Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Games have to played at some stage, and playing it after the semi final gave the maximum time to the panel to prepare for the final - county board uunfortunately have dates that they have have the games played for, and teams are messing around with dates doesn't help!

Can never get the examiner over here, but can get the Irish Times - if someone could take a picture of the article and PM me, that would be great!

Couldnt pm it ,did not know how to do it that way.This the best I could do.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

Amprodude wrote: »
    When will the Cork team be returning home to the city after the final win or lose? Would it be Sunday evening or monday evening?
    For the footballers homecoming in 2010 they arrived back into the city Monday evening. I remember waiting around for 2-3 hours. I'd say they arrived in at 9 or even 10pm. It's impossible to get a good standing space if you're not there early although they had big screens set up if you were further back South Mall. They should have it in Pairc Ui Chaoimh. It would be better for crowd control. And it would be much more family friendly. They could even have a couple of bands performing live to get the crowd going.

Archer3083 wrote: »
    For the footballers homecoming in 2010 they arrived back into the city Monday evening. I remember waiting around for 2-3 hours. I'd say they arrived in at 9 or even 10pm. It's impossible to get a good standing space if you're not there early although they had big screens set up if you were further back South Mall. They should have it in Pairc Ui Chaoimh. It would be better for crowd control. And it would be much more family friendly. They could even have a couple of bands performing live to get the crowd going.

Absoultey,and it would save an already over burdened city council paying up to 50000 at best to cover the cost.The city have to pay for security,stage,bands,clean up etc of their own pockets.

I said this would happen a month ago.The reason is simple ,cork county board want everything for nothing,short hands deep pockets.They wont pay a penny towards this as not on their patch.I can understand Rob Hefferan having the homecoming in the grand parade.as they in fairness have no choice.

The post match function is a very gd idea and great value for 25 euro but again a joke when you c its raise money for a holiday fund.

They shouldnt have to,Cork gaa are well fianced to cover that cost.

Its not confirmed but what i heard is talk is it be the sunday.If thats the case it cost the city more,sunday double pay etc.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

137yrs of tradition preserved...Barrs stay a Senior Club.

Went to Mallow,St Nicks v Newmarket ,relegation game.A great ptich,great weather,its a shame the score board was not working.

NICKS won ,by around five poins 2-10 to 1-8 aprox.A good open game,Newmarket were the better team in the ist half and should bn more than 3 up.In the second half,Nicks completely took over,Ghraham Callian,and Barry o Donovan excellent.Callilan put in some big hits.
    Dean Brosnan,completely out of the game,similar to hes time with cork u21 hurlers,but then a superb goal at the end.

Newmarket game out,never gave up.Only for their goalie,i think john ryan,would have conceded more.The likes of Bart Daly,Danny Cullothy very good.
    Their best player was Tj Brosnan.Never gives up,and a great engine and a great point.Lacks that bit extra though for Intercounty.

A fine club player though.

That is the second year in a row Nicks survive.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

Went to Mallow,St Nicks v Newmarket ,relegation game.A great ptich,great weather,its a shame the score board was not working.

NICKS won ,by around five poins 2-10 to 1-8 aprox.A good open game,Newmarket were the better team in the ist half and should bn more than 3 up.In the second half,Nicks completely took over,Ghraham Callian,and Barry o Donovan excellent.Callilan put in some big hits.
    Dean Brosnan,completely out of the game,similar to hes time with cork u21 hurlers,but then a superb goal at the end.

Newmarket game out,never gave up.Only for their goalie,i think john ryan,would have conceded more.The likes of Bart Daly,Danny Cullothy very good.
    Their best player was Tj Brosnan.Never gives up,and a great engine and a great point.Lacks that bit extra though for Intercounty.

