Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,353 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Good result, back into the swing of things nicely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

Full time Cork ladies 0-20 Clare ladies 0-8

It was 10 points to 6 at half time so they obviously pulled away nicely
    Good win the final is on in castletownroche the 13th the night before the Hurling.Must try and go.I have never been at a ladies Munster final in my life but after already loosing to them it should be a good game.Anyone any idea what they charge for a ladies game in munster???

Kerry should add spice to it.Cork are going for ten in a row.If kerry loose i presume their still in the backdoor.

Cork are meant to have all their injuries cleared up for the football next week.
    Fintan gould was meant to have been outstanding at CB last week.That or midfield is hes best position.

Hes brother David got 3 goals.Only for a bad cruciate he would have been on the Cork team.

He should be on the Cork panel.He is better forward than Fintan.Counihan says he doesnt rate club form .He rates training above that.A bizzare statement in the sense if you are not on the panel training already how in the name of jesus are you going impress bar club games and make the panel in the first place.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Does anyone know what selected Super Valu / Centra shops are selling Munster Hurling Final tickets around Cork City and environs?

grenache wrote: »
    Does anyone know what selected Super Valu / Centra shops are selling Munster Hurling Final tickets around Cork City and environs?

Collins’ SuperValu, Carrigaline, Co Cork Scally’s SuperValu, Blackrock, Co Cork Dano’s SuperValu, Mallow, Co Cork Caulfield’s SuperValu, Merchants Quay, Cork City Hurley’s SuperValu, Midleton, Co Cork Riordan’s SuperValu, Fermoy, Co Cork Caulfield’s SuperValu, Bandon, Co Cork Down’s SuperValu, Ballincollig, Co Cork Scally’s SuperValu, Clonakilty, Co Cork Quish’s SuperValu, Ballincollig, Co Cork Dick’s SuperValu, Charleville, Co Cork Garvey’s SuperValu, Cobh, Co Cork Biggs SuperValu, Bantry, Co Cork Reidy’s SuperValu, Michelstown, Co Cork Ryan’s SuperValu, Grange, Co Cork Brooke’s SuperValu, Youghal, Co Cork Ahern's Centra, Carrigtwohill, Co Cork O'Leary's Centra, Tower, Co Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Collins’ SuperValu, Carrigaline, Co Cork Scally’s SuperValu, Blackrock, Co Cork Dano’s SuperValu, Mallow, Co Cork Caulfield’s SuperValu, Merchants Quay, Cork City Hurley’s SuperValu, Midleton, Co Cork Riordan’s SuperValu, Fermoy, Co Cork Caulfield’s SuperValu, Bandon, Co Cork Down’s SuperValu, Ballincollig, Co Cork Scally’s SuperValu, Clonakilty, Co Cork Quish’s SuperValu, Ballincollig, Co Cork Dick’s SuperValu, Charleville, Co Cork Garvey’s SuperValu, Cobh, Co Cork Biggs SuperValu, Bantry, Co Cork Reidy’s SuperValu, Michelstown, Co Cork Ryan’s SuperValu, Grange, Co Cork Brooke’s SuperValu, Youghal, Co Cork Ahern's Centra, Carrigtwohill, Co Cork O'Leary's Centra, Tower, Co Cork

Yeah i just saw it on the GAA website, thanks anyway.

Great result from a Cork point of view KK been beaten tonight.

At least one of KK and Tipp are gone the next day.Hopefully KK will be beaten,either way those extra games are sure to take a toll on an ageing KK side.

More of an incentive now to win the Munster title.It would be a tough quaterfinal to face KK or Tipp if we drew them.

If we get to a semifinal at least we would be fresh.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,353 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Delighted the cats got licked tonight. Qualifiers are very interesting all of a sudden

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Delighted the cats got licked tonight. Qualifiers are very interesting all of a sudden[/quote

fair play to John Meyler and Carlow.Ran wexford to 2 points.

He certainly nearly addded another big win to hes CV.I may not agree of everything he done as a Cork Selector in
    2002 but he is a good coach with a good record in fairness with developing hurling in 2nd and 3rd thier counties.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

The double is definitely on now lads!

/ puts down pint and orders water

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Should be a handy double for Cork this year. :D:D

Amprodude wrote: »
    Should be a handy double for Cork this year. :D:D

Absoultely...and Cork will win the All ireland U21 hurling as well.Frank will do a u turn and say such is Cork's Glory it it impereative he acts as Adminstrator as well.If Cork can do a double act so I Can I.
    Diarmuid O Donovan gets the U21 football job to bide he's time.
    And to solve the Minor Crisis Teddy Macarthy is the next minor Hurling manager:-)Being assoicated with the last double winning team its only right he is back with Cork.

Great times surely ahead:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Good win the final is on in castletownroche the 13th the night before the Hurling.Must try and go.I have never been at a ladies Munster final in my life but after already loosing to them it should be a good game.Anyone any idea what they charge for a ladies game in munster???

