Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Everything Else Hip Hop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    This looks like it's going to be amazing.

https://vimeo.com/ondemand/stretchandbobbito/140348043

Looking forward to this,think its released Oct 22

• Registered Users Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Muirshin Durkin

Wow! That looks sick!!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Me and the lads used to pick up all the tapes and records of this show growing up. We even tried tuning in a few times with no success....this is only at the advent of dial up.
    When we first heard Eminem on the show, we took over my friends phone line and downloaded his freestyle, it must have taken a day or 2.

Me and the lads used to pick up all the tapes and records of this show growing up. We even tried tuning in a few times with no success....this is only at the advent of dial up.
    When we first heard Eminem on the show, we took over my friends phone line and downloaded his freestyle, it must have taken a day or 2.

I got tapes sent over to me,I have one somewhere I'm not even sure if it's stretch and bobbito with Eminem before most had heard of him,few months later and he was a household name.I reckon I'm going to have a busy time matching up and finding the beats used in freestyles on this documentary.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,730 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

This is a great read. I would recomend stopping and paying attention to the embedded tracks along the way

http://www.laweekly.com/music/the-nonce-were-one-of-las-greatest-90s-rap-groups-until-tragedy-intervened-5988013

This is a great read. I would recomend stopping and paying attention to the embedded tracks along the way

http://www.laweekly.com/music/the-nonce-were-one-of-las-greatest-90s-rap-groups-until-tragedy-intervened-5988013

A tragic oul end for yousef

Twas indeed, I'd recomment Sach's albums after his death as well. Real good stuff.

Great interview and studio performance from Prof.

https://vimeo.com/63787378

I wouldn't say I'm his biggest fan, but this has certainly turned my head.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,587 ✭✭✭tossy

This looks like it's going to be amazing.

https://vimeo.com/ondemand/stretchandbobbito/140348043

Thanks for the heads up never even knew it was coming, i have loads of tapes of this show, up there with red alerts show on Kiss. Can't wait for it.

Had lost most of my physical copies of my fav albums so scooped these up really cheap online :D

FMdJJ8y.jpg?1

Get that a man a Jheri curl and a 40 stat.^

If you get a chance, check out the J.Cole homecoming shows that were on HBO recently.
    A really interesting look into Cole's lead up to the Forrest Hills Drive album release, the stresses due to him producing and mixing, early listenings for people and the release reaction.
    Then it goes on to a bit on tour life post release. It's one of the best hip hop shows I've watched in a long time. I'd say you wouldn't need to be a fan to engage with it...but you may become one afterwards.

Get over to this site quick, it's going to expire today.

http://naughtybynature.com/25th-anniversary/

Free DL of the first Naughty By Nature album, which is a classic and always overlooked. There's also a donwload of remixes from the album.

Get over to this site quick, it's going to expire today.

http://naughtybynature.com/25th-anniversary/

Free DL of the first Naughty By Nature album, which is a classic and always overlooked. There's also a donwload of remixes from the album.

Anyone having issues downloading?

I popped in my email address and got the email but when you click the link it just brings you back to the page where you have to enter your email again :confused:

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Anyone having issues downloading?

I popped in my email address and got the email but when you click the link it just brings you back to the page where you have to enter your email again :confused:

Scroll down a bit further, should have two different links for the album and 1 for the remix's, they link ye two megaupload (i think) links.

Cheers

The links are not very visible in Windows 10. It looks like a mediafire link...spyware with that ilvid ****e

*Edit*

Permission denied :(

Yea thats the one, medifire, for some reason the first time i clicked on the main album had permission denied and a link to buy on amazon, but the remixs one downloaded fine, i clicked on the main album again after and it worked, downloaded them both now and seem fine.

NM

Got it to work, had to pop my email in again and the links worked :pac:

Nice little gift, that remix album is very interesting, a lot of stuff I've never heard, thanks BoomBap!!

I've never listened to them full stop! Looking forward to getting stuck in.

Looking forward to checking out the remixes, not much time over the holidays for sitting down with some music :(

What a savage album, Every single track is beast!

Some of my fav tracks so far;

Every Day All Day
    Wickedest Man Alive
    Thankx For Sleepwalking
    O.P.P.
    Yoke The Joker

I've never listened to them full stop! Looking forward to getting stuck in.

Ninteen Naughty III is another cracker of an album.
    Poverties Paradise is also amazing. Cut 4 or 5 songs off it and it's a 5 mic classic in my opinion.

If you want to go real deep down the rabbit hole, they had a band called Rottin Rascalz on their label, or they produced for them and featured on their only album called Rotten To Da Core. Another slept upon gem from the 90's.

Ninteen Naughty III is another cracker of an album.
    Poverties Paradise is also amazing. Cut 4 or 5 songs off it and it's a 5 mic classic in my opinion.

If you want to go real deep down the rabbit hole, they had a band called Rottin Rascalz on their label, or they produced for them and featured on their only album called Rotten To Da Core. Another slept upon gem from the 90's.

Gonna pick that up at the weekend on 7digital. But not gonna rush it. Gonna get some more play out of the first album.
    It's really well produced IMO and lyrically NBN are very strong.

Gonna pick that up at the weekend on 7digital. But not gonna rush it. Gonna get some more play out of the first album.
    It's really well produced IMO and lyrically NBN are very strong.

Treach is an excellent rapper, he should be knocking on the door of top 10 lists but is never mentioned. Probably because he started showing his willy in movies.

Tuuuune!

Just picked up Nighteen Naughty III, hope to give some of my thoughts on it over the weekend.

Again what can I say. Just wow.

Another phenomenal album. Only thing I can notice is this one seems to be a little bit more sample heavy (Not that it bothers me)

This track is a gem!

Hot Potato & Written on Ya Kitten (HaHa) are great tracks too.

I threw on the first NBN album yesterday while doing some cleaning about the house, it's still incredible.
    Going to listen to Poverty's Paradise today as well.

I threw on the first NBN album yesterday while doing some cleaning about the house, it's still incredible.
    Going to listen to Poverty's Paradise today as well.

Any good?

Also, can you recommend anything similar to NBN? With similar production etc..

Any good?

Also, can you recommend anything similar to NBN? With similar production etc..
    Poverty's Paradise is really good, it's a bit more commercial, but those commercial songs are real good as well. I think Vin Rock gets more mic time as well.

I particularly love this song

Check out Rottin Raskalz, produced by Kay Gee from NBN

Others with a similar sound from that time off the top of my head are:
    Kurious - https://youtu.be/9Ptyz_1kNB0
    Da Bush Babies - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QERaguIRaks
    Nine - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4LZpV-Ccy8
    Lost Boyz - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqxRvPCJcGg
    Black Moon 0- https://youtu.be/dceorz43MwY