Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

County Championship Programme 2013

Updated September 12th

Friday September 13th

@ Pairc Uí Rinn, St. Catherine's v Barryroe 7.30pm (ET)

Saturday September 14th

@ Pairc Uí Chaoímh, SHC Ballymartle v Blackrock 4.00pm (ET)
    @ Mourneabbey, IH relegation play-off Dromina v Aghabullogue 4.00pm
    @ Pairc Uí Rinn, P.I.H.C. QF Youghal v Tracton 6.15pm (ET)
    @ Kilmurry, P.I.F.C QF Nemo Rangers v B. Atha'n Ghaorthaidh 6.00pm (ET)
    @ Brinny, P.I.F. Relegation play-off Kinsale v Carrigaline 5.00pm

Sunday September 15th

@ Pairc Uí Chaoímh, SFC SF Castlehaven v Carbery 3pm
    @ Pairc Uí Chaoímh, SFC SF Bishopstown v Nemo Rangers 4.45pm
    @ Páirc Uí Rinn, P.I.F.C. SF Valley Rovers v Macroom 6.30pm

Saturday September 21st
    @ Pairc Uí Rinn S.H.C. Relegation playoff St Finbarrs v Ballinhassig 4.00pm
    @ Mallow Senior Football relegation play-off, St Nicholas v Newmarket 4.30pm

Sunday September 22nd

@ Croke Park, All-Ireland Senior Football Final Mayo v Dublin

Friday September 27th

@ Pairc Uí Rinn P.I.H.C. SF Watergrasshill v Castlelyons 6.30pm
    @ Pairc Uí Rinn P.I.H.C. SF Inniscarra v Tracton/Youghal 8.15pm alt if Tracton Oct 5th
    @ Cloghdubh P.I.H.C SF Nemo/ B. Atha'n Ghaorthaidh V Clyda Rovers 7.30pm

Saturday 28th September

@ Croke Park All-Ireland S.H.C. Final Replay Cork V Clare 5.00pm

Saturday October 5th

@ Pairc Uí Chaoimh I.H.C. SF St Catherine's/Barryroe v Eire Og 2.30pm
    @ Pairc Uí Chaoímh S.H.C. QF Glen Rovers v Na Piarsaigh 4.15pm ET
    @ Brinny P.I.H.C. Relegation play-off Ballincollig v Carrigaline 4.00pm
    @ Kilmurry J.F.C. Seandun v Duhallow ET
    @ TBC U21 ‘B' H.C. QF Tracton v Seandun ET
    @ TBC U21 ‘B' H.C. SF Watergrasshill v Avondhu
    @ TBC U21 ‘A' H.C. QF Blarney v Carbery ET

Sunday October 6th

@ Pairc Uí Chaoímh S.H.C. QF Ballymartle/Blackrock v Douglas 2.30pm ET
    @ Pairc Uí Chaoímh S.H.C. Bishopstown v Carrigtwohill 4.15pm ET
    @ Pairc Uí Rinn S.H.C. Replay Sarsfields v U.C.C. 6.30pm ET
    @ Kilbrin IHC QF Meelin v Kanturk 4.30pm ET
    @ TBC U21 ‘A' H.C. Duhallow v Avondhu (Prov.)
    @ TBC J.H.C. QF Muskerry v Carbery ET
    @ TBC J.H.C QF Duhallow v Avondhu ET
    @ TBC J.F.C. QF Carbery v Garnish ET
    @ TBC J.F.C. QF Imokilly v Carrigdhoun ET
    Regional Junior Leagues to commence

Saturday October 12th

@ Pairc Uí Rinn J.H.C. ‘A' Semi-final Blackrock v Muskerry/Carbery 6.15pm
    @ Pairc Uí Rinn P.I.H.C. County Final Inniscarra/Youghal/Tracton v Watergrasshill/Castlelyons 8.00pm
    @ Pairc Uí Chaoímh S.H.C. QF Sarsfields/UCC v Killeagh 2.30pm ET
    @ Pairc Uí Chaoímh S.H.C. QF Bishopstown/Carrigtwohill v Midleton ET 4.15pm
    @ Ballyhea I.H.C. SF Meelin/Kanturk v Fermoy 4.30pm
    @ TBC I.F.C. Glanmire v Kanturk Alt Sat Oct 19th
    @ TBC U21 ‘B' H.C. SF Tracton/Seandun v Carbery
    Sunday October 13th

