But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Patrick Bell Memorial Bohermeen 5k - Chip time in 23.21:D
    Happy Days - 21 sec PB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Well done on the PB Mrs and also to your sons achievements:)

Did my cross training on Monday but no running for me so far this week due to illness... still feeling Blaahhh :( so not sure what will happen over the weekend but i'll just take it as it comes and get out for an easy run if I can.

and so the total miles ran last week was 0 :(. i have really bad sinusitis and this tends to flaw up every now and again. I had it this time last year too as i missed Dunshaughlin 10k, which is this saturday so i'll have to see what happens this week later int he week. Everytime i get up from a lying or sitting position i have to stand for a second to settle the head.
    God help the OH & kids as its like living with a bear with a very sore head who got a punch in the eyes & nose, so i have a very short fuse at the minute:o:o...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Younganne wrote: »
    and so the total miles ran last week was 0 :(. i have really bad sinusitis and this tends to flaw up every now and again. I had it this time last year too as i missed Dunshaughlin 10k, which is this saturday so i'll have to see what happens this week later int he week. Everytime i get up from a lying or sitting position i have to stand for a second to settle the head.
    God help the OH & kids as its like living with a bear with a very sore head who got a punch in the eyes & nose, so i have a very short fuse at the minute:o:o...

Poor Anne:(, I hope you're feeling better soon:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Marthastew wrote: »

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Marthastew wrote: »
    RedRunner wrote: »

++1

Get well soon!!! Otherwise you might end up like Marthastew and make the family fend for themselves where food is concerned. I heard she didn't go to the market for weeks and the poor kids were left to subsist on Milk Duds and wine!!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Dory Dory wrote: »
    ++1

Get well soon!!! Otherwise you might end up like Marthastew and make the family fend for themselves where food is concerned. I heard she didn't go to the market for weeks and the poor kids were left to subsist on Milk Duds and wine!!! :eek:

I'm feeling very virtuous, I went to the store AGAIN today and there is food in the house (we ate all the Milk Duds so I had to go)
    I'm sure the warm weather plays havoc with your sinusitis, fingers crossed you're on the mend Anne

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,902 ✭✭✭Emer911

+++...1
    Feel Better soon Anne

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 32 Rigsy

Hi Anne

I follow your log with interest but just curious about something if you don't mind?:

I see a couple a months ago you were told that you didn't need orthotics but see in recent posts that you have since got them.
    As someone who is about to go down the orthotics route myself I'm just interested in the reason behind the change of mind?

Also, how did you go about breaking them in?

Thanks in advance

R

Rigsy wrote: »
    Hi Anne

I follow your log with interest but just curious about something if you don't mind?:

I see a couple a months ago you were told that you didn't need orthotics but see in recent posts that you have since got them.
    As someone who is about to go down the orthotics route myself I'm just interested in the reason behind the change of mind?

Also, how did you go about breaking them in?

Thanks in advance

R

Hi Rigsy,

That would be misleading alright. I don't need orthotics in the sense that most people who wear them wear them 24x7, 2 of my kids wear them to sort problems with their feet that lead to other issues.

What i have received is custom made insoles 3/4 length with a lift in the left one as my left leg is shorter than right as a result of a fall i had 15 yrs ago that still gives me trouble. I only wear these when running.( i have a soft lift in my left shoe to help with straightening me out)

I have worn the insoles for 3 weeks for a short run and increased the distance i wore them for each time. I carried my other insoles in my hands and swapped them around when needed.you take out the runners insoles and replace with these insoles. I haven't run since in 10 days as my sinus are giving me terrible trouble and its difficult to run when you have a dizzy head....

Anyway I was back for a visit last week to get reassessed with Michael Davis, he is really good and turns out that the runners i am wearing (saucony)are no good for my feet and i am not getting the best use of my insoles. i have to change to a different style,Mizuno, so as soon as AK have opened the new store in Ashtown i'll be getting new runners... in the meantime i'll be using my older Mizuno....

I have seen a great improvement in my toenails since starting to wear the insoles and all my nails are starting to grow again..i have really bad nails as my toe takes all the impact when i stike the ground...

Rigsy, I hope that makes sensible reading and it explains it to you, if not ask away. Why do you need the orthotics?