Kerry should add spice to it.Cork are going for ten in a row.If kerry loose i presume their still in the backdoor.

Cork are meant to have all their injuries cleared up for the football next week.
    Fintan gould was meant to have been outstanding at CB last week.That or midfield is hes best position.

Hes brother David got 3 goals.Only for a bad cruciate he would have been on the Cork team.

He should be on the Cork panel.He is better forward than Fintan.Counihan says he doesnt rate club form .He rates training above that.A bizzare statement in the sense if you are not on the panel training already how in the name of jesus are you going impress bar club games and make the panel in the first place.

Ya provincial finalists in Ladies football have a backdoor. Not sure what the format is though,
    TG4 will be showing the All Ireland series with live games on Sat afternoons/evenings. They've don a lot to promote Ladies football in fairness to them.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Full time Cork ladies 0-20 Clare ladies 0-8

It was 10 points to 6 at half time so they obviously pulled away nicely

Pulled away nicely in the end - Valerie Mulcahy hit 11 points in the end. Good response to the previous game, looked very tired against Kerry, the trip down was fairly long which could be a reason. One or two changes from the last day

Think its €10, not sure as I never have to pay going to the games!!! Would love to fly home for it, going to have a look at flights, pity I'm working on the Monday otherwise I'd have stayed and travelled up to Dublin for the championship launch!
    Hidalgo wrote: »
    Ya provincial finalists in Ladies football have a backdoor. Not sure what the format is though,
    TG4 will be showing the All Ireland series with live games on Sat afternoons/evenings. They've don a lot to promote Ladies football in fairness to them.

Open draw as far as I can remember, cannot meet anyone within your province in the first round. TG4 are the championship sponsors atm, and are very good, LGFA lukcy to have them and the partnership is working very well!

Pulled away nicely in the end - Valerie Mulcahy hit 11 points in the end. Good response to the previous game, looked very tired against Kerry, the trip down was fairly long which could be a reason. One or two changes from the last day

Think its €10, not sure as I never have to pay going to the games!!! Would love to fly home for it, had a look at flights but would cost

Open draw as far as I can remember, cannot meet anyone within your province in the first round. TG4 are the championship sponsors atm, and are very good, LGFA lukcy to have them and the partnership is working very well!
    Sound for that....a tenner is not two bad.

It would be great to win this years ladies all ireland being the fact its in its 40th year also.

Hidalgo wrote: »

Sound for that.Tg4 have done a lot in fairness.

Even in GAA has a whole espiceally with all the Club games and U21 champio ships we would be lost without them.

• Registered Users, Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South Moderators Posts: 15,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭rebel girl 15

Sound for that....a tenner is not two bad.

It would be great to win this years ladies all ireland being the fact its in its 40th year also.

Don't quote me on it, I'll check it with someone in the know!!

Think its €10, not sure as I never have to pay going to the games!!! Would love to fly home for it, going to have a look at flights, pity I'm working on the Monday otherwise I'd have stayed and travelled up to Dublin for the championship launch!

on a separate note you were saying the stats of KK and Dublin last night would be interesting reading.Christy O Connor in todays Sunday times has a great piece regarding the same,if youre looking for a detailed piece.

Said Id post this before I forget.Anyone travelling by road to Gaelic grounds on the 14th by road may need to add a bit extra to their journey time.

As they are raising the road in Buttevant and will be at it for the next month.There is diversions in place but if you choose to go through buttevant their is big queues in place also.Either way your going to be delayed a bit longer.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Horse84

Brian Murphy looks to have gotten a serious enough shoulder injury while playing for bride rovers in championship today. Not good...

Murphy looks to be out for five to six weeks according to his manager - broken collarbone

Horse84 wrote: »
    Brian Murphy looks to have gotten a serious enough shoulder injury while playing for bride rovers in championship today. Not good...[/quote

Jesus c****t we have no luck at all with injuries with both codes this year.
    Limerick are playing no club games for the next 3 weeks we should do the same.If its bad enough he will miss the quaterfinal if were beaten .

Spillane is still doubtful.We are in real real trouble if both are out.We actually have no options at full back.Mcdonnell will be roasted if Downes starts.Mark Ellis is not the answer , he was burned by Dowling at half back in the U21 two years ago.

We may have to send out a 999 call to Cahalane or Cadogan.It will hardly happen but to me their the only realistic options.He will hardly call Gardiner back.All three are far from ideal given the lack of hurling but much better than Mcdonnell.

All that saved him last week was the wind.

Murphy looks to be out for five to six weeks according to his manager - broken collarbone[/quote

he could miss the semifinal so as well.
    F**kit anyway.!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,264 ✭✭✭✭Fireball07

I doubt Downes will start, unless Allen decides to specifically target that weakness, he's likely to go with a 2-man full-forward line of Tobin and Mulcahy again.

