Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 1,889 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭corkrobinhood

Delighted for Lawton,richly deserved.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Cork minor footballers playing a challenge against ballincollig U21 tommorrow night.

We don't have enough dual stars with four lets bring in mark collins,recall kevin canty and colm o neill while we are it:|

This is a young lad with hip problems who hasn't even established himself as a regular on either panel.I just hope that decision not to appoint John Cleary won't turn out to be the most fatal decision in the history of Cork football.

Defies logic.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Cork minor footballers playing a challenge against ballincollig U21 tommorrow night.
    Where and when is this on do you know?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭lukin

That's madness considering the hip problems he has had in the last twelve months. He should be playing less football/hurling, not more. He has even admitted he got the injury because he was playing too many games.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭slingerz

lukin wrote: »
    That's madness considering the hip problems he has had in the last twelve months. He should be playing less football/hurling, not more. He has even admitted he got the injury because he was playing too many games.

His activity will reduce now that hes out of U21 though and I would imagine those in charge of his recovery will still be involved so would be best placed to manage the player to prevent recurrence of the injury.

The problem with being a dual player is not really the physical fatigue more from the mental fatigue that sets in as it is difficult to focus sufficiently on both teams/championships as well as having the drive to be successful on both teams.

This comes far in advance of big championship occasions as playing in front of 40,000+ in a Munster Final v Kerry or in Thurles against Tipp. Those occasions will have the blood pumping without doubt but in the weeks and months in advance the dual aspect may lead to the player becoming 'stale' in both codes.

D'Agger wrote: »
    Where and when is this on do you know?

I was told 7.15 at CIT.

Hamilon ,Bandon play Dungarvan CBS ,in what has been known has the crossroads of Munster for years,in Mallow on Tuesday.

An excellent choice of venue ,with excellent facilites,ideal for Dungarvan logistics wise,they avoid going through the town,the ptich on the Waterford side of the town.

Dungarvan are entering the Harty Cup for the 1st time in over 50 years on there owe ,as last year there was an almagation of St Augustine with them that ,they won two harty cups in a row.That marriage that was made in heaven,is broken up with ,the new rules this year such it is the 1st time in around 80 years.the defending champions are not in it.

Dungarvan have been on an upward curve ,standing on there own two feet,in that they have won a Munster u15 in 2009,and the Munster and All Ireland B championship last year,so this school,and credit due ,have created a winning culture.They lost a Dean Ryan Cup final recently enough.

Hamilton ,have just there second year in a row played Harty Cup,as up to last year had not played in it since 1995.Also known for Football and Rubgy,this town is making waves in hurling.

They have created history by being the 1st West Cork School to get to the Harty Cup Quater finals and is changing history.It is great to see,and being in the Carbery Division,I'm sure John Cocoran,in the Carbery division is delighted for them,and I hope when he see's so close to home,how a team recognoised as a minnow at Harty Cup level can breathe  such wonderful energy and freshness in to the competition,in a similar way,Carlow are making huge strides in Hurling,yet he was like John Wayne,fast of the Mark,in terms of fast to criticise Carlow as having little value in hurling,which is a tad harsh.

Hammies won the Dr .Callaghan ,Cork Colleges cup,beating an expierenced and highely rated Midelton CBS,that had a lot of last years harty cup side and a few of the ,Dean Ryan cup winning side this year.
    They sliced through that competiton like a hot knife through a large lump of Kerrygold butter beating St .Colmans 5-23 to 4-9,and then Christians 2-19 to 4-8,and then in the final beating Midelton 2-17 to 2-8,depriving Midelton of 3 in a rowd ,who had senior club player and kilkenny man Peter Dowling involved with training them ,in the Final.

In the Harty Group stages ,they again beat bigger schools tradition wise,in beating De La Salle,winners in 2007 and 2008,beat St flannans 21 times winners,in truth it was more than the scoreline showed,as they dominated them in Kilmallock,on a lovely autumn day ,then beat 9 times champions St Colmans.

They lost to Ard Scoil(like the Lions in Rubgy with the pick they have)and champions in 2010 and 2011 as regular knockout contenders ,4-20 to 3-14,but showed enough heart and grit that was admirable against hot favourites and a star laden limerick team in Mallow.Such was Cahalanes peach of a goal,Ard scoil with all there stars would love have to him.In the group stages they got around 8 goals,and 9 in the Cork College,this team has goals in them ,make no mistake about it.

They have conceded around 6 in the Harty Cup,but it is important to note 4 of them came the 1st day in Mallow,and from being at that match ,2 goals were just sloppy defending.Since then,like any good defence,they have tightened up considerably at the back,and had two clean sheets,just conceding two goals against St flannans,one late in free with time up,when Mccarthy had no chance to save a bullet fron clare interounty player Moloney.

