Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Due July 2012 Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 189 ✭✭NyquistFreak

Ya Ginny I'm 38+2 today (I actually forget what day of the week we have now, was 38 weeks as of Saturday :)
    They offered me the ECV, but with only 30-50% success rate, the fact that he's free spinning the last few weeks anyway (not settled in any particular position at all, no where near where's supposed to be, not dropped at all and showing no signs of any part of him trying to engage, different every time they check him) and the fact that they would leave me off to term and the ten days over after it, with the likelihood of him turning again in that time anyway there didn't seem to be much point in it. Considering the risk of it setting me off into labour anyway, last thing I want is to go into labour and he's still only halfway turned or still the wrong way round, go through the start of labour and only have to go through the section anyway, I also have a pretty dodgy hip since I was a kid so breech delivery not really the best idea for me...after discussing it with boyfriend, we really didn't see the point. I'm still a little overwhelmed by it all to be honest, I really didn't know what to do when they were asking me for my decision, still trying to get the head around it. It's strange to know there's the end in sight and when exactly that is, it's strange to know that I won't experience the process of delivery the same as you guys, and more to the point, it's hard to keep calm about the whole thing, even though its probably the least traumatic option now at this stage! Twomums, what you said about your doctor really calmed me down about it the last day, I hope I have as nice an experience of it anyway! Barremic and Tinkerbell, if ye're still lurking on here, any chance of a PM on what I can expect from the section? Honesty in all the gorey details appreciated.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

I'm in tomorrow at 36+6 for a check-up, Mine seems to be the same as yours Nyquist, free wheeling in there right now! The were head down for the 32 week appt. but I think that as a coincidence, as I'm constantly getting head-butted in the ribs and hiccups at the top. Fingers crossed junior shows them tomorrow that they're usually head up.
    I wonder with me being public would they try and turn or just go ahead with a C?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,260 ✭✭✭Mink

Ginny wrote: »
    Can you drink too much sparkling water? Is it bad for you? I've been flying through it and sticking some dilute in it to flavour it. The bubbles cut the edge off my thirst, normal water is just not cold enough!

I'd say it's fine, just check the sodium content. At least you're drinking lots of fluids. Drinking water brings on heartburn for me so it's a bit of a catch 22.

Nyquist, there are probably some birth stories re c sections on that "Birth Stories" thread. I's say it's a few pages back on the Pregnancy forum (we should bump it up to fish for stories :D).

I have no first hand experience with c sections (or birth) but women always seem to come away from both with the exact same amount of love for their baby & sense of accomplishment. If it came to it that I need a section, I really wouldn't care, I wouldn't be disappointed. The way I look at it is I've grown this little human in my body for 9 months and that in itself is amazing, doesn't matter how he gets out.

I'd love if Teleporting was invented for births

I reckon the wee man's head is fully engaged now cos I really have that bowling ball in my crotch effect, my SPD is fierce bad (pain in your pubic bone) and there does seem to be a bit more room between top of bump & boobs... I think.

Well not getting checked out again til next week so will find out then.

• Registered Users Posts: 776 ✭✭✭TwoMums2Be

NyquistFreak remember that yours is planned...you won't be an emergency section where you are in labour and for whatever reason a section needs to happen in a rush. It should be a much calmer affair :) Don't go getting yourself all freaked out ;)

Mink you are totally right....how babies get into the world shouldn't matter...getting them here safely should be what's most important :) but sadly too many people make judgements in all areas of life :rolleyes: How our little girl gets here will make no difference to how much I love her already!

I'm public too Ginny, so they'll probably offer the ECV and then the section to you too if it comes to it, although they say at 36 weeks they still have plenty of time and room to turn themselves naturally.

I forgot to mention in the last post, they'll actually scan me the day before or of the section to make sure there's still a need for it so if he decides to cooperate and turn by himself then they'll leave me off and let nature take its course, cos I wasn't too gone on the idea of surgery in the first place. They do say its unlikely after 38 weeks that they'll turn though, but in your case you definitely still have time. I think my fella had been breech and then had turned almost head down for the 36 week app, not quite the whole way though, then went head up at docs the following week, still head up now - if it meas anything at all, i was feeling hiccups down by my left hip last night, so I actually have no idea how often he's changing position on me! ...make sure you mention it to them anyway that you have the concern when you go in and they'll keep a closer eye on you in the coming weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,251 ✭✭✭cyning

Things are really starting to get busy: i wonder how many babies we'll have by next week?!

