Arcade Talk 24/7/365

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭dav09

I think I know where it came originally about 7/8 years ago from the states but bought from a local collector here recently, original PCB still in it was a great deal as cost only a few hundred quid and think the PCBs alone go for nearly 1k now, am I right in saying Dynamo cabinets never were actually sold here back in the day? Think we just has UK and Euro Jamma cabinets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 37,333 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Yeah I've seen them up for in excess of a grand now. Lovely board to have. Have you desuicided it?

First I've heard of Dynamo cabinets! I see they were all manufactured in Texas, so that would explain it. long way for something that heavy to travel so I doubt there were any on site here.

I see popular US cabinets we'd be familiar with here like Midway ones etc were actually manufactured in Germany.

Interesting, Dynamo cabinets imo are the king of Jamma cabinets, the nicest ever made, there was loads of the 'HS' range Dynamo Jamma cabinets that all look similar but had differences, monitor sizes, etc, but seemed to be the most popular late 80s/early 90s cabinets in the states. I have a few other ones too including the Street Fighter 1 original Dynamo cabinet pictured on that post too.

Interesting that the Midway Europe cabinets were made in Germany didn't know that, that rings a bell looking at the back of cabinets now, I believe some of the later midway style ones like Gauntlet Legends were made in Tipperary for Europe, I know there is still a Gauntlet Legends Prototype cabinet at the Namco/Atari factory to this day in Tipp (at least on my last visit not too long ago).

Interestingly enough, the cabinet which has Golden Tee in it in the photos is also a Midway style cabinet with some slight differences, I believe they were made by Electrocion in the UK for Mortal Kombat 2 and maybe a few games around then like War Gods or Mace but could be wrong there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭unky chop chop

Cleaned my sunset riders board to an inch of it's life ..."the bad ROM 3G" error has gone ..hurrah

Screenshot_2025-05-23-23-01-25-80_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

Now it's bad ROM 2g error 😃🔨🔨🔨

Ill leave it dry a bit more ...was a bit premature connecting it in fairness

Master of the Universe

Some of the guys over on arcade otaku have taken the plunge with these AliExpress Chinese repro cabinets and they're looking really nice.

Here's the sc19. It has an LCD but the guy who bought it says it actually looks quite nice with an OSSC.

1000070733.jpg 1000070735.jpg 1000070734.jpg 1000070736.jpg

Sure looks the part alongside a couple of originals.

1000070732.jpg

They actually look decent

Any one any idea where to get control panels for nichibutsu/ Taito cocktail cabs

I want one that has the cut outs for a 4 way stick and 2-3 buttons .

Basically I want a simple swap for one I have in there now ...it's just a metal panel

IMG20250605003416_BURST001_COVER.jpg

Dont know where to start to get one .. I do t want to wreck the original cab in anyway

I do like the look of those candies from Aliexpress, look very nice.

An outside of the box approach, could you get a piece of wood cut, and stick a new repro overlay on, then add the joystick? I know its very DIY but would still keep the original in tact, and you have a template already with the current CP. Otherwise would be searching FB groups and sites/ebay but not sure how common they are.

https://www.arcadeartshop.com/product/taito-space-invaders-cocktail-cpo-pair/

Edit: this looks to be pre cut for one: https://www.ebay.com/itm/266029219558?norover=1&mkevt=1&mkrid=711-169407-652593-0&mkcid=2&itemid=266029219558&targetid=295818637131&device=c&mktype=pla&googleloc=1007880&poi=&campaignid=20777745565&mkgroupid=154865157999&rlsatarget=pla-295818637131&abcId=&merchantid=5491958415&gad_source=1&gad_campaignid=20777745565&gbraid=0AAAAAo9ZJxuVG1g55N7p2ERFch9e7bf80&gclid=Cj0KCQjwgIXCBhDBARIsAELC9ZhJXU7pKHZlxleg_YAFjU_OTHT9n2sGlx9UxtJcilWEkypNDcBkgP4aAnxuEALw_wcB

yeah I saw that wood one on my travels.