They have conceded 10 goals in the Cork colleges,but the focus has increased for the Harty Cup.In the Cork Colleges final out of 2-17 ,a total of 2-14 was from play,pheonmal scoring ,even though ,Midelton were down a man.

This side is well balanced ,and well coached with the expierenced Noel Crowley,and Aidan O Donughe with them.Michael Mcsweeney there Captain,intercounty expierence with Cork is a fine full back,and he will face he's toughest test in Waterford minor Patrick Curran,1-7 ,(4 frees )in the all ireland minor final against Galway,against a top full back in Darragh O Donoughe.What a battle.Michael is strong,abrasive,and everything you want in a full back.Jack O'Callaghan,and Andrew O'Connell,superb against Flannans,made 3 goal saving hooks or blocks ,is tenacious.

The half back line is like any good side,the fortress from which it is built.Murt Kennaly,the dominant and leader in Chris O leary,fabolous all year,supported by Niall Murray.

Jonathan Mulchay works hard and is strong and direct hurler and it remains to be seen ,who will play at midfield, in Luke meade is a fine hurler ,played for Newcestown in the county u21 championship.

David healy,involved with Cork teams ,is a lovely hurer,got tasty scores and done well against Morey and Galvin of Ard Scoil ,two intercounty lads.Jerry O Neill,a strong,forceful hurler played there in the Cork Colleges Final but is at home in the half forward line and may be better served there ,as to take the pressure and onus of Michael Cahalane at Centre forward.Cormac Curran is at midfield for Dungarvan ,and is meant to be very good.

The forwards have plenty of scoring in them.Kevin O donovan,Cork panel,a goal in the Cork college final,Eoin o Reilly,super pace,4 points against St flannans ,can score and is a real handful for any corner back.Trevor Horgan a dual Cork minor is a real presence at full forward,often does not get as much attention,as Cahalane hogs the limelight,but he is a terrfic player,outstanding for newestown at u21 this year,very strong ,and can play centre of full,and that versailty is key ,as Dungarvan will probably have Waterford minor captain,the ist man in 65 years to lift the cup ,on Cahalane,so horgan can do damage inside.Kevin daly is a terrific player,held Galways main man Brian Molloy to a point from play.He is a senior in the making.

Horgan was in super form for Club last autumn,getting three goals in a County Minor final against Fr O Neills,3 goals in a Carbery u21 final against Bandon , a goal against Barney,again superb against the Rockies when beaten.Yes those games,you do have to take with a grain of salt in that the standard is not high at times,but at the same time potential intercounty stars must make there mark and stand out from the rest ,and he done that.

At intercounty for Cork minors ,got 3 points against Clare,was injured with ligament problems for the Waterford game and a huge loss.

Michael Cahalane ,though is the real key for Hamilton.He will be marked by Kevin daly,but Daly held him to 1-1 in the Cork game,and against such a quailty player,holding him to that is very good,in that seldom you can expect to hold that quailty scorless.He got 1-11 against the Barrs in an u16 county final,got 3 goals against the Rockiers at U14 county final,this year got 18 points in a minor game against Carragline ,and got like 14 points in the Carbery u21 final out of hes teams 18 points againgst Newcestown.

He played in the Cork county Intermediate final at 17,for Bandon against Ballinsaig,and despite not scoring much, did quite well in he's first final at that level and when he went on Mike Aherne who was man of the match,he won ball.

Has played senior for Carbery this year.Leading scorer in most games for hes team he is a superb man from placed ball.
    Against Ard Scoil he got a splendid overhead strike ,to grace any game at any level, could have had a second goal ,and unluck not to have a hat trick with a missed penalty.He was marked by the outstanding ,and much rated Ronan lynch ,limerick intercounty but more than helds hes own.
    Against st Flannans he got 1-8.
    He has either scored or at the very least had a majior inptut in most of Hammies goals.
    In the 1st two harty cup games,he got around 2-20.
    In the cork colleges final he got around six points from play.
    In Second year he was only the 3rd student at that year to play senior hurling for the school.People wonder is too early ,he has been called up to the Senior team,and is it too much expectation and pressure like ,Conor Lehane had,but the fundamental difference with Lehane,he was on a Cork team,with not many other main forwards when he joined in 2012.
    The pressure is on all star Harnedy,captain Cronin,All star Horgan,Walsh,Moylan,Coughlan etc,so he is in an ideal enviroment to thrive ,and like I advocated as far back as September he is well worth he's place on the panel,and is surroundf by level headed people in and outside of the Cork Camp:/ he will do just fine.

This Cork call up,is a majior boost to he's confidence and he will have a spring in he's step Tuesday.

Dungarvan are well coached by Pat Collins and have a few players from last year team ,and have a super leader at the back in Kevin Daly,and Patrick Curran is such a great player ,he has to be watched from the ist minute right up to the last,in that he was well held by O donughue ,in the all ireland final against Galway,but then had a superb moment of magic,in the last five minutes to get a super goal.

