Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

When did you realise you were getting old?

• 04-11-2011 12:53am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

I'm 21 but felt pretty old when i started making involuntary noises when getting out of chairs (not farts) .:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

John Doe1 wrote: »
    I'm 21

Just because you're not a teenager any more doesn't mean you are old, ya wee scallwag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,698 ✭✭✭✭Princess Peach

I'll tell you when I feel it :D

Hate to be old!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,571 ✭✭✭Aoifey!

I'll be 19 on Saturday, I wanna stay 18 forever :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

I'm 21 but felt pretty old when i started making involuntary noises when getting out of chairs (not farts) .:D

Jesus man i'm 21 as well and i'm sure as hell not letting myself think i'm getting old yet.

Maybe when i hit 35.. Maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

The first time, while working in a supermarket during college, that a mother told her child to "let the man pass."

Teaching my first class of teenagers was also a strange moment, being on the other side of that divide for the first time.
    Though I was never sure how to take it when the girls in each new group would invariably ask me how old I was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

since turning 30:( last febuary ive noticed a few things that are starting to show that im getting old -

making an ahhhhhhhh noise and whispering 'jaysus' as i stand up out of a chair

ive a nose hair that a midget could bungee jump with

i get annoyed when i hear kids playing ' music' on the bus

music nowadays is shite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

When you go up to the bar and someone mentions the weather, and instead of going "ah sure jaysus", you actually go on to have a conversation about the weather.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

When I start talking to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

When I'd absolutely no idea who or what was number 1 in the charts. Or in the top 10....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,976 ✭✭✭Brendog

When I remember when I was a kid I thought I'd be working in a steady office job in New York by 20.

I'm 21 in 7 months, unemployed and nowhere near getting a degree.

Don't feel like I'm getting old. Just have no sense of accomplishment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭humbert

When I realised that hitting on students(the undergrad kind) would be a bit weird. @^&ing depressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

There was also the time on AH when I saw a thread entitled "When did you realise you were getting old?" and didn't question whether I should reply and didn't have to struggle to come up with an answer to the question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭Fbjm

When I started college and realised I was never going to get my youth back.

Oh to be under 18 again...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

Since hangovers turned from being a ropey headache and puking to the shakes and incredibly awful anxiety :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Aoifey! wrote: »
    I'll be 19 on Saturday, I wanna stay 18 forever :(

An early happy birthday to you so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

Just because you're not a teenager any more doesn't mean you are old, ya wee scallwag!

So does that mean i have to give away my pipe and walking stick?:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,187 ✭✭✭psychward

when I got pubes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

When you tell kids to f*ck off away from the garden - I remember when if i heard the clatter of kids playing I'd grab my sword and be out the door in a wizz only last year actually and now that I'm 24 i'm grumpy and old and hate cartoons!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

So does that mean i have to give away my pipe and walking stick?:eek:

Unless you are blind & smoke, then yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

Since I started tucking my nuts into my socks

Can be quite painful when cycling

RichieC wrote: »
    Since hangovers turned from being a ropey headache and puking to the shakes and incredibly awful anxiety :(

wait til you get to the wrapped in a large sheet of tin foil stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭John Doe1

When I start talking to you.
    :P sorry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

im 23 am on the dole the past year and a half and i feel like a owl fella to be honest life is going no where barely even have enough money to socialize most of the time just sitting around watchin life fly by at least the last 2 years any way:(

depressing post for a depressing thread:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

When I was 25 and at a cousins wedding. Several younger cousins came dressed up, cocktail dresses clevage out in some cases. Never seen em like that before. I said to myself ' I BABYsat them! Jeez I'm getting older'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

When I started to only go to pubs where me and my friends can go to sit around and talk while not trying to get laid!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

21/23/25 will you people cop on, you're nowhere near old. I'm 33 and dont feel old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

I'm 21
    Aoifey! wrote: »
    I'll be 19 on Saturday
    baraca wrote: »
    Jesus man i'm 21