@ Pairc Uí Chaoímh P.I.F.C. Final Nemo Rangers/Ballingeary/Clyda v Valley Rovers/Macroom 2.00pm
    @ Pairc Uí Chaoímh County S.F.C final Carbery/Castlehaven v Douglas/Nemo Rangers 3.45pm
    @ Kanturk I.F.C.QF Ballydesmond v Grenagh 3.30pm ET
    @ TBC U21 ‘A' H.C. Carrigaline v Seandun ET
    @ TBC J.F.C. ‘A' Semi-final Mitchelstown v Carrigdhoun/Imokilly
    @ TBC J.F.C. ‘A' Semi-final Garnish/Carbery v Duhallow/Seandun
    Saturday October 19th

@ Knocknagree or Banteer I.F.C. SF Rockchapel v Ballydesmond/Grenagh Alt Oct 28th
    @ TBC I.F.C. Glanmire/Kanturk v Glanworth ET Alt Oct 26th

Sunday October 20th

@ Pairc Uí Chaoímh S.H.C. SF Ballymartle/Blackrock/Douglas v Sarsfields/UCC/Killeagh 2.00pm
    @ Pairc Uí Chaoímh S.H.C. SF Bishopstown/Carrigtwohill/Midleton v Na Piarsaigh/Glen Rovers 3.45pm
    @ TBC J.H.C ‘A' Semi-final Imokilly v Newtownshandrum/Duhallow (Prov.)

Saturday October 26th

@ Pairc Uí Rinn J.F.C County Final
    @ Pairc Uí Rinn J.H.C County Final (Prov.)
    @ TBC I.F.C. SF Glanmire/Kanturk/Glanworth v Aghabullogue alt Nov 2nd

Sunday October 27th

@ Pairc Uí Chaoímh County S.H.C. Final 3.00pm Alt Sunday Nov 3rd
    @ Pairc Uí Rinn I.H.C. Final Meelin/Kanturk/Fermoy v St Catherine's/Barryroe/Eire Og 1.45pm
    @ Cork Venue Munster Club I.H.C. Cork v Waterford

Saturday November 2nd

@ Pairc Uí Rinn I.F.C County Final Rockchapel/Ballydesmond/Grenagh v Glanmire/Kanturk/Glanworth/Aghabullogue Alt Nov 10th

Sunday November 3rd

@ Kerry Venue Munster SF Club Championship Kerry v Cork

Sunday November 10th

@ Cork Munster Club S.H.C. Cork V Clare
    @ Tipperary or Waterford Venue Munster Club I.F.C Tipperary/Waterford v Cork
    @ Waterford Venue Munster J.H.C. Cork v Waterford

Sunday November 17th

@ Cork Venue Munster J.F.C SF Cork V Kerry

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Yeah its a problem for clare too,think they are thinking of asking the munster council for help in running of the rest,their club games over the delays with their u21 and senior all irelands.

tbf Clare's problems are all of their own doing, having one round of Club games played in September is an absolute disgrace and an insult to the ordinary club player.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Yeah there football isnt going strong,consideridng if im correct it was a kerry man from castleisland ,that introduced football back in the day.

They do well,considering their so close to Clyda,and Mallow,with a pick of players.

Like Newtown the village is getting bigger,a lot of City folks their now,can only be of benefit to them in the future.

Yeah they deserve a new ptich.Their old ptich is being used ,and still have another one as far as im aware,up on a hill,where the ladies play.

They had Quinn a Down man, chairman, i presume he is still their.A good chairman.

