Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Chuggers Getting Fresh??

167891012»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭DonQuay1

Roisy7 wrote: »
    Anyone from Galway will know the representatives of a very well-known charity who used some interesting methods to get donations, like flattery, free hugs etc. I asked one guy if telling strangers they were pretty ever worked and he got very narky indeed.

Then as I was leaving the Eyre Sq SC yesterday another two lined up on either side of the street asked me for a donation. When I refused one made a barely audible remark which I think referred to my meanness.

Finally today at home I was asked again, when I refused the guy said I was beautiful :confused: Beautiful but cold and shallow I'm guessing?

The first two occasions I was very smartly dressed as I have to be for my job. This doesn't mean my clothes are new or particularly expensive, nor does it mean I'm a spoilt bitch who would rather save her cash for (blood) diamond-studded whips for punishing my servants and polar bear fur coats. In fact I find myself quite financially embarrassed at the moment, which makes the attitude even more galling.

Today I was just wearing (Penneys) jeans and a Dunnes coat, no make-up and hair in a greasy ponytail, so it makes even less sense.

Do chuggers honestly think that making comments at strangers will encourage donations? I know times are tough for charities but times are tough for everyone, people should be respected if they won't, or can't donate.

What say ye, Boardsies? Anyone else find this behaviour quite as reprehensible as I do? Any funny stories about chuggers?

I wouldn't give to a chugger no matter what. I'm not paranoid .... just safe with the important details of my life. I'm not about to hand over my bank details and address, etc to anyone that's dressed as a chugger!

And I was proven right only recently ....
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/7174760.stm

Fools game. Walk pass them and their bad manners!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,668 ✭✭✭nlgbbbblth

It's very difficult to hold my tongue when untruths are thrown around as fact. I worked for Concern for a long time and I know inside out how they work. There is absolutely no way anyone from Concern has ever step out in front of someone to block there path or followed them down the street, no way. People on this forum may have seen other fundraisers doing it and believe all fundraisers to be the same but thats not true. Im not doubting that some agencies employ tactics like that but i can 100% Unequivocally state that Concern do not. As someone who was involved in training and supervising fundraisers for a long time I know this to be fact, I also know too well how the public brandish us all with the same brush. Some of the comments on this forum remind me of the comments that I would get on the street from passers by. The misinformed comments such as, your on commission, only 1 cent out of every euro gets there etc. When you'd say to these people can I have a chat with you about that they'd just walk on. Very few would stop and have a converstaion about it because generally they were quiet happy in their ignorance. Some people just like to be angry at the world. It is clear to me that from various opinions on this forum that that is the case here aswell. If you want to inform yourself have a look at my previous long blog, or observe Concern fundraisers someday, even go speak to one. Just tell them that you don't want to sign u you just want to ask a couple of questions. Dont't get angry get curious. If you don't want to infrom yourself and you want to continue using the 'every one says it so it must be true line' then have a think about this and ask yourself is it true of you:

"Ah the unmistakeable argumentative rhetoric of the ignorant, where emphasis compensates for truth."

I'm not going to get involved in any more discussions on this forum. I think i've said all I want and to be honest the amount of silly, twisted and warped comment on here makes me disenchanted with the whole process.Too many of the people commenting seem incapable of having a reasonable discussion.
    i am actually shocked by all of the ignorant comments here. Are you guys serious.

If someone "getting in your way" has this much of a negative imapct on your day then wise up. A lad from Concern wrote some very interesting and accurate comments about the Concerns method of fundraising earlier and he was shot back because the majority of you are of the taxi driver mentality "oh johnny siad he was asked for five euro by a guy..oh he must be with concern..i hate those guys". Stop tarnishing all with the same brush. I myself ahve first hand experience of workig with Concern and am familiar with the strategies of the other NGOs that collect through agencies. Yes i said it agencies. Concern collects for concern. They have remits and strict regualtion of how they can approach people on the street. Instead of coming on here having a taxi driver mentality (oh the banks do this..politicians bla bla..chuggers same old uneducated complaints) go out there and speak to a Concern fundraiser. then speak to other ones in yellow or blue jackets. compare the approach.

Somethign tells me you wont do this because its easier to go along with what everyone else says. Easier to stay ignorant. Im embarased to think of so many of my fellow Irish thinking of ways to "get out of talking to a chugger"..Go ahead wear your ugg boots, chinos and sip your coffee thinking you know it all. Come on here and give out about people instead of educating yourself the right way.ask questions to these people instead of coming on here. Cowardice and Ignorance are two sides of the same coin.

Two of the most self-righteous and sickening posts that I've read here.

You guys are a f*cking disgrace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Well Concern collectors are shining moral guardians of hope :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

Passing through Westmoreland Street on the bus earlier today , if you had handed me a sniper rifle at an open window I would not have been responsible for my actions. A blockade of self righteous chugger scum waving their arms to make the pavement as intimidating and as narrow as possible. The usual combination of the gullible, the pensioners, ex mental patients and confused foreign students who actually don't know that chugger scum steal money from the cause they claim to be supporting were present.

