Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 825 ✭✭✭3fullback

Hogzy wrote: »
    They did it in the UK to increase resale value. Silver, grey and black are much more popular colours than White. Its nothing to do with how easily spotted they are. Most UK cars are absolutly plastered in Battenburg markings so it wouldnt make much sense if they were trying to evade detection.

Interesting why would anybody in there right mind by a used Garda car :confused: !! When and where are they sold off ?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,544 ✭✭✭Hogzy

3fullback wrote: »
    Interesting why would anybody in there right mind by a used Garda car :confused: !! When and where are they sold off ?

A car is a car at the end of the day. They are well maintained in fairness and usually come with a full dealers service history. The price will obviously reflect the milleage.

Hogzy wrote: »
    A car is a car at the end of the day. They are well maintained in fairness and usually come with a full dealers service history. The price will obviously reflect the milleage.

:eek: That is all.

3fullback wrote: »
    :eek: That is all.

Apart from body work, yeah. They are well maintained by the dealerships.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

Bit off topic, but driving past the Courthouse in Naas a couple of days ago I spotted a brand new 131-D jet black Ford Mondeo unmarked car parked outside. Very hard to tell, but it had lights on the dashboard and two vaguely visible lights either side in the grill. Had no time to take a picture, but I will next time I spot it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

A new silver TC Mondeo from Tipp division

Cartell.ie...

Registration 131D8467
    Make FORD
    Model MONDEO
    Description 2.0 TDCI 140PS M6 4DR
    Fuel Type DIESEL

Not too bad I guess, 2 litre diesel turbo for Traffic Corps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Is diesel (cars) been accepted well now by guards or petrol any day ?

I would imagine it would depend on the type of patrol. Petrol would be better in cities id think but Diesel in Rural areas and on Motorways.

Why?? Petrol cars would be needed just as much for country stations. Infact most response cars in cities in England as 1.4 or 1.6 diesels because they don't need any top end speed or high acceleration.

As an aside, 2.2 diesel 198bhp mondeos have also been bought for motorway Traffic units.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

I see its becoming more and more popular for officers to have their own cameras while on duty, especially traffic related units.

Anybody ever consider getting one and uploading it on the web? Of course going up the chain of command for the "okay"... it would be pretty interesting to see a fail to stop, training or other bad driving on the roads we have here!

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

I see its becoming more and more popular for officers to have their own cameras while on duty, especially traffic related units.

Anybody ever consider getting one and uploading it on the web? Of course going up the chain of command for the "okay"... it would be pretty interesting to see a fail to stop, training or other bad driving on the roads we have here!

Gardas already use there camera for work purposes eg rtcs etc....

When traffic blues was so edited jesus would have to come off the cross to get the real stuff on the tele or the net.

You some stuff showing on crimecall tho

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Dubai - Lambo Aventador pursuit car :cool:

NYPD - Prius pursuit (pedestrian ?) car :p:p

Is this the biggest polis car gallery on the net ??

http://code3.wordpress.com/

Some interesting machinery on it.

US police car blog
    http://www.policemag.com/blog/vehicles.aspx

Capri wrote: »
    Is this the biggest polis car gallery on the net ??

http://code3.wordpress.com/

Some interesting machinery on it.

US police car blog
    http://www.policemag.com/blog/vehicles.aspx
    And no Ford Mondeo to be seen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,195 ✭✭✭goldie fish

Special Escort group. They provide armed motorcycle escort to VVIPs. They used BMW R1100RS up to recently, but BMW don't do an RS version any more. Its a VFR1200.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,262 ✭✭✭DesertCreat_15

Special Escort group. They provide armed motorcycle escort to VVIPs. They used BMW R1100RS up to recently, but BMW don't do an RS version any more. Its a VFR1200.

You're correct :)

If anybody is interested, heres a video of them in action. A video from a youtuber i watch regularly ;)

http://youtu.be/Kvyht9Q3MZU?t=25s

Another video, unrelated to the SEG, but watch it if you need a smile!
    http://youtu.be/DVmSK89y_-U

• Registered Users Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Terrontress

I've seen them quite a bit around the Borough area. Their base must be somewhere nearby. The bikes all have SEG in the numberplate and little lights above the wing mirrors. What's coolest is that they ride in formation when not on an escort. You'll see them turn a corner with five bikes in a V shape and hold formation perfectly as they turn the corner then straighten up.