DD, my cupboards are overflowing with food, but theres a lot of sh!te bad food in the presses...have to get back to the healthy eating as the weight is piling on, but i have no interest in cooking so we are eating rubbish....:eek: im such a bad mother!!!

Finally....Thursday 20th June

so I decided i can't not run because as far as i can remember i had this most of last summer, sometimes i can run with it, others i can't, so i will take each day as it comes. Had planned a short run yesterday but head was having none of it...so i arranged to meet LizzyC at our usual 8 am and we headed off at a lovely easy pace chatting away. I knew if i arranged to meet her i would have to do the run....My head wasn't fully clear starting off but cleared for a while and then got stuffy again. anyone who has sinus problems or hayfever/allergies are finding it very hard at the minute.

I have yet to find meds that clears mine and makes me feel normal ;) for a while!!

Anyway i called it a day after 5 lovely miles and Lizzy went on for a further 3, i was very tempted to go with her but decided i better be sensible as my legs were starting to notice they were running again!!!:p

Dunshaughlin 10k Sat evening and I'm undecided whether to do it or not....if i decide to do it i'll have to be prepared for the possibility of not PB'ing but every race can't be a PB:rolleyes:,
    I haven't done a 10k race since May 2012 so my PB of 50.00 is dying to get a few seconds knocked off it!!!!!

Total 5m in 52.38 @ 10.30/156

Totals biggrin.png
    WTD: 5.00m
    MTD: 38.36m
    YTD: 645.36m

Younganne wrote: »
    Dunshaughlin 10k Sat evening and I'm undecided whether to do it or not....if i decide to do it i'll have to be prepared for the possibility of not PB'ing but every race can't be a PB:rolleyes:,
    I haven't done a 10k race since May 2012 so my PB of 50.00 is dying to get a few seconds knocked off it!!!!!

I'm going to Dunshaughlin tomorrow too, but there won't be any records broken for me! If you make it there, look out for me - we can keep each other company down the back :D:o

Emer911 wrote: »
    I'm going to Dunshaughlin tomorrow too, but there won't be any records broken for me! If you make it there, look out for me - we can keep each other company down the back :D:o

Great catching up yesterday Emer...well done. see you again soon hopefully for a few LSRs in the park!!!:D

Dunshaughlin Michael Manning 10km - Sat 22nd June

I haven’t run a 10k since the Boyne 10 in May 2012 and have a PB of 50.00 from this. Decided I’d do Dunshaughlin to see where I was at after missing another 10 days of running since Bohermeen 5k...

We had a school fundraiser on Fri night and despite my best intentions going out I ended up drinking more that I intended as I don’t get out to often. So late night, up early for football Blitz and a bit of a hangover wasn’t the best of starts to the day.... I went for a nap after lunch but couldn't sleep and when i got up my hangover kicked in. I had a “gathering” of cousins to go to and my head got worse throughout the evening and the last thing I wanted to do was run a race...but I headed off and got my excuses in early with everyone I met and declared that if I managed to do this,49.59 would do...only a 1 sec PB but a sub 50... I jogged to the start (warmup .65 @9.38) and met up with LizzyC and a friend of hers and we started off middle of the pack with me promising myself that I wouldn’t go off too fast. Start caught us by surprise as we were huddling trying not to get too wet in the shower that was falling and next thing over the line and we were away..

I had changed to the watch to KM so I could keep an eye on avg pace in KM knowing that it had to come in under 5km but I forgot to change the laps so it was giving me mile lap paces which was fine as I can’t think in KM:rolleyes:...Mile 1- 8.02 which was on target but felt like it was hard work.. I tried to settle in and Mile 2- 8.13, ave pace came in a 4.59 so knew I had to maintain this pace to get the 50.00... some people had water outside their houses and I decided to take a cup but I lost Lizzy and Sadhbh so spent the next km trying to catch them without spending too much energy...managed to catch them and I was in a bit of a flow so just kept it going. Mile 3 - 8.09

5k split was called out at 25.30 (avg pace was 5.03km), so knew if I kept going, at this pace this would be slow...
    the next mile I was flying and feeling great and though to myself it always takes 3m to warm up so I'm going to do this..:DMile 4 - 7.49
    ....but it was too good to be true..too much too soon and the lack of miles in the legs for the past two weeks took effect and I was struggling and I was contemplating lying down for a rest:o...