They have five from last year ,Cormac Curran at midfield,Patrick Curran,Darragh lyons,Kevin Daly at the back ,and Michael Cronin.
    They have Aron Donnelly,and Eammon Crotty also.They are a very strong side,but as any schools team are,certainly not unbeatable on any given day.They already lost to Nenagh,only beat Midelton who Hamilton beat,by two points and beat Rochestown by 5 points.

Hamilton have fierce,grit and are resoulte,are a team adapatable to a dry day or a wet day and as showed against Ard Scoil,never give up.Dungarvan don't concede many goals,but dont score many either and I doubt have the capacity to blow a team away,and with Cahalane in the news and such talent from both sides on show,I would say they would be a nice bit of support for the Cork lads,and if it was close in the last quarter ,I fancy them to win it.

Schools level is always hard to call,but the fact they are not favourites will help them ,and I think they will  win it ,as they have improved in every game,had two very good work outs against the Cork minors and are in good shape .

It should be a great game Tuesday.
    The Doon Rochestown semi final has an added intrest in Diramuid Fahey with Rochestown is orignally an Oulagh man,in Limerick,literally a stones throw from Doon,so it adds a bit of spice to it .

• Registered Users Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I was told 7.15 at CIT.
    Ah right, would have popped to it after work if it was on in Ballincollig, CITs a bit out of the way

slingerz wrote: »
    His activity will reduce now that hes out of U21 though and I would imagine those in charge of his recovery will still be involved so would be best placed to manage the player to prevent recurrence of the injury.

The problem with being a dual player is not really the physical fatigue more from the mental fatigue that sets in as it is difficult to focus sufficiently on both teams/championships as well as having the drive to be successful on both teams.

This comes far in advance of big championship occasions as playing in front of 40,000+ in a Munster Final v Kerry or in Thurles against Tipp. Those occasions will have the blood pumping without doubt but in the weeks and months in advance the dual aspect may lead to the player becoming 'stale' in both codes.
    Please tell me how that reduces Cahalanes activity greatly,as yes it is not as bad as being with up to 7 teams,but he is still with four,dual at club and intercounty.

He is with Far too many teams still after such a serious operation on not one but both hips.
    Also how will training,don't forget factor in ,he has to train hard in both ,and how does adequate recovery work and training camps away work?
    On a day when it was in the paper today that the excessive games caused a huge increase in hip injuries ,wouldnt he want to be reducing it.

You need a tyre for your car.You get a Bridgestone or Michelin ,the top brand, rated,the best tyre money can buy.

Yet at the end of the day no matter how good they are ,there is a limit in mileage they hold,and if you drive like a lunatic,up on kerbs,fast breaking,taking of,fast on bad roads.don't check and make sure the air pressure is right ,they wear fast no matter what brand they are.Point is you must still treat them with care,and its not a licence to neglect them as they have limations even as new tyres.

Cahalane getting surgery does not mean he is immune from problems down the line.He must take care of himself.And that is a huge load he has.Proffessional rubgy players in ireland with no days jobs,and more recovery time are limited to rubgy games they play in Ireland.Cahalane doesnt have that luxury yet he trains like profressional.Staleness of mind is the least of he's worries in that ,hes sharpness of hurling and to make a full recovery are the main ones.

Yes JBM!Three bag's full JBM! Cuthbert would even have allowed Ciaran Sheehan to join the hurlers if the Aussie Rules scout's didn't come calling! It look's like the county board are trying to paper over the cracks and neglect of the underage structures in Cork hurling over the past decade by encouraging this dual player policy. It's like building a house on quicksand.

Galvin and Crowley out with hamstring injuries for two weeks ,so Mcloughlin and shields in,Hurley added to the panel for sunday.

Please tell me how that reduces Cahalanes activity greatly,as yes it is not as bad as being with up to 7 teams,but he is still with four,dual at club and intercounty.

He is with Far too many teams still after such a serious operation on not one but both hips.
    Also how will training,don't forget factor in ,he has to train hard in both ,and how does adequate recovery work and training camps away work?
    On a day when it was in the paper today that the excessive games caused a huge increase in hip injuries ,wouldnt he want to be reducing it.

You need a tyre for your car.You get a Bridgestone or Michelin ,the top brand, rated,the best tyre money can buy.

Yet at the end of the day no matter how good they are ,there is a limit in mileage they hold,and if you drive like a lunatic,up on kerbs,fast breaking,taking of,fast on bad roads.don't check and make sure the air pressure is right ,they wear fast no matter what brand they are.Point is you must still treat them with care,and its not a licence to neglect them as they have limations even as new tyres.

