But its cold outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Go kill it Younganne!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Sorry this is a bit late. Best of luck tomorrow work is done time to reap the rewards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Lovely to meet you Sunday, Anne. Sorry I didn't get to catch up with you in the Coal Hole. I hope the legs are feeling ok today :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

So i survived London and lived to tell the tale!!!

Where did i ever get time to do all my training:eek:.....i haven't had a minute since i got back.....Body has recovered very well and the legs are pretty much back to normal...i reckon they were worst after the Half in Bohermeen in March. I survived with all my toenails intact and no bruising under then which i would normally get...im still suffering with a bit of dizzness and sickly tummy but its easing now....i think its more sinusy than post marathon fatigue.....

I'll get a report done up at some stage over the weekend!!:D
    Heading out for a gentle run at lunch time, was mad to get out yesterday but didn't get the chance!!!
    Catch up soon!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

How did you get on? Did you make the time you were hoping for? Give us a quick synopsis please!

Mulberry wrote: »
    How did you get on? Did you make the time you were hoping for? Give us a quick synopsis please!

sorry, i stuck a few details up on Sunday on the London thread.

aim was 3.50, PB was still is 3.57..London time 4.00.52........my toughtest run to date.....but medal and teeshirt collected and from mile 22 that was the sole focus:o

I'LL BE BACK...if i can get another entry!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

Younganne wrote: »
    sorry, i stuck a few details up on Sunday on the London thread.

aim was 3.50, PB was still is 3.57..London time 4.00.52........my toughtest run to date.....but medal and teeshirt collected and from mile 22 that was the sole focus:o

I'LL BE BACK...if i can get another entry!!

Wow - sounds like a tough day was had by all - and sounds like you did well to make that time.

Looking forward to all the details! Must check out the other thread.

Thanks Anne, and really well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭red face dave

Well done Anne on the finish, another one under the belt plenty more oppertunites for the p.b

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,821 ✭✭✭blockic

What happened that report? Did the dog eat it? ;)

London Marathon 2013- as promised The Short Version;)

Bit of Background
    Last April I was informed of the Ballot for the London marathon and decided I’d enter but didn’t think I had a snowballs chance of getting in, but low and behold in through the International lottery I got....ah feck....I didn’t really think it would happen...anyway London was on and when people started congratulating me on getting in and talking about it I realised it was one of the “big” ones so started to look forward to it. I had a fantastic run in Dublin marathon knocking 30 mins of my PB but more importantly had a ball and enjoyed the race so thought I have the same again for London and sure while I was at it I’d knock 10 or 15 mins of my PB, sure it was no problem.........:rolleyes:

Then a week or two after Dublin I started feeling very run down and tired and discovered that the bloods taken a few week before Dublin showed that my Ferritin levels were down an 9 and this is not good....I couldn’t function in my day to day life and I hadn’t the energy to walk never mind run. With 3 kids and a full time job to do this was not a good time..... I started my iron tablets and slowly started to feel human again but the plan for London had to be revised and I had to slowly start building up my runs again and it took a few weeks but slowly i got there.....New Year came and I decided to do the Tom Brennan 5k race in the park on Jan 1st to see where I was at and I had a really tough run, no energy and it was the first race in just under 3 years since i had started running that i didn’t get a PB......i was disappointed but at least I knew i still had lots more work to do so i got stuck in and everything that Ecoli put on the plan i did.

The Half marathon in Bohermeen was to help me set my target for London and i got a small PB in this race so i felt that i was back level with where i had been for Dublin so onwards we went!!!

Going into London the term being used for me was “undercooked” and i heard it was better to be undercooked than overcooked so I didn’t mind too much, but i felt that 3-4 more weeks would have seen me in peak condition. My easy pace was dropping and i was hitting my paces in my training and having no major problems so the bar was set at 3.50, going out conservatively and picking it up for last few, a mirror of Dublin but just a bit faster.

LONDON 2013

Friday evening i packed the kids off to the wonderful place called Nannys house:D and headed for home to get my best night sleep as was required. Unfortunately this was not to be and i had a very bad night sleep with a total of 4 hrs sleep before it was time to get up and head for London on Saturday morning with my long suffering husband. We arrived in Gatwick and as we were sitting on row 1 and we stood to get off the plane from Row 1, my OH joked that i could be first off the plane so there was a sign that i could also be first across the line in London...that sign then changed as they couldn’t get the steps to the door and so we had to exit at the rear of the plan...so what was that sign i stated!!!!:mad:

We followed the directions kindly provided to us by the Boards crew for getting to the Excel arena. We got there, collected my bits and pieces had a wander around but didn’t delay too much, in and out 30 mins and then headed for the hotel...4.30 by the time we got there and at this stage I had a headache from tiredness....we had quick showers and then headed for dinner in a little Italian near the hotel and 10 mins after we got there, there was a queue out the door and down the street, so we felt very lucky to have gotten in at 5.30 and not left it any later....after dinner we wandered up to the finish area and checked it out. There was a great buzz about the place and I could feel the excitement...Early enough I headed to bed but again a very restless night and woke next morning not feeling rested at all.

