Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,640 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Silly question this but can you pay in euros at the gate in Derry? Or is it sterling only?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭wackokid

Silly question this but can you pay in euros at the gate in Derry? Or is it sterling only?

No worries.....they'll even take Connemara money if your stuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Tom Cunniffe gone out centre back on Mark Lynch. Ger Caff goes to corner back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Defiler Of The Coffin

Four points in it at half time but really there's not much in it, Mayo finding it difficult to break down the Derry defence, Derry looking dangerous when they get forward. Won't be much in it at the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

is AOS full forward ?

If Mayo can get the first point the 5 pt margin n clock will force Derry to loosen up at the back.
    Mayo concede a goal opportunity, only the second so far in the league.
    If we can maintain our patience n discipline n bring on fresh legs we can squeeze a win here.
    Would like to see us hit them with strong runners, win a stretching free or too.

km79 wrote: »
    is AOS full forward ?

He's been mainly planted on the edge of the square but has floated out to the halfs at times. Doherty has been playing deep in the Mayo half.

Kevin Keane takes it out of the clouds, quickly down field to AOS for a point. Traditionalists would love that. Double save by OMalley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Good win. Derry is a place its not easy to come away from with points.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭Blackjack

Another 2 valuable points. 2 points more guarantees Division 1 next year I think, although I'd hazard a guess that we may be safe enough for next year. Another win will guarantee a semi final spot too.
    Lucky enough to be fair, Ronaldson's goal was perhaps somewhat fortuitous and if Mad west commentary is to be believed, Derry had a good point flagged as wide. We've had our share of bad luck over the years too so I'm not going to loose sleep when the odd bit of it comes our way.
    Most of Mayo's scores were from play and I think about 8 or 10 wides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

Blackjack wrote: »
    Another 2 valuable points. 2 points more guarantees Division 1 next year I think, although I'd hazard a guess that we may be safe enough for next year. Another win will guarantee a semi final spot too.
    Lucky enough to be fair, Ronaldson's goal was perhaps somewhat fortuitous and if Mad west commentary is to be believed, Derry had a good point flagged as wide. We've had our share of bad luck over the years too so I'm not going to loose sleep when the odd bit of it comes our way.
    Most of Mayo's scores were from play and I think about 8 or 10 wides.

That Derry wide was 100% wide, the umpires seemed clueless but made the correct decision.

Good result but a hot and cold performance. Not enough ball played into the full forwards in the second half, lost a lot of kickouts as well..

Still thought the best team came away with the points The two O'Sheas were probably our best Keane had another good game at 3. Ronaldson came up with the goods when asked. Nice to see Dillon back too.

Massive Mayo support, easily outnumbered the home support once again.

The one thing I'd say about our goal is that Ronaldson is our only forward who'd score it. He has very strong soccer skills to not bother catching the ball. In terms of skill with the ball he's top class. A very accurate passer too. With AOS able to win primary ball he's able to come looking for layoffs. They had a lovely linkup in the first half for a Ronaldson point.
    Mayo lost momentum in the middle of the second half as Derry got fresh bodies into the middle of the pitch.
    Dillon coming on for Forde was Mayos only response early in second half. Rest of the subs were late with tellingly Barry Moran/Drake all getting on ball after being brought on.
    Douglas was surely deserving of a run.Similar McGugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,640 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Was a good win and the Mayo support was unreal once again. It's a fair distance yet there were loads of kids who had traveled too.

Seamus O'Shea would get my man of the match followed by Kevin Keane. Thought Ger Cafferkey looked a bit off the pace as was Tom Cunniffe. Ronaldson took his goal like a pure poacher which is always a good sign. Even though Derry kept it close it never really looked like we were going to lose.

It was a correct call for the Derry 'wide' as well. Had a perfect view from where I was and while it was close, it wasn't close enough for there have been the amount of confusion there was.

Ref was ok too and there was nothing particularly dirty from either side.

Also Kenneth O'Malley made 2 great saves in a matter of seconds which had the Mayo support well impressed. Great concentration and speed of thought from him.

Was a good win and the Mayo support was unreal once again. It's a fair distance yet there were loads of kids who had traveled too.

Seamus O'Shea would get my man of the match followed by Kevin Keane. Thought Ger Cafferkey looked a bit off the pace as was Tom Cunniffe. Ronaldson took his goal like a pure poacher which is always a good sign. Even though Derry kept it close it never really looked like we were going to lose.

It was a correct call for the Derry 'wide' as well. Had a perfect view from where I was and while it was close, it wasn't close enough for there have been the amount of confusion there was.

Ref was ok too and there was nothing particularly dirty from either side.

Also Kenneth O'Malley made 2 great saves in a matter of seconds which had the Mayo support well impressed. Great concentration and speed of thought from him.
    Keane is having a great campaign so far.
    great to see him finally bouncing back. the Kerry replay was probably the start of it.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Great win as said and also the support was mental, have we no sense! :D

Derry people extremely nice and friendly, and a nice spot (well if you get the right parking) to get in and out.