What did you make of Danny Culloty's influence on Newmarket. Billy Morgan said a few weeks ago that he thought Culloty might be a good choice for Cork senior manager? I honestly don't know anything about him except he guided Newmarket to promotion but it hasn't gone well at senior level

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Is there any player(s) from both of these clubs thinkstoomuch, that you felt could be given a run or tried out in the league for Cork next year?

no no one stood out for the football.Barry o donovan was v good,but he is not better than,Hurley,Maceoin,O driscoll,o neill,kelly ,collins,hodnett etc.

Dean brosnan showed why he never will make the hurles,as hes attuide is very poor.He didnt want to know until the game was nearly over.

Tj brosnan will feature for Cork,the junior team,next year,and hes fine at that grade.But when you consider the half back options cork have,he is behind them.

He gives hes all,wears the jersey with pride,great athlete,but at times exposed when hes run at,lacks real pace for intercounty,and as proved against tipp ,speed of thought and a habit for taking wrong options,will c him exposed at senior.

In regards Dan the Yank,he done well with a limited bunch ,and they never gave up today,and he was very passionate on the sideline,but he shouldnt get a senior job yet.

He would be better than our minor manager do.

Morgan was just throwing a spanner in the works,he knows two well that hes face doesnt fit with the CCB.

All the talk was today,that cuthbert has it,and o donovan could be a selector.

Their convinced,o donovan ,their own man is the saviour for cork at board level.That was the part that ruined my day.My ears are still burning.

Who are they trying to kid.He is a yes man,and he has no power.As shown by this wks announcments,Frank controls cork.Waterford put two ex players on their committee ,to find a new manager.

Cork on all the committess,have no ex player.Ger lane i would rate,but hes outnumbered.Pat horgan is nearly always on every committee going.Tell its own story.

After 2009,the board picked a three man commitee,ex players,no board , to find the senior hurling manager.That was meant to be the way forward.They had to,they were under the cosh.

Slowly do,they regained full control.In 2011,all board men,and two club delegates.

And now in 2013 ,most committes,are majority board dominated.Pat kennelly was offered a second term.He refused.The fact he was offered it,was unjust.

Sean hayes,is a good manager but was rang,no interview for the u21 job.

Cork could win the all ireland next wk ,and be actually in a awful state,depending on who is brought in the management.

Tipp,who have been succesful,at intermediate,minor and u21 are now looking for new managers.All their three who were succesful stepped down.

Wait and watch,Tipp will appoint ,astute,hurling men,waterford have a superb underage with clare,limerick if they get sheedy be bang on the money,while we could take one huge step forward if we win next wk,but then two steps back with our minor and u21 management.

The likes of cit and ucc are better run sporting wise than our intercounty teams.Cit have grainger,ricken,mulchay etc,Ucc have morgan,ger cunnigham,Enright and now Tomas o Se.

Declan kidney is taking up a post in a feew weeks as sporting director at UCC.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    137yrs of tradition preserved...Barrs stay a Senior Club.
    Great they stayed up,you would feel for ballinshaig,but Cork hurling needs the Barrs to be senior.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,038 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Great they stayed up,you would feel for ballinshaig,but Cork hurling needs the Barrs to be senior.

no good if the Barrs see this as job done though. this year should be a kick in the hole for them to get themselves back in order.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,373 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Sad for the Hassig yes, but I think the Barrs have gotten the wake up call they needed.

no good if the Barrs see this as job done though. this year should be a kick in the hole for them to get themselves back in order.
    Absoutley,Corks top club,in a relegation battle,shows how the mighty have fallen.

Like cork,underage neglect,has caught up them,havent won a county minor and u21 over ten years.The only club to win all irelands both codes ,huge tradition in both codes.Newtown a smaller population are way ahead ,like blackrock at underage with midelton.

It could be a special month for them,if cork win next wk with Jbm and ger c,and mayo win with ed coughlan tommorrow,considering rob hefferanean as well.

It was to good to read Eddie brennan today ,and that at last someone said what i said during the week,that clare had repeateldly blocked and checked Corks forwards,with lllegal contact,and he used pa cronin as a specific example,in that Bulger was all over him,as Nash was starting hes puckouts.

