Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

blastman wrote: »
    Who? I'd be interested in looking at this...

Not sure of the name but if you do a search on here about respraying a 406 coupe you'll find who it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Them alfas look very very sexy. I might just be stupid enough to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

If I had that Mondeo I would spend hours parked at the side of the road laughing at people.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Was just going to post that Forester so i'll have to post my car B now.

It's highish miles, rough but has a long NCT ta boot and the promise of a recent belt change.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4302454

Full-16230058.jpeg

Jayop wrote: »
    If I had that Mondeo I would spend hours parked at the side of the road laughing at people.

We have a Daily van with windows on the taildoors and do the same :pac::pac::pac:

iveco-daily-35-02.jpg

bad bad man!!
    lol

bad bad man!!
    lol

We did it by accident the 1st time and were wondering why everyone was going by so slow. Then we realised where we were and what we were in :p

I was working in a ford dealership up till January, and part of the job was to go to all the Garda Stations in the county and pick up squad cars to bring them in for service. The way people react when they see a garda vehicle never ceases to amaze me. Driving along the N17 on a road that you could land a bloody jumbo jet on and they jam the brakes down to 35-40mph as if the Guards are going to thank the idiots for that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

For maximum effect stick a few bent ariels on the roof and change the alloys for black painted steelies!;)

Totally. You want to see the weapon of a 3.0 petrol mondeo the boys had in traffic. Some wagon to go and she was spec'd to the last.

I was working in a ford dealership up till January, and part of the job was to go to all the Garda Stations in the county and pick up squad cars to bring them in for service. The way people react when they see a garda vehicle never ceases to amaze me.............

When I worked in a car park one morning the boss says to me XYZ's (lady who parked there every day) car is being collected by garage lads at lunchtime, two lads turned up in a white D reg Corolla complete with auxiliary aerial, bit of small talk, I said to them they looked like two _ _ _ s (often heard slang term for AGS members) inside in that yoke, we are they said :eek:

Turned out the car park manager had gotten the wrong end of the stick and it was the ladies detective brother who was due to collect it, not a garage.

• Registered Users Posts: 64,835 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Top Dog wrote: »
    Who's committing fraud? Engine capacity is one of the few things thats on every logbook, and its on engine capacity that motortax is paid. :confused:

A Starlet Turbo is 1.3 on the book - legal motortax
    An S3 is going to be 1.8 on the book - legal motortax
    An Evo is going to be 2.0 on the book - legal motortax

Ah I get ya. In those cases the engine capacity between the slow version and the fast version is the same. I was thinking about BMW 528i and 530d as 2l on logbook - have personally seen both!

1996 Ford Mondeo 1.6 with NCT until 3/13 for €300. Nice winter hack.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4334567

1998 SAAB 93 2.0 with NCT until 8/13 for €550. A nicer winter hack.
    View2?id=16384605
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4335170

2000 Citroen Xsasa HDI estate with NCT until 4/13 for €600
    View2-16358751.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4330238

1998 BMW 318ti with leather and a claimed 104k miles for €250
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4329753

• Registered Users Posts: 28,680 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

You'd have to change the god-awful alloys first tho :p

But yea lots of fun to be had in that one.. D-reg and all. When I was car shopping a few years back I seriously thought about getting a navy blue D-reg Mondeo. One of the benefits would have been clear lanes everywhere I went (especially as I often wear blue shirts for work) ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 396 ✭✭Hailhail1967

I know a lad who is a guard and drives a navy d reg mondeo. He loves it :-)

Might be well worth €300
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4326711

• Registered Users Posts: 4,095 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    But yea lots of fun to be had in that one.. D-reg and all. When I was car shopping a few years back I seriously thought about getting a navy blue D-reg Mondeo. One of the benefits would have been clear lanes everywhere I went (especially as I often wear blue shirts for work) ;)

I seen a few guys who I'm fairly sure and certain were attempting to pull of the look. Some a good attempt. Others not so good. A WW Reg or something as old as a 03 is never going to convince me You then need to look for more subtle giveaways such as no blue flashers on the bumpers or no radio on the dash...

Sorry for derailing the thread:o

Do I redeem myself with this Colt? Yes its pretty much devoid of any character. But if your looking for a reliable runaround that relatively cheap to run and cheap/ easy to maintain you can't go too terribly far wrong. Just NCT'd according to the seller...

50 days ago, probably sold

1997 Citroen Xantia with NCT until 3/13 for €250
    http://www.gumtree.ie/cp-cars-in-dublin/citroen-xantia-441941501#
    $(KGrHqNHJEQFC1GVcur2BQ1(Mtb1N!~~48_20.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Fastanomics with a slight hint of skangernomics but I think you would be doing well to get a cleaner example than this.

Full-16070961.jpeg

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4263100

• Registered Users Posts: 73,384 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I quite like that Colt. Stickers come off.
    Fast little yokes too. Weighs about the same as a picture of itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

is that right, that that colt has 1.6 engine ? i thought they are 1.3 max.

17 inch are killers for suspension , id say 15 inch would be more than enough.

EDIT : didnt know, that motortax.ie has been changed, last ownership change may be seen... that civic has chenged ownership in 15/11/2012

wonder why they are selling that car, after so many work done ... tbh sounds fishy to me.

how can i have a look engine capacity now when enter reg number ?

edit edit .. info seen just for last 3 months :(

• Registered Users Posts: 73,384 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Think they're supposed to be 175hp. They usually dyno a bit less though.

Yeah that colt would be proper fast alright. Pity that I'd never get insured on it:(.
    You'd have to be 90 with 60 years NCB to get a reasonable quote :p:rolleyes:

2003 Rover 25 1.4 hatchback with leather, NCT until 9/13 and tax until 7/13 for €950
    View2-16399794.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4338219

2001 Opel Vectra 1.6 with 80k on the clock, NCT until 5/13 and tax until 3/13 for
    €1000
    View2-16395450.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4337399

2000 Toyota Corolla 1.4 liftback, NCT'ed yesterday for €1,175
    View2-16393316.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4336942

• Registered Users Posts: 8,863 ✭✭✭Soarer

2000 Toyota Corolla 1.4 liftback, NCT'ed yesterday for €1,175
    View2-16393316.jpeg
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4336942

That is one pricey NCT! ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

The Colt says "none mivec on the book" too...

Nice car alright though. Are they JDM or original UK/IRL?