Cahalane getting surgery does not mean he is immune from problems down the line.He must take care of himself.And that is a huge load he has.Proffessional rubgy players in ireland with no days jobs,and more recovery time are limited to rubgy games they play in Ireland.Cahalane doesnt have that luxury yet he trains like profressional.Staleness of mind is the least of he's worries in that ,hes sharpness of hurling and to make a full recovery are the main ones.

Right he's not going to be seen at club training until before championship. If you think he'll attend every training of every team your sadly mistaken.

His inter county involvement will be managed by the inter county medical team and they would be fair better placed to know his medical condition as well as the best course of action than posters on here.

His sharpness of hurling will be there as well as his recovery period. These will be managed by his trainers. Again they would have more expertise in this area than posters on web forums

Elaine Harte retired from Football today.
    Best of luck to her.Certainly up there alongside Billy Morgan and others in a list of Corks footballs greatest goalies.A selectorTipp minors next year.With John Leahy with the Ladies intermediates,some high profile appointments in Tippereary.It will be interesting who is No.1 next year.Lisa Crowley is a fine keeper.

A very good interview with her in the Echo tonight ,a great read.
    Unfortunately ,Cork do not look likely to go down Dublin route of having a lot of gdos.Cost,as usal was mentioned.Fair enough 50 ,they could say is a lot but surely the size of Cork we need way more than what we have.

There seemed to be a kind of inclination as the norm,Cork lacks of minor success ,seemed to be put down to what other counties did in improve there structures and what we didnt do ,etc and we may have to wait a few years ,for success.

Again crucially,appointing competent succesful managers was not mentioned.
    Take kerry hurling,was meant to be getting teddy maccarthy ,decided they could do better,got Kelly and horgan,two proven managers and then complimented that with ,Cummins a high profile name,just out of the game who will add to the set up.

Mentioning managers ,ex-Cork forward,a fine nippy player he was Aidan dorgan is with Mallow now ,was with newmarket.
    As far as I am aware ,not a hundred per cent ,maybee some one can confirm but Cork beat dublin in an u21 challenge match Wednesday night in football.

slingerz wrote: »
    Right he's not going to be seen at club training until before championship. If you think he'll attend every training of every team your sadly mistaken.

His inter county involvement will be managed by the inter county medical team and they would be fair better placed to know his medical condition as well as the best course of action than posters on here.

His sharpness of hurling will be there as well as his recovery period. These will be managed by his trainers. Again they would have more expertise in this area than posters on web forums

How can he's sharpness of hurling be there and better than lads on the hurling panel training at every session.No way can it be as good,when he has missed 6 months of training and hurling to lads who have a head start.?yet he picks and chooses sessions.What does that do to the morale of a lad that attends every single one and misses none.And come championship,he has to play and train with the club in hurling.What next,he doesnt have to play hurling at club,but can play intercounty.

Come championship he is with four teams .

Hurling ,is a game of touch,remember now,it is a basic yet fundamental aspect of the game,and many things will evolve,that won't.

Also Cocorcan who had a more natual touch than Cahalane had to give up dual codes as he said,in case you as you say web posters,are not in a place to say,Read every single ball,where Brian ,not me said he couldnt improve hes touch in 99 only for giving up hurling.

Again,not me,but Conal keaney couldnt do both,le chin,now surley he knows what he talks about sait cant be done.

Name me one player ,seen as you want to stick to fact,that has done both hurling and football where neither hurling or football,suffered at the elite level.

Jim gavin,davy fity surely are in a poisiton to know,and they said it cant work.Two all ireland winning managers.I base my opinion on facts and knowlege from many experts like the fore mentioned and others to form a realistic view,like many other web posters have ,on here,and were realstic to say it unfortunately wont work.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭CorkonianRebel

Replay of the Cork v Galway football qualifier is on TG4 right now in case any one is interested!

How can he's sharpness of hurling be there and better than lads on the hurling panel training at every session.No way can it be as good,when he has missed 6 months of training and hurling to lads who have a head start.?yet he picks and chooses sessions.What does that do to the morale of a lad that attends every single one and misses none.And come championship,he has to play and train with the club in hurling.What next,he doesnt have to play hurling at club,but can play intercounty.

Come championship he is with four teams .

Hurling ,is a game of touch,remember now,it is a basic yet fundamental aspect of the game,and many things will evolve,that won't.

Also Cocorcan who had a more natual touch than Cahalane had to give up dual codes as he said,in case you as you say web posters,are not in a place to say,Read every single ball,where Brian ,not me said he couldnt improve hes touch in 99 only for giving up hurling.

Again,not me,but Conal keaney couldnt do both,le chin,now surley he knows what he talks about sait cant be done.

Name me one player ,seen as you want to stick to fact,that has done both hurling and football where neither hurling or football,suffered at the elite level.

Jim gavin,davy fity surely are in a poisiton to know,and they said it cant work.Two all ireland winning managers.I base my opinion on facts and knowlege from many experts like the fore mentioned and others to form a realistic view,like many other web posters have ,on here,and were realstic to say it unfortunately wont work.