I was just hoping for an easy swap solution. Like with all the nichibutsu and taito cocktails, the parts are interchangeable . So I was thinking get the cp of another cocktail game that has 4 way stick cp and 2 buttons . Can I find any info on taito and nichibutsu cocktail cabs ..like a list of all manufactured ….. can I feck !!!!

Ahhh I’ve actually found one ..phoenix. Taito cab. 4 way stick and 2 buttons . Easy swap ..a few screws . Quick joystick swap and wire another button and out of the pits in 10 seconds flat 😁

IMG_0070.jpeg

now to find someone selling a cp off one

I have no idea why Phoenix would have been made with a 4 way joystick as it only has two way movement but good news I guess!

Feck it , I'm giving my sega touring car cab one last stab then I'm mameing it if this doesn't work. Just mcguivar hacking a 600w atx psu into it.

Its got nice solid 5v volt rails which model 2 loves and needs

To be honest I want to make it anyway now you can get boards that interface with the force feedback board and drive board so nothing needs to be hacked once mamed this way .

Mmm sega rally in the cab with all control working as expected a seriously powerful force feedback on the wheel🤤

Screenshot_2025-06-07-22-57-31-91_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 34,811 CMod ✭✭✭✭CiDeRmAn

My butchering of my Asteroids Arcade1Up continues a-pace.

I've got a trackball set up, but not embedded yet into the CP.

I've got a PC doing the work, but I need to wire a new PSU into the cabinet wall.

I've the buttons all working as well as the spinner.

The only thing missing is an effective arcade frontend, and one that will let me run Steam games.

Launchbox/Big box is a pain in the hole and won't play nice with the fact the can doesn't have a stick

And Retroarch doesn't want to play nice either.

Attract Mode seems to be a decent solution, and it can integrate Steam games into it too, so I think I'll give it a whirl, see how it goes.

Master of the Universe

Capcom Cute repros seem to be coming out of the woodwork now, that French company Vortex that were doing Neo cabinets has now manufactured some of these.

Not cheap at €2,500 a pop, but they look lovely and have a CRT. (I think you'r talking 6000-7000 for an original now?)

1111.JPG 99.JPG 3.JPG 8.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,218 ✭✭✭Inviere

Master of the Universe

Aren't they just?

Look like old reclaimed tubes with some sort of new chassis mounted to them. Very neat.

66666.JPG 33333.JPG

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 11,369 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

They look great actually. What size monitor would be in them and more importantly, can they be rotated? 🙂

Master of the Universe

These are rotatable yep!

You'd unscrew the bolts on each corner of the monitor and attach them to these circled one instead for tate mode.

ROTATE BOLTS.JPG

The cute has an 18 inch monitor, I think these repros have a 19 inch which is a little more obtainable in The West.

And the cab is back to live with my patent model 2 > atx psu harness and atx psu I bought on amazon

Im calling it the half arse harness :)

Screenshot_2025-06-10-18-42-39-60_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

Screenshot_2025-06-10-18-42-07-55_99c04817c0de5652397fc8b56c3b3817.jpg

Why the hell did I not think of using an atx psu before this . Serves all the needs of the power hungry model 2 racing cabs .

I don't know how many other psus have failed on me or voltage on the 5v dips constantly .

Master of the Universe

Nicely done! Id say you're delighted, that was driving you mad. Great to see the power light on the PCB.

Hows the force feedback on it? All working well?

It really was driving me mad. Force fees back near rips the arms off ya ,the size of the motor 😃

Anyway I'm gonna mame it with that board that interfaces with all control boards and ffb motor. Sega rally is calling me ,and outrun coast to Coast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 795 ✭✭✭80s Synth Pop

Have a look at tibals mega adapter for model 2 as it will retain the force feed back.

Yeah I ordered one of him., wonderfull piece of kit.

Now to set up a PC with emulators .

What's the best front end / emulators for sega racers these days .

