Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peppa Pig is evil?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

Sleepy wrote: »
    Anyone else notice the inherent socialist call-to-arms in Ben & Holly? The fairies are all morons that live in a palace whilst the industrious elves live in a tower block!
    Hadn't noticed that until you mentioned it. But really, it's only the King fairy that is the moran, the rest are fairly OK.
    Tabnabs wrote: »
    Plenty of comedy in Ben & Holly to keep the adults amused, the "mutiny on the Bunty" line cracks me up every time :pac:
    Nanny Plum does it for me. "Do you speak chicken, Nanny Plum?" :D

• Registered Users Posts: 5,776 ✭✭✭up for anything

Ayla wrote: »
    I find this thread hysterical b/c I have absolutely no idea what any of you are talking about...I've never even heard of half the shows that've been mentioned, and I'm quite proud that neither of my children have either.

We don't own a tv so quite happily miss all shows. We do watch a dvd on the laptop from time to time but that seems much less pervasive then daytime sitcoms/cartoons. The rest of the day the kids play.
    Ayla wrote: »
    Fair questions. I object to the fact that - in every house I go to here - the tv is always on in the background. It's like a social crutch that many people use to serve as a focal point in the room & I find it distracting when people have to try to avoid looking at it so they can have a conversation. In my experience, a lot more personal interaction goes on when there isn't a tv in the room. And yes, of course, there is an "off" button - I just wish people knew when to use it. :)

Bluntly, I don't like how my girls (aged 5 & 2) turn into zombies when they're in front of a tv. They tune out completely and instantly ignore everyone in the room. The argument could be made that maybe they do this b/c they don't have daily access, but it does this to them why would I want to give them daily access? Watching a dvd is enough for "downtime."

My sister never had TV on principle. Her three children have grown up to watch enough TV now to make up for each of them having had 18 years of missing it. :D:D:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

My sister never had TV on principle. Her three children have grown up to watch enough TV now to make up for each of them having had 18 years of missing it. :D:D:

As a child I had severely limited access to tv and yes, when I had the choice I o-ded on it but once I got it out of my system I came around and have had no tv since my twenties. My kids (over 3) watch about half an hour of cartoons on the laptop per week (so that I can comb my daughter's extremely tangled hair- more often if there is a nit epidemic going around or if they're sick). They like Charlie and Lola or cartoons from the 70's and 80's like Mr Benn (nothing scary ever happens in Mr Benn) Button Moon, the Clangers, Flaherty's Garden. I would have serious reservations about exposing kids under three to any kind of screen time- tv or computer, but that is just how we choose to parent.

One of the reasons we chose an all or nothing stance is because I know that once I started using the tv as a babysitter I would find it hard to regulate myself and limit it.

Another reason we don't have tv or radio is to limit the exposure to advertising. I studied psychology and was disgusted to learn that many companies aim to create brand loyalty before the child can talk. imho it is unfair to expose a child like this before they have learned to discriminate for themselves.

The attitude coming from some posters here towards ayla is very telling. There are as many different ways to parent as there are parents and boards is full of conflicting opinions on how to raise your child. Why get so het up because one poster decides to do things against the tide? Unless there's some guilt going around..? I really think that parents expend far too much of their precious energy on feeling guilty about the decisions they make. You are the parent. You choose how it goes in your house. If you're doing your best by your kids own it, be proud of it but don't shove it down anyone's throat or be upset if someone else chooses a different path.

(rant over, sorry)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭Melion

To be honest, i think the kids who arent allowed watch TV will lose out in the long run. When all their friends in school are talking about the latest cartoons etc they will have no idea what is going on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Rosy Posy

Melion wrote: »
    To be honest, i think the kids who arent allowed watch TV will lose out in the long run. When all their friends in school are talking about the latest cartoons etc they will have no idea what is going on.

We struggle with this, but it doesn't seem to make or break friendships and hopefully go some way to teaching them to dance to their own beat rather than follow the crowd...you could similarly argue that the teenager that doesn't drink/have underage sex/smoke will be left out but you won't find too many parents encouraging that kind of activity. Not that I'm equating the two. I fully expect my kids to resent me for the stand that I take but I'm there to be their parent, not their friend. I hasten to add that we're only strict in our own house- if we go to a friends house and they're watching age appropriate tv I don't force them to leave/blindfold them...I'm not a total nazi...

