Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dr Ferrari's Camper Van (off-topic discussion)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,929 ✭✭✭furiousox

oflahero wrote: »
    I feel like I've just been slapped and backhanded with a black leather glove by a man in a much-maligned yet aesthetically excellent uniform.

VillagePeopleBiker.jpg

CPL 593H

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Why have the links to all the forums disappeared from the top of my page!!
    Logged on to boards this morning and they're gone :(

Aha not just me then ....
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056454825

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

RobFowl wrote: »

All back to normal :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,325 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

RobFowl wrote: »

why do you need links to more forums - dont understand

So I can go to motoring and troll every so often ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Welcome to the Republic of Lebensraum.....

leinster_house1.jpg

......the BundesDail

Wonder when the Garda will be getting their new uniforms and for once our army will have decent tanks.

We'll also have measurably better sports teams and personalities to support now.

Jawgap wrote: »
    We'll also have measurably better sports teams and personalities to support now.

Yes the Germans never cheat, just look at the swimmers, runners, track and field teams and in cycling we have the icons like Schumacher, Ullrich (though I still like him !!), Telekom, Gerolsteiner and many more......

• Registered Users Posts: 1,920 ✭✭✭Vélo

Welcome to the Republic of Lebensraum.....

leinster_house1.jpg

......the BundesDail

Wonder when the Garda will be getting their new uniforms and for once our army will have decent tanks.

Their comedians aren't meant to be great but then again they couldn't be any worse than some that we have.

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRNpFRzBYnayHPK3zaMvst20W36gjeNwd_VkqSjFmVvWextdAo6

• Registered Users Posts: 11,750 ✭✭✭✭tomasrojo

What was that business of having a tour using the name and branding of Pulp's Common PeopleDifferent Class? Very strange. I think I'll go on a tour of Ireland playing classical guitar and call it Sergeant Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band

Vélo wrote: »
    Their comedians aren't meant to be great but then again they couldn't be any worse than some that we have.

Well you know what they say about German humour.
    Not very funny but the timing is impeccable!

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭Hungrycol

furiousox wrote: »

Well you know what they say about German humour.
    Not very funny but the timing is impeccable!
    Germans take their comedy very seriously.

http://www.german-jokes.com/index.html

The only down side I can see to us being annexed is that we'll have a crap rugby team

• Registered Users Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭Doctor Bob

The only down side I can see to us being annexed is that we'll have a crap rugby team

One the plus side, we'll have some of the best behaved pedestrians in Europe all of a sudden.

*looks left, looks right, sees nothing coming, waits for green man*

• Registered Users Posts: 3,122 ✭✭✭daragh_

JOKES FROM GERMANY

Knock, knock.
    Who's there?
    The police. I'm afraid there's been an accident. Your husband is in
    hospital.

A man walks into a pub.
    He is an alcoholic whose drink problem is destroying his family.

Did you hear about the blonde who jumped out off a bridge?
    She was clinically depressed and took her own life because of her terribly
    low self-esteem.

What do you call a cat with no tail?
    A Manx cat.

Why do undertakers wear ties?
    Because their profession is very serious, and it is important that their
    appearance has a degree of gravitas.

How many electricians does it take to change a light bulb?
    One.

Why do women fake orgasms?
    Because they want to give men the impression that they have climaxed.

Two men are sitting in a pub.
    One man turns to the other and says: 'Last night I saw lots of strange men
    coming in and out of your wife's house.'
    The other man replies: 'Yes, she has become a prostitute to subsidise her
    drug habit.'

Two cows are in a field. Suddenly, from behind a bush, a rabbit leaps out
    and runs away.
    One cow looks round a bit, eats some grass and then wanders off.

Why are there no aspirin in the jungle?
    Because it would not be financially viable to attempt to sell
    pharmaceuticals in the largely unpopulated rainforest.

If Steve McQueen couldn't escape the Germans - what chance have we? We're not nearly as cool and we lack his bike handling skills........

"The Mainland" :pac:

germany.gif

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

This is mental: http://www.kickstandfurniture.com/
    hahaha

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,227 ✭✭✭rp

Their comedians aren't meant to be great...
    Don't judge them by the opinions of the British media: Dragan and Alder, pure Krass, I mean, Class!
    3er BMW

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

I want one
    http://www.jedi-sports.de/product_info.php/info/p3663_Look-K-O-Power-Bundle-CS600X-Set-2012.html

this part here interests me: "A pedal-based system also offers direct measurement of left-right specific power output. That could be useful in correcting pedaling inefficiencies and imbalances, or in training to recover from injury, says Polar's bicycle product manager and former pro racer Joona Lauka"

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 75,770 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

I want one
    http://www.jedi-sports.de/product_info.php/info/p3663_Look-K-O-Power-Bundle-CS600X-Set-2012.html

this part here interests me: "A pedal-based system also offers direct measurement of left-right specific power output. That could be useful in correcting pedaling inefficiencies and imbalances, or in training to recover from injury, says Polar's bicycle product manager and former pro racer Joona Lauka"
    There's already a thread somewhere on the Polar system. The great thing for me about the pedal based systems is they should be easily transferrable to a track bike.

On the measurement of left/right power output, this is already available on the Wattbike trainer, and they have one of those down at Sundrive;)

Of course, that ad is showing a 4 month delivery time, which may still be a bit optimistic

• Registered Users Posts: 31,031 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

AstraMonti wrote: »
    This is mental: http://www.kickstandfurniture.com/
    hahaha

$1,499.00 :eek:

Much as it pains me to say this, a recumbent design might be more ergonomic.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

Lumen wrote: »
    $1,499.00 :eek:

Much as it pains me to say this, a recumbent design might be more ergonomic.

And you don't even get a bike with it!

Don't remember this being posted, but I saw pictures of this in the Metro today:

terrifying-bike-trail-05.jpg

terrifying-bike-trail-04.jpg

terrifying-bike-trail-06.jpg

Few more pics here: http://www.chilloutpoint.com/places_and_nature/the-most-dangerous-bike-ride-trail.html

Crazy stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

^^^^ :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,205 ✭✭✭Yi Harr

Hans 'No Way' Rey and Steve Peats tour of Ireland back in 2006 IIRC. He has some good videos on youtube.

I think that ledge subsequently collapsed - I'm not saying the two events are linked, only that it happened.

Shure they're wearing helmets won't they be grand???

CPL 593H

• Registered Users Posts: 9,152 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

Yeah, but where are their lights/RSA bibs? Looks a bit foggy.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Bunnyhopper

And I'm not seeing pedal reflectors on either of those bikes.