Need to win next week now to secure that semi final spot.

Keane and SOS excellent once again. Mickey goals, he scores goals! :D

yop wrote: »
    Great win as said and also the support was mental, have we no sense! :D

Derry people extremely nice and friendly, and a nice spot (well if you get the right parking) to get in and out.

Need to win next week now to secure that semi final spot.

Keane and SOS excellent once again. Mickey goals, he scores goals! :D
    I know he is on the small side but he is a good option off the bench.
    he was last year too but was overlooked in favour of inferior forwards........
    also with o Shea and cillian winning the ball there is room for a small man to play off them . mark is showing this .
    cillians knee is a worry... better to rest him up now rather than drag it into championship cos like it or not we are completely dependent on him if we are to win Sam

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I know he is on the small side but he is a good option off the bench.
    he was last year too but was overlooked in favour of inferior forwards........
    also with o Shea and cillian winning the ball there is room for a small man to play off them . mark is showing this .
    cillians knee is a worry... better to rest him up now rather than drag it into championship cos like it or not we are completely dependent on him if we are to win Sam

Is his knee at him?? Was wondering what was up as he just wasn't himself.
    B Moran is heavily strapped also, though he did well.

Ref had a good game I thought, I usually give out about them, but thought he actually made some good calls.

yop wrote: »
    Is his knee at him?? Was wondering what was up as he just wasn't himself.
    B Moran is heavily strapped also, though he did well.

Ref had a good game I thought, I usually give out about them, but thought he actually made some good calls.
    I noticed for the Monaghan game e had light strapping on the knee.
    Strapping that would suggest a slight problem

I noticed for the Monaghan game e had light strapping on the knee.
    Strapping that would suggest a slight problem
    Cillian needs a rest for a few weeks.
    A move to centre forward might give him a new lease of life. He could be a go to option as the man who'll pass ball inside. Cillian is well capable of picking out AOS/Regan/Freeman/Ronaldson with a long early kickpass.
    It would also be good to have him as a long distance shooting option given the fact we'll be facing blanket defences.

Cillian needs a rest for a few weeks.
    A move to centre forward might give him a new lease of life. He could be a go to option as the man who'll pass ball inside. Cillian is well capable of picking out AOS/Regan/Freeman/Ronaldson with a long early kickpass.
    It would also be good to have him as a long distance shooting option given the fact we'll be facing blanket defences.

Cillian is our go-to man for goals though. If he goes to the half-forwards I'm worried we won't score as many. We've seen plenty of players prolific in the league and nothing in the championship. Perhaps he just needs to be rested for a bit, especially if we can secure our status at the weekend. It's been a long year for him with championship, club and Sigerson.

That being said, if the likes of Ronaldson, Sweeney, Freeman and Conroy can step up...

Cillian is our go-to man for goals though. If he goes to the half-forwards I'm worried we won't score as many. We've seen plenty of players prolific in the league and nothing in the championship. Perhaps he just needs to be rested for a bit, especially if we can secure our status at the weekend. It's been a long year for him with championship, club and Sigerson.

That being said, if the likes of Ronaldson, Sweeney, Freeman and Conroy can step up...
    Have been thinking about Cillian and goals and it's unlikely he'll be getting as many as previously in 2013/14. He was on the end of a lot of total cut throughs by our players for rebounds and passes for clear cut goal chance. I don't see that happening as much in 2015.
    We have plenty volume of attacks, I think it would be good to have it directed better. I still see us being a bit individual in terms of attacking. If AOS has an off day how are the opportunities going to get setup?
    Our backs in our last three games have something like a dozen shots with no scores. Six v Monaghan, then around Six between Tyrone/Derry.
    If there was a director of operations at least half of that probably goes through him. Six chances let's say. A good centre forward can turn six posessions into two points. One assist and one score himself.
    Combined with that it would mean the defenders are hanging back the pitch a bit further as they're not having to get involved in the attack so far up the pitch. So maybe wipe out one point per game off the oppositions score board with our half backs set deeper in our own half. That's a potential two point swing in games easy I would say based on having a consistent playmaker that play goes through. Right now based on what we've seen the scoring will dry up against a blanket defence if AOS is off form or unavailable to play upfront. There's a lot of players from 5 - 15 consistently shooting <40%. A team has to shoot usually around 50% to win. In terms of shooting you could only bank on AOS and Ronaldson right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Horan not giving Ronaldson a proper chance looks a poor decision now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Strong team named for the under 21's game against Leitrim.