Oh god I feel awful tonight, everywhere hurts, I feel puky and my stomach is killing me, just feel absolutely rotten :(

Ginny it was fierce warm today pet make sure you get enough fluids into you, I've just noticed myself now my feet are after balooning up and I usually never got any swelling, no appetite either and feeling a bit pukey myself, not nice! I did a lot of stomping round today though in fairness! Feel better soon!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭javagal

wonder did robin go back in :-)

Oh I hope so :D

cyning wrote: »
    Oh I hope so :D

how are you missus?

The same: 6ish BH at least an hour and constant period like cramps and very bad back pain... I'm getting more and more apprehensive about how on earth I'll get through labour. Trying to think positively :)

• Registered Users Posts: 307 ✭✭Saurelin

Cyning, Robin fingers crossed :)

My feet are enormous! I'm wearing men flip flops! I wasn't able to put any shoes I had at home (I get from size 5 to 7 and 7 are to tight now! )

The same: 6ish BH at least an hour and constant period like cramps and very bad back pain... I'm getting more and more apprehensive about how on earth I'll get through labour. Trying to think positively :)
    you'll be just grand!

going out to sit under the full moon he in

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭notsobusy

javagal wrote: »
    you'll be just grand!

going out to sit under the full moon he in

Cyning you'll be fine!!! Just keep insisting on the epi!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Kash

Ooh, I was hoping we would have some arrivals overnight!
    Hope you are both progressing, Cyning and Robinc

I am now 100% ready to have this baby, or at least have some signs of impending arrival. I'd swear that I'm not even getting BH any more. I think my baby is setting up shop :(

But my oedema is getting worse, my feet are so swollen that I am getting pins and needles all the way to my knee. And my fingers barely bend.

But what is worrying me most is that I appear to have developed a fist sized pouch under my bump, which is heavy and mildly sore if touched. It feels like there is something squishy in there, but I can't for he life of me figure out what it could be! I have everything and anything going through my head though.

I have an appointment at the hospital on Thursday morning, so I'll ask then, but has anyone experienced anything similar?

Oh Kash I'd give your Dr. or Hosp a ring just to check it out?

I agree with Ginny Kash...get it looked at...I know you are in on Thursday anyway but that swelling sounds awful & the lump should be looked at just for peace of mind :)

On the baby front...no baby news but no posts either so maybe we have two on the way :D

Not from me anyway: but I do have a doc appt in a few hours or i think I'd be landing myself back in there regardless :rolleyes: I'm telling you this baby is just too happy in there ;)

Kash give your doc a ring... if only for peace of mind. Always better to be safe and check these things out!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

Not from me anyway: but I do have a doc appt in a few hours or i think I'd be landing myself back in there regardless :rolleyes: I'm telling you this baby is just too happy in there ;)

Kash give your doc a ring... if only for peace of mind. Always better to be safe and check these things out!

It's typical, after all the stress u had worrying that u wld go into early labour, baby doesn't want to come out now!
    The same thing happened to my friend...they didn't expect her to even get to 26 weeks and she had to be induced in the end!

Whoever said bfeeding was pain free lied! I have a cracked nipple and it is so painful. Happened the other night when I was expressing. I have never experienced pain like it when she latches on, but it's grand then. It was so bad yesterday that I was considering switching to formula, but I'm really enjoying the feeding and I know when it heals I will be do disappointed with myself so I'm going to persevere for another few days.

His mother is driving me bananas tho...asked me yesterday if I was suffering from depression...asked her sis-in-law who is a phn what I cld do to increase milk supply. I'm far from depressed, I've the most perfect little girl who just wants to sleep and eat and the milk is literally pouring out of my breasts. I told OH and he was shocked But I don't think he'll say anything to her because she'll play the victim and get all upset and offended.

Kash wrote: »
    But my oedema is getting worse, my feet are so swollen that I am getting pins and needles all the way to my knee. And my fingers barely bend.

But what is worrying me most is that I appear to have developed a fist sized pouch under my bump, which is heavy and mildly sore if touched. It feels like there is something squishy in there, but I can't for he life of me figure out what it could be! I have everything and anything going through my head though.

I have an appointment at the hospital on Thursday morning, so I'll ask then, but has anyone experienced anything similar?

I'd get that checked before Thurs if you haven't already. When my sis was in labour, baby's head blocked her urethra & made her bladder swell up like no one's business. Could conceivably happen before labour if baby is wedged up against it. Are you peeing enough? Definitely see the doctor!

