Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

EPM wrote: »
    I'd actually like to see that at a meet.

No you wouldn't ;) - not until I've got my list of 'stuff' together, acquired it all and more importantly put the effort in.

It's still in good nick but needs work.

I'm currently going through his thread and putting together the above list of what he used for what task (if you get me). I have a fair bit of kit but need more to do the job right. (loads of qd, foam, lance, shampoos etc etc, more cutting compunds, those 3M sanding sticks etc etc )

Thread is 4 y/o and there must be more advanced gear out there since then.

I'll put it together and then look for advice.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,854 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

vectra wrote: »
    The Lads in cleancar.ie have these in stock now.

Cheers but since I have paid for them from you know who, I don't know what to do!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Cheers but since I have paid for them from you know who, I don't know what to do!

Well
    IF and WHEN the paid ones turn up they are always handy as spares as there is no "Best before" date on them

• Registered Users Posts: 9,705 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Got the car valeted in Elite Auto Clean yesterday...here's the results!

scaled.php?server=35&filename=img1298eu.jpg&res=medium

scaled.php?server=847&filename=img1299q.jpg&res=medium

The Recaro's went from this

scaled.php?server=827&filename=img1288yn.jpg&res=medium

To this :eek:

scaled.php?server=824&filename=img1297j.jpg&res=medium

Looking well Midnight!

That's an absolutely brilliant job on the seats.

Got the car valeted in Elite Auto Clean yesterday..

You lazy git..

Looking good now bud.. Liking the recaro's

You lazy git..

Looking good now bud.. Liking the recaro's

Price I couldn't refuse...and I haven't got half the materials they have! Especially when a tub of Zymol costs crazy money! :eek:

Mostly Chemical Guys stuff they used for me though, BlackLight is amazing!

Price I couldn't refuse...and I haven't got half the materials they have! Especially when a tub of Zymol costs crazy money! :eek:

Mostly Chemical Guys stuff they used for me though, BlackLight is amazing!

Yea.
    I used the blacklight as well.
    Great stuff but I am not sure about durability.
    A good coat of something like FK1000p on top of it would seal it up nicely.

Yea.
    I used the blacklight as well.
    Great stuff but I am not sure about durability.
    A good coat of something like FK1000p on top of it would seal it up nicely.

It was either Jet Seal 109 or Hybrid V7 used to seal it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

I miss polishing my car, it's actually in such a state at the moment I can't wait for it to be painted.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭kiddums

Off today so decided to do a couple of bits to the mighty astra van:P

Used some left over insulation I found in the attic to add a nice bit of sound proofing to the back, very hollow road noise was starting to bug me..
    Have you had a chance to test this out yet?
    I would love to do something like this to reduce the road noise in my heap of scrap agila.

I miss polishing my car, it's actually in such a state at the moment I can't wait for it to be painted.

Has any of the primer deteriorated from being exposed to the elements for so long? How much work will have to be done to it before the paint can be applied?

It was either Jet Seal 109 or Hybrid V7 used to seal it :D

Used the Hybrid V7 as well on top of it..
    Wasn't hugely impressed with durability to be honest. Went back to wax as found it better.

I am curious as to how the BW will hold out for me in this weather.

Has any of the primer deteriorated from being exposed to the elements for so long? How much work will have to be done to it before the paint can be applied?

Not really no. It just has to be sanded down and painted. I still have about 1.5 litres of primer left.

The jobs are,

Remove two covers on front bumper (previously had spots, I'd say)
    Filler back arch (small dent)
    Filler passenger door (someone tried to break into the car with a bar of some kind while the previous owner had it)
    I'm going to give it to the panel beater completely stripped.
    Sand down
    Prime the roof
    Then paint :)

I've a colour in mind, but it's subject to change.

Then install lowering springs on the front, no way I'm going back to coilovers, absolute pain in the arse.

I'm must service it again during the week, they're so simple service it's hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

Not really no. It just has to be sanded down and painted. I still have about 1.5 litres of primer left.

The jobs are,

Remove two covers on front bumper (previously had spots, I'd say)
    Filler back arch (small dent)
    Filler passenger door (someone tried to break into the car with a bar of some kind while the previous owner had it)
    I'm going to give it to the panel beater completely stripped.
    Sand down
    Prime the roof
    Then paint :)

I've a colour in mind, but it's subject to change.

Then install lowering springs on the front, no way I'm going back to coilovers, absolute pain in the arse.

I'm must service it again during the week, they're so simple service it's hilarious.

What car is it you are doing all this to? You seem to go through a lot of cars so I'm lost at this stage!! :pac:

This beastly number

374124_10150978799625176_805400175_21997547_140740964_n.jpg

Edit: The interior is already done, Full Recaro interior, armrest, Brushed alu dash trim, .:R32 Steering wheel, leather handbrake and all the roof/pillars done in black :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

I miss polishing my car

You're more than welcome to work away on my car if you feel so inclined...

EPM wrote: »
    You're more than welcome to work away on my car if you feel so inclined...

*tumble weed*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

This beastly number....

Edit: The interior is already done, Full Recaro interior, armrest, Brushed alu dash trim, .:R32 Steering wheel, leather handbrake and all the roof/pillars done in black :)

Fair play to ya....I'm not the only one to "upgrade" a run-o-de mill car so. If I listed all I did to my Laguna you'd think I was mad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Got a call from the dealer this morning. Missed it but he left a message

"hello rob i have your Honda ready AGAIN ! Har har har"

Legend !

Called me at 5 and told me my insurance company won't extend insurance on the replacement anymore !

I haven't a bog why. Anyone ?

Car is in Carrick mines and im going to work on a Luas and getting the car back later to drive home to clondalkin !

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Picked up some Autoglym aqua wax earlier, so whatever fecking weather it is tomorrow I'm washing the damn car

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

Out with the old

IMAG0298.jpg

In with the new (not me in the pic btw) :p

I'm also now deaf, must put in the bungs tomorrow.

IMAG0297.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 670 ✭✭✭C.D.

@Test transmission: How much did that cost? Would love to get a new exhaust! Mine car has space for twins but does not have mounting for the second one.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

C.D. wrote: »
    @Test transmission: How much did that cost? Would love to get a new exhaust! Mine car has space for twins but does not have mounting for the second one.

Mine is pretty specific for my car and I also bought it second hand so it varies from car to car,guess it depends on what you're after

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Jaysis, I was going to order a Chinese till I saw that pic. Salad for me

Gary ITR wrote: »
    Jaysis, I was going to order a Chinese till I saw that pic. Salad for me

Oh how the tables have turned from my "American tourist" day :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Got this Octavia last weekend and fited a H.I.D. kit and LED sidelights yesterday along with 2 new headlight units

Side lights
    312046_10150389018087747_748362746_8383204_1510035861_n.jpg

391199_10150389018202747_748362746_8383205_904677010_n.jpg

Diped beams [There not dazzeling at all they just look it with the way the pic was takein]

309752_10150389018352747_748362746_8383206_273377654_n.jpg

316600_10150389018527747_748362746_8383209_1478255457_n.jpg

2 diferant back roads

316349_10150389018707747_748362746_8383210_1687306133_n.jpg

313692_10150389018842747_748362746_8383211_433339128_n.jpg

Pattern
    21314attach.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Nice to see a set of HIDs for once not spilling light all over the shop

• Registered Users Posts: 1,589 ✭✭✭Stealthirl

Nice to see a set of HIDs for once not spilling light all over the shop

Iv fited literally 40+ kits and they are all grand, i only put them in projector housings tho never reflector ones whitch causes light to go all over the shop :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

They look very well