Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sayings.....Rural/Regional even Funny!

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭kboc

drunk: as full as a gypsies bra

ugly: he has a face like a melted wellie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Oh yeah, for drunk.

As full as a fat ladies shoe

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Someone with a fondness for the drink - "He'd drink it out of a smelly wellie"

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

'Slowly but surely.... like an ass atin' thistles'

A friend of mine that used to drive a 360 after a fill of pints would say.... 'I think it's time to change over to the small bucket!' (top shelf job!:D)

• Registered Users Posts: 27 Donegal09

sad looking horse that, while long face on him

• Registered Users Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭O.A.P

May the crows never peck your stacks, Completely made up but I used it a lot when I lived in Germany.
    He would drink it from a sore hole, a Roscommon man came out with that, it makes me laugh anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭mantua

'he wouldn't pull the knickers off a whore'
    someone hanging off ya 'he's like a fly to sh1t
    '

• Closed Accounts Posts: 531 ✭✭✭munkus

He'd let you down like an Ass in a bog.

He'd break a crowbar in a bog.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Martin 83

An awkward person: You're as awkward as a sow in reverse.

To describe a full pub: You couldn't turn a sweet in your mouth.

A tall man. If he was any longer he'd be late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

Someone who can't sing:

If he sang for sh1te he wouldn't get a smell.

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Dupont

ah lad if he was any narrower da one eye would do him;)

• Registered Users Posts: 22 BHD

I'm so hungry I would eat a farmers arse through a hedge...

• Registered Users Posts: 125 ✭✭Harrier1980

for a skinny lad

he is that narrow he has to run around in the shower to get wet!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Sow your wild oats on a Saturday night, pray for crop failure on a Sunday morning.

That boy wouldn't work on three phase

When the moistures right we will cut all night

I'm that hungry I'd lick the balls of a low flying duck

• Registered Users Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Tisn't from the ground he licked it.

Not the full shilling.

He's only a 5 eighths.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

neighbours discussing someone who had no bathroom " so and so is working the dockleaf away"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭red menace

Same neighbour talking about a local good for nothing "jaysus they must have been fairly fond of chaps in that house when they reared him"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Toast
    May your ass be in heaven 5 minutes before the devil finds out.

For a low life
    He's so low the sparks are flying out of his bum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

About Enda Kenny from an elderly SF hardliner:

"He wouldn't run a tap"

• Registered Users Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

"you have land youll have stones, you have meat youll have bones"

From a female butcher cicra 1930sin the midlands

• Registered Users Posts: 354 ✭✭Pharaoh1

Someone once described a rather shapely female aquantaince he was smitten with to me with the words, "She has an arse on her like a pure bred Limousin"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

An old relative of mine, when the barman at closing time would go - " Are ye right there now folks"........"Ah, if we were right, we wouldn't be here".
    He had a big problem with the drink. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

A reply to almost any harmless statement (especially anything uttered in a workshop/farming environment ie 'up a bit'.... 'stick it in' ... 'give it a belt'..... 'drive it home' )

To bring a bit of smut into it just reply.....

'That's what she said last night!'

Muckit wrote: »
    A reply to almost any harmless statement (especially anything uttered in a workshop/farming environment ie 'up a bit'.... 'stick it in' ... 'give it a belt'..... 'drive it home' )

To bring a bit of smut into it just reply.....

'That's what she said last night!'

And if he missed the target with his hammer " you wouldnt miss it if it had hair on it me boyo"

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,624 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I've been waiting for the standards to drop a bit before I could post, so mods feel free to edit.....

To describe a woman who is a heavy smoker;

'That woman smokes so much that if she ever stops havin her periods soot will come out instead.':eek:

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

That hoor of a heifer went for me and give me a puck

Dirty hoor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

blue5000 wrote: »
    I've been waiting for the standards to drop a bit before I could post, so mods feel free to edit.....

Me too.:D
    As suspicious as a nun doing push ups in a cucumber patch.

I'm as confused as a cow on Astro Turf.

The old bull spends half the time showing off and more time on the job.

She had a face on her like a bulldog licking p*ss off a nettle.

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Dupont

chatting to a man who works with us about the woman, ah shes no show pony but she does for riding around the house;)

in drogheda they say:- right says she but she never wrote

when your beating in a nail somone will say make sure and hit the right nail(not your finger nail)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Thats deadly said the rat that ate the poison

an auld boy in my local, when a bit of slagging starts going and he is loosing he usually says

"Its people like you that go missing"