I never questioned that his performance levels would be as good as those focused on a single code that would be make sense.

I disagreed with you that his dual involvement would cause further injury problems for him as his rehab would be managed by medical experts. Whatever injury he may suffer in the future will come from contact or natural occurring injury but it won't be from over training or training with each team.

Cork and Kerry meet in the Mcgrath Cup at Mallow ,tommorrow.It is practially impossible that Mallow will ever stage a Senior Football Munster Final,and this the only Competition they have a chance of holding at senior between the two close rivals,it is good to see the Competition even if it is just the Mcgrath Cup ,being played here,as Mallow in 1889,hosted the 1st ever Munster Final between those two ,Cork won 02 to 0-1 ,and this was Kerry's debut in the Munster Championship.

The last time Cork and Kerry met in the final was in 2006 ,Cork won 1-9 to 6 points at Pairc u Rinn.The Cork team was
    Alan Quirke,Kieran O'Connor,Ghraham Canty,Michael Prout(all ireland junior winning captain with Cork)Eoin Sexton,Ger Spillane,Sean Levis,Nicholas Murphy,Anthony Lynch(tried as a half forward)Brendan Jer O Sullivan,Noel O Leary(tried as a half forward,Kieran O Sullivan,Conor Mccarthy,Robert O Mahony .

Philip Clifford,Seamus O Sullivan and Diarmuid Duggan came on as subs .Cork goal was scored by the Barrs Robert O Mahony, while Kieran O'Sullivan of Illen rovers got 6 points ,with 2 from Brendan Jer,and a point from Philip Clifford .You cant read too much in to these games,as a real example is when Cork beat them that day,two weeks later kerry again down in Cork beat us by 5 points in the League opener ,and in truth could have been a hell of lot more.Kerry had about 8 core lads that day,but as you would expect from a seasoned team that had won the All Ireland , they had no interest in the Mcgrath Cup and were just blowing out the Cobwebs..
    Morgan had more interest as the Cork Manager,such that from being a guest in Meath at a function,he made the trek to Dublin aiport ,and then flew to Cork ,such was he's commitment and dedication to any Cork game.Cork have won 6 in total the larst in 2012,Kerry 4 in total,the last ,won last year.

Tommorrow even though Kerry won't loose too much sleep over it ,I still belive they want to win this ,and see the bigger picture ,and Fitzmaurice will want to set a statement of intent ,and win he's ist battle with Cuthbhert,and tommorrow Kerry have a lot of fringe players playing for places,and know they have to take the bull by the horns ,and seize moment.In Cork and others teams,you may get chance after chance,Kerry don't do sentiment and are ruthless .Eoin Sexton who played then is a selector tommorrow,and Eammon Fizmaurice played also is the manager.They are links from then,to tommorrow.

Cuthbhert said tommorrows game is not a must win.I beg to differ ,it has to be.You must install a winning mentality ,and the fact it is Kerry ,and a lot of this team have beaten Kerry at minor,and u21,junior and don't carry baggage like other Cork team,against the kingdom,we must set a statement tommorrow ,and keep momentum,and not let an inferiority complex set in against kerry like it did with past teams.

In past Cork teams against Kerry,Cork had more baggage than you would see at an aiport .

There is a core bunch of Kerry lads that are playing tommorrow that were blown away by ,Cork in 2011 at u21 in 2011,2-24 to 8 points,and we got 2-16 from play,and kerry got just four from play.We have a few of that team tommorrow,unfortunately we don't have the mastermind behind that ,John Cleary ,is now meant to be coaching a Cork underage Ladies Team.They have better coaches then some of the men,and fair play to them,our loss is there gain .
    Fitzgerald,O Brien,Sherwood,Griffin,Geaney ,who are playing or on the panel ,were involved in the 2011 game.

Corks full back line ,I was so excited to see Galvin and Crowley at just 20 start initally ,but again Cork loose very good players due to injury.It is imperative Galvin gets a chance against Westmeath,Crowley unfortunately may be with the u21 team.But then Cahalane ,played the ist two league games last year.
    I wouldnt blame the u21 team,if they want him fresh ,as I believe kerry u21 played Cit in a challenge,and were meant to be in good shape.Cork need Crowley for that game.

Still Cadogan and Shields who played two games in the O Byrne cup,one at midfield,have leadership and quailty there.They should have too much for ,Barry John Keane,fitzgerald and Stephen O Brien.
    Cadogan is the man for Keane,and should have the strength for him.Shields should have enouggh to hold O brien.Mcloughlin ,starts ,and may mark Fitzgerald ,he should be holding him ,if he want to make a mark for Cork.

Im suprised Shane O Callaghan is not starting,he was very good last year agains Cork at u21,got a good goal,and the pace caused Jamie Wall ,who is a fine player,problems.