Problem is they don't have proper structures in place once the lads hit 16/17 - competing at premier under 13/14 but after that its poor. Minor team this year apparently refused to train under the coach appointed. Its actually four villages put together in the parish.

Tne one across the road on the hill isn't ladies use only, wish it was though! Both pitches are under the GAA control, and the ladies hardly got the pitch when needed!!! That main pitch should have been done years ago, floodlights on the top pitch are very poor, can't hurl in them at all, can barely train with footballs and most certainly cannot play games underneath them, which is a disadvantage.

Problem is they don't have proper structures in place once the lads hit 16/17 - competing at premier under 13/14 but after that its poor. Minor team this year apparently refused to train under the coach appointed. Its actually four villages put together in the parish.

Tne one across the road on the hill isn't ladies use only, wish it was though! Both pitches are under the GAA control, and the ladies hardly got the pitch when needed!!! That main pitch should have been done years ago, floodlights on the top pitch are very poor, can't hurl in them at all, can barely train with footballs and most certainly cannot play games underneath them, which is a disadvantage.

I think you will get that in most clubs,always a coach appointed at some grade,that has not a clue bout how to manage and that causes problems in its own right.

That ptich on the hill is a fine ptich, I was at Kildorrey and Kilshannig , 2 months ago in a junior hurling game.I arrived early and went up the hill,the ladies,an underage team were playing clyda.A lovely ptich.

There's some good GAA people in that aera,just a matter of getting the right people.

Speaking of Kilshannig,i mentioned initally how the development squad was successful.I see their club man kevin O Callaghan involved with them still.I remember seeing him involved as far back as 2006 etc.

He is doing great work their.

Who is the fourth parish Ballyclough?

Kilshannig do need a ptich in fairness.Clyda ,Mallow,and Ballyclough all have had work done or either ex ptiches down the years.

A lot of development in general going on in the Drommahane aera the next few years from what i hear,it is only right ye have a ptich to match it.

I'm suprised there was not more ladies footballers that came from that aera,when in comparison to the likes of mourneabbey,donoughmore and liscaroll have provided a fair few the last few years.

On a side note,talking of North Cork,Newtownshandrum won the junior county last saturday,six o connors played.

They is no one to beat them,bar maybee at a push Blackrock.

Its awful to see them not playing senior.O loughlin meant be staying put.

• Registered Users Posts: 260 ✭✭Indie.

On a side note,talking of North Cork,Newtownshandrum won the junior county last saturday,six o connors played.

They is no one to beat them,bar maybee at a push Blackrock.

Its awful to see them not playing senior.O loughlin meant be staying put.

Is there not a rule somewhere that says if you have played Senior club hurling/football one year you cannot play junior the next?

Could be badly mistaken but thought I have heard it applied somewhere else before.

Indie. wrote: »
    Is there not a rule somewhere that says if you have played Senior club hurling/football one year you cannot play junior the next?

Could be badly mistaken but thought I have heard it applied somewhere else before.

It varies from county to county, most counties you have to regrade before the start of the year and obviously if you play senior championship in one year you cant drop down a grade untill hte following year, the only precondition in Tipp anyway is that you cant drop more than one grade within your club, ie if you played Senior in 2012 and your club has a junior a and junior b team you can only drop to Junior a in 2013, not sure what the situation is in Cork.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

You are right, unless a player is regraded then they cannot play on the clubs junior team if they have played senior championship in the current year or the previous year's championship

I could be wrong,but as far as im aware,Ben and Jerry were eligble as they didnt play senior in the current year,and the Cork bye law is even though they played senior last year for the club,as newtown didnt win the county ,they can be regraded down a level,in their case junior,as they dont have an intermediate team.

There playing within the rules, but i feel for the likes chruchtown,glanworth etc,who have been beaten before they took the field,as your not going to beat a team with two top class senior hurlers above their level.

Whatever the rights and wrongs,its unfortunate for the village.Its split in half over it,and is a right mess.

It should be sorted.Newtown are well able to challenge at senior,i think their u21 team were in a county semifinal last night,may bn cancelled over Jamie C.