Maybe when i hit 35.
    Brendog wrote: »
    I'm 21 in 7 months
    im 23

When I read this damn thread :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭Bruthal

OutlawPete wrote: »
    When I read this damn thread :mad:

Beat me to it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭Aishae

Theres quite a difference between feeling old and realising you're just getting older

your only as old as the woman you feel blah blah blah

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Well, I was at the Duff McKagan gig tonight and so I'm not going down without a fight. A girl even made my night whend me she thought I was 28 or 29 and I know what you're all thinking, that she was just saying that to get me into bed, but I'm telling you she fecking meant it. Course I'm typing this and she is most likely sucking off the bassist of Loaded in the Gresham right now, but I'm trying damn it, I'm still trying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,970 ✭✭✭mufcboy1999

Senna wrote: »
    21/23/25 will you people cop on, you're nowhere near old. I'm 33 and dont feel old.

you should thats 3 decades approaching half a century old.:D

just messin! your right to though to be honest!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Stonking evil hangovers that need to be planned for days in advance.

Think I'll cut down to 1 night a week in the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

since turning 30:( last febuary ive noticed a few things that are starting to show that im getting old -

making an ahhhhhhhh noise and whispering 'jaysus' as i stand up out of a chair

ive a nose hair that a midget could bungee jump with

i get annoyed when i hear kids playing ' music' on the bus

music nowadays is shite

It's all dire since M-People tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,418 ✭✭✭Icyseanfitz

when i couldnt throw back the sambuca's as brilliantly as i could as a young lad :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭Happyzebra

When I started referring to teenagers as children.... They are you know....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Pretty_Pistol

Knew I was getting older when I would watch The Frontline instead of whatever American programme would be on Network 2... or is it RTE 2.

Listen to NewsTalk instead of the obnoxious young radio stations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭jackie1974

your only as old as the woman you feel blah blah blah

Well in that case im 23 ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

I'm 107 and I still don't feel old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

When I got a phone call at about 10.30pm on a Friday night from a mate whose first question was "Did I wake you?..."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Eroticfishcake

When I got a phone call at about 10.30pm on a Friday night from a mate whose first question was "Did I wake you?..."

Tell the truth, did he??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Only getting that older feeling since aged 31 or 32 - thank god. Would hate to have felt the need to inflict auldness on myself in my early/mid 20s. That must be crap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 blackworld

I have felt it when my friends told my that I look older with my age. . :(
    I don't know if it's a joke or not, but it kinda hurt me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

Tell the truth, did he??

No, the damn kids downstairs with their loud music were keeping me awake!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,062 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Today...as i just turned another year older :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

blackworld wrote: »
    I have felt it when my friends told my that I look older with my age. . :(

I'm going to let you in on a secret.... everyone gets older looking..

I think, this is my theory but the more you struggle the more it hurts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

Couple of years ago I finally came to the conclusion that I can't drink if I have work the next morning.

In my 20's I could do it no problem but not now. I think I'd have a breakdown.

Also, can't stand the madness of SOME people in their teens/early twenties. Between ridiculous American-ised accents, ****e taste in music, lack of respect for others, I find myself shaking my head at them every now and again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,024 ✭✭✭shannon_tek

Im Young. :D and i never want to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,804 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

When I was 25 and filling out an application for something...can't remember (is this a sign of old age?), and I had to tick a box for my age category. The first box was 17-24, the second was 25-32 and so on and I ticked the second box. All I could think of was the older end of the spectrum, "****......I'm in a CATEGORY WITH 32!"

Now I'm heading for the 33-40 category :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭chucken1

When I was 25 and filling out an application for something...can't remember (is this a sign of old age?), and I had to tick a box for my age category. The first box was 17-24, the second was 25-32 and so on and I ticked the second box. All I could think of was the older end of the spectrum, "****......I'm in a CATEGORY WITH 32!"

Now I'm heading for the 33-40 category :(

You're flucked altogether when you tick over 40 :mad: