Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Glorious Vincent Browne Idolatry Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 759 ✭✭✭Plautus

Dudess wrote: »
    Good journo but shocking presenter - can't string a sentence together and really rude. You can be a tough interviewer without the latter - look at Paxman. Saw VB on a train pissed and giving out shyte because there were no seats left. Seemed like an angry wino. :pac:

... and that's why he's my hero and I want to be him when I grow up :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I had a lecturer like VB. He was opinionated, full of himself, dictatorial, argumentative and general a grumpy aul bástard. The kind of person the majority of people dislike immensely. But at the back of it all he was sound as a pound, always straight down the line when it came to marking and the kind of man who you know would lend ya a few quid if you were stuck.

VB is a legend, one of the few honest people in the media. His performance against that Troika dude brought a tear to me eye and a tent to me trousers. Fair play to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

We must not forget the relentless questioning of Bertie on his finances and how it eventually led to Bertie resigning as Taoiseach.

VB is the type of journalist we need now more than ever. He may be gruff, stutters at times, gets worked up but he asks the questions of our political leaders that our state broadcaster is afraid to ask.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,890 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

NinjaK wrote: »
    He is the only journalist on tv that bats for the little guy, the rest like on Prime Time and RTE just represent big business and rich people. I find it interesting that he is the one being pointed out here, suppose its not surprising for boards.ie

He worked for RTE before. I used to listen to him on Tonight with Vincent Browne which ran from 1996 to 2007. In the latter years of his tenure I don't recall him telling the politicians they were running a bubble economy which was heading for a crash. He is a rich man himself and I don't think he would move in the same circles of society as the little guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

He's rough around the edges for sure and I think the set and production values in his TV3 programme do him no favours, but when it comes down to it, he's one of few voices out there that's willing to pipe up and do the often unpopular thing in the name of the public interest.

What I like about him is that as a journalist he's less motivated by ratings than he is truth-seeking - he's been causing ruptions at government press conferences for years, long before he had his own TV show, and as a presenter he's essentially 'un-polishable' because he couldn't give a sh1t about optics or keeping up appearances. He's clearly uncomfortable in a TV studio, he's terrible at reading the autocue, worse at taking cues from producers and regularly talks over his guests. It's rare that someone like that would be given their own programme and much rarer that it would succeed, TV's about the visuals first and foremost.

But it does so because he's a cranky [EMAIL="b@stard"]b@stard[/EMAIL] who won't accept watered-down drivel as an answer to an important question and he just won't be shut up, qualities that are needed now more than ever in Irish media.

• Registered Users Posts: 396 ✭✭IsaacWunder

He worked for RTE before. I used to listen to him on Tonight with Vincent Browne which ran from 1996 to 2007. In the latter years of his tenure I don't recall him telling the politicians they were running a bubble economy which was heading for a crash. He is a rich man himself and I don't think he would move in the same circles of society as the little guy.

His RTE radio show didn't cover economics, instead the focus was on current affairs, especially the tribunals. The radio show was somewhat more cerebral than his TV show, but that's the nature of television, especially TV3, it's dumbed down.

Whether he should have covered economics on the radio is a different matter. I would say no. RTE already had the likes of George Lee and others doing that full time; people whose real job was to tell politicians that the economy was a bubble. Browne, on his RTE radio show, certainly implied that there was a malaise at the core of Europe's wunderkind economy, the Celtic tiger, by focusing doggedly on both the corruption in public life generally, and the finances of spoofer Ahern specifically. He spent hours discussing the tribunals at a time that people didn't care about the past. I myself stopped listening to his show because I was bored of debates about Quarryvale and the Kenny report. Looking back on it now though I have to admit that he was absolutely right to focus on that era. If the corruption in the 80's was addressed and measures had been implemented to control the price of land and limit the powers of councillors to rezone the worst excesses of the property bubble would have been avoided.

Is he a rich man? I don't know. There was a story recently about how he was being forced to sell his home which would indicate he's suffering the same financial difficulties as many others. Have you got any proof that he's rich?

You say you don't think he moves in the same circles of society as the little guy, but since he's been a consistent thorn in the side of the establishment I don't think he spends his evenings drinking sherries in Dublin's finest 19th holes with Peter Sutherland. He's the only TV presenter to regularly feature representatives from community groups on his panel, and he's even gone down to the likes of Occupy Dame Street with a camera crew. He's doing a lot more to bring a voice to the voiceless than most of the media establishment.

TL;DR: I think he genuinely gives a sh1t.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,177 ✭✭✭nyarlothothep

He humiliated the Troika and oooh was it so richly deserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭emo72

orangebud wrote: »
    fair play to him for asking the right questions, the smirk on Klaus Masuch face yesterday was an insult to the irish people

how this ****er swans in and out of our country, smirking at us is beyond me. soon.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,405 ✭✭✭Lone Stone

Vincent Browne is a legend !! i wish he was my dad.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,890 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

His RTE radio show didn't cover economics, instead the focus was on current affairs, especially the tribunals. The radio show was somewhat more cerebral than his TV show, but that's the nature of television, especially TV3, it's dumbed down.

Whether he should have covered economics on the radio is a different matter. I would say no. RTE already had the likes of George Lee and others doing that full time; people whose real job was to tell politicians that the economy was a bubble. Browne, on his RTE radio show, certainly implied that there was a malaise at the core of Europe's wunderkind economy, the Celtic tiger, by focusing doggedly on both the corruption in public life generally, and the finances of spoofer Ahern specifically. He spent hours discussing the tribunals at a time that people didn't care about the past. I myself stopped listening to his show because I was bored of debates about Quarryvale and the Kenny report. Looking back on it now though I have to admit that he was absolutely right to focus on that era. If the corruption in the 80's was addressed and measures had been implemented to control the price of land and limit the powers of councillors to rezone the worst excesses of the property bubble would have been avoided.

