Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Baltimore Ravens Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Very quiet in here. Just dropped by to say Best of Luck. You've an extra fan today!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 806 ✭✭✭woodchopper

Lights out for the 49ners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

Congrats Paully, pudgy, mike etc.....delighted for the Ravens, Lewis deserved it, this should make people shut up about Flacco, he is a great QB....also it means we lost to the Sab Champs! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,884 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

That was unbelievable!:D
    kmart6 wrote: »
    Congrats Paully, pudgy, mike etc.....delighted for the Ravens, Lewis deserved it, this should make people shut up about Flacco, he is a great QB....also it means we lost to the Sab Champs! ;)

Cheers Kmart, Already counting down the days until we play you guys next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Congrats to Paully, Pudsy, Mike and all here, this was deserved. Five years straight making playoff runs with that team - the key to success is consistency, if you keep banging on the door it will open.

Ravens were a team of destiny and i'm delighted for Reed, Lewis and co. Also, John winning the Bro Bowl was a victory for older brothers everywhere like myself!:D

No shame in losing to the champions...but we'll meet again in Denver, this autumn. Cant waaait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

Congrats lads and here's one Pats fan that was delighted to see you guys do it. Flying the flag for the AFC, I was hoping Ray got his fairytale ending and he did. A man who like many, has made some mistakes in life. But he has shown by example and through great leadership, how to pick yourself up, overcome adversity and become a better person for it. Players like Ray don't come along very often, so it's a sad day to see the end of an era.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

kmart6 wrote: »
    Congrats Paully, pudgy, mike etc.....delighted for the Ravens,

pudgy??

Are you calling Pudsy33 fat? :eek:

mikemac1 wrote: »

pudgy??

Ha was thinking the same myself Mike :pac:

Oh well, I'm deligted after last night so I'll let it go :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,445 ✭✭✭frostie500

Well done guys, great way to cap off a great season! Im delighted for Ed Reed to get a ring in probably his last game as a Ravan

What a night, what a game!

Joe, Ray, and Ed will get a lot of the plaudits and attention, and rightly so, but there were so many heroes out there.

The rookies have been so so good all year. Courtney Upshaw's forced fumble was class. Justin Tucker already look like one of the best kickers in the league, and showed last night he has a serious set of wheels too! Pierce is something else too, what a pick. A perfect foil to Rice, he never ever goes down after first contact. He's one slippery ****er!

Ray Rice, although he didn't have a huge haul of yards, was magnificent. No matter how impossible the situation looks, or how many defenders are boxing him in, he always finds a way to pick up the first down. Sensational.

Anquan Boldin, he must have the strongest pair of hands in the league. His back shoulder takes on the 3rd and inches was epic.

And finally, Jacoby Jones, without whom none of this would be possible. Behind Flacco and Boldin, he was the man of the playoffs. His TDs tonight, with the one in Mile High, will live long in the memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,174 ✭✭✭✭kmart6

mikemac1 wrote: »
    pudgy??

Haha no, it was stupid autocorrect, noticed it after I posted it but was way too tired to change it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭kevohmsford

Wow what a great win. Delighted and tired in work today. Cannot wait to see the game again.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,391 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Congratulations to all the Ravens fans here, in particular to the Madden players. What a great game to win. It was looking like it was going to be a blowout early, then when the 49ers came storming back the Baltimore made the plays when they needed needed too.

I was very impressed with the play calling of the Ravens and seemed to be one step ahead of us all game. Well done and enjoy the victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

We did it lads, we did it :cool:

dm_130204_sc_highlight_Ravens_49ers.jpg

Anquan Boldin was the MVP for me last night. Although I don't begrudge Flacco getting it at all, what a post season he has had. I expect he'll get his contract sorted out pretty soon now and he'll be on serious money. All well deserved imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Anquan Boldin was the MVP for me last night. Although I don't begrudge Flacco getting it at all, what a post season he has had. I expect he'll get his contract sorted out pretty soon now and he'll be on serious money. All well deserved imo.

11 TD's, 0 INT's, 1,140 yards in 4 games this postseasons. I hope he enjoys his huge contract. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭Morrisseeee

Great win lads, great game too.

What impressed me most about the Ravens (esp the last 4 games) was how they performed as a team. Offense, Defense, Special teams, Coaches etc, they provided a yardstick for professionalism ;)

Ye were in some pretty sticky situations in games this year but still (somehow) managed to get it done :eek::confused::cool:

Paully D wrote: »
    11 TD's, 0 INT's, 1,140 yards in 4 games this postseasons. I hope he enjoys his huge contract. :)

Boy wasn't that a shred decision he made, taking his time with the contract talks last summer and playing out the season. Because his value has now gone +++.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Paully D wrote: »

In a regular season, three of those games would be the toughest of the season, and Indy at home would be a tough one too. Joe Flacco has completely turned my opinion of him around now.

How can anyone say he's not a top 5 QB now? Nobody does what he did postseason. Nobody. Well, one other guy did. His name was Joe Fcuking Montana. Crazy what Flacco did. Crazy!!!

Well done lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Johnny_Fontane

I cant believe how clutch flacco has been on the road in these playoffs....there was some tom brady type calm, he really never got flustered.