Ive been outa the game for a long time so don't know what is the done thing these days

I have a mini PC , 16gb ram ,Intel i5 ..just internal graphics card ..that should do the job shouldn't it !

I did a hyperspin setup with just arcade racing games. Mame, m2, super model, demul and teknoparrot.

But honestly once you play outrun 2 sp sdx that will stay on your favourites. OK maybe some scud race or daytona 1&2. And rad mobile is fun too. And sure some sci or chase hq. Maybe a bit of crazy taxi. Power drift. crusin usa. Actually san fran rush is great too.

It'll be outrun coast to Coast ,sega rally 1&2 and Daytona 1&2 all day long for me ...ohh sci ,forgot about that .never seen scud race in the wild or played it but I'll def do be giving it a bash. Yeah sega taxi for the craic also

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,012 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

Have you looked into connecting your PC to your arcade CRT? I find this to be challenging.

I have an ATI/AMD graphics card connecting via DVI-I (analog) to a VGA adapter, using calamity drivers and VMMaker. I had it working perfectly and then it stopped working all of a sudden. I suspect it was coz i allowed a Windows update.

I've uninstalled and reinstalled about 5 times and no luck. I can see the bios logo and windows boot logo, albeit out of range (no atom-15 bios flash) but once it gets to the desktop, it's just a black screen. Resolution is 640x480. When i switch to 800x600 it goes out of range but i can see the colour of the desktop wallpaper at least. With 640x480 there's nothing. Infuriating stuff. I really don't wanna reinstall windows but might have to if the newest windows 10 update is incompatible. But it doesn't make sense as then i wouldn't be able to see the background colour on 800x600.

I was considering going with linux. Batocera seems popular but GroovyArcade seems to have all the CRT native out of the box. Would still rather get Windows working again though.

Connect up a regular pc monitor so you can see the screen.

1. Confirm "test mode" is still displayed on bottom right. If not, re-run test mode enabler.

2. Open device manager - display adapters. Confirm it says "ATI (emudriver)". If not, reinstall emudriver.

3. Usually it drops when upgrading from 21H2 to 22H2 or from Windows 10 to 11. Once everything is working, you can block windows from updating the graphics driver. Get the hardware device IDs from device manager for the display adapter. Then open gpedit.msc and block the IDs from updating here:

Computer Configuration > Administrative Templates > System > Device Installation > Device Installation Restrictions.

Also a tip: install vnc or teamviewer on the PC so you can remote in to see the screen no matter what state the graphics driver is in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,012 ✭✭✭The_B_Man
    Something about sandwiches

Yes, test mode is displayed.

It also shows "(CRT Emudriver)" in Device Manager.

I have it back to a state now where its vertically scrolling, despite being in 640x480@60. Tried adjusting the pots but no luck. I had the bloody thing perfect the other day. Might have to blitz the windows install and start again.

Gonna take a look at the group policy stuff now. I did notice any time i enabled/disabled EDID emulation in VMMaker that the display reference changed from "\\DISPLAY1" to "\\DISPLAY11" and then go up to 38 or 52. At one stage they were over 100. Messing around now and its DISPLAY70.

Another strange one was that before the update I'd chose the DVI-I to enable EDID emulation on, but now I've to choose Analog_0-VGA, despite the fact that I'm going DVI → VGA adapter → Cab. The card only has DVI-D, DVI-I, HDMI and DisplayPort!

Edit: i think it might be my wiring on my video cable. I can twiddle the Earth wire on my VGA adapter and cause it to go in and out of sync. I need to investigate. Just a coincidence that it's at the same time as the 22H2 Windows update...

Edit2: I'm gonna try enable composite sync.

Post edited by The_B_Man on

Yes you have to pick vga even though you are technically using dvi-i. Maybe get a fresh vga cable?

In vmmaker, pick your crt model from the list. If it's not listed, play it safe and choose "generic 15k" for now. Choose the stock super.ini with no custom resolutions added.

That's usually all there is to it.