Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,233 ✭✭✭secman

Killenagh to balyedmond to boolavogue, the harrow , ferns, camolin, crogh, gorey , courtown, balygarrett ... home. 65 km average 23.5 kmh
    lovely morning for a spin.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭Dotsie~tmp

http://www.strava.com/activities/211506628

326403.jpg

Avoid Johnnie Fox's. What a kip with rude service.

• Registered Users Posts: 16 bandit1987

Went for a cycle today first one in over 2 months...which also happened to be my first ever group cycle that also included a nice 6km climb even tho the climb was very early on, needless to say I didnt last long with the group we hit the bottom of the climb and i dropped off the back very shortly after that even tho a nice few people tried to pull me along but i really wasn't feeling it in my legs so I let them all catch up with the group rather than struggling behind with me not able to push on enough to catch back up so spent about 70km by myself. so all in all done my longest cycle ever and although at a very slow pace.

http ://ww w.strava .com/activities/211384318

• Registered Users Posts: 266 ✭✭dancrowley

The weekly group spin in which I take part has grown nicely over the summer from 5 riders to a consistent 40+ every Friday morning, now. Ain't half bad considering we set off at 430am on Friday chasing the October Gran Fondo! :-)

A fantastic morning out on the bike, with great company.

http://www.strava.com/activities/210982176

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Sarz91

dancrowley wrote: »
    The weekly group spin in which I take part has grown nicely over the summer from 5 riders to a consistent 40+ every Friday morning, now. Ain't half bad considering we set off at 430am on Friday chasing the October Gran Fondo! :-)

A fantastic morning out on the bike, with great company.

http://www.strava.com/activities/210982176

131km with just under 350m of climbing :eek:. I'd love some routes around here to be that flat.

Sarz91 wrote: »
    131km with just under 350m of climbing :eek:. I'd love some routes around here to be that flat.

Haha, yeah, it's quite flat! Search for the Tour of Qatar on YouTube and you'll see what it's like. We've got some strong winds to contend with, not to mention the heat throughout the summer; Friday was cool in comparison, but over 30C for the last 50+km.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭jober

78k today
    Wind made it feel like an extra 50 on top of that
    Tallaght,mt seskin,manor kilbride,lake drive ,Blessington and home
    Was nice to get a nice tailwind all the way down the n81

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

dancrowley wrote: »
    Haha, yeah, it's quite flat! Search for the Tour of Qatar on YouTube and you'll see what it's like. We've got some strong winds to contend with, not to mention the heat throughout the summer; Friday was cool in comparison, but over 30C for the last 50+km.

How are the drivers there ? I've some friends in the UAE who say attitudes towards cyclists are pretty rough, at times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Domane

105km yesterday into a strong blustery wind that felt like it was constantly changing direction to stay in my face! Went from Clane to Rathangan, Edenderry, Enfield, Rathmolyon, Summerhill, Kilcock and back to Clane. Four hours even and averaged just over 25kph. Was averaging 28kph for most of it, but the damn wind was in my face for the last 20km getting stronger as I was getting more tired.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,279 ✭✭✭✭ted1

60km this morning, 10 more than last week. Killiney, shankill, rathmichael, kilternan ( wussed out on the hill between the blue church and johnie foxes and turned around ) stepaside, rathfarnham, Phoneix park, , easy link, back to Dalkey. Then had to decide which route to RSJ to get home to the other side of the hill. Took the killiney castle hill. Just about made it up, enjoyed tearing it down the other side.

Considered I did a 60km oval I can't figure out how I never had the wind on my back :( always a head wind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 268 ✭✭Domane

ted1 wrote: »
    60km this morning, 10 more than last week. Killiney, shankill, rathmichael, kilternan ( wussed out on the hill between the blue church and johnie foxes and turned around ) stepaside, rathfarnham, Phoneix park, , easy link, back to Dalkey. Then had to decide which route to RSJ to get home to the other side of the hill. Took the killiney castle hill. Just about made it up, enjoyed tearing it down the other side.