Corks half back line of loughrey,Clancy and O Driscoll should cope with lyne ,Sheehan and walsh .
    I would prefer to see Loughrey take up Sheehan,hes strength and expierence would be needed,and I doubt sheehan has the legs to track Loughrey surging forward.
    Clancy is well capable of holding Walsh,and O Driscoll on Lyne would be my preference.

Midfield is the key to winning this game.Like that U21 game ,walsh and laoire,lorded the middle ,and that created the platform for fast,ball in which ,Cork forwards tore through kerry that night.Corks half forward line like it was then of ,O Rourke,Collins and Sheehan ,in comparisom to tommorrow with the Butcher,and O Driscoll ,was more potent scoring wise.
    Collins though remains and that is crucial.

Cork have Walsh and Gould and face a very good midfield in Moran and Maher.Maher did beat Walsh in killarney ,but walsh being moved from pillar to post ,we should be  grateful ,Counihan did not play him in goal ,did not help the two time All Star and former Young Player of the Year.He has the abiltity to turn the tables tommorrow and it is a great test for gould against moran.
    Gould must deliver tommorrow.If not Rory Deane,who won hes battle with him ,for CIT ,against them ,and Laoire could jump ahead of him.
    If gould is not doing it,laoire needs to come on .

The Butcher I think will be a third midfielder and I expect Sheehan to go in there for Kerry.It will be congested,and a pair of traffic lights wouldnt even ease the congestion as both teams will target that aera.

Gould will have to be fast on the breaking ball ,and expect to see Mark Collins there like a magpie waiting to pounce.
    Corks half forward line with the butcher as a third midfielder,and Colm O Driscoll in there ,seems to lack real scoring fire power down the line ,but Sugrue battle with Sherwood is a great match up.

Corks ,now evloving from the powerful,athletic ,one dimensohal,static,and stale team,to a team that wants footballers,first and foremost,a game involving direct play ,and speed and spatial awarenss ,Collins such a lovely balanced footballer,with poise,elgance,superb stamina ,and endurance but real pace,and can see and create ,and orchestrate a pass with hes great footballing mind and vison ,should be a real handful for Sherwood ,and Collins is the key for getting fast ball in to a scoring full forward line .

Goulding has been Corks top scorer in the two games and as he starts all 3 games,you can see the value that Goulding is held in,in with being affected by injury ,and lack of fitness,Cork are giving him these 3 games to get that sharpness up for westmeath in two weeks .

Kerrigan is an interesting choice,at full forward,and has the pace to roam to the half forward line ,and I expect him to do that ,to fill the void with the Andrew O Sullivan ,as a 3rd midfelder.I expect Cork to go with a two man full forward line with Goulding and O Driscoll.

I think that will suit Griffin at full back and Enright in the Corner to be honest.I would much prefer to see Cork go inside with a strong man at full forward that can score.Griffin is a fine full back ,but that night in 2011,Hodnett who Cleary such a shrewd tactian ,swtiched Barry O Driscoll to the corner and Donal Og Hodnett to full forward where he roastd griffin,and got 1-4 of him from play,as he got fast direct ball from walsh,laoire,collins and sheehan and created havoc.
    Driscoll in the corner benfited from staying away from ,Griffin as he got 1-3 from play.

Cleary had that talent as a manager to mix and match players according to there opponents,apnd he knew Griffin would be suited to o driscoll ,as last year in the league showed when he held him,however in O Driscolls defence,he slow,lateral static ball.

I would prefer to see Donacha at 14.,with Goulding and O'Driscoll ,in that line starting. However unlike Kerry who's bench is weak up front with the exception of shane callaghan ,Cork have DOC,  the superb and future all star Brian Hurley who played O Byrne Cup football,so he is sharp and sugrue on the bench.They are 3 forwards that having scoring,leadership,and in sugrue ,a player with pace and direct running,but good footballing skills and instincts to add a fresh energy and impetous to our attack .
    Laoire is a fine sub at midfield.
    The big worry is the lack of depth at the back,in Sean Murphy ,Lyons and Sheehan are unproven at intercounty at any level for Cork .
    However in having said that forwards win games,and we do have better forwards in total between starting and on the bench.

Most of these Cork players have beaten Kerry at minor,u21,junior and in fact a lot of those kerry lads are involved tommorrow ,so cork should not fear them,but relish it .

What Kerry do have is a top quaity management set up,a proven coach in Cian O Neill ,and a very good manager in Fitzmaurice who done extremely well with them ,an ageging team ,and compared to us,limited underage talent ,yet he got then to play as good as they could and push the all ireland champions all the way .

Our management set up , all we have is hope,a hope they get it right.
    They have done reasonbly well ,in the 1st two games,and did get the initial selection mostly right for this game,and seemed to learn ,as they picked a good team.There hand was forced by the withdrawl galvin and Crowley,not there fault,but at least it showed by starting them,they realised the potential they have.Also they with so many other defenders unavaible could not do more to the bench this week.