I used harnedy as my example.

He made the point that you had like i said to be at the game to c that,as tv didnt pick it up.

Rest assured cork wont allow that happen next .Brennan said clare were right in a way to do that,as cody told he backs always do what you can to beat your opponent but dont do anything stupid or draw the attention of the ref,as the ref cant c everything.Shane o neill should bee sent of,but would do good to take hes advice.

He said as a forward you need to put your shoulder out,more mental than anything.

And cork need to spread out.He said cork forwards and hes right wont be as naive saturday.

Against kk,cork expected a physical confrontation and limerick and stood up.The fact we were dominant in june against them in that aera,i think it took the edge of us,and we had no where near the aggresion needed.

I would be shocked if cork didnt improve next week.A lot of wounded pride and reputations in cork .

Cronin was ill and didnt train much up to the last game.He is better -and training all week.

It was to good to read Eddie brennan today ,and that at last someone said what i said during the week,that clare had repeateldly blocked and checked Corks forwards,with lllegal contact,and he used pa cronin as a specific example,in that Bulger was all over him,as Nash was starting hes puckouts.

I used harnedy as my example.

He made the point that you had like i said to be at the game to c that,as tv didnt pick it up.

Rest assured cork wont allow that happen next .Brennan said clare were right in a way to do that,as cody told he backs always do what you can to beat your opponent but dont do anything stupid or draw the attention of the ref,as the ref cant c everything.Shane o neill should bee sent of,but would do good to take hes advice.

He said as a forward you need to put your shoulder out,more mental than anything.

And cork need to spread out.He said cork forwards and hes right wont be as naive saturday.

Against kk,cork expected a physical confrontation and limerick and stood up.The fact we were dominant in june against them in that aera,i think it took the edge of us,and we had no where near the aggresion needed.

I would be shocked if cork didnt improve next week.A lot of wounded pride and reputations in cork .

Cronin was ill and didnt train much up to the last game.He is better -and training all week.

We will be a different team next day out i agree. Hope we are good enough. I think we will be.

Clare are in a difficult situation in a way,what system to play,15 on 15 or a sweeper.The last day they had the suprise with 15 on 15,but were awful at the back,and o connor in particular and bulger are not great when you turn them and run.

Cork now have seen every system clare than throw at them.Okay it will be tweaked here and their,but cork will be ready for both.Up to the last game,i would have said clare mentally would be in a stronger position.This time,cork are stronger.
    In two championship games,one against a depeleted cork side,clare were beaten and the last game,couldnt close it out.

Cork on the other hand,have one style,fast ,fluid and create space.Its not about any real system.Cork ,once they create space will score.I hope moylan starts instead of farell.

Clare didnt allow us play the last day,but cork wont hit 30 puckouts in a row down on the clare half back line,and wont bunch as much,and allow rucks form.

Harnedy,cronin will be aware of what clare will do to them,and if the ref wont protect them,they will protect themselves.Murphy and cronin be much fitter also.Their will be an aggression to cork.

Cork tried to force the game the last day,nash going for goal early on proved that.They panicked,and first touch was dismal.

They shouldnt force it the next day,go for the points early on,keep the score board ticking over.The more time we stay in the game,we have a better chance,and it will and is bound to play on clare more than us if the game is close with a quarter to go that did they miss their chance the last game.

People expect that clare could get goals the next day.I dont c it,they may get one .Nash is practially close to impossible to beat, more than once in a game and has only been beaten by a kicked goal so far.

On corks side,their is not the same mantra with kelly.Hes a good goalie and made good saves,and i wouldnt blame him for the penalty ,or the two other goals,but at the same time Nash wouldnt have let in cronin or lehanes goals.Thats what makes him stand out,he can make saves others cant.

Lehanes goal,Nash saved a similar shot for cork against galway in last years semifinal.He has that ability.