I met up with Rubyk, Marthastew, Krustyclown, Pronatorand EauRouge in the lobby and we headed for the trains. The two ladies headed for a different train so myself and the lads headed together to the Red &blue starts. The 3 very nice gentlemen walked me to the start of my Blue section:D and then headed off to their own red section.....then i found myself on my own in a large crowd. I sussed out where my bags had to go and then headed for the long queue at the toilets.

I soaked up the atmosphere, dropped the bag and headed for pen 5.....slotted myself in the middle well behind the 3.45 pace and not too far in front of the 3.56 pacer!! After the very emotional silence for remembering Boston, in which you could hear a pin drop, next thing we were trotting up towards the line and the excitement/dread and all the emotions were whizzing round in my belly!!!

Off we went, a little slow jog to get us going and then the pace picked up but then after 3 mins we were walking WTF:eek:!!!! Back into a little trot and away we went again. First mile came in at 9.38 but i wasn’t too worried.

I just ran with the crowd around me not really paying much attention to the pace for the next few miles. I remember noting to myself at mile 3 that it was very warm and the sweat was pouring off me and the sun beaming down on us. First water station i took a fresh bottle of water as i had one in my hand from the start and after that i took water at every other station swigging as i needed it but never actually finishing a bottle...i had needed the loo from the start despite going twice while waiting so i was conscious of not drinking too much.

First gel at 6m, second gel at 11.5 and when i got tohalf way i was feel fine and enjoying the run and just checking time now and again with pace band i had on. I was about 1 min off the 3.50 pace right from the start but this was fine....

Splits for the first half were

9.41, 8.49, 8.36, 8.34, 8.49, 8.53, 8.52, 8.43, 8.41,8.43, 8.46, 8.41, 8.40. i crossed halfway in 1:56:xx.

This was fine as i was feeling good and i had planned to push on later.

The mile from 13 – 14 flew by as i spent it stuck to the barrier watching the lads going down the other side...for some reason I thought it was around the 17m mark so i was watching out for the boards lads as they should have been around 17mile at this stage...but i didn’t see them..(it was later that i realised this wasn’t 17m mark but 22-23m mark...)

Mile 14 and 15 were 8.50, 8.51. My stomach was starting to feel quite sick and at one stage i looked for somewhere to go but there was no where thousands of people on either side of the street behind barriers, hundreds of runners around me..i just said to myself it will just have to to hit the road in front of me, but somehow it passed and i kept going. I kept getting little cramps in my legs so I tried to take on more water. They cramps would come and go and thankfully never take hold where I had to stop but the threat was always there.

We entered a tunnel at the start of mile 16 and i lost reception...no worries, out the otherside and the pace would be back on track, but something happened in that tunnel, i don’t know if it was the cool shade or seeing others stopping everywhere but my pace dropped and it never recovered...it was involuntary and i had no control of it.....things got tough after that, i was no longer having a fun time...i pushed on...mile 20 i tried the “go faser when not feeling good” trick and in my mind i was going faster but not in my legs....i suppose i hit a mini wall here, ...i wanted to keep going mentally but my body wouldn’t let me, i became very tired here and all i wanted to do was get it over with..I took my 3rd gel at mile 17 but it didn't seem to have any impact, just swirled around in my sick stomach.....then i picked myself up a bit and said it was just a mini slump and i would be fine once i got to 20 miles, afterall the plan was to pick it up from there and bring it home.......

Miles 14 – 20 were 8.50, 8.51, 9.17, 9.09, 9.19, 9.37, 9.07,

Things got really tough here and I felt like I was running at about 11min per mile...legs were very heavy and the stomach was feeling very sick...and I was starting to let the pace annoy me. I knew 3.50 was well gone and with every mile marker there was a bit of relief that it was another one done, but the paceband and my watch were showing bigger differences each time. Now the focus was on getting to the finishline in one piece and maybe managing a PB of some sort.....I went to take another gel at mile 22 to bring me home but one mouthful and I had to dump it as I was gaggin on it!!!!!:eek:

We entered another tunnel at mile 24, lots of signs from Lucozade about digging in, giving your last bit etc....i entered the tunnel and it was like no one could see us so people were lining the sides of the tunnel stretching out, people were lying on the ground and I just stopped...I have never stopped in a race (or a training run)before and this was my lowest point....instantly I knew if I didn’t get running again I would not finish as I could barely walk, I was like a new born lamb with shaky legs and this was not good. The 3.56 pacers came by and I just physically put my head down and dugin and got going again, I was also aware throughout that people were tracking me and I could feel the virtual kick up the ass but they weren’t strong enough to propel me forward...... I tried to keep up with the pacer and for a while I did, but had to let him go on as there was just nothing left....mile 25 ended up being my fastest mile of the day...(mile 24 slowest as I had stopped) I think the fact that I was looking out for my OH as I knew he was at mile 25 distracted me for a while and helped me move a bit but it didn't feel any faster at the time.....I only know it was faster from the garmin!!!

