Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Today I did something to my car" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,548 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

dgt wrote: »
    As there was some event where a ball being kicked around by people broadcasted on national telly, I had some much needed peace and quiet! :cool:

Got some toys for my 406

Screwed out the pump and... Now my clutch is knackered (was on the way out anyway) clearly the D-Turbo lump is producing more torque than before! :rolleyes: Pricing an uprated clutch, but not a paddle clutch, they cost a fortune! Not looking foreward to that job. B*llox :(

Whodve thought breaking the 100bhp barrier would knacker a clutch?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

Nice table cloth heh :). God bless the work though fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

colm_mcm wrote: »

Quoting photos much? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

On Friday, I paid a visit to the doctor, the NissanDoctor.

I had replaced the tierods on the sister's MX5, so it needed an alignment afterwards. Car felt VERY itchy driving over to Drumcondra but fair dues to the Doctor, one hour late I was driving out and the car felt like new. No doding off at random angles according to bumps and potholes. Pure pleasure to drive.

Getting a 4-wheel alignment done must be one of the best ways to spend money on a car.

Thanks to NissanDoctor, nice setup you have there in Drumcondra and I witnessed how well other customers were being dealt with too while I was in the waiting area.

BTW here are the old balljoints removed from the car - just one year and 4,000 miles on them !! And another balljoint from the same supplier that was sat in the shed over the year. Even it has gone to pot. Lesson learned, buy OEM parts where possible

PS. On Saturday the car passed its MOT up North with flying colours. Love it.

th_IMG_1270.jpg th_IMG_1268.jpg th_IMG_1267.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

franksm wrote: »

35d2m3.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭gollywog

In the process of applying blacklight to the car, one coat done, one more and then sealant, ill throw up pics after....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,412 ✭✭✭andyseadog

3 stages of Auto Glym with Demon Shine (in a mr muscle bottle) in between each coat to keep the dust down yesterday and i think its looking mighty fresh :)
    its by no means swirl free and its really needs to be clayed but it looks grand until i have a bit more free time!

photo0549t.jpg
    photo0550q.jpg
    photo0551p.jpg
    photo0552y.jpg
    photo0553v.jpg
    photo0554c.jpg
    photo0555mb.jpg
    photo0556sa.jpg

in the mean time, off to teneireif in the morning :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

This was the reason I initially bought the DA and sorted the car...the really bad engine bay scratching. Had to take the 2 panels out but didn't get to the engine cover yet!

BEFORE:

img1112fi.jpg

AFTER:

img1160emb.jpg

Panel Removed:

img1145xc.jpg

Panel with bad clearcoat scratching:

BEFORE:

img1149fl.jpg

img1151lg.jpg

AFTER:

img1153l.jpg

img1154dh.jpg

Other Side Panel - Not as bad ...but still bad!

BEFORE:

img1156z.jpg

AFTER:

img1169hzg.jpg

BEFORE:

img1165d.jpg

img1164qu.jpg

AFTER:

img1168o.jpg

img1166bb.jpg

Jeasras - some difference, like night and day !

Cheers ;) Scrapes still there but 95% better only vieewable at certain angles...was told that Id get a massive improvement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,920 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

One thing you could do is use 2000 wet and dry sandpaper on the panels with bad scratching then use the D/A to get rid of the sanding scratches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

colm_mcm wrote: »

I'm guessing an original clutch... Twas so-so, I wasn't happy with it anyway. I am in my arse taking the box on it's own out, engine and box out job! Clean the whole lot up :D

So onto todays activity... Short, sweet and damned effective :cool:
    Image2108.jpg

"Why are you neglecting me, why did you kill my clutch???" Pah! :rolleyes:
    Image2109.jpg

Fiddled with the camber :cool:
    Image2112.jpg

Image2113.jpg

Lensos to be refitted and rears to be done later this week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,729 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I hope that CAI is insulated, otherwise it'd pretty useless. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

CianRyan wrote: »
    I hope that CAI is insulated, otherwise it'd pretty useless. ;)

Theres nice ducting and shielding hidden from view behind the wheel arch :) I can't have it fully insulated anyway, think of it in the rain! Much better than a standard airbox thats for sure :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,719 ✭✭✭Hal1

I think this stuff is insulated? They do bigger diameter tubing too.
    redlinemaxed.co.uk

50mm-pipercross-cold-air-feed-kit-1381-p%5Bekm%5D288x288%5Bekm%5D.jpg

Hey heres a few pictures of the car after being clayed, two coats of blacklight and sealed with hybrid v7....

IMAG0230.jpg

IMAG0229.jpg

IMAG0227.jpg

What i noticed yesterday is that my paint needs ALOT of correction work, will have to invest in a DA sometime in the future to really get it all shiny!! :D

How easy are those days to use actually??
    Could I mess up the paint? And how long roughly would I have to spend polishing the entire car?? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Washed the car with fairy liquid 2BM, gave the boot/bonnet a clay and gave the car a coat of AG HD wax just before drizzle started :D Loving HD wax so far..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭BUBBLE WRAP

gollywog wrote: »
    Hey heres a few pictures of the car after being clayed, two coats of blacklight and sealed with hybrid v7....

What i noticed yesterday is that my paint needs ALOT of correction work, will have to invest in a DA sometime in the future to really get it all shiny!! :D

Could I mess up the paint? And how long roughly would I have to spend polishing the entire car?? Cheers

Nice work :), But im disapointed as I see no beading. :(

Im a whore for the beading. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I had replaced the tierods on the sister's MX5, so it needed an alignment afterwards. Car felt VERY itchy driving over to Drumcondra but fair dues to the Doctor, one hour late I was driving out and the car felt like new. No doding off at random angles according to bumps and potholes. Pure pleasure to drive.

Getting a 4-wheel alignment done must be one of the best ways to spend money on a car.

Thanks to NissanDoctor, nice setup you have there in Drumcondra and I witnessed how well other customers were being dealt with too while I was in the waiting area.

BTW here are the old balljoints removed from the car - just one year and 4,000 miles on them !! And another balljoint from the same supplier that was sat in the shed over the year. Even it has gone to pot. Lesson learned, buy OEM parts where possible

PS. On Saturday the car passed its MOT up North with flying colours. Love it.

That is a very cool sleeper MX5 I have to say;)

heh heh - yeah, if it weren't for the noise, you wouldn't imagine it was 200+ HP/turbo

Grabbed this earlier, as I said, loving the HD :D

IOT5J.jpg

Nice work :), But im disapointed as I see no beading. :(

Im a whore for the beading. :o

Don't worry man, as soonbas it rains, i wont disappoint you! ;)

Added another coat of HD to the boot/roof/bonnet fe good measure while they're clean, as there's already a load of muck on the car

9hjfC.jpg

Added another coat of HD to the boot/roof/bonnet fe good measure while they're clean, as there's already a load of muck on the car

9hjfC.jpg

Moses himself couldn't part water that well...:pac:

Truely biblical...Well Done :cool:

Gollywog better post some beading pics soon or I'll kick his biblical ass!!! :D

It hasn't really rained since except once while I was in work! Soon MM, very soon! ;)

Garden hose....be grand!

No bother, will post a pic tommorrow before my car goes for surgery :(

I'm only joking, you don't have to! (but not really) :P

What's it going in for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

De-knackered my exhaust with dgt earlier. It was a silly scorpian exhaust and now its just a stock Polo one. Oh its so pleasant to drive now. Next Monday its getting proper springs put back in it, since its currently on lowering springs. It'll be stock then more or less! And might be getting a Mk3 Golf as well on Wednesday next... Fun fun!