Is he a rich man? I don't know. There was a story recently about how he was being forced to sell his home which would indicate he's suffering the same financial difficulties as many others. Have you got any proof that he's rich?

You say you don't think he moves in the same circles of society as the little guy, but since he's been a consistent thorn in the side of the establishment I don't think he spends his evenings drinking sherries in Dublin's finest 19th holes with Peter Sutherland. He's the only TV presenter to regularly feature representatives from community groups on his panel, and he's even gone down to the likes of Occupy Dame Street with a camera crew. He's doing a lot more to bring a voice to the voiceless than most of the media establishment.

TL;DR: I think he genuinely gives a sh1t.

Now that you ask I don't have any proof he is rich. I can't find out what TV3 are paying him (fair enough they don't get our licence fee) but I hope it is nowhere near the top salaries in RTE or as much as the Taoiseach for that matter. He only managed to get €2.7 million for that house in Dalkey instead of €3.25m he was asking so I suppose he must be suffering.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

SeaFields wrote: »
    We must not forget the relentless questioning of Bertie on his finances and how it eventually led to Bertie resigning as Taoiseach.

VB is the type of journalist we need now more than ever. He may be gruff, stutters at times, gets worked up but he asks the questions of our political leaders that our state broadcaster is afraid to ask.

He wasn't so relentless in the radio interview with Bertie that night, no cameras and a tiny audience.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Rumpybumpy

I saw him once......on the telly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

a stuttering, spluttering incoherent, socialist fool, can see the ecb and imf shaking in their boots!!!!!! not!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Just saw the footage on youtube of Browne actually daring to ask some questions of these f*ckers while they're here fulfilling their role as extortionists; you'd think the other 'journalists' there would also wish to ask some searching questions, but, as usual, it would seem not.
    I disagree with Browne on a number of things, including, to some extent, his approach to these issues on his show; but he's currently providing the only platform in mainstream media in this country where these issues can be in any way seriously discussed.
    And, in this instance, he displayed how he's pretty much the only journalist/commentator in this country with the will/balls/desire to ask the questions you'd expect of someone fulfilling that role.
    The obfuscation/discomfort displayed by the crook he was interrogating spoke volumes; but, as anyone paying attention to this stuff knows, that was to be expected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭john reilly

Its alot easier asking questions than providing answers. VB has the questions has he the answers, listening to him he would give those not working more and the only place you can get that is from those who are working, if that is the answer then iam out

• Registered Users Posts: 789 ✭✭✭The Internet Explorer

I heard he once killed an ostrich with his bare hands. Then he ate it. Raw.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

a stuttering, spluttering incoherent, socialist fool, can see the ecb and imf shaking in their boots!!!!!! not!!!!!

He may be a 'socialist fool' or he may not.
    I wouldn't describe myself as a socialist and, to be honest, i think Browne, despite some of his blustering about 'inequality', often betrays the fact that he isn't truly a socialist.
    But that's beside the point regarding his asking of questions that needed to be asked, in this instance; hopefully it will set a precedent to be followed in this country.
    By the way, if you're so anti the idea of socialism, you should have serious problems with the ECB and IMF, given that they're here strictly to direct ,and to profit from, the socialisation of private-debt.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Jess16

Vincent is the only person in this country who doesn't just ask the questions we all want answered but actually persists in pursuing the answer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭zenno

I think Vincent Brown looks like a homeless man that smells like piss. If I passed him in the street I'd give him half a sandwich.

I quite like him in that video though!

the facts stand out in relation to you're comment, as in you are a hypocrite.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

I heard he once killed an ostrich with his bare hands. Then he ate it. Raw.

I'd believe it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Should it be illegal to breastfeed when your on take me out if it annoys Vincent Browne?

I don't know the pro side make a good argument of pectora omnium

But the against side think Ray Foley is a danger to society and if he ever saw tit he'd pull the badger off of himself live on TV.

Then again Vinny might have a heart attack...

What do you think?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,528 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Nice broad parody thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Pin_Cushion

if he ever saw tit he'd pull the badger off of himself

Best part.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Bad parody threads make the baby Jesus cry.

Personally I feel this thread is egregiously up its own arse.

BADGERBADGERBADGERBADGERBAGDERBAGDERBAGDER

MUSHROOM MUSHROOM

A SNAKE A SNAKE AS NAKE

*IN VINCENT BROWNES MIND*

The world is confusing. I should complain. Enda Kenny is a transvestits. Those damn badgers bankrupted this country and I, only I, can bring them to Justice as I am the keeper of ring.
    eh, well,is it not, eh i mean is so, eh hahaha, very good, no, now No that is not true. *SMIRK*

The charisma of a lobotomised light bulb. Have a face on me like I'm dying from severe intestinal bleeding

only I can discover the truth behind who stole Cowens cookies.
    *smirk*

God. GOD. GOD GAAWWWDDDDD, will someone shut up that blathering oaf!!!11

• Registered Users Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭brimal

Someone has done a thread merge for the lulz

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭Pin_Cushion

Best one I heard about Vinny B was one of Mario Rosenstock's sketches where he said Vincent looked like "Ken Dodd gone wrong"