1.) Matthew Flanagan - Balla
    2.) Michael Hall - Breaffy
    3.) David Kenny - Aghamore
    4.) James Stretton - Claremorris
    5.) Sean Regan - Ballina Stephenites
    6.) Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
    7.) Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
    8.) Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
    9.) T.J. Byrne - Kiltimagh
    10.) Val Roughneen - Balla
    11.) Adam Gallagher - Mayo Gaels (Capt.)
    12.) Darren McHale - Knockmore
    13.) Cian Burke - Ballymun Kickhams
    14.) Brian Reape - Bohola Moy Davitts
    15.) James Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels

16.) Sean Shaughnessy - Ballinrobe
    17.) Kevin Lynch - Mayo Gaels
    18.) Eoin O'Donoghue - Belmullet
    19.) Eddie Doran - Achill
    20.) Matthew Ruane - Breaffy
    21.) Morgan Lyons - Ballyhaunis
    22.) Conor Loftus - Crossmolina Deel Rovers
    23.) Michael Plunkett - Ballintubber
    24.) Steven Conroy - The Neale

Really looking forward to seeing the released senior lads tog out..Hall,Coen,Durcan and O Connor.Ditto Adam Gallagher,Morgan Lyons and the All Ireland minor winning lads...Val Roughneen,Conor Loftus,Michael Plunkett and Eddie Doran.Matthew Flanagan is a very decent keeper and TJ Byrne from last year's minors looks a great prospect with another midfielder from last year Matthew Ruane on the bench.

Ideal conditions for a game of football if the recently pleasant,mild weather continues.We could do with a good run in the under 21 championship in the light of our very poor record in the last few years.

Can't wait for Saturday night,love the floodlight games.Guaranteed to a great buzz with the likely influx of Dublin supporters.It should be an intriguing clash with ourselves seeking to guarantee our division 1 status/reach the semi finals.Dublin will be desperate to win this clash with the unforeseen threat of relegation a possibilty..however remote.Diarmuid Connolly and Ger Brennan are back training after their club duties with St. Vincent's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭ColeTrain

seligehgit wrote: »

Really looking forward to seeing the released senior lads tog out..Hall,Coen,Durcan and O Connor.Ditto Adam Gallagher,Morgan Lyons and the All Ireland minor winning lads...Val Roughneen,Conor Loftus,Michael Plunkett and Eddie Doran.Matthew Flanagan is a very decent keeper and TJ Byrne from last year's minors looks a great prospect with another midfielder from last year Matthew Ruane on the bench.

Ideal conditions for a game of football if the recently pleasant,mild weather continues.We could do with a good run in the under 21 championship in the light of our very poor record in the last few years.

Can't wait for Saturday night,love the floodlight games.Guaranteed to a great buzz with the likely influx of Dublin supporters.It should be an intriguing clash with ourselves seeking to guarantee our division 1 status/reach the semi finals.Dublin will be desperate to win this clash with the unforeseen threat of relegation a possibilty..however remote.Diarmuid Connolly and Ger Brennan are back training after their club duties with St. Vincent's.

Strong enough looking team alright.

The surface is going to be greasy, some downpour we got just there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

seligehgit wrote: »
    Strong team named for the under 21's game against Leitrim.

1.) Matthew Flanagan - Balla
    2.) Michael Hall - Breaffy
    3.) David Kenny - Aghamore
    4.) James Stretton - Claremorris
    5.) Sean Regan - Ballina Stephenites
    6.) Stephen Coen - Hollymount/Carramore
    7.) Patrick Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
    8.) Diarmuid O'Connor - Ballintubber
    9.) T.J. Byrne - Kiltimagh
    10.) Val Roughneen - Balla
    11.) Adam Gallagher - Mayo Gaels (Capt.)
    12.) Darren McHale - Knockmore
    13.) Cian Burke - Ballymun Kickhams
    14.) Brian Reape - Bohola Moy Davitts
    15.) James Durcan - Castlebar Mitchels
    Cian Burke likely to play wing half back,Val Roughneen, midfield,TJ Byrne corner forward and Patrick Durcan wing half forward.

It's been said Liam Irwin withdrew over family issues a big loss but on paper it's the strongest Mayo U21 team and panel since their last win in 2009.

Perfect evening for the game, pitch appears to be in pretty decent shape.

Half time in the U21 match, Mayo 1-4 Leitrim 0-5. Michael Hall scored a screamer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭SomethingElse

That's a shocking slow response time
    Hope he's going to be ok

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Always_Running

Half time in the U21 match, Mayo 1-4 Leitrim 0-5. Michael Hall scored a screamer.
    3-3 to 0-3 2nd half, goals wins games. Should beat Galway at home next who don't seem as strong as other years. Best of luck to the young leitrim lad that got injured.

In spite of the scoreline it was a poor Mayo display,some woeful shooting.Leitrim were no great shakes.Michael Hall deservedly got MOTM,fine finish for his goal.Sean Regan put in a good hour.TJ Byrne lacks the pace to play at midfield,he would have been a useful target man against a quasi blanket defence.I had expected Val Roughneen to move to the middle,Matthew Ruane may have played himself in contention for a starting place.

Hopefully that Leitrim player makes a speedy recovery,long delay for the arrival of an ambulance.