• Registered Users Posts: 24,196 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Hadn't noticed that until you mentioned it. But really, it's only the King fairy that is the moran, the rest are fairly OK.

Nanny Plum does it for me. "Do you speak chicken, Nanny Plum?" :D
    Not really: Queen Thistle is utterly self-absorbed; Nanny Plum unleashes havoc ever time she attempts magic and the little sisters are spoiled brats who never seem to get disciplined in any shape or form...

I've seen *WAY* too much of this show...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,319 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I must check out a few of these series. What would people recommend for 2-5 year olds? They've seen a few Peppa pigs but were not particularly keen on them. Sesame street is popular but it's not that easy get hold of full episodes. Ben and Holly seemed a bit too lollipops and rainbows from the five minutes I watched of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

I must check out a few of these series. What would people recommend for 2-5 year olds? They've seen a few Peppa pigs but were not particularly keen on them. Sesame street is popular but it's not that easy get hold of full episodes. Ben and Holly seemed a bit too lollipops and rainbows from the five minutes I watched of it.

Ben & Holly is a modern day Magic Roundabout, only less subtle.
    Watch it, it's amazing. :D

Others that our two like that shouldn't completely do your head in: humf, little einsteins, babar (it was Mammy's favourite cartoon as a child).

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,319 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I loved Babar but the kids won't watch it in English now that they've got used to watching it in French. Personally I think they're just being dicks about it because they won't stop short of watching other favourites in Polish or Norwegian.

Little Einsteins doesn't look too bad. Cheers.

How old is the youngest? I recently acquired copies of the Mysterious Cities of Gold, Thundercats and Dogtanian for our 6 year old.

Some of the TV of our youth was *way* ahead of the stuff they have now... then again, looking back on much of it (He-Man, Mask, Transformers etc.) an awful lot of it was little more than advertising!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

How old is the youngest? I recently acquired copies of the Mysterious Cities of Gold, Thundercats and Dogtanian for our 6 year old.

Some of the TV of our youth was *way* ahead of the stuff they have now... then again, looking back on much of it (He-Man, Mask, Transformers etc.) an awful lot of it was little more than advertising!

I'm persuming you downloaded the cartoons you named?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 17,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭Das Kitty

davet82 wrote: »
    I'm persuming you downloaded the cartoons you named?

They're available on DVD.

Really? I thought these classics would be only on VHS

Well I got Dogtanian from Amazon and it's sitting on my shelf at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

Some favourites of my daughter when she was in the 2 - 5 bracket were Balamory (younger end of the scale), Dora and her absolute all time favourite Bear in the Big Blue house.

• Administrators Posts: 13,901 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

Bear is my favourite too.... I'm 34!!

Whatever happened to blues clues and that annoying scouse lad?

I definitely saw that last year... horrific!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Blue's Clue's is in the middle of the night on Nick Jr

• Registered Users Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

I used to watch a few shows with my niece...

I hate Blues Clues with a passion, but thats an adult thing, I think kids like the repetition. I cant tell the episodes apart, Im not %100 I didn't just see one episode a bunch of times.

I don't like Peppa Pig, cause she is a bit of a brat, always has to be the center of attention and is mean to her brother. Also they carry on like fairly stuck up middle class people, the grand father owns a boat, and likes to take it out sailing, etc. And they live in a house, that doesnt seem to have any other houses near it, i.e. a big house in the country.

I really like Humf, cause its much more down to earth. I hoped my niece took some messages from it. They live in an apartment, not a house in the middle of nowhere. You can hear the neighbors through the walls. One episode, you could see his parents were having a party, and he didnt really understand what it was cause he wasnt invited. His uncle is a musician bachelor who got a new girlfriend at one stage I think. In one episode he was painting pictures of his parents when the paint mixed. He got upset until the paint mixture turned out to be his own colour, which was quite sweet. Also its a two parent working family. Theres alot to take from that show.

Unfortunately tho she was way more into Peppa Pig tho :/

Also I remember in the night garden. Now I think she was about 2 or 3 when that was on, and that was bizzare, we loved it :) She really liked it and still has the iggle piggle teddy I bought her for Christmas. I dont know if that show is still on, but she grew out of it all the same.