As usual I found myself in no-man’s land, nearest runner in front was about 50 metres , took a look over my shoulder and about 30 m to next runner behind....put the head down, trying to fight the wind, get up the little hill that felt like a mountain :eek: and just keep going!!!
    I was catching runners and passing runners all along the route and I don’t think I was passed at any stage in the race...but I was really thinking that the runners I had passed in mile 4 would all come back at me...Mile 5- 8.13,

mile 6 I just kept telling myself to hold on, push to the end, nearly there don’t miss out by a few seconds or I’ll be very disappointed...the pain will be gone in 10 mins...the rain came then and it was really heavy with hail hitting the eyes but it was not going to beat me...Mile 6 – 7.45

I saw a sign for 800mtrs, felt like I was hanging by a thread but told myself 2 laps of the track...4 mins max.....hold on...600m to go, feck this is long:eek:...400m to go...kick on, sprint for finish..i can see the clock 49.50, 49.51, 49.52 :eek:feck am I going to make it...

crossed the line 49.59 OMG that was tough, hamstrings lock up and I feel and look like a 90 yr old trying to move:rolleyes:...but I didn’t care!!!!

Even though this is only a 1 sec PB its the sub 50 that makes it that little bit sweeter.:D...but OMG I never want to feel like that in a race again but no one to blame but myself...i left my hangover on the road somewhere but I’d take a hangover anyday over this head I have today...it seems the wets days are nearly worst than the sunny days for allergies.....my head and face are in bits but might have to do with being at football again this morning and breathing in all that fresh air.....so no run today which isn’t really good enough but to be honest I probably would have ended up crawling home....back to the plan now 18 wks to DCM

I had another last night(no alcohol) as I went back to the party I had left. I had to go for another nap today which lasted 3 hrs...God i'm getting old:mad:

My HR was really high for the whole race avg 184...so I don’t think there was any more push left in me...

8.02/175, 8.13/182, 8.09/183, 7.49/185, 8.13/189, 7.45/189, 7.26/194(.23)

Total...10.03km(6.23) in 49.55 @ 4.59(8.01)...
    Official Gun time 49.59!!!!

Totals :D
    WTD: 11.88m
    MTD: 45.24m
    YTD: 652.24m

I realised last night that I talk a lot to myself during races:o...I hope its all on the inside and no one else can hear me!!!;)

Well done Anne, much deserved and fair play for getting that when the odds were stacked against you : hangover (:eek:), Sinus problems (:eek::eek:) and THAT weather (:eek::D)
    You're some woman! :D Congrats!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Nice one Anne, but disappointed, drinking the night before a race:P.

It just shows that you would smash that time if you were not sick for the last week.
    Well done

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭Big Logger

That was excellent, wasnt expecting that result from the start of the read. Fair play.

Nice one Anne, but disappointed, drinking the night before a race:P.

It just shows that you would smash that time if you were not sick for the last week.
    Well done

I know Dave, I'm very ashamed of myself!!!:(;) i'll try harder next time!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Congrats on the pb Anne! Sets you up nicely for DCM training :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Well done Anne, delighted for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Congrats from France :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Well done, delighted you got your official pre 50- look forward to what you will do to that PB when you are back right, I can't drink for a days before- maybe thats where its all going wrong for me!

So no running Sunday after Dunshaughlin 10k, my sinus was so bad i had to go to bed during the day, 3 hrs later and i was up but not feeling any better. Thankfully since Monday things have not been quite so bad (pollination season must be ending) and I'm starting to feel kinda normal again.:rolleyes:

Monday 24th June
    Legs were feelin the effects of having raced without proper running so Monday evenin was recovery run in the football pitches after training the girls !!
    Total 2.31m @9.45

Thursday 27th June
    I took to the trails and grass in the Phoenix park in the lovely wind & rain. The pace was easy and i was running with only HR displayed on watch as it was so high Sat, i decided to see whats the story with it. i checked my resting HR for the past few days and its in and around 49/50 so will check it regularly and see. Max last week was 194 in final .2 of a mile!!