Cork were so so nervous last time.They will be much better.Clare had no nerves at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭rebelden

Nash besides his Goal saving ability, has like the Dublin football goalie today a vital role in sourcing primary possession to drive at the Clare defence next Saturday.

rebelden wrote: »
    Nash besides his Goal saving ability, has like the Dublin football goalie today a vital role in sourcing primary possession to drive at the Clare defence next Saturday.

Unfortunately, the Clare defence plucked every ball from the air the last time - I fully expect him to vary the puckouts more on Saturday.

rebelden wrote: »
    Yeah but he will need more movement from the corner backs and half forwards,if they dont give him viable options he has no choice bt go long.

We were like sitting ducks the last game,we never gave him much options.

Cork team is named on wednesday,after training.You would expect that to be their final session.

And tommorrow night ,i expect they train.No training sessions open to the public yet,unlikely now,and im glad to c that.

I didnt know that. Have any of the training sessions been open to public since the final?
    Its the way to go. Like what Kerry footballers and management did, keep the opposition guessing. I am expecting something special in replay.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭setanta1984

Rumours Ciaran Sheehan to make the bench for satruday? Apparantly played in a recent A v B game and been training for the last 2 weeks...

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Anonymou

Rumours Ciaran Sheehan to make the bench for satruday? Apparantly played in a recent A v B game and been training for the last 2 weeks...

Where did you hear this? He'd be a great addition

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

I'd be hugely shocked if he was to be honest. Playing in a v b games is one thing but to be included in the match day squad?? That said he's surely a better option than cussen!

• Registered Users Posts: 51,508 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Hard luck Mayo. Was really hoping you would come through yesterday.
    Have to say that I had chats with many lovely friendly mayo people in Dublin yesterday.
    Hope you are back to win Sam next year.( if my own county don't).

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭setanta1984

Anonymou wrote: »
    Where did you hear this? He'd be a great addition

Got a text at the weekend, did a quick search and seen it mentioned online a few times too, just a rumour at this stage.

Would love to see himself and Aidan Walsh involved next year, for Saturday I'm not so sure. I'd trust JBM not to do anything that could unsettle the team but I'd worry about how some players migth feel about someone waltzing in for the final squad and potentially getting on ahead of someone involved and working all year (Moylan or Naughton for example).

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Anonymou

Got a text at the weekend, did a quick search and seen it mentioned online a few times too, just a rumour at this stage.

Would love to see himself and Aidan Walsh involved next year, for Saturday I'm not so sure. I'd trust JBM not to do anything that could unsettle the team but I'd worry about how some players migth feel about someone waltzing in for the final squad and potentially getting on ahead of someone involved and working all year (Moylan or Naughton for example).

Agreed would love to see Walsh give hurling a go next year,he would be a massive boost.Ya in fairness that wouldn't be great for morale,having already turned down a place on the hurling squad and coming in for an AI final would be harsh on the rest of the panel members.

I didnt know that. Have any of the training sessions been open to public since the final?
    Its the way to go. Like what Kerry footballers and management did, keep the opposition guessing. I am expecting d
    something special in replay.

None at all and unlikey now.Its been full focus,and very low key,players kept away from the media as much as possible.

I said two weeks ago,i felt freshness be key the next day.After the drawn game,cork hadnt met til the friday for their chat,clare had to have theirs the wed,as the antrim game was on the saturday.

Now they wouldnt trained with the u21s but they still would have to discuss the game.Go through the torture of drawing a game,should have won handy.They never had much time to get away from it.
    Cork on the other hand,must be relived watching that game, but very hurt and angry with that game.

The u21 final was won once they beat galway,realistically.That benfit helped them greatly in thedrawn game more so than the replay.I cant c much benefit for the replay ,as they had to beat Antrim,and were expected to.People say,clare blew out any after effects that game.I wonder,as clare as jbm said before it even,were never going to be beaten in all honesty.

If anything it was more milage mentally,as they still had to get themselves in the right frame of mind,and stil had to through match rountines pre match etc.Clare are so proffessional ,they wouldnt take it any less serious.