Considered I did a 60km oval I can't figure out how I never had the wind on my back :( always a head wind

I feel your pain mate as I too did an oval loop yesterday but the wind always felt like it was in my face.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

There is no tailwind. Only headwind. Always battle Headwind we must.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,320 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Very blustery here. Headwind felt like climbing non stop for about 25 km. A few times the gusts were like hitting a wall. I reckon it was definitely worth about 500 metres gained. Strava's estimated power output is very insulting. Had a nice push on the way back but the legs were suffering at that stage so after a few km at a good pace I just trundled on home. Got a few prs which was nice but the last few km home was tough going, I underestimated my fuel requirements and if it had been another 5 k I'd have bonked. Still, it was better than being stuck at home.

Longwood -Enfield -Edenderry -Mount Lucas and then back the same way.
    72km in 2:42 @ 26.6kmh
    http://www.strava.com/activities/21184624

Dotsie~tmp wrote: »
    http://www.strava.com/activities/211506628

326403.jpg

Avoid Johnnie Fox's. What a kip with rude service.

I've gotten a similar vibe in there and others I know who have stopped there. I avoid the place now except to fill my bottle on the tap outside.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭The Cycling pianist

First ever group spin today, 8 or us out with UCD. 85km, which is about 40km longer than I've previously done. UCD - Phoenix park - Lucan - Leixlip - cellbridge and home. Pretty nice and easy. Oh, and one of the guys was on a Giant Propel Advanced. Utter pornography.

Distance 84.4km
    350m
    average 24kph
    moving time 3:30

• Registered Users Posts: 2,598 ✭✭✭rizzodun

50km in about 4 hours on the Nire Valley Drop. Two crashes, 20 mins fixing my derailleur, and a whole lot of climbing, the most fun I've had falling over.

ror_74 wrote: »
    How are the drivers there ? I've some friends in the UAE who say attitudes towards cyclists are pretty rough, at times.

Correct... "at times". There is a growing population of cyclists here, now, and they're getting some good exposure in the local press.

On our large group ride, when we leave nice and early (~5am), we don't encounter a ton of traffic. Regardless of traffic on the road, we adhere to our set rules, staying in the inside lane (or hard shoulder, where possible) as much as is possible, with plenty of communication. The interaction with the drivers is mainly positive, with plenty of beeping horns and them giving us a thumbs-up out their windows :)

That being said, on certain roads in the evenings, the Land Cruisers take over and if you're not familiar with the place, it is extremely intimidating. We encourage each other to not ride alone, and to use plenty of lighting to be seen etc. With the improving weather here, and high quality road surface, we're quite lucky!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

First ever group spin today, 8 or us out with UCD. 85km, which is about 40km longer than I've previously done. UCD - Phoenix park - Lucan - Leixlip - cellbridge and home. Pretty nice and easy. Oh, and one of the guys was on a Giant Propel Advanced. Utter pornography.

Distance 84.4km
    350m
    average 24kph
    moving time 3:30

1. Well done on the stretch.
    2. I'd have thought it'd have been an awful day to be on an aero bike.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,717 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

Great blast up from South Wexford yesterday with decent tailwinds for most of the way. 7 hours door to door for 178k with no stops other than call of nature and refilling the bottles, taking in Ramsgrange, Newbaun, Kiltealy, Bunclody, Clonegal, Shillelagh, Tinahely, Aughrim, Rathdrum, Laragh, Roundwood, Enniskerry and home to Ballyboden. Gave the Sallygap a miss, as it was windy enough at Laragh without climbing into the hills. First time out on the roads for a couple of weeks and really enjoyed it.