Theres fine talent coming through down their.

Whatever the rights and wrongs,its unfortunate for the village.Its split in half over it,and is a right mess.

Has any other players apart from the O'Connor family followed suit, that would have been on the Senior team.

The team is nearly made up of o connors.Seven on the team.

But they would have cousins on the senior team also.

Darren lane,and minor eric o connor and ex cork keeper paul morrisey and Jamie C coughlan would make the senior team,but the twins stand out.

They apparently between them got more than churchtown got in all the game as a team.

Slightly of topic,but considering our hurling and football teams have like many gaa stars,suffered serious knee injuries and hip injuries and bone injuries like Pa kelly and jamie coughlan and Pebbles,i said id post this.

On Rte 1 science squad tonight at 7 .30 ,its about a breakthrough in bone injuries,in its treatment and the new technolgy in bone grafting they plan to use in 2014 and the new cartilage repair technology for injured sport stars.

Gordon Darcy is on it.

The Munster Football draw that will be in October,will be seeded ,so it could be Cork and Kerry,in the Munster final,as both get byes to the semi finals,and kept on opposite sides of the draw.

If we get ,Waterford or Tipp or,it will be away from home.

At least Limerick and Kerry be at home,two of our toughest games in the past.

Essenitally ,loose , in the Munster final,and its still only four games to win an all ireland,just one extra.

A lot of optimism for next year,depending on the make up of Cuthberts make up backroom team.

In relation to the Hurlers,they went back training tngt for the first time ,and it was a closed training session.

Id say there was sum home truths told,no punches held,in relation to the game.

I find it interesting that JBM left them have the few days off to themselves,a good move,they know more than anyone how they did not do themselves justice.
    Cork were outhurled last week,but at times we certainly were our own worst enemy,with poor touch,and sloppy passing.The players know that themselves.

A few days to gather themselves will benfit them.And from tonight to the final,they will probably have four more sessions,a gruelling week,then a week to taper and polish off.

Id say ,there may be the odd session to the public open,but id say it will and righty so be a closed shop the next few weeks.

The public had plenty of time the last three weeks,and will over the winter, time to meet the players,but i agree,fully that they should stay away as much as possible,and i hope that certain players are picked specifically to deal with the media,but just talk the talk etc.

The less they say the better.

I already sense were more focused.

Cork cancelled most of the club senior games and the junior game with St itas and Midelton.In contrast , up to last wk,they played club two weeks before.

I heard,JBM and co,made the call after the game,as they want no distractions, and theve full control for the next 3 weeks.

Their is a argument that our touch may not be as sharp as it would with club games.I don't think it will be a problem,as id say training will be very intense ,and they will balance that with keeping them fresh.

I feel for the clubs,but we got to grasp this oppurinty with both hands,as in the last 24 hours,the landscape is changing fast and it is not just the dark nights.

Kilkenny with Cody,Lyng and Mcgarry next year will be very hard to beat.

And if its true with sheedy,Limerick will be very tough.I had no fear with Allen.

But with Sheedy,they will be a serious team,and wont be beaten tactially.Their best hurlers will play in their best positions.And rumour has it Kinnerk may join him.If not would Cian O Neill leave mayo to rejoin him.?He is based in Ul anyway.No matter who he gets,Sheedy is a shrewd,top class coach.

It is early yet,but already i see small things the last few days that show Cork are more focused and leaving nothing to chance.

Cian Mac will be fully fit..

Interestingly in relation to All stars,Nash,O'Neill,Harnedy and Horgan are certaintys after last week.Harnedy on PP, is 1/33 on.

Last week on a poor cork team ,he cemented that.

Kearney and Connor Sul,may swing it,but id be suprised if Lehane,or Cronin even if they had the game of their lives got one.

Mcloughlin probably wont ,but a good final might do it,but kearney is ahead of him.

