Dashcams and not helmet cam related videos. As cyclist discussions tend to become heated in the Motors forum and have the potential to poison otherwise good threads like this one.

Drop me a PM if you have any problems with this!

Sheep (not) crossing

Possibly sick...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

You must have been terrifying the life out of it running up on it like that.
    Definitely sick or it would have moved with you at that racket.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,016 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Who the hell would act like that? Just go around, if you know the area contact the farmer, if you know what your at, move yourself, otherwise just notify the nearest house who hopefully will know the farmer. PRAT of a driver. If nothing else, don't act the maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Possibly sick...

Sheep or a driver?

CiniO wrote: »
    Sheep or a driver?
    both! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Some sheep in fairness (especially when used to traffic) just couldn't give a f*ck :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

Iwannahurl wrote: »
    Dashcam saves ass.

Dumb Ass!
    Proof that this is a simple intelligence test can separate the smart animals from the dumb ones, smart ones (like cats) just jump off the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,507 ✭✭✭Nino Brown

Dumb Ass!
    Proof that this is a simple intelligence test can separate the smart animals from the dumb ones, smart ones (like cats) just jump off the road.

He was taking a primary position, he has just as much right to be on the road as the lorry does!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭dashcamdanny

Nino Brown wrote: »
    He was taking a primary position, he has just as much right to be on the road as the lorry does!:D

Just like a cyclist. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭12 element

Just like a cyclist. :D

Thats_the_joke.jpg

Vw driver overtakes cyclists (mother and son I suppose) riding in two abrests.

1. It's understandable why mother is riding on the outside of her son on busy road, for safety reasons.
    2. But it's not understandable, why she actually rides on a busy road, while on the other side of the road, there is newly designed bike lane.
    3. Vw driver is complete idiot for overtaking them by inches. I'd say he was close to swiping them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Get In There

CiniO wrote: »
    Vw driver overtakes cyclists (mother and son I suppose) riding in two abrests.

1. It's understandable why mother is riding on the outside of her son on busy road, for safety reasons.
    2. But it's not understandable, why she actually rides on a busy road, while on the other side of the road, there is newly designed bike lane.
    3. Vw driver is complete idiot for overtaking them by inches. I'd say he was close to swiping them off.

The only thing wrong in that video is irresponsible and dangerous driving by the vw driver.

Cyclists are grand as they are cycling on the correct side of the road.

The only thing wrong in that video is irresponsible and dangerous driving by the vw driver.

Cyclists are grand as they are cycling on the correct side of the road.

I disagree.
    Mother taking her kid onto busy, fairly narrow road on bicycle, when there is perfectly good bike lane just there, is not right.
    It might be legal, but it's not right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Mick55

This car tailgated me for about 5kms ( I was doing the speed limit the whole time ) and decides to overtake into oncoming traffic on a double white line. Middle aged woman, tried intimidating me my moving to the left and right of the car filling my rear view mirrors. I wouldn't mind but there was no cars coming before that, she waits until there is oncoming traffic and then overtakes. Completely erratic driving, I was bemused more than intimidated!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Mick55 wrote: »
    This car tailgated me for about 5kms ( I was doing the speed limit the whole time ) and decides to overtake into oncoming traffic on a double white line. Middle aged woman, tried intimidating me my moving to the left and right of the car filling my rear view mirrors. I wouldn't mind but there was no cars coming before that, she waits until there is oncoming traffic and then overtakes. Completely erratic driving, I was bemused more than intimidated!

Woooow, so dangerous, everyone had to stop! :rolleyes: I've seen far worse examples of overtaking.

Why not move over to the left, let the tailgater overtake and that's the end of story instead of staying in the lane, being annoyed and annoying the person behind you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Mick55

Sobanek wrote: »
    Woooow, so dangerous :rolleyes:

Why not move over to the left, let the tailgater overtake and that's the end of story instead of staying in the lane, being annoyed and annoying the person behind you?

The lane to my left is a bus lane, why the fcuk would I break the law and drive in the bus lane to facilitate someone driving like a knob. She had the problem not me, I wasn't annoyed but as I said.. bemused.

Mick55 wrote: »
    The lane to my left is a bus lane, why the fcuk would I break the law and drive in the bus lane to facilitate someone driving like a knob. She had the problem not me, I wasn't annoyed but as I said.. bemused.

Still think moving a bit to the left would be the safest option and the situation picture above would've never happened.

Win=Win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

from 3 seconds in, you can clearly see a sign warning that the BUS LANE on the left ends soon anyway

if she was in that much of a hurry, she should have went in the bus lane herself...or calmed the fcuk down and acted normally

Still think moving a bit to the left would be the safest option and the situation picture above would've never happened.
    Garda: Why were you in the bus lane?
    Driver: I was being safe and letting people overtake me even though I was at the speed limit and they had plenty of opportunity to overtake me for the last 5km, where is was safe to do so, I thought I'd encourage a dodgy overtake here instead.
    Garda: Right so, here is your FPN for being civil.

Loss of clarity to driveways and loss of priority/right of way at other junctions, they are far more likely to have a collision at junctions, its one of the main reasons that cyclists are opposed to poorly designed bike lanes. Her son is in the hard shoulder and she is pretty much straddling the yellow line.

That's why I don't post in this topic anymore. Everything's so black and white to all.

/final goodbye, unfollowing this.