Thought my eyes were playing tricks on me today as I passed Tara St fire station, one of the doors was open and there was a SAPEURS-POMPIERS DE PARIS Renault Kangoo van beside the DFB Land Rover Defender :eek::eek:
    Drove around the block to get a photo but the door had been closed and the acrylic sheet isn't the best for getting a shot thru. Passed later but couldn't see the Renault there. Maybe it's an electric Kangoo on trial or are there 'cultural exchanges' going on - remember the Gendarmerie here for the Tour de France years ago :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭WilcoOut

last pic of the ERU put up by The Sky (two members side by side)

is the member on the left Female?

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Crux

No. Watch the you tube video of same. Definately a bloke.

• Registered Users Posts: 110 ✭✭medic112

@ capri,

they where over at the all hazards response 2 day conference in citywest last week, the paris lads & an ambulance HART team from the uk, showcasing there skills etc.

medic112 wrote: »
    @ capri,

they where over at the all hazards response 2 day conference in citywest last week, the paris lads & an ambulance HART team from the uk, showcasing there skills etc.

Thought I was losing me marbles when I saw the SAPEURS-POMPIERS DE PARIS Renault Kangoo in Tara St !
    Bit of an ol' drive from Paris for a 2 day conference :rolleyes:

Crux wrote: »
    No. Watch the you tube video of same. Definately a bloke.

Do the ERU operate outside of Ireland ever? I'm wondering about the tricolour patches on their arms and what purpose they serve.

• Registered Users Posts: 417 ✭✭The Maverick

Do the ERU operate outside of Ireland ever? I'm wondering about the tricolour patches on their arms and what purpose they serve.

I did read a few years back (may have got the gist wrong) that there was an attempt to standardise specialist armed police units across the EU in terms of appearance etc. It explains why the ERU body armour says Police as well as Garda, to make them as recognisable as possible. Perhaps the tricolour is related to this?

Maybe there's a provision there for these units to train together too. The PSNI's version of the ERU were involved in the recent exercise, so it does happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 799 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Looks odd the way the battenburg on the Garda cars end half way down.
    I don't think many UK forces do it in this way and in my opinion it looks cheap even on the shiny new cars recently allocated.

The Avensis looks the better car on the outside by far but I can imagine the Mondeo is far superior under the bonnet.

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    Looks odd the way the battenburg on the Garda cars end half way down.
    I don't think many UK forces do it in this way and in my opinion it looks cheap even on the shiny new cars recently allocated.

Best international practice, you'll find.

I did read a few years back (may have got the gist wrong) that there was an attempt to standardise specialist armed police units across the EU in terms of appearance etc. It explains why the ERU body armour says Police as well as Garda, to make them as recognisable as possible. Perhaps the tricolour is related to this?

Maybe there's a provision there for these units to train together too. The PSNI's version of the ERU were involved in the recent exercise, so it does happen.

Given the necessity of the PSNI remaining approachable to all the community, there's no chance of them displaying any flag or symbol beyond the PSNI crest.

Best international practice, you'll find.

Copying the Brits as usual more likely - show me other 'international ' police cars that have as much ****e on them (Swedes/Kiwis, but not many more !)
    Another waste of money - WHO can't see a flashing blue light and slow down :P
    What next - a H&S rep in every patrol car to do a H&S assesment at every traffic stop :mad: :D:D

foreign wrote: »

Cabra's Focus

As in Dublin ? If so I don't think thats true.

Copying the Brits as usual more likely - show me other 'international ' police cars that have as much ****e on them (Swedes/Kiwis, but not many more !)
    Another waste of money - WHO can't see a flashing blue light and slow down :P
    What next - a H&S rep in every patrol car to do a H&S assesment at every traffic stop :mad: :D:D

It could also be because our drivers are so useless here they couldn't see just a blue flashing light and frequently ploughed straight into an emergency vehicle going to or dealing with an incident, and then used the defence "I didn't see them". You'll also find that those cars without all the hi-viz markings are equipped with crash bars, to safely ram dopey motorists out of the way.

The safety of the emergency vehicle user, should always come before everything else.