• Registered Users Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Archer3083

I was listening to Ciarán Carey on Championship Matters last night and he said the Limerick job was going to a very well know person. I instantly thought of Liam Sheedy and dismissed the idea. I thought maybe he was on about John McIntyre or Ollie Baker or someone like that.

So, is it true. Will Liam Sheedy be in charge of Limerick next year?

Archer3083 wrote: »
    I was listening to Ciarán Carey on Championship Matters last night and he said the Limerick job was going to a very well know person. I instantly thought of Liam Sheedy and dismissed the idea. I thought maybe he was on about John McIntyre or Ollie Baker or someone like that.

So, is it true. Will Liam Sheedy be in charge of Limerick next year?

Jesus they would be hard up,if they went for Mclntyre.I wouldnt rate him at all,and a lot of tipp dont.I have never heard them mention him for a tipp job.Again a great guy to right for a newspaper and blame others,but the man couldnt do it when he had the chance.

It could be all rumour,and nonense but thats the talk.They are going for the best in fairness.He built a succesful minor team and senior team.A great manager.

I saw championship matters too.

What struck me was how well Cork camoige start,Anna Geary spoke.

She knows her stuff and made a shrewd point about how Clare blew a cork player out over the sideline,then took a fast sideline,and got a point.That they hit the ground running.

She spoke very well now ,in fairness.

What do you make of the county semifinals sunday?

Your a west corkman .What do make of Carbery and the Haven.

I'm an awful lot further west than that. Naomh Abán is our local club and that's who I played for and if I didn't know better I'd say Anna Geary caught your eyes for other reasons

Ah anthony lynch country,and micheal cronin.

What a player ,lynch was.I met him a few times,a gentleman.

Ha ha,:-)no Anna Geary ,my only interest was GAA.I never get distracted when it comes to GAA.

You and righty so have said we need midfield options.With walsh,what u make yere man Michael o Laoire.

I was impressed with him in the junior,and must admit he impressed me in 2011,he was gd with walsh.Defo worth a look at senior.

I think in terms of the senior panel our best days are behind us. Micheal O Laoire is a very good player but I'd fear that junior is his level. I just don't think he's got the physique at senior inter county level. I think sooner or later that physical inability is exposed.

I'll give one good example. The Kerry goal keeper Brendan Keely is a great shot stopper but lacks the physical prowess which a keeper requires. For the Dublin goal he should have attacked the ball but he left Mannion get a touch on the ball and it passed him by into the net. He also let the ball hop in front of him and over the bar in the first half. In the second half he punched the ball in the air and it led to a Dublin point. It wasn't necessarily bad play in any of these instances but a more imposing goal keeper would have taken on the responsibility in all these situations.

I think in terms of the senior panel our best days are behind us. Micheal O Laoire is a very good player but I'd fear that junior is his level. I just don't think he's got the physique at senior inter county level. I think sooner or later that physical inability is exposed.

I'll give one good example. The Kerry goal keeper Brendan Keely is a great shot stopper but lacks the physical prowess which a keeper requires. For the Dublin goal he should have attacked the ball but he left Mannion get a touch on the ball and it passed him by into the net. He also let the ball hop in front of him and over the bar in the first half. In the second half he punched the ball in the air and it led to a Dublin point. It wasn't necessarily bad play in any of these instances but a more imposing goal keeper would have taken on the responsibility in all these situations.

Fair enough.I c ure point with kealy.Theres a huge jump in level with club,or intermediate to senior.

Martin colemam,a good example, a solid keeper ,but no where near the class of nash in penalty taking or shot stopping.Darren mccarthy is miles ahead of him also.I saw coleman miss two penaltys against tipp in an u21 game in 2005 i think,god they were awful penalties.

I agree as proven by O sheas with mayo,and Mccauley of dublin,you need physicality at midfield.You would know O laoire better than me.

But i would say Walsh provides that physicality,so laoire if he not necessariy put on weight,but more muscle,may be an option.He seems to be pacey,and is mobile and can score .

Id rather have a footballer,with good basics and mobiltiy the way the game is going,and has pace than two big hulks like Pearse O Neill and O connor that have no mobility ,lack pace,and were never blessed with pure footballing talent.