Re the odema, I slapped my OH on the arse last night (messing around, I'm not a husband beater :D) and it really hurt my hand cos it was so swollen, serves me right.
    kildareash wrote: »
    His mother is driving me bananas tho...asked me yesterday if I was suffering from depression...asked her sis-in-law who is a phn what I cld do to increase milk supply. I'm far from depressed, I've the most perfect little girl who just wants to sleep and eat and the milk is literally pouring out of my breasts. I told OH and he was shocked But I don't think he'll say anything to her because she'll play the victim and get all upset and offended.

Fair play to you on the breastfeeding! Get help re the cracked nipple as it sounds like you are doing well with it & enjoying it apart from that so you may as well carry on.

If someone asked me if I was depressed (when I clearly wasn't) I'd hit the roof. She really needs to stick her nose somewhere else. Who cares if she gets upset or offended?

There must have been something in the air (namely humidity) making us all feel rotten. I lost my appetite completely and had to force myself to eat dinner at 8.45.

In the afternoon I went to the loo in work and sat there with my eyes closed, head against the wall for a few minutes. Then when I got in from work at 6.30, I went straight upstairs & napped for an hour.

Just felt so weird. Feel a bit better today that it's slightly cooler. Don't mind heat so much, it's the humidity that kills me. It really makes me have way more braxton hicks too.

Awww Cyning here was me hoping you were in the throws of labour :D I guess your little one heard all the stay in there messages early on & now is confused ;) you said stay in....why do you keep telling me to come out...it's pretty cosy in here :D

Kildareash - my doc was very clear that breastfeeding can be painful she breastfeed her two & believes in it but is very up front about how it really is :) she recommended having tubes of that lanisoh cream (or whatever it's called) all over the house & use it religiously.
    Your other half really should say something...she's driving you mental & clearly doesn't understand the word boundary...if something isn't said she might still be fussing around you when N is 21! You are a very tolerant woman Kildareash....I'm damn sure I would have lost the rag at that behaviour by now :D

Kildareash - just had a thought - in my Internet wanderings I'm sure NUK do a nipple shield that you can breastfeed while using it to protect your nipple!

I'll see if I can find a link....I know a few local pharmacies here do NUK stuff so you could send your other half on a mission :)

http://en.nuk.de/products/breastfeeding/productdetail/?p=10.107.006&lty=m&lid=6

Amazon reviews for the medela ones are very good!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭kildareash

Sorry for the rant ladies and thanks for your support.

I was thinking about those nipple shields this morn, gonna pop into town in a while and see what I can find. It is healing, it's just feels like its taking ages! going to give the local numbers the breast feeding specialist gave me a call too, as she is on annual leave this wk.

It's been way too long since the last baby was born...what's the story?! Ye must have made those babies way too comfy! We started with a bang and now that's it's July they've all gone into hiding!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Kash

I just called the hospital, and they think the belly lump is another symptom of the oedema. So they've told me to go to the GP ASAP to get checked out, as severe oedema can be symptoms of other nasties. So, I've an appointment in an hour

I'll keep you posted, but thanks for giving me the kick up the arse I needed to call the hospital

• Registered Users Posts: 774 ✭✭✭notsobusy

Kash definitely go get that checked!!!

Ash your MIL sounds desperate, I would have lost the plot with her but then she'd definitely think you were depressed if you did that! Lol! You're better off to just ignore her, at least your OH believes you even if he's not prepared to say anything to her. Might be just as well. But if she keeps on at it then I'd say something!

A friend of mine told me about breast angels! http://www.breastangels.co.uk/

My right breast is sore when he latches on but it's grand after a minute. I've just started putting lanisoh cream on it. If it gets appalling then I might give up. No point in being miserable, I also haven't started expressing yet! Me who was intent on definitely having at least one bottle a day feed, but I've just been too lazy, although it would be nice for OH to be able to feed him. He changed a nappy for the first time last night and it was so funny, he couldn't work out the tags and pulled the velcro off them and then couldn't understand why they wouldn't stick. Oh and little boys do this class trick of peeing up into the air when you are changing their nappy!!!

good stuff kash better safe than sorry!

my cousin is due the same day as me and her waters broke last night.

can't help but feel jealous and emotional-i hate the insomnia,swelling,nausea and just want it to be over. i want to put on shoes and just walk until she comes out but no shoes fit me and flip flops just cut into my feet and make them swell worse.

sorry for the rant!

i reckon robinc is a Mammy or very nearly!

I reckon you are right Javagal re RobinC :)