Interesting spin down on Saturday, going to Heuston, train to Waterford and back up to Wexford via the ferry at Passage East, which would have been grand if the bike space I'd booked on the train actually existed. Still managed to cram it into a corner of the disabled space and get a corner of a seat myself, which was more than many left standing and sitting on the floor, so not too bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,279 ✭✭✭✭ted1

smacl wrote: »
    Great blast up from South Wexford yesterday with decent tailwinds for most of the way. 7 hours door to door for 178k with no stops other than call of nature and refilling the bottles, taking in Ramsgrange, Newbaun, Kiltealy, Bunclody, Clonegal, Shillelagh, Tinahely, Aughrim, Rathdrum, Laragh, Roundwood, Enniskerry and home to Ballyboden. Gave the Sallygap a miss, as it was windy enough at Laragh without climbing into the hills. First time out on the roads for a couple of weeks and really enjoyed it.

Interesting spin down on Saturday, going to Heuston, train to Waterford and back up to Wexford via the ferry at Passage East, which would have been grand if the bike space I'd booked on the train actually existed. Still managed to cram it into a corner of the disabled space and get a corner of a seat myself, which was more than many left standing and sitting on the floor, so not too bad.

That's a good spin, fair play

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Eamondomc

I did 50 k yesterday around local roads in longford. I just wanted to say that it was the easiest i ever found it. I got new wheel bearings in on friday and man do they make a difference. Sean and the team at ERNE VALLEY CYCLES done them for me. I know this is adding but just want to say that if you in cavan/longford/leitrim/ westmeath/ meath or any where else really these guys are the best.Located just off the N52 just outside Killadoon in south cavan.

• Registered Users Posts: 513 ✭✭✭mhiggy09

Ye Erne Valley Cycles are great, I live about a kilometer away from them so its very handy.
    Today myself and the dad cycled from longford to cloondra along the royal canal. Very nice spin.
    32km
    13kmh average

• Registered Users Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭veetwin

A lovely 64k around The Naul and North County Dublin. A little windy but a balmy 17 degrees and dry. 300m climbed and averaged 26kmph so happy with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Another windy day on the bike. I set off into the wind up the Tallaght Bypass and then the Embankment. Then I went up Sally Gap and turned right for Laragh. Holy shít, the crosswinds up there were gusty and strong. I took it slow and carefully in the crosswinds so my average speed suffered but I prefer to play it safe. The wind got more manageable as I descended Glenmacnass to Laragh. I went home via Roundwood and Enniskerry.

So I managed my 9th metric century since June so I'm happy with that.

103km & 1,022m @ 22.6km/h.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Rambling Man

veetwin wrote: »
    A lovely 64k around The Naul and North County Dublin. A little windy but a balmy 17 degrees and dry. 300m climbed and averaged 26kmph so happy with that.

Almost the same for me today in NCD / Meath though a little higher and a little slower. The winds were very gusty so any southbound climb was challenging. Fair play to BH Mondays!

crosstownk wrote: »
    Holy shít, the crosswinds up there were gusty and strong.

It gets hairy up there in heavy weather. Going into the wind is tough, but the strong cross winds are scary.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,427 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

just went out for a 34km spin. windy, but reasonable. then i crossed the m50 heading downhill through ballymun on the last stretch home and it was like hitting a wall.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭The Cycling pianist

1. Well done on the stretch.
    2. I'd have thought it'd have been an awful day to be on an aero bike.

1. Thanks :D
    2. Yeah, he was on deep ish rims too, 50mm I think. A bit of a handful in the crosswinds by all accounts. And he suffered on the couple of climbs we did, though that may not be down to the aero bike and deep rims. Silly choice or not, it was still gorgeous

• Registered Users Posts: 6,233 ✭✭✭secman

House, killenagh , ballyedmond, boulavogue, raheenduff, oulart, kilmuckridge, ballygarret, killenagh......home 57 km..... 23.8 kmh not a bad day.

Nice early morning spin this morning around the back of Marlay park, Cruagh, Stocking lane, Templeogue, Rathfarnham, another lap around Marlay / Whitechurch and back, 30k in 1hr15. Blowy enough, and I'm still a bit of a wuss descending in the dark. Good fun though, and so hot out there for this time of year. Had a cheapo Aldi winter jacket on and was sweating like a pig.

Hmmm, need to get a better camera for taking photo's in the dark, don't think my Samsung quite does the job

326604.jpg