In their day they were v good,different strengths.But O connor,o neil,kissane etc were the direct,powerhouse,with awful kick passing and spatial awarness and could not create anything.

They came at the right time,when their style suited the game.The game is going back to the 80's etc,pace,mobilty,and skilful players.Physique is not as important as before,as shown by the Gooch,collins,etc.

RG 15 made a great point about corks soloing skills.Also i would say look at kissane the way he kicked the ball.It is like all power,i will kick it as hard and fast as i can,but no accuracey.

He is the last man cork needed in front of the dublin goal.That showed how poor technique he had.He was an athlete,more than a footballer,and v lucky to win an all star,considering he was taken of against down in 2010.

What really showed up this cork team,was five minutes to go against dublin.clancy was taking a sideline,just about to kick it in to the square.

Kissane ran up,and roared ,my ball.He gave to kissane,who then decidied to kick it in.Unlike clancy who can kick a perfect,just above head height,with pace on the flight of the ball,Kissane Bombed a ball so High in the sky,if we were in winter it would have gathered snow,it was so high.

It hanged for ages in the sky,allowing the dublin full back and half backs to crowd the ball,when it finally game down.

The basic skills are just as good in cork,but the wrong players were picked.I dont blame it all on the players,i blame counihan for continually picking them over and over again.

I think the game may suit o laoire,collins,etc as they have the basic talent and can kick a ball.
    Ideally,ian maguire only 19 will get game time,is big and strong and can kick also.

As clare proved with tony kelly,and cork last year with sweetnaham,if you are good enough at 19 you are old enough.

Ned english was bang on the money,the game now is about pace,movement and spatial awarness.

There is no point in cork picking footballers that would have stamina and strength and would win a grand national,when we need fast,fluent players that would win a derby for you.

Those players are their in cork,and have been,but we had a manager that woudnt change he's ways,and must be one of the few all ireland winning managers,that you would label as a poor poor manager.

I think that Conor Lehane is a good example of how to approach strength and conditioning. It's reported that he gained 6 kgs this year. You can really see the difference. He's not the Hulk but he's got real strength to contributes significantly to his game. He won't be pushed off the ball but he's got the skill so the combination is right.

I suppose I was a bit harsh on Micheal O Laoire. There are alot of players who aren't that big. Kevin McLoughlin for Mayo, Gooch for Kerry and Laverty for Down. It hasn't hindered any of them. The game is constantly evolving. It's a 30 man panel now that is required. In theory, any one of those 30 players should have a realistic chance of starting a game. It's good for morale and team spirit to have genuine competition. In a few years time managers might actively pick different players to suit a different game plan for a different team. For instance this year, Gavin picked Cullen against Cork to make Dublin a bit more defensive and then he changed again for Kerry. I don't think it was a question of taking Kerry for granted. Gavin obviously had a plan in his head for both teams and picked his teams accordingly. So, in the future, teams might have an established 12 and then change around 2 or 3 depending on the opposition. Conihan used to make those changes but that was more based on form in training which isn't always the best strategy. Actually, God only knows what Counihan was thinking at times!

I think that Conor Lehane is a good example of how to approach strength and conditioning. It's reported that he gained 6 kgs this year. You can really see the difference. He's not the Hulk but he's got real strength to contributes significantly to his game. He won't be pushed off the ball but he's got the skill so the combination is right.

I suppose I was a bit harsh on Micheal O Laoire. There are alot of players who aren't that big. Kevin McLoughlin for Mayo, Gooch for Kerry and Laverty for Down. It hasn't hindered any of them. The game is constantly evolving. It's a 30 man panel now that is required. In theory, any one of those 30 players should have a realistic chance of starting a game. It's good for morale and team spirit to have genuine competition. In a few years time managers might actively pick different players to suit a different game plan for a different team. For instance this year, Gavin picked Cullen against Cork to make Dublin a bit more defensive and then he changed again for Kerry. I don't think it was a question of taking Kerry for granted. Gavin obviously had a plan in his head for both teams and picked his teams accordingly. So, in the future, teams might have an established 12 and then change around 2 or 3 depending on the opposition. Conihan used to make those changes but that was more based on form in training which isn't always the best strategy. Actually, God only knows what Counihan was thinking at times!