Mile 21 – 25 ...9.16, 9.15, 9.23, 10.31, 8.30,

I got to mile 26 and I knew there was an end in sight. I knew the PB was gone but to be honest I didn’t care at this stage I just wanted to get to the line so I could stop..... at this stage there was people being stretchered off the course, people getting medical attention all along here and it scared me a little bit....there was a woman at the 800m to go marker lying on the ground screaming at the top of her voice....then I seen an older guy who looked like he was in his late 60 early 70s and he couldn't stay upright, he kept veering towards the barriers and the curb and every time he did the crowds did a bit loud intake of breath and were trying to encourage him on.....the crowd were amazing along here(actually along the whole route) with their support...before I knew it I was linking arms with this guy and I took hold of his arm and helped him to stay upright....the crowds gave a huge big roar and on we went....Buckingham Palace, the big golden statues came into sight and I knew we just had to turn the corner...we turned the corner 385 yards to go..brilliant we were nearly there. The guy kept saying to me ...your time, go on..and I said my time is gone lets keep going....next thing 2 medical guys pop in and say we’ll take him.The man protests and pushed them away...i instantly got a crap in my quad because we have suddenly stopped moving ...and I have to move on and leave him.....then I hear the commentator stating that oopps wobbly legs, someone help that man up and let him over the line...I think to myself...the line cannot come soon enough....next thing I see the photographers and I wave my arms in the air...thinking Thank God that is over.....i stop my watch and I see 4.00.54 and I am so delighted its done.....my legs go very wobbly and my head is spinning but I keep moving on, tears pouring down my face.....never again I vow!!! :rolleyes: Then I had to climb up that huge big mountain for the chip to be taken off my shoe...i can’t get my legs to move, the girls smile and say take your time and I manage to get up, they take the chip and I have to try get down the other side.....i laugh at that now as I think that was the hardest thing to do at that time, a tiny ramp and it felt like a mountain.... .
    Last 1.48m - 10.08, 10.53(.48)

I ring my husband and ask him to come closer to the finish as my legs are not really working properly :o and I can’t walk the whole way to the end of the alphabet to the Y where we had arranged to meet. The walk for the bags seems like miles....I get my bag and stand there not knowing what to do...the place is littered with people sititng/lying on the ground, i have to look for a bit of path with no kerb so I can climb onto the path as the legs are in a really bad way...i change out of my teeshirt and put on dry clothes, take a bite of a bar and have to bin it as stomach objects too much!!! and then I shuffle slowly down the path trying to find OH, sweating and shivering all at the same time........next thing I know my head is spinning and I feel like im going to faint...2 lovely medical girls just happens to be walking towards me and I signal to them...they come to my aid and looks after me...they try to get me to sitdown but I insist on staying standing as my legs couldn’t bend to the ground. When I started swaying towards the ground again they insist I sit and call for a chair for me....A short visit to the medical tent, I have to eat and drink something and after 15 mins or so I'm allowed to go...a slow walk to the hotel via McDonalds:D, and I’m much improved.....showered and changed and instantly the legs are much better so I head to meet all the elites at the Coal Hole... fantastic running by all involved and I felt like paddy slow coach for a minute, but then I cop on:o and enjoy the evening with the gang, old and new friends......I was in bed by 10.30 that evening absolutely exhausted but delighted to have completed the London Marathon...I enjoyed the race, up to a point, I loved the crowds, I checked out the sights and wow that is some race. I would definitely recommend it and even thought I said never again...i entered the ballot again fo rthis year!!!!;)(surely I wouldn't get in again.....:eek:)

I walked for miles around London the next day which really helped my recovery...This was the first marathon I have done where I got no blisters on my feet or in the usual spot of under my toenails, so all toenails are fine(except the 5 black ones I have before London), my legs were fine and I went for a easy 3m(@10.18 pace) run on Thursday, then physio rubbed out my Quads which were sore, but I left her place feeling like I had a new pair of legs.....dyign to get out for a run but since I have developed a chest infection so I am being very sensible and not running until fully cleared.......and planning my revenge on the marathon!!!!!

Total 26.48m in 4.00.52 @ 9.06

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Great report Anne!

