Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle Gallery - Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

flazio wrote: »
    Ambulance Service tends to be less brand loyal than the Gardaí. I've seen Santa Fe's, Forresters, Mondeos, Land Cruisers and Shoguns decked out in Ambulance service colours.

I listed before the huge number of different vehicles AGS were using, I don't think they're 'loyal' to any brand - they'll use whatever they get a good deal on at the time they need it. Only vehicles I've never seen used are VW's for some reason :confused::confused:
    Not a great pic, black left hand drive suburban on blues escorted by two marked, I did wonder what was in the two trucks.

Saw them at Fairview earlier en route from airport, pic beside the Merrion hotel so guess he's staying there. The black Suburban is less obvious to the average Joe than the silver one I pictured before :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,431 ✭✭✭Markcheese

flazio wrote:
    How is that related to my post about National Ambulance Service Rapid Response vehicles?

Does anyone know what the criteria are for rapid response vehicles ??
    A lot of them are 4 wheel drive but not all... would have thought something tiny like a smart or twingo would be better for dublin city (except it cant mount kerbs as well as something bigger) , are they able to put a stretcher in the back at a push (say to ferry a patient across a field to waiting ambulance? ) or is that a no no...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users Posts: 12,904 ✭✭✭✭flazio

For cities, the motorbikes are the best job.
    Elsewhere it's just a case of being fast enough to get to a potentially life threatening injury before it's too late.
    And no, none of the NAS RRVs are stripped out to take a stretcher. I remember NEHB used to have vehicles kitted out like that but never in the HSE days.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,919 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Re: the traffic corps with the two trucks and black chevvy's .... I think vice president Biden is visiting us soon. A C17 landed in Dublin airport within the last few days ahead of the visit and those black vehicles look like pool cars from the US embassy... That's my guess anyway..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

Is that a RS Focus?

Also where was the Hyundai crashed?

An ST

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Is that a RS Focus?

Also where was the Hyundai crashed?

Coolock or Blanchardstown.

The people posting on those Checkpoint pages are complete morons.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭POGAN

foreign wrote: »

Agreed

• Registered Users Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Sgt. Bilko 09

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Coolock or Blanchardstown.

It crashed in blanch near Ida business park but it is attached to another division was chasing a motorcycle

Yeah that really get on my nerves, and everyone giving out FB status's telling people where the checks are

• Registered Users Posts: 8,975 ✭✭✭finnharpsboy

I'd scribble out that reg before you land yourself a ban lol

If I knew how to I would.... I've deleted the post.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Terrontress

They received some Mercedes as gifts/handovers from the NHS in Cambridgeshire.
    Something similar to how gards got the Volvo D5 from the uk.

A friend of mine who works in defence procurement told me that both the UK military and civil agencies find it cheaper to give vehicles, weapons and equipment to friendly nations rather than to undertake the cost of decommissioning them. This is how the Irish get the gifts you mention.

Managed to be the only car on the road when Bidens motorcade went by me.
    Our side had (8) black and silver pajeros and (5) Audi q8's everything else was American security,
    Unbelievable to watch so close.
    was not recording or photos for obvious reasons

I know I'm a bit late to the ball here, but a Ford Ranger for motorway work?

How are these decisions made at all? A 4wd slug that chomps up diesel like it's no ones business is their motorway vehicle?! What?! :confused:

151 Green Discovery with small aerial on front wing escorted by Traffic in front and BM 5series behind - a lot of CD cars nearby. Maybe Biden's party or..... ??

Didn't look armoured but had the 5 spoke run flat rims on it http://cdn.gmotors.co.uk/news/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/Land-Rover-Discovery-4-armoured-vehicle-2.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

I know I'm a bit late to the ball here, but a Ford Ranger for motorway work?

How are these decisions made at all? A 4wd slug that chomps up diesel like it's no ones business is their motorway vehicle?! What?! :confused:

Aren't they more for carrying equipment then anything else ? They just bought some Focus ST's so their fleet is ever so slightly improving.