I'll hold my hand up and say I didnt think he was one of the best out there, but after seeing his playoff run, hes definitely one of the best out there.

congrats to all the ravens fans....it was an amazing season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭evil_seed

If you really think about it, Flacco was made for this Superbowl run. 1st 5 years in and he makes the playoffs each year. Each year he has tough road games that he gets valuable experience from and learns more and more how to win. He took it all in his stride this year as if he'd seen it all before. Becasue he practicaly had

I cant believe how clutch flacco has been on the road in these playoffs....there was some tom brady type calm, he really never got flustered.

That's something that really struck me about Flacco, his poise in the pocket and calmness really reminded me of Brady at times. Which is probably another reason why the guy just continues to grow on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

The Ravens winning it all really shows the glory of this sport.

I remember watching them against the Chargers in one of the late weeks of the season and they really, really stank. Flacco looked awful, he threw a checkdown pass on a 4th and 29 that somehow Ray Rice took all the way past the 1st down line to set up a FG to win the game.

If you look at that game now, you really wouldn't think you're looking at the majority of the same players!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

Congrats to the Ravens!

Flacco and Boldin were brilliant throughout the playoffs!!

Yas will be loosing Lewis and maybe Reid to retirement but your biggest obstacle going forward will be Flacco's new deal! There'll be a lot less money going around for other players when Joe comes off his rookie deal!

Well deserved win and a great way for Ray Lewis to bow out!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,879 ✭✭✭D3PO

taidghbaby wrote: »
    Congrats to the Ravens!

Flacco and Boldin were brilliant throughout the playoffs!!

Yas will be loosing Lewis and maybe Reid to retirement but your biggest obstacle going forward will be Flacco's new deal! There'll be a lot less money going around for other players when Joe comes off his rookie deal!

Well deserved win and a great way for Ray Lewis to bow out!!

Reed is not retiring hes already said that. But hes out of contract and likely to move via FA.

As for a lot less money not really. Ray Lewis was taking up a huge amount of cap space that will all transfer to Flacco who will probably get about 20 mill a year.

The money saved on Reed and Flacco covers that deal (more or less) just means replacing them in the draft.

I know this is radical and outrageous but Id trade Ray Rice for picks or a quality safety or MLB if possible. Pierce is a three down back and will be a top class RB in the NFL.

It gets quality in or quality picks (on cheap wages) to help with the cap.

D3PO wrote: »

I know this is radical and outrageous but Id trade Ray Rice for picks or a quality safety or MLB if possible. Pierce is a three down back and will be a top class RB in the NFL.

Thats radical alright! I agree Pierce is a strong player, I've been singing his praises all year. However, Ray is something else all together, he can get out of seemingly impossible situations. He is also a decent weapon in the passing game. I'd rather try fill the gaps using the picks we have then to ship him on.

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Thats radical alright! I agree Pierce is a strong player, I've been singing his praises all year. However, Ray is something else all together, he can get out of seemingly impossible situations. He is also a decent weapon in the passing game. I'd rather try fill the gaps using the picks we have then to ship him on.

Like I said its radical :D but I really really rate Pierce. He was money on my NCAAF Fantasy team last year for Temple and I saw a lot of him and hes been class all season.

Ravens could bring in a third down back to help in the passing game if they wanted (think woodhead for New England type situation) although Pierce can do it all. Its very much outside the box though and honestly they dont need to they have enough cap space to do a Flacco deal and draft for needs jsut nice to look at diff scenarios :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Did Rice not just sign a new deal at the beginning of the season though? Would be a tough cap hit to take to trade him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭taidghbaby

D3PO wrote: »

Reed is not retiring hes already said that. But hes out of contract and likely to move via FA.

As for a lot less money not really. Ray Lewis was taking up a huge amount of cap space that will all transfer to Flacco who will probably get about 20 mill a year.

The money saved on Reed and Flacco covers that deal (more or less) just means replacing them in the draft.

According to this (http://www.sportscity.com/nfl/salaries/baltimore-ravens-salaries) the combined salary of Flacco, Lewis and Reed for this year was $18.9 million! Pretty much all that will be paid to Flacco next year (presumably), so they will have to replace Reed and Lewis with much less! Though you could maybe argue that it's leadership more than production they would really have to replace!

I was really impressed with Pierce in the playoffs, but I'm not sure on cutting Ray Rice! Would te Ravens want to loose another leader on the team!

taidghbaby wrote: »
    According to this (http://www.sportscity.com/nfl/salaries/baltimore-ravens-salaries) the combined salary of Flacco, Lewis and Reed for this year was $18.9 million! Pretty much all that will be paid to Flacco next year (presumably), so they will have to replace Reed and Lewis with much less! Yes I already said that Though you could maybe argue that it's leadership more than production they would really have to replace!

I was really impressed with Pierce in the playoffs, but I'm not sure on cutting Ray Rice! Would te Ravens want to loose another leader on the team!

You replace Reed and Lewis via the draft. With the rookie payscale you pay feck all. So cap isnt really impacted.

as for Rice I never said CUT him I said TRADE him. I also said it would be radical.