Have you ever tried taking salt tablets on long runs?
    They help avoid cramping and any run I've taken them on they seem to help me.
    I'm not a big fan of gels myself as there are too many negatives for me (taste, dodgy stomach feeling, messy hands, etc.) and not enough positives (I get the placebo anti-effect!).

Thanks J, ye i'll have to look into salt tablets as I tend to have the salty face after my runs alright....always new things to try out.....:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,361 ✭✭✭RubyK

Hey Anne, great report, you really dug deep during those dark last few miles, and you have good karma coming your way for helping out the other runner, I'm sure he thinks of you as an angel :)

You'll get that pb next time out. Hope the chest infection clears up for you asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Great report Anne, it really sums up what effort and determination you showed on the day and what a sweetie you were helping that man. I would probably have mowed him down! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Well done Anne, I didn't realise you had it so tough at the end. Great time and especially considering all you went through. Now that we're both in berween programs how about the four of us getting out in the next few weeks. The end of June won't be long coming!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,098 ✭✭✭BobMac104

Fair play Anne for getting there. A mighty effort indeed!!!! Well done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

jcsmum wrote: »
    Great report Anne, it really sums up what effort and determination you showed on the day and what a sweetie you were helping that man. I would probably have mowed him down! :o

Or roared at him to HTFU :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Great report, as you said on my log, we both had very similar races.
    it's comforting to know that no matter how ready (or not) we feel at the Start Line we just never really know for sure how the day will go for us. That's one of the attractions of marathons for me; no matter how the day goes we always come out of it having learnt something about ourselves.... I think you learnt that you can really dig deep when the going gets tough, well done Anne:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

menoscemo wrote: »
    Or roared at him to HTFU :pac:

Limerick here I come!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭madon

Well done Anne:)

Well done Anne. Great report and you will smash that p.b next time out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Well done on a fantastic run especially when you had to dig deep.Fair play to you for helping that man too! I've enterd the UK ballot for next year.Reading your report whetted my appetite for it even more and I'm dying to check out this Coal Hole place!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,685 ✭✭✭RunningKing

Super report Anne and a super race.
    You personified HTFU during that race.

How many people do you know have raced and finished the London Marathon?
    There's a select few who've done it and you should feel very proud of it.

Also helping that man was such a great sacrifice on your part, when you were struggling.
    Great stuff, makes me want to do a Marathon sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,888 ✭✭✭Dory Dory

Fantastic report..and super job of digging deep, not quitting and unselfishly helping a fellow runner to carry on. And thank you for articulating so well all those ugly, low spots we experience during 26.2 miles but that can shame us too much to admit. Yes, I saw myself many times in your report....well, your post-race visit to McDonald's excluded....but other than that, I can totally relate. ;) Well done on your grace and ever positive spirit. You are a joy to follow on this log. :)

neilc wrote: »
    Well done Anne, I didn't realise you had it so tough at the end. Great time and especially considering all you went through. Now that we're both in berween programs how about the four of us getting out in the next few weeks. The end of June won't be long coming!!

Neil, I presume when you talk about heading out you mean drinking and not running;);) I know your OH would run but mine wouldn't...lots of the Boards crew tried to recruit encourage him in London to do some running but he was having none of it..I will be in contact!!

Thanks everyone for the kind words...

I have been wondering about my fellow runner since London and if he made the line, which I had no doubt he would and after a bit of "detective" work I sussed that he was indeed 70+ and running for the Royal Navy(27754). He crossed the line 1min 30secs after me and his photos show a steward walking along behind him...so happy for him he got to cross the line...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

even though I don't know you at all Anne, I'm full of admiration for your hard work and dedication over the past many months. You put in savage training which I followed quietly but closely and I'm sorry you didn't get what you went out to get on the day as you fully deserved it but you still ran a fantastic marathon. I'd say this will just make you even more determined to beat that pb the next time which you will. Well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,140 ✭✭✭snailsong

Thanks, Anne, for such a candid and well written report. Well done on the race, a 4 hour marathon is a great achievement, regardless of what your expectations were.

Running isn't all about cruising to a PB. Maybe when you reflect on this race you'll agree that we can gain more from the bad days than the good ones. I have found, and maybe you'll concur, that distance running is as much an emotional as physical discipline. Well done on keeping yourself going when the going got tough.

I've enjoyed the log and look forward to following it in the future. Thanks.

Still no running yet for me:(. Antibiotics for another few days but I'm itching to get out for a little trot so will have to wait until finished and then get back into it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,029 ✭✭✭DigiJem

Well done on London Anne, finally got to read your report. Mind yourself, and use the downtime to plot your next marathon :pac:

Get well soon Anne, enjoy the downtime. What's the next goal or is it to soon ???