Total 5.15 @ 10.03/160

Friday 28th June,
    another lunchtime run on the trails & grass in the Phoenix Park. Lovely wind to keep me cool :cool: I enjoyed this run. Legs are fine when I'm running but when sitting i can feel my Hamstrings pulling:eek:. Kids have hidden my Stick so treasure hunt in our house tomorrow!!!:mad:

Total 6.61m @ 9.44/163

Football training course all day tomorrow follow by a hen party so don't know if i'll get out for a run. Plan for a longish one on Sunday!!
    This months total is very low!!

Totals biggrin.png
    WTD: 14.07m
    MTD: 59.31m
    YTD: 666.31m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Hey...just getting caught up on logs as I've been very remiss as of recent...but...WOO HOO!!! Congrats on the pb, and for breaking the 50 sound barrier!!! Nice work with so much going against you. So, DCM....any goal times?? I guess we can share a celebratory drink together and toast all the hard work afterwards. :)

So Friday evening I got to the swimming pool with the family....not a whole lot of swimming done but the time in the water did my sore hamstring the world of good.

Saturday was spent at a football training course and as I 've never played football just train the girls and as we spent the last 2 hrs of the course doing all the physical things we had just covered, muscles I didn't even know I had got stretched....felt the effects for a few days after.!!:mad: Hen Parry Sat night I was very well behaved and so with no hangover but feeling very tired I got in a watch free 6m in about 58/59 mins

Totals biggrin.png
    WTD
    : 20.07m
    MTD: 65.31m
    YTD: 672.31m

Tuesday 2nd July

Very late heading out for this(9.27pm which is not bad on a sunny evening but on a wet dark evening not a good idea) and it was getting late and dark but I decided to keep going as traffic was light, but by the time I finished the rain was coming down and it was more or less dark....:eek:
    I tried to keep below 160 HR but when I turned for the home leg at 2.5m I was into the wind and the HR automatically went up. Nothing only HR displayed on the watch so the paces are a bit all over the place but all felt comfortable.....

9.49/155, 9.32/159, 9.41/162, 9.50/166, 9.56/171(hill finish),
    Total 5.10m in 49.52 @ 9.47/162

Wednesday 3rd July
    South O Hanlon 5k Race

I signed up for this as its only about 12m from my house, I loved it last yr and had my PB from this until Bohermeen last month... After Dunshaughlin 10k last week I felt like I was on target for a new PB, however that was not to be the case.

I started off by doing 1m warm up and headed for the start bringing up the warmup to 1.5m, then I walked the rest of the way to the start line, few stretches and away we went. I was a good bit back from the start which I used to my advantage of not going off too fast as was a previous problem of mine......I had no idea of what pace I was running as I hadn't it displayed on the watch and I was running on feel. Mile 1 7.39, great now I can push on, except mile 2 was full of hills, how come I don't remember them from last year even thought I remember loads of people giving out about them???:eek:

got the pace what I thought was faster and passed a few but as usual I ended up in no mans land(I must give off some aura odour or something :( as I never have anyone beside me when racing!!!! Anyway mile 2 8.05, I was disappointed with this as I felt like I was pushing on....when we passed each of the km markers I did a quick calculation and knew I was nowhere near my PB and was going to be really off it, but I pushed on regardless as I knew i'd be disappointed if I didn't, it was a race afterall......got through the last of the hills and hit a bit of a level patch until we hit the downhill...and the road for home, over the start line and head for the football pitch!!!

I pushed on with all I had and there was great support along the final half mile Mile 3 7.32 ....coming into the final straight a girl came flying by me but I pushed on and got her back on the line!!:D:D
    last .11 6.58

It surprised me along the route to see so many runner running on the left hand side of the road for the whole race even when going round twists and turns...I tried to follow the "racing line " and it came in at 3.11 so not bad!!!