Four of the lads had to play a half of hurling,then go for a recovery session ,then training on the sunday morning again with davy.Cork lads had nothing like that.

They have had a long wk ,after the ist game.corks sole focus has been this game.A hard week,then a tapering week.The four day break will help cork also they had after the match.

Clare will have played 8 games cork six,but games against waterford,tipp,galway during the u21 year,have also added to their season.

U21 has been a great benfit to them ,but hurling in to october , all the hurling playf is bound to take its toll.

People must remember clare played senior in may,it was a hinderance to us we didnt start til june ,but now the position were in it has turned to our favour.

Clare also and correctly so took the league play of,very seriously.They trained like that like it was championship.That was a goal,needed to be in div 1.

Jbm said cork werent peaked at training for the league and was tailored for june.

I still think div two be a negative to us next year ,but wnt effect sat.But clare are much longer on the road this year.

Clare were mentally exhausted in june,they renergised themselves but have had a lot of games since .

Clare had two almost perfect games,with huge intensity,limerick and cork back to back.We had a high octane game with dublin,then flat for clare.

I find it hard to believe as a team clare can match that intensity the next day.Yes some of their team didnt play as good,and they will play much better the next day,but by the same token its a big ask to get the same level from the likes of ryan,bulger,kelly etc.As a whole team,that level wont be the same.

They dont neccesarily have to play bad,just not as good as the last day,and cork have at least seven players that can improve their intensity touch etc,and as a team have much more in them.

Davy said yest clare were tired ,i dnt think he playing the poor mouth.Their valid concerns.Clare play to a system, that their intensity has to be top notch.A small drop in that,their nt the same.

They blew dubs of the park last year,then had limk two wks later.Davy said then he worried about the turnaround.

Against limerick they were flat,mentally never up to the pace.

I think we are fresher in that side for sat.

We have to hit the ground running the next day.

Id have the same concerns myself.

It would have bn better to bring him in since dublin then now.

The one good point though in hes favour was he played with a lot of these at minor,and trained with them at u21.

And he hasnt played much hurling since,more to injury than anything.Would have started against tipp in 2011 thurles only for injurying cruciate the sunday in kerry before.

He was never in contention since,as so injury prone.Id say they may get away it.

Still id be suprised ,but at the expense cussen i welcome it.Naughton ,wont be on the panel next year,from what i heard,wnt be able to give the commitment next year,and i doubt he would make it anyhow.

He was poor the last day.Missed four breaking balls,and like against dublin ran with the ball,took much out of it and was hooked.At 26 theres comes a time when talent has to become a reality.He just aint up to it.

Id have no problem with sheehan ahead of naughton,but moylan and cian mac probably be ist subs.It would be very harsh on them.

If any man is hard done by ,michael o sullivan,never got a chance to prove himself.

Cussen and naughton had way too many chances.

Sheehan big game expierence and ability to outfield people would benfit us.

Walsh i feel is a better hurler but he declined to join in january,sheehan was never asked,so it may nt affect the morale.

Cadogan if he was to join,would considering he was asked to stay but didnt.

Walsh said he wnt play next year as hes in dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,249 ✭✭✭slingerz

i cant see Ciaran being brought onto the panel. he may have played in an A V B game and played very well by all accounts but the footballers (Ciaran, Cadogan, Walsh and Cahalane) wont be brought back into the panel at this point

slingerz wrote: »
    i cant see Ciaran being brought onto the panel. he may have played in an A V B game and played very well by all accounts but the footballers (Ciaran, Cadogan, Walsh and Cahalane) wont be brought back into the panel at this point

Id be the same.Their is no question cahalane,walsh cadogan even being considered,they refused in january.

Sheehan im nt that sure was asked.Hes focus was football due to injury not making it possible for both .

That ,as unlikey as it is may c him in the panel.

Hes hurling wnt be up to scratch,but he can certainly win ball,and physical ,athletic and mobile.With no hurling hes ten times better than the combined efforts of naughton and cussen put together.