The intent is there to play fast football,and tommorrow will provide us with a test in ,are the attack as good against better teams,and as I am sure kerry will gain an advantage in some aera of the field tommorrow ,it is a good test of how the management react,and resolve that dilema when it arises.

The first big test for some players,but it is also the 1st for management tommorrow,and for both ,they get bigger every game now,with the league starting in two weeks.

Best of luck to them tommorrow and while a win is nothing to get carried away with,but like Clare got confidence from there Waterford Crystal Cup win last year in the  hurling ,we could do the same.

It gets harder from here on,and with the dual players bound to affect them as well as the hurlers (I hope I am wrong),we need a good start tommorrow.
    Cork to win .

At a packed Mallow kingdon 0-5 to 0-4 rebels.

Good test of management as cork in real trouble in certain aeras.Now can they live in the moment and read a games flow.
    Second half ist real test .

• Registered Users Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Its all well and good performing against Kerry but last week against UL was the real litmus test. That Hayes lad just didnt do it when it counted :p As for that Mcloughlan, if Lebron was on him what would he have scored.

For what its worth I still wouldnt look into performances at this time of year as any indicator. That's what i told the management after this weekends woeful personal showing. :)

Still cant beat them enough times.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,293 ✭✭✭Deise_2012

Anyone have the teams from the UCC v Mary I game today?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

Yes but did they live in the moment though, that's what I want to know?

A dry but bitterly cold Mallow ,brought a huge crowd to Mallow,the stand and terrace was packed,with a few in the far bank.
    Cork won 1-11 to to 0-10.

A huge crowd,parking was minimal ,with such a crowd there was cars parked ,left and right up the footpaths, and even outside the ground .People were of the view,Mallow could of handled it better,in truth,they could have done no more in that the stewards done a super jo,to fill up every space in all 3 car parks,even getting cars up on the bank on the right hand side by the car park.

If the weather wasnt so swamp,moonsoon conditions the last month,the warm up ptich,which they have used before ,directly across from the main ptich ,then they would ,have had that space ,with dry ground they would have used that ptich for parking and easily got another few hundred cars in .Traffic was congested but ,i think also such a flow is disrupted by the lights at end of the town .
    Overall not much more could be done.The Gaelic Grounds ,and Pearse stadium is a night mare for traffic also ,and they get big games,so it is part and parcel really.And by what was said in the delay of the Pairc Redevelopment,traffic congestion is a worry for them also.

Mallow being one way in most places doesnt help either.A fine place to hold a match,should get u21 and minor gmes at intercounty.

Cuthbhert said he would love Mallow to host league games,I would say the County board hardly will allow it,they voted against it already ,as revenue would take a hit..Fair play to cuthbhert ,but Mallow or Clonakilty,wont hold league games in the future,i imagine as then they loose revenue in gate recipts if it is not in either of the pairc grounds,and remember the white elephant that is the pairc(already like I forecasted wouldnt be short of a drama ,and as proved with the now long delay over planning application ,lacking key information, )needs and will get 1st priority ,and as shown by the interview friday with Corks Adminstrator,everything else is immaterial,if cost comes in to it,it would seem.

No great change in the numbers of Gdos,as it cost too much is what was said.It does not cost that much surely ,a 67m stadium is what I would say is an overpiced stadium,when we don't need a revamp to that extent,we need more coaches though.

As I said yesterday ,mallow hosted the 1st ever munster final with cork and kerry,there debut in it,Cork won 2 points to won ,and the 1st twenty mintues was just as low scoring.

Kerry went in 5 to 4 up,but jesus we were awful,i mean poor ,kerry opened us up at will and should have had two goals,halloran made a super save.Midfield we were beaten at the breakdown.I said Gould had to win the breaks and had to takes hes chance ,he was average to be fair ,and it was utter madness laoire got just 5 minutes at midfield.
    Gould was at midfield,and I thought he would do okay there, but he didnt.As I said last week,in last chance saloon,i wouldnt start him against westmeath.Then to compound matters,Management moved him to half forward,ffs,he is an awful half forward,and how many times has he proved that.

The butcher went to midfield.Got a poin,brave,honest ,hard working,can do a job against the Derry,Clare,westmeath etc ,but against top team,like kerry,dublin mayo he wont do,as for all the hard ball he wins,he gives it away too easily ,cant kick an accurate past,it was awful to watch him kick aimless ball in to the forwards,he kicked a ball for goulding that even a greyhound coudnt get ,it was miles away from him.Kerry were content to let him win it,and kick it away .