Focus ST's,brings me back to the Renault 18 Turbos / Victor 3300 / Granada L 2.8 ;)

And when you compare 30 years later, most 2.0 diesels would leave them for dust :pac:

KKV. Two cars have collided, ate immobilised, and need pulled off the carriageway to get traffic flowing again.

Do you want your Ford to be a Focus ST or a Ranger?

It definitely has its place on a motorway.

KKV. Two cars have collided, ate immobilised, and need pulled off the carriageway to get traffic flowing again.

Ah, come on now, I've never seen a Garda vehicle pull anything anywhere.

The cars would sit in place until the relevant recover truck appears.

At least on the old D-Max it kinda made sense as they had that big electronic sign on the roof that had the arrows on it (but i'd imagine it was rarely used, as, on the motorway, the motorway response lads usually turn up with their signage to tell people to slow down and lane closed, etc.?)

A lot more then the unmarked Fiat Ulysse that sits on the boarder of the M1. Having said that it must not be that much of a slouch if it been used the past few years.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,225 ✭✭✭ratracer

No, that's when you want the Fire Brigade :p

The English Police always had Range Rovers on the motorway. I know that that side of it has been outsourced to the Highways Agency, but I think they drive Shoguns, doing a job which, I think, in Ireland would be done by AGS.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭heffomike54

Different scenario but if I was patrolling in some area & my patrol vehicle was about to be rammed by any class of vehicle, I would much prefer to be sitting in a Ranger rather than a Focus, ST or not.
    While I know this is not feasible for most patrol vehicles to be a Ranger or something similar, just my take on it :)

My grievance with it more so is that the Rangers should be out in Mayo, Donegal, etc. where they'll be on all kind of asshole busted roads trying to get to mary's house that's a one-off rural down a driveway that john drives thr tractor down each day, etc.

The chances of you being rammed on a motorway are fairly slim.. especially if you're driving a vehicle that hasn't a hope of keeping up with the car being pursued.

If you were a criminal after robbing someone in Kildare, and wanted to get across the border, or hide in louth, and have a good motorway spin.. would you rather be in an ST or a Ranger?!

Also can't understand why a Ranger, in financial terms. Surely you'd get two i40s for the price of one Ranger!?

My grievance with it more so is that the Rangers should be out in Mayo, Donegal, etc. where they'll be on all kind of asshole busted roads trying to get to mary's house that's a one-off rural down a driveway that john drives thr tractor down each day, etc.

The chances of you being rammed on a motorway are fairly slim.. especially if you're driving a vehicle that hasn't a hope of keeping up with the car being pursued.

If you were a criminal after robbing someone in Kildare, and wanted to get across the border, or hide in louth, and have a good motorway spin.. would you rather be in an ST or a Ranger?!

Also can't understand why a Ranger, in financial terms. Surely you'd get two i40s for the price of one Ranger!?

Since major purchase of 4x4 2007/2008 there has only been 5 4x4 purchased for traffic which was 2011, there is plenty i40s coming in too!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

POGAN wrote: »
    Since major purchase of 4x4 2007/2008 there has only been 5 4x4 purchased for traffic which was 2011, there is plenty i40s coming in too!

The facelift 140's are a cracking looking car.

I was wondering, when will the gardai look at going back to petrol? considering what's happening with diesel at the moment...

carzony wrote: »
    The facelift 140's are a cracking looking car.

I was wondering, when will the gardai look at going back to petrol? considering what's happening with diesel at the moment...

Yes they are nice! Diesel I think is here to stay

Re the traffic insigna on the low-loader happens cars break, go to any ford garage today you will see patrol car there on the road so much things break they get fixed then back on the road

• Registered Users Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

POGAN wrote: »
    Re the traffic insigna on the low-loader happens cars break, go to any ford garage today you will see patrol car there on the road so much things break they get fixed then back on the road

That's a very old photo, in fact I think it was even posted on here a few months ago.