7.39/179, 8.05/186, 7.32/190, 6.58/195(.11)

Gun Time 24.06( + the 2 complimentary 2 sec so official time 24.08...Garmin time 24.01

Although I was disappointed with my time (as I was sure I'd PB), I feel that I gave the race all I could on the night, with the course that it was and I think it shows where I'm at with my training and I'm hoping to resume full training next week heading towards my 3.45(BQ) bash at Dublin!!!
    So I'm not going to worry too much about this as it was a tough course and just continue my march forward!!!!

with warm up & cool down Total for the day
    wu 1.50m @ 9.47/156
    race 3.11 @ 7.43/185
    cd .94 @10.04/168
    Total for the day 5.55m

Totals biggrin.png
    WTD
    : 10.65m
    MTD: 10.65m
    YTD: 682.96m

I took a rest day Thursday because I just didn’t get a min to run

Friday 5th July
    I headed off out at lunchtime with the intention of a 5 easy miles but it was such a fantastic day in the park that I just kept going.:D I wasn’t sure how the weekend plans would work out for a medium length run so decided might as well get it done when I can.

I did most of this run on the trails around the park which kept it slow and I discovered some I hadn’t run on before so I was in the shade for most of it, there was a lovely breeze blowing for some of it and I managed without water but by the end I was parched!!
    I noted that the park was full of Butterflies so I plodded along enjoying the run immensely. The last 2.5m was from the Castleknock gates up/down???:confused: Chesterfield ave so the pace picked up a bit as the underfoot was a bit more even!!!
    Total: Lovely 10.20m in 1:44:32 @ 10.15/164

Saturday 6th July
    I had about 30 mins to get this done before heading away with the family for a BBQ in Dublin
    3.55 easy miles in 35.09 @9.55

Sunday 7th July
    There was a local 10k fun run raising money for the Gary Kelly Centre so I decided to do this. It’s the 3rd year of it and the first year I could do it so off we went to Carlanstown (15 mins drive away)
    About 100 people lined up for this, no numbers, no chip etc all money to the charity so no money wasted on little things!! A big clock at the start and at 2pm exactly off we went. The lads tore off and away they went and I settled in with about 30 people ahead of me. I took it nice and handy and had decided this was no going to be a PB attempt. It was way too hot for racing!!:rolleyes:

This route was full of long drags and hills and it was a challenging course. I stopped at both water station to drink a nice cup of cold water and a few times I had to battle with myself not to stop to walk. I passed about 10 people along the route and came in at 52.08 in the top 20 and as 4th female!!:D:D

I really enjoyed this run as I had no time pressure going out, I still wanted a good time but wasn’t going to kill myself to get it. It was extremely hot and I’m well burned today!!! I didn’t bother with a warmup and the cool down was the walk to the car to change and back to the pub for a fab BBQ and fun for the family!! :D

8.18/171, 8.25/178, 8.38/181, 8.49/183, 8.25/187, 7.59/188, 7.08/195(.22)
    Total 6.22 in 52.08 @ 8.23

Totals :D
    WTD
    : 30.62m
    MTD: 30.62m
    YTD: 702.93m

New Week and back on track hopefully with marathon training!!!

Tuesday 9th July
    Plan: 5m easy

I had a lovely rare lie in until 10:eek: this morning and then headed out just after 10.30 for this run, I was very weary of the heat in the first mile and took it nice and handy. I soon realised that I could go a little faster without melting!!
    My eldest was with me on her bike so there was a bit of stopping and starting while she got water from me as I was the designated water carrier:rolleyes:.

I had no pace on display and just had the mile markers to give me indication of pace. the first mile was nice and relaxed and then the pace seemed to pick up all by itself.:o When I saw mile 3 coming in at 9.05 I decided I'd better slow down...but oops mile 4 9.03, mile 5 9.11, last bit up the hill finished at 9.45. I really enjoyed this run:D
    10.05/143, 9.55/159, 9.05/166, 9.03/169, 9.11/174, 9.45(.10)

Total 5.10m in 48.16 @9.28/162

I got back dripping like i'd stepped out of the shower and the youngest had a pain to go for "her run" so off we went to the hills for a lovely recovery mile. She's gas little thing and she chatted away as we jogged half mile out the road turned and half mile back with her stopping 3 times for water and at 4 yrs of age not a bad pace 1.05 @12.57...then she showed me the stretches I needed to do;)!!!
    Total 1.05 m in 13.37 @12.57/145

Totals biggrin.png
    WTD
    : 6.15m
    MTD: 36.77m
    YTD: 709.08m