Walsh was okay,not great,but held hes own still,maher was taken of in the end injured ,and that helped cork ,but kerry have an edgdm with Buckley,maher an Moran in june,and moran beat Gould many time.Walsh can win ball,we dont need another powerful midfielder.We need a partner with good footballing skills to pastner him.The worry is the management started him in 3 games and he is a favourite with them.Murphy at underage is meant to be a fine talent at midfield for them.We need to get our act together here our our forwards wont get any ball in the munster final.

Cuthbert said football doesnt need to be complicated and it is a simple game.He talks the right talk.He needs to walk the walk and pick better players going forward there,and contary to the myth ,they are fine midfielders out there .

In the world of love ,they say likes repel,opposite attracts.The Same mantra applies at midfield,in Likes Repel.Walsh and the butcher are too similar ,and cant start together,and walsh is better than the butcher.

The half forward line like I said had no scoring in them and it showed.Colm o driscoll tried hard but he wont make the starting six or subs,much better ahead of him.He was given a chance.Fair play ,he is a game lad ,and trys like the butcher all day long.
    Collins was super.lovely point ,involved in a lot of play,a handful for sherwood,who played well as he could.

Goulding was sharp,two great points ,and when he got good ball in the second half ,was potent.
    Barry o driscoll was poor,enright,then griffin held him.He didnt take the chance to shine today either.

Goulding should of stayed on Griffin,as he got a great ball in the 1st half,turned him,and was down on goal,should of goaled or laid it off,to kerrigan ,but blasted it over.

Kerrigan needs to get fit ,looks like he needs training,but done very well,got two good points ,after a shaky start.Full forard he stayed which was a suprise for the ist half but went to half forward ,and Doc came on in the second half,and he was much better.

He got a great point,always showed for the ball ,and made a great goal for hayes.

Credit hayes,burned hes man ,ist shot was saved,took the rebound well after a lovey dummy.Could not argue with the finish.A great goal.If he done that every day,would be a starter.The same question remains is he cosistent,and can he do it as a starter.I have reservations and would like to be convinced further.
    One swallow never made a summer for me.He has the talent,i always said that.The rest is in he's hands.
    Hurley brought on way too late,like leary and sugrue yet others that were poor stayed on.

Cadogan was good and solid at times but sloppy at times,needs to get sharper,he can,but the crux of the problem,ir dual codes will hinder him.

Shields was terrific ,and got a great point.Mcloughlin was fine going forward,in the 1st half turned ,like o driscoll too easily and walsh had him in real trouble ,before the super,robust,strong,fast ,tenacious clancy ,went on him.He is the real deal ,and is like the other clancy,a super talent.Loughrey was good,and solid,more in him.
    Kevin o driscoll did play better in the second half,but I can't see,such is the competiton for half back ,starting in championvphip.
    That kerry forward line wouldnt put fear as a unit though in any team.

A good win in that any time you beat kerry is good,but ,a lot of poor displays,and the mawmagement need to learn and pick a better team with everyone availble ,for westmeath.Kerry had a poor half forward line and no real threat like I sard in the preview in the full forward line but still tore at us in the 1st half.
    With the gooch.darren sul,o donoughue to rejoin they will be a huge huge test in tralee in the league.

It was Good to get of to a winning start,and win the 1st trophy for Cuthbhert,credit due in the second half,good for confidence,but today was nothing to get carried away with,but certain players showed a good attuide.

Davy put out a new clare team against limerick,yet they won ,and the new lads made a statement,had a hunger and desire ,they wont get carried away ,but they took there chance.A lesson for all.

For the league ,i would start ,hallorhan,shields,cads,galvin,loughrey,the two clancys,walsh,laoire,o rourke,collins,kerrigan,goulding ,hurley ,and donnacha .

And if I was cuthbert I would be getting rory deane on the panel ASAP .as not only when he wins ball,he doesnt give it away cheaply ,he can actually kick an accurate pass,which is fundamental to the game plan,he wants to implement.It is a must.A car needs a supply of fuel to run smoothly,run efficfently and serve it's purpose.
    Cork forwards need a supply of ball to serve there purpose,kicking aimless ball in to them, means we will stutter,and eventually run out of gas.

I said Cork u21 beat dublin wednesday and wasnt 100 per cent,my apoloiges,cork lost in a game of 3 twenty minutes by around 5 points ,to a very strong dublin.

Tj brosnan,, sugrue,vaughan,alan cadogan,and maceoin played,with ryan harkin and killan o connor getting a run.
    Sean kiely was meant to have been immense at centre field.
    There is another challenge match this week.

Horse84 wrote: »
    Yes but did they live in the moment though, that's what I want to know?

If you were at the game you would know .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

I was nowhere near it, and sure why would I when I have your fine self to tell me all that went on;)?

Horse84 wrote: »
    I was nowhere near it, and sure why would I when I have your fine self to tell me all that went on;)?

Thought as much,too cold for you,great to be the hurler on the dtich,and comment on me ,when I actually at the game.
    Fair play lad,thanks.