Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Grapevine (OFF TOPIC CHAT) Part II

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

--LOS-- wrote: »
    Somebody stole my vitashine order :'(

how did that happen? reminds me i needs to order more opti3

• Registered Users Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

Zombienosh wrote: »
    how did that happen? reminds me i needs to order more opti3

The postman left it with a neighbour in my apartment building who denies having it. But you always get a postal notification in the mailbox to say what room it had been left at. I call around to the guy and he knows nothing about it except his face and his reaction said absolutely everything I needed to know! I spoke to the guys in the office and I told them after talking to the guy, it's hard not to be convinced he took it, but they made me feel like the bad guy then :/ I was finding it hard not to call back around to yer man and talk to him again about it :o

• Registered Users Posts: 183 ✭✭Level 5 Vegan

^that's so weird.

Yeah I need to order too actually.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,091 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I now getvitashine and opti3 too, as well as my b12. I feel like im in an asylum home taking my meds

It happened another time that someone took in my post, something way more expensive and something that he would have had to sign for, he never got in touch with me, I call around to his door and his first reaction is.....how did you know I had it? .....ummm because it says so on the postal notification in my mailbox. Same thing he had the reaction as if the police just called by. I mean I don't think I'm that intimidating looking lol. I felt lucky to get my stuff back that time. Most people are grand but there's a certain bad element here too. Thing is most times they are stupid enough to give their real details to the postmen.

Can you imagine what a packet of d3 pills looked like in the post, I'd say he was severely disappointed when he opened it :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

order some cyanide pills next time, that'll learn him

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,712 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Or laxatives... elephant-strenght ones... ask the supplier to mark them 'Viagra'.

I'm off to paris going disneyland yay yay yay

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 76,712 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Oooh, sounds cooooool.... Have a great time!!!!!

If you have time to go to a show in Paris itself, go and see Murmurs de murs - Aurélia Thierrée is amazing. :)

http://en.visitparisregion.com/events-paris/musical-shows/aurelia-thierree-what-the-walls-are-saying-332184.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭henryporter

And if you get hungry in Paris there's 'Le Potager du Marais' on Rue Rambuteau - it's bring your own vino and the food is really good.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,694 ✭✭✭BMJD

I'm off to paris going disneyland yay yay yay

Happy days:P

vegan options there (Disneyland) are limited, to say the least

most of the cafés in the Parc are rubbish, actually most of them are identical fast food places with different names/layouts

there's a Mexican-type fast foot place that has a veggie option, it's vegan without the cheese

for dinner, Planet Hollywood has a couple of options if you ask. You will need to get there early in the evening (before 4pm) or else book in advance as it gets insanely busy when the Parc starts closing

Other than that, there's a few places with pasta and salads. Google says there is the Agrabah Cafe which has options, but that wasn't open when I was there last month, it might be open now though.

Thanks guys, yeah I spent ages reading every blog and tripadvisor review I could find, will be having a big breakfast morning of the park anyway!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,091 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Have fun!
    And if you get hungry in Paris there's 'Le Potager du Marais' on Rue Rambuteau - it's bring your own vino and the food is really good.

This vegan shop is near there in 2nd arrondissement http://www.unmondevegan.com/index.cfm

Looks good, although vegan faux gras seems weird :p

I'd love to be going on holiday! :P

Yes, we need a big veg*n holiday, let's do this :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Hi, I haven't eaten meat for about 5 years, I still cook meat for my husband but over the past year or so I've started to feel queasy at the smell of frying meat. I'm ok with grilling or roasting meat, but today I actually had to open the back door and hold my nose until I'd added the sauce to the frying chicken. I'm just curious to know if anyone else experiences this?:)

I didn't used to have a problem with it but if I'm at home my brother fries bacon most mornings for breakfast and yeah recently especially find it unpleasant and always make sure I've eaten before he's up and starts cooking. Funny as I never used to have a problem with eating dinner with people eating meat etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Hi, I haven't eaten meat for about 5 years, I still cook meat for my husband but over the past year or so I've started to feel queasy at the smell of frying meat. I'm ok with grilling or roasting meat, but today I actually had to open the back door and hold my nose until I'd added the sauce to the frying chicken. I'm just curious to know if anyone else experiences this?:)

There was a roast chicken in the oven the other day and for the first time the smell really got to me!

I don't like being around when meats cooking, the smell is horrible.

I'm disturbed by what it is, and I don't like people eating it around me. As for the smell etc, I like that and the taste so don't find it too off-putting. I'd say if I had never eaten meat I would though, it's harder to disassociate with food for me since I ate it for so many years. When I think about what it is people are doing tot hose animals, that's when it's affecting me more viscerally.

279240b.jpg

Got this the other day in health matters, out of curiosity , it's really nice.

check out this site, it makes your meal plans for you, after you set your goals, pretty cool idea. Gives meal ingredients and cost, prep time etc. Not that ye need it but it is fun to see.
    https://www.eatthismuch.com/
    Calorie target
    Number of meals
    Can't/Can/Must cook for each meal
    Amount of time available for each meal
    Size of each meal
    Foods to exclude when generating meals
    Foods to exclude for specific meals
    Macro nutrient targets
    Total daily meal cost
    Total daily fiber intake

Seems to have a few bugs with excluded foods etc but that's only a little problem I've found so far.
    Maybe a problem with variety? I like the amount of sesame tofu and avocado on toast it is telling me to eat :p

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

My landlord just text to ask if she can come over because she needs to "talk about the house" :( Never good.

you been having noisey vegan parties?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,463 ✭✭✭loveisdivine

Ha I wish! We are actually perfect tenants, if I do say so myself, we rarely even have to speak to the landlord and we keep the house well. Do our own decorating and repairs, which they have always been happy with.

I think it might be that they are going to sell the property. Either that or possibly put the rent up, but they've done that before and they weren't this formal about it that time. So I suspect its the first scenario :( Which means trying to find a new place, which are few and far between anyway, that will accept our 3 guinea pigs and rabbit.

She's coming over on Saturday evening so won't know till then anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭Gunslinger92

Hey everyone, I got myself a nutri ninja and it comes with some recipes. Some of these have silken tofu as an ingredient, just wondering if anyone knows where I could find this? I'll try the health shop in town during the week as its the only place I can think of that might have it!

Asian market has loads.

Hey everyone, I got myself a nutri ninja and it comes with some recipes. Some of these have silken tofu as an ingredient, just wondering if anyone knows where I could find this? I'll try the health shop in town during the week as its the only place I can think of that might have it!

I have a nutribullet, it's frickin awesome, it took me a while to start using it but now I'd use it probably a few times a day. I haven't actually used it much for juices yet but I manage to find all kinds of other uses like.... fresh coffee grinder ^_^ Nutella is so easy to make in it, it's just so easy and mess free and ye I could probably market it for them :P

Not sure if you're in Dublin? But I have seen silken tofu on the asian food aisle in tesco.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Can anyone recommend a really good mulitvitamin? I'm really lax about fruit and veg, I just rely on Quorn as a convenient meat substitute but I am determined to get healthier, in the meantime I could use a good multivitamin.