And non of the above tv watching done her any harm :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

My son watches;

Peppa - the dad is fat, why, because he is a PIG, ever see a boar, they are always fat! My concern is why are there so many hills??? Seriously terrible terrain.

Dora - Parents are irresponsible, one character is always thieving and no one seems to think it odd that she fits racial stereotypes.

Thomas The Tank Engine - A bumbling train who ignores orders and goes around screwing up everything.

Little Einsteins - Educational, but again children off by themselves.

BUT

When I was a child;

Rainbow Brite - No parents.

My Little Ponies - No male ponies and a girl going over the rainbow alone to said ponies.

Tom and Jerry - Violent cat and mouse.

The Simpsons - enough said.

It is only TV, nothing more. People get hysterical over the most ridiculous things these days.

Disney always have single/no parents in movies, ever since the 40's/50's. This stuff isn't new really.

• Administrators Posts: 13,901 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

The creators of Peppa Pig, specifically drew it as kids tend to draw pictures. 2 dimensional charters with match stick hands, and high hills, with a house on top!

Ask your smallies to draw a house on a hill.. see what they come up with!

• Registered Users Posts: 484 ✭✭guppy

Was going to try to quote, but its too hard on the phone!

So Peppa's family are meant to be rich? Well, I think they're the perfect example of "middle class poor". Their car is supposedly a banger - in one episode about recycling, Mrs Rabbit almost scrapped it, thinking it was junk (we'll leave Mrs Rabbit and her 10+ jobs for another day, and we'll gloss over the fact that she's also the put-upon live-in help for fairy royalty......).

They also can only afford to holiday 2 miles down the road, and can only visit the free "duck world" while there, although it is rather noble of them to make the most of their small amount of disposable income (presumably due to pay cuts and a ridiculous mortgage on said detached house on top of that hill).

However, seeing all this, and being empathetic beyond their years, all Peppa's friends do their best to let her win everything and are very gracious in her every victory. Even the doctor and postman indulge them by visiting, without complaint, for the sniffles, and by constructing presses that Mummy and Daddy will never be able to put together (silly mummy and daddy!).

Rather than point out George's conflicting lack of vocab but ability to say "dinosaur", everyone treats him as perfectly normal and indulges his idiosyncrasies kindly. Thats nice.

But anyway, I'd rather watch Ben10, thundercats (the original on dvd) or scooby doo (mystery inc, takes the pee out of original eps and is very witty) any day. I'm so glad the babyish cartoons are behind me, I mean "him"!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭ash23

There was some program on CBeebies as my daughter was outgrowing CBeebies. It was about a creche and the kids in it and their parents. But the creche was open 24/7 and the kids went there for sleepovers because the parents all had jobs like nurses and doctors and police so the kids were there during the day or night. The parents are a mix of married, single mums and single dads.

I just had a look on the CBeebies website and it's all coming back to me! Some other regulars that she loved were the Tweenies, the Fimbles (how could I have forgotten the Fimbles!), Come Outside (crazy old woman with a plane in her back garden visiting factories with her dog), Big Cook, Little Cook.

Ahhh found the one I was talking about. it's called Me Too.

My post sounds like we did nothing but watch tv but we did! :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I laughed when I read the thread title and thought I have to see this :D

I read over the article, and while blown out of proportion, it does actually have some good points. I don't think it would drive badness into a child by any means, but I understand the concern over copy-cat type behaviour. Children will be children, they will jump in muddy puddles regardless of whether they've even seen an episode of the show or not. It's like Father dougal and the big red button when they see a puddle :pac:

If I were to be concerned about any aspect of it, it would be peppa's stroppy behaviour and while George is rewarded with cake for eating his vegetables I'm worried that the 'yuk' vegetables bit would stick more, if that makes any sense?
    Orion wrote: »
    iCarly is banned in our house. Carly herself is alright but her co-star is a right little brat. Not role models I want for my daughters.
    ICarly herself seems harmless enough, but that girl Sam is a nightmare. Bullyish in behaviour and always hitting or thumping or threatening to beat someone up. Its pure rubbish. I wouldn't be a fan of hannah montana or any of that kind of thing either. I just can't see what either of those to shows can be of any benefit to a child.
    hoodwinked wrote: »
    we much prefer shows like humf, where mummy and daddy have an equal and balanced relationship, both work, both clean up, both play with humf, both babysit...etc and we find it refreshing and more life like that humf lives in an apartment and not some mansion like most characters!
    I'd be a fan of humf too. The cartoon is not as 'busy' as others certainly, but maybe thats what I like about it. He's a kind hearted little thing, and close to his parents etc. It's the simplicity of it I like.
    phasers wrote: »
    Special agent Oso is the worst, IIRC I saw one once where it was showing children how to put toys into a box :confused:
    Agreed. It is utter shyte.
    But is Dora not a good role model for a young girl, off exploring and having adventures rather than being a pink princess ?
    Agreed. I like that it gives children a taste for the language. And have you ever watched a child when they know Swiper is coming? :D

Swiper no swiping!!:pac:
    Others that our two like that shouldn't completely do your head in: humf, little einsteins, babar (it was Mammy's favourite cartoon as a child).
    Little einsteins is just the best thing ever. Its good, healthy, educational TV.
    ash23 wrote: »
    Some favourites of my daughter when she was in the 2 - 5 bracket were Balamory (younger end of the scale), Dora and her absolute all time favourite Bear in the Big Blue house.

Bear in the Big blue house, love this programme! I just love the otters Pip and Pop, harmless fun for littlies :)

Heres one for you all - The cramp twins.

I cannot put into words how much I despise this cartoon.

1) Even in the intro you're told Wayne is the evil twin. He is always up to no good, and violent.

2) The mother is portrayed as an insane clean freak and completely irrational

3) The father is often seen to be scared of the mother, especially when it comes too all things 'clean'

4) The story lines are odd and have nothing of any value to a child. The characters are bizarre looking too.

5) The regurgitated background music can be loud and very annoying to listen to.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,425 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Anyone else looking back at their youth and thinking kids tv shows have actually dumbed down a bit?

I remember explaining to my dad when I was 5 about genetic mutation and civil war thanks to the likes of the X-men cartoons, TMNT, and transformers.

I can look back now and see that some of the themes were simplistic alright but probably more entertaining/educational than "Humf visits the park.....again".

In saying that, I was obsessed with becoming a ninja and did go on to do a couple of different martial arts so maybe it affected me more than I realised... :confused:

January wrote: »
    Blue's Clue's is in the middle of the night on Nick Jr

Best place for it ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭lynski

ash23 wrote: »
    There was some program on CBeebies as my daughter was outgrowing CBeebies. It was about a creche and the kids in it and their parents. But the creche was open 24/7 and the kids went there for sleepovers because the parents all had jobs like nurses and doctors and police so the kids were there during the day or night. The parents are a mix of married, single mums and single dads.

I just had a look on the CBeebies website and it's all coming back to me! Some other regulars that she loved were the Tweenies, the Fimbles (how could I have forgotten the Fimbles!), Come Outside (crazy old woman with a plane in her back garden visiting factories with her dog), Big Cook, Little Cook.

Ahhh found the one I was talking about. it's called Me Too.

My post sounds like we did nothing but watch tv but we did! :o

Me Too! oh that show is ridiculous, it is so annoying. we went through a phase of it, but thankfully it is over now.
    I cant believe that no one has mention grandpa in my pocket. how much i hate that show i can hardly describe. my son loves it. the concept is inane, the mother is a twit, the father is not much better but at least he has a function, the aunt is the singular most annoying character on tv since fortycoats.

lynski wrote: »
    I cant believe that no one has mention grandpa in my pocket.

I did!
    Das Kitty wrote: »
    Grandpa in my Pocket is banned because I have murderous thoughts about Jason when it's on.

lynski wrote: »
    how much i hate that show i can hardly describe. my son loves it. the concept is inane, the mother is a twit, the father is not much better but at least he has a function, the aunt is the singular most annoying character on tv since fortycoats.

Ahahaha! "This time Grandpa had gone too far." Oh really Jason, this time? When he did the same thing he does in every fecking episode. And the ole chestnut of Grandpa going for 'a little lie down'. Give me a break. Not to mention the episode where Jason sings a song with lyrics set to the inane theme-tune.