Lehane is great example,but look at harnedy for cork,not anywhere near the size of most,but more muscle mass than body fat.And most of all,the heart of a lion.

Thats is one thing ballyvourney never lacked.Ye have guts,steel,a sense of us against the rest,their is a steel to any player that came from their.lynch was small,but tough as nails,micheal cronin in 99 the same.A lot of players ,are farming,or come from physical labouring backgrounds.It shows,there a hardness in ye.Noel o leary was the same.

Briege corkery ,is from that aera,and wasnt she a stone mason,but now in a vets,a very good one too.A superb player,unreal strength.

I think anyone that comes from that neck of the woods,wont lack courage,bottle or steel.Im not saying o laoire is the man,but he deserves a chance.

Most of Clare hurlers bar honan are not big men,but jesus their hardy,steely players.Pogde collins is small,but like Joe Deane ,very hardy.

The Cavan footballer Andy Dunne,is light by stature.But credit the lad he is tough as nails.

Counihan also went on loyalty and past reputations.You won't hear many top county teams head hunting him.

Senior Hurling Quarter-Finals

1. Ballymartle v Douglas

2. Sars/UCC v Killeagh

3. Bishopstown/Carrigtwohill v Midleton

4. Na Piarsaigh v Glen Rovers

Semi-Finals

1 v 2

3 v 4

Relegation Play-off: Ballinhassig v St. Finbarr's

Senior Football Semi-Finals

Castlehaven v Carbery

Bishopstown v Nemo Rangers

Relegation Play-off: St. Nick's v Newmarket

Premier Intermediate Football Semi-Finals

Nemo Rangers v Clyda Rovers

Valley Rovers v Macroom

Relegated: Kinsale

Premier Intermediate Hurling Semi-Finals

Inniscarra v Youghal

Watergrasshill v Castlelyons

Relegation Play-off: Ballincollig v Carrigaline

Intermediate Football Semi-Finals

Rockchapel v Ballydesmond/Grenagh

Glanmire/Kanturk/Glanworth v Aghabullogue

Relegation Play-off: Canovee v Mayfield

Intermediate Hurling Semi-Finals

Meelin/Kanturk v Fermoy

St. Catherine's v Eire Og

Relegated: Dromina

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Jesus they would be hard up,if they went for Mclntyre.I wouldnt rate him at all,and a lot of tipp dont.I have never heard them mention him for a tipp job.Again a great guy to right for a newspaper and blame others,but the man couldnt do it when he had the chance.

It could be all rumour,and nonense but thats the talk.They are going for the best in fairness.He built a succesful minor team and senior team.A great manager.

I saw championship matters too.

What struck me was how well Cork camoige start,Anna Geary spoke.

She knows her stuff and made a shrewd point about how Clare blew a cork player out over the sideline,then took a fast sideline,and got a point.That they hit the ground running.

She spoke very well now ,in fairness.

What do you make of the county semifinals sunday?

Your a west corkman .What do make of Carbery and the Haven.

It's going to be a strange game. There will be less than 5000 people at the double header tomorrow. Why the hell is it on in parc ui chaoimh? If Carbery click like they did against Duhallow, they'll win by 5 or 6 points. Haven have to make sure to have a decent start and be within 2 points at half time. Haven might not be great to watch at times but they can grind out results, if they are still in touch at the start of the second half

Carbery will be dangerous.

Any team coached by Gene o driscoll,is well prepared.And hes sons are fine players.

Canty is doubtful for them.

I have a feeling with cahalane,collins and hurley ye will shade it.

I have a feeling Bishopstown will beat Nemo.They play more as a team than Nemo with their individuals.

How do c that going?