From observing the chugger scum in the wild I have noticed a few similarly sub human species of groupie which tend to be attracted by the chugger's lies. One is the very plain looking girl with below average looks who can't believe that some trendy looking self righteous sociopathic hipster surfer dude with dreadlocks and a nose piercing is actually giving her the time of day and who will smile her hardest horse mouth at him while he tries to sell the idea of her giving him her number (for the charity but in her deluded mind he wants it because hes interested in her). Unfortunately for her , just because he approached her on the street with a clip board instead of in a club does not change the usual modus operandi of her being used and ignored. The chugger also values the moments when he is standing next to a member of the public who does not spit on him as this can normalize him in the eyes of the next gullible victims.
    The other strange species tends to stand and smile a lot but instead of smiling at the chugger like the desperate slut, this one also happens to be a smug self righteous trendy git who wants everyone on the street to see how much they care about charity and the environment and carbon emissions. The ''I do a lot of charity work but don't like to talk about it'' asshole who uses every opportunity to highlight their false modesty yet I suspect donates nothing in the end and will use a mastery of political correctness to silence any criticism. I keep seeing these stereotypical characters. Strangely enough there seems to be also the obese homosexual chugger who dresses like a goth/emo or who hangs around with an obese goth/emo girl chugger. Maybe this one is actually secretly hooked up with the metrosexual hipster chugger.
    Then last of all there is the foreign student chugger who takes a chance at chugging because she believes nobody from home will find out her secret shame. At some point she will find some pride in herself and become a hooker instead. At least then if her folks find out they will be less upset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭Father Damo

Alwayson wrote: »
    he was collecting for some religious group. His opening line was "You've heard of the Beatles?" I said no. End of conversation.

To take the piss you should have said that yes you had, and that they were bigger than Jesus. He would have loved it :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Some self-regulation from chuggers umbrella organisation in the UK:
    No longer allowed stand within 3m of a shop doorway, pedestrian crossing, cashpoint or train and bus station entrances
    Not approach members of the public deemed to be "on-duty", ie. approaching anyone who might be working.
    Also barred from working on sites booked by other fundraisers.
    Must be open about how much their firm is paid to carry out the charity collecting
    Cannot follow someone down the street for more than three steps
    http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/home-news/tough-new-rules-and-fines-to-crack-down-on-charity-chuggers-8063470.html

Maybe we should follow?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Roisy7

What have I begun! :D I had a guy from Concern annoy me the other day too, so much for their 'ethical tactics'. I told him that I wasn't in a position to donate anything as I have just finished college and I'm bumping up the 14% unemployment rate. He said, oh, social welfare is 188e a week, surely you can afford 7e out of it?

I said, "No, I'm going to be on social welfare, I can't afford it," very slowly.

They should leave people alone, no-one should have to explain their financial circumstances to a stranger on the street.

Also, I just remembered something that happened a few years ago. Think it was some religious group approached me and a friend on the street in Cork.

He said, "Looking good guys! But are you happy?"

My friend just went, "Yes, we are," and we kept walking :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭malene

Navan today was incredible disgusting. There were about 4 or 6 feckers in yellow jackets, and I mean, sticking their hands out to stop people, I told one to "f" off and he looked at me, as if he had a right to stop me and waist my time. Seriously, is there any way that a complaint to a superindendant can revoke their licence and they be asked to leave a town? It seems to be a legal form of harrassment.

The trocaire lot were all over mary street today. Pissing rain, freezing cold, and the girls were in the skimpiest clothes possible :rolleyes:

• Site Banned Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Wee Willy Harris

if they physically restrain you from making progress, on your merry way then make them aware of the dangers in life where they've clearly never had a good punch to the face.

They're just naive people who would probably chug on a cock if it paid their way

psychward wrote: »
    From observing the chugger scum in the wild I have noticed a few similarly sub human species of groupie which tend to be attracted by the chugger's lies. One is the very plain looking girl with below average looks who can't believe that some trendy looking self righteous sociopathic hipster surfer dude with dreadlocks and a nose piercing is actually giving her the time of day and who will smile her hardest horse mouth at him while he tries to sell the idea of her giving him her number (for the charity but in her deluded mind he wants it because hes interested in her). Unfortunately for her , just because he approached her on the street with a clip board instead of in a club does not change the usual modus operandi of her being used and ignored. The chugger also values the moments when he is standing next to a member of the public who does not spit on him as this can normalize him in the eyes of the next gullible victims.
    The other strange species tends to stand and smile a lot but instead of smiling at the chugger like the desperate slut, this one also happens to be a smug self righteous trendy git who wants everyone on the street to see how much they care about charity and the environment and carbon emissions. The ''I do a lot of charity work but don't like to talk about it'' asshole who uses every opportunity to highlight their false modesty yet I suspect donates nothing in the end and will use a mastery of political correctness to silence any criticism. I keep seeing these stereotypical characters. Strangely enough there seems to be also the obese homosexual chugger who dresses like a goth/emo or who hangs around with an obese goth/emo girl chugger. Maybe this one is actually secretly hooked up with the metrosexual hipster chugger.
    Then last of all there is the foreign student chugger who takes a chance at chugging because she believes nobody from home will find out her secret shame. At some point she will find some pride in herself and become a hooker instead. At least then if her folks find out they will be less upset.

I can't tell whether your post is about hating chuggers or women.

I hate chugging. I don't blame the people who fall for it, because they're not doing anything wrong, and I don't blame people who genuinely are desperate for a job and turn to chugging. But there are three parties that need to be blamed:

- People who chugg because they want to rather than they need to.
    - The companies that organise the chugging.
    - The regulators/law makers that do nothing about the fact that people are being harassed every day.

As an aside, I have to mention that the chugger that stands outside the shop where I work comes in to buy lunch and snacks with very small change. Handfuls of VERY small change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 482 ✭✭malene

As an aside, I have to mention that the chugger that stands outside the shop where I work comes in to buy lunch and snacks with very small change. Handfuls of VERY small change.

It's nice to know where the money goes. John O Sean being an extreme case in point. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭oldon

Be nice smile. Tell them u cant stop as ur in bad need of a s**t.......
    Just watch their face.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Anybody else notice there are less chuggers around and those that are are less aggressive?

They seem to have moved from oconell street and grafton to abbey street and Henry street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

They've arrived in Dundalk. A group of four of them at the square. Stand in your way shouting "I'm not invisible" types. Hope they all get leprosy of the crotch.