Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bangernomics car of the week/day - Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 494 ✭✭Barry Barry

Notch000 wrote: »
    Links not working

Fixed

• Registered Users Posts: 8,863 ✭✭✭Soarer

95 Subaru Impreza 2.0 Turbo estate with NCT until 3/13 for €450 in Kildare
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4325708

If that's a turbo, I'm a turbo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

95 Subaru Impreza 2.0 Turbo estate with NCT until 3/13 for €450 in Kildare
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4325708

That's a 97 onwards front with a JDM grille, I call scamer seller

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Right lads, how does this sound?

A very tidy Mitsubishi Spacestar 2003 1.3 petrol with 135k miles. She's serviced and had the Tbelt done. I know for a fact she's only had two owners and I know of them well. She's got a few months tax and test, I can't remember the exacts but it's around 3-4 months.

I can get it for around €1500.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

Jayop wrote: »
    Right lads, how does this sound?

A very tidy Mitsubishi Spacestar 2003 1.3 petrol with 135k miles. She's serviced and had the Tbelt done. I know for a fact she's only had two owners and I know of them well. She's got a few months tax and test, I can't remember the exacts but it's around 3-4 months.

I can get it for around €1500.

It's a grand or so, 1500 is probably all the way. Not the worst yoke ever and reliable enough.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 9,927 ✭✭✭mik_da_man

The alloys on the peugeot would lead you to believe its been driven into the ground but actually it looks really tidy.

Looks tidy all right, but only 59k Miles?
    Seems a bit low for a 98....

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

mik_da_man wrote: »
    Looks tidy all right, but only 59k Miles?
    Seems a bit low for a 98....

True but you never know

Saab Ed wrote: »
    It's a grand or so, 1500 is probably all the way. Not the worst yoke ever and reliable enough.

Cheers! he was looking 1700 but will go for 1500. Taillight warranty though.

I know the guy very well and I'm sure he wouldn't sell me a lemon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Cheers! he was looking 1700 but will go for 1500. Taillight warranty though.

I know the guy very well and I'm sure he wouldn't sell me a lemon.

Had a space star before. Reliable enough. Bit sluggish though taking off. There ain't that much extra space in them.

Honestly I don't really need the extra space and I wouldn't be too worried about power. If she can sit at 60mph without drinking too much petrol and stay on the road without much maintenance then I'm a happy camper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭padma

Honestly I don't really need the extra space and I wouldn't be too worried about power. If she can sit at 60mph without drinking too much petrol and stay on the road without much maintenance then I'm a happy camper.
    Fair enough. There not too frugal on the petroleum though.

BMW 523i estate with NCT until 6/13 and some tax for €1250

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4328952

full nct and tax till nov/2013, 168k miles? PSV?? Asking €1350

Googling the number yields lots, dealer of sorts presumably...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4329283

View2-16354368.jpeg

Both asking €2000...............

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3625305

ncted until jan 2014, 91k miles...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3998578

118k miles but has recent work according to add...

New NCT, pass 14/12/2012 Perfect driving, good condition. El.windows,cd player,conditioner.

Timing belt, water pump just done.

Anti roll bar bushes just done

Front brake pads and brake disc new.

Back brake pads new.

View2-14717063.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 4,426 ✭✭✭Arthur Daley

A 156 with 118k on the clock is hardly cheap at 2 grand. They may need to drop that down a bit.

As with most of the stuff in this thread, the asking price is quite on the optimistic side, folks expect possible buyers to haggle in the majority of cases.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

Someone here might be interested...
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4319432

Price of the car? free.
    View2-16309568.jpeg

The catch? you must but the banded steelies - 550 euro.
    No N.C.T or tax.

The work for the test doesn't seem big though,
    Needs a few bits, drivers seatbelt, and someone who is handy at wiring, brake lights and indicators not working, very easy fix for someone who knows wiring(not me).

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Let's be honest though, its wrecked!

It might be, but I said id stick it up just in case anyone was interested. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

Is it bad that I like it?:o

2002 Citroen C5 with NCT until 2/13 €450
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4329320

1996 Renault Megane with NCT until 4/13 and tax until 1/13 for €350
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4329594

Ded_Zebra wrote: »
    Is it bad that I like it?:o

Not at all! Look at that camber! Ohh Sweet! :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

2002 Citroen C5 with NCT until 2/13 €450
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4329320

1996 Renault Megane with NCT until 4/13 and tax until 1/13 for €350
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4329594

If the C5 is in everyday use it has to have tax unless he's breaking the law.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,015 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Saab Ed wrote: »
    Okay, stick with me here. This guys trying to sell this (Audi S3) for ages now and the price keeps coming down. While its still well in excess of the BGN zone, my bet is it'll be bought in the end for well under 2 grand. For anybody interested, I'd be keeping an eye on this one ......

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/4292667

View2-16183816.jpeg
    Nice, but I hate this though:
    Not down as s3 on log book easy to insure
    Easy way to void/invalidate your insurance....

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Esel wrote: »
    Nice, but I hate this though: Easy way to void/invalidate your insurance....
    Not really if you tell the insurance company what it actually is. Half the Jap imports that came over in the 90's had mis-information on the logbooks. Starlet GT only saying 1.3 on the book, Pulsar's and Evo's only mentioning engine capacity and not trim or in some cases even having the body type correct. Sure how many cars these days have the body type as "other"?

Once you're honest with the insurance company you have no problem. If you're going to take advantage of the model type missing on the book to save a few quid, then you know what you're doing and you deserve for your insurance to be voided.

• Registered Users Posts: 64,835 ✭✭✭✭unkel

Top Dog wrote: »
    Once you're honest with the insurance company you have no problem.

No problem with the insurance. But you're committing fraud in relation to motortax. Fraud is a serious offence - you could go to jail over that!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Top Dog

unkel wrote: »
    No problem with the insurance. But you're committing fraud in relation to motortax. Fraud is a serious offence - you could go to jail over that!
    Who's committing fraud? Engine capacity is one of the few things thats on every logbook, and its on engine capacity that motortax is paid. :confused:

A Starlet Turbo is 1.3 on the book - legal motortax
    An S3 is going to be 1.8 on the book - legal motortax
    An Evo is going to be 2.0 on the book - legal motortax

• Registered Users Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

unkel wrote: »

The 1.8T engine in that S3 is the same tax rate as any other 1.8 A3 be it turbo or non turbo

Also, when the shoe is on the other foot and they tax your 1.3 RX-7 or RX-8 as a 1.8 , its not classed as fraud then is it

When you defraud the government it's a serious offence. When the government defrauds you, Bend Over!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,449 ✭✭✭blastman

A poster on here owns that if I'm not mistaken.

Who? I'd be interested in looking at this...

If the C5 is in everyday use it has to have tax unless he's breaking the law.

Hes breaking the law then. Big deal, everyone does it anyway