It would make sense if they played them in pairc rinn with the Macroom game.

Yeah a lot wont travel,and with the expense of the hurling replay ,it wont help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Carbery wIll be dangerous.

Any team coached by Gene o driscoll,is well prepared.And hes sons are fine players.

Canty is doubtful for them.

I have a feeling with cahalane,collins and hurley ye will shade it.

I have a feeling Bishopstown will beat Nemo.They play more as a team than Nemo with their individuals.

How do c that going?

It would make sense if they played them in pairc rinn with the Macroom game.

Yeah a lot wont travel,and with the expense of the hurling replay ,it wont help.

They wouldn't be that much man love for gene In west cork in general. A lot of wounds are still to fresh in too many clubs. (Especially Castlehaven)

Going on the last 2 years of cork county championship, you'd have to say bishopstown are improving every year and it'll be a 1 score game. Saying that, I'll back nemo by 2. Usually, even when they are just trundling along they still msnage to win. But nemo don't seem to be the force of a few years ago. .....

They wouldn't be that much man love for gene In west cork in general. A lot of wounds are still to fresh in too many clubs. (Especially Castlehaven)

Going on the last 2 years of cork county championship, you'd have to say bishopstown are improving every year and it'll be a 1 score game. Saying that, I'll back nemo by 2. Usually, even when they are just trundling along they still msnage to win. But nemo don't seem to be the force of a few years ago. .....

Be close game alright ..

Speaking of football,i just flicked over to c united v palace,and i c damien delaney with them.

A tinge of what might have been ,he was some minor for cork,would have played with noel o leary.He got two great goals in an all ireland semifinal .

Speaking of lost stars,Setanta was let go by hes club.That could be that for him.He wont come home do.

Setanta only played eight games in two years afaik, did his cruciate in the first year and that was it.

The fact that he is 30 now and nearly 10 years there will make it very unlikely that he will come home.

Setanta only played eight games in two years afaik, did his cruciate in the first year and that was it.

The fact that he is 30 now and nearly 10 years there will make it very unlikely that he will come home.

Yeah absoultey no chance of playing hurling.Aiseake was gone from the game five years,and it showed how much it took out of him.

Ten years,you just totally loose all hand eye cordination etc.

If anything Aiseake was the one that got away recently ,and if jbm was their he would have stayed.Unfairy criticised given walsh had a not any clue how to use him, he would be a much better option than cussen ,naughton on the bench.

Christy O Connor stats in todays paper:

Clare Cork

NUMBER OF PLAYS
    143 117

PLAYER WITH THE MOST PLAYS

15 Connor Mcgrath 14 Connor o Sul

PUCKOUTS WON

32 20

HOOKS-BLOCKS-TACKLES

25 25

TURNOVERS IN POSSESION

4 3

ATTACKS
    39 24

BREAKING BALL/RUCK BALL

38 20

ACCURATE STICK PASSES

15 11

CLEAN CATCHES IN 50-50 AERIAL

9 3

Cork hit 32 puckouts in a row down on the Half forward line,and 27 of them ended up as second phase possesion,on the ground,clare won 14-13.14 of the puckouts were to Cronin, and Cork won just 3.

Compared to the Dublin game,where corks midfield and forwards had 54 plays in the first half,cork had just 57 in the full 70,with the forwards getting just 22 balls ,8 in the ist half.

Harnedy was corks best forward,13 plays,he got 2 points,created kearney point,fouled for 2 frees and a penalty.

He was trying to do it all on hes own,Connor Ryan had 9 plays,which 6 were aerial catches.

Podge Collins had 11 plays,2 points,created 1,and fouled for 6 frees.

Fair play your Nemo bet was bang on the money?and a third final 3 years in a row.

A repeat of earlier in the year,a Nemo haven final.

Any report Haven from the match.Didnt make today.

Bar the usal suspects,any cork players stand out for the future?ie the driscoll brothers?dorman wall,Deane ,cronin etc?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭mickmackey1

and fouled for 6 frees.

That's an amazing stat.