Big blow for ye though, Murphy is still a serious man-marker.

Fireball07 wrote: »
    I doubt Downes will start, unless Allen decides to specifically target that weakness, he's likely to go with a 2-man full-forward line of Tobin and Mulcahy again.

Big blow for ye though, Murphy is still a serious man-marker.
    The loss of man marker is irrevalant in a sense against Limerick as in O Neill and O Sullivan we have too class defenders and either one can mark mulchay.Mulchay wont roam like Kelly.

Our problem is we lack a presence at 3.
    Murphy was far from ideal under the high ball but given Mcdonnells roasting last week he was better than what we had.

I hope allen does not play Downes but he will surely see game time.I'm still reserved about allen tactially but in fairness he would have to be a poor manager not to exploit Corks weak aera at some stage.

The intermediate hurling final has been fixed for the 19th in thurles friday at 7.30 against Tippereary.

2 days aftet the U21 game.Mark Sugrue could have a busy 2 days.A big week for 3 Cork teams that week.
    I heard on Kerry radio Aidan O Mahony is out for next week for Cork.He disclocated hes shoulder in training.At least its not a Cork injury.

There saying now Murphy is out for 2 months.Am i being off the mark here ???? in saying is there any way he could be back sooner like tommy bowe was with hes broken hand or is a collar bone longer to heel.
    2 weeks time is not much time to heal but i was thinking of a quater final if were in it.

The options are just thread bare to say the least .Eoin Dillion has been mentioned as maybee being called up to the squad.Another example of been their done that though.He is with the intermediates currently.That is he's level i suspect.

No chance with a collar bone injury I'm afraid. Bowe's injury had a plate and screws inserted to have it secure and he was having physio and massage every four hours on it to get it someway right - its still not 100% for him. Had huge professional support to get it right - and tbh it was a long shot that paid off.

F***it anway.I was hoping a bit of surgery and a trip to whites hotel in wexford or get the help of Eanna falvey when he comes home from the lions next week might speed it up.
    No hope so.!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,034 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Horse84 wrote: »
    Brian Murphy looks to have gotten a serious enough shoulder injury while playing for bride rovers in championship today. Not good...[/quote

Jesus c****t we have no luck at all with injuries with both codes this year.
    Limerick are playing no club games for the next 3 weeks we should do the same.If its bad enough he will miss the quaterfinal if were beaten .

Spillane is still doubtful.We are in real real trouble if both are out.We actually have no options at full back.Mcdonnell will be roasted if Downes starts.Mark Ellis is not the answer , he was burned by Dowling at half back in the U21 two years ago.

We may have to send out a 999 call to Cahalane or Cadogan.It will hardly happen but to me their the only realistic options.He will hardly call Gardiner back.All three are far from ideal given the lack of hurling but much better than Mcdonnell.

All that saved him last week was the wind.

Have to disagree here. What needs to happen is the GAA stopping counties suspending their co. championships. Club players should come first IMO. Injuries can happen just as easy in training.

Murphy is a loss but with Lorcan hopefully back fit we should still have 6 good backs

• Registered Users Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Connorzee

Unfortunately for Murphy hurling is very shoulder based... swinging a hurley, giving a shoulder, even the slightest fall and he puts his hands out to stop himself can rebreak the collar bone. Only thing is to let it heal.

Have to disagree here. What needs to happen is the GAA stopping counties suspending their co. championships. Club players should come first IMO. Injuries can happen just as easy in training.

Murphy is a loss but with Lorcan hopefully back fit we should still have 6 good backs
    I see where you coming from the clubs side of things and I do agree the clubs have to be protected as they are and always will be the bed rock of the gaa.

I dont agree with clubs games being suspended every time as thats unfair on club players but for big games like Munster finals espiceally in the current Overall state of Cork Hurling etc common sense needs to prevail.Limerick and rightly so recogonise the fact the chance of Munster titles do not come around very often for them and now the players should be given every possible chance to win one and the free 3 week gap provides that.

Cork have not won a Munster title in 7 years and Hurling badly needs one conisdering our woeful underage record and given the fact we are loosing so many players to other codes and are on the verge of loosing a lot more ....we need to change the landscape in Cork Hurling and bring back the feel good factor and hunger for success.

Winning munster would do that even though their are serious problems in Cork hurling.The footballers always have free weeks in the lead up to their games and In 2006 when the chance of three in a row was there the club games were suspended.

For this munster final considering the amount of injuries we already had common sense should prevail.

In relation to Murphy being absent and we have 6 backs with Lorchan also back you are missing the point.Lorchan yes will strenghten the half back line if played their.Thats not the problem nor is that all the 6 backs and even the subs are good backs,NONE are a natural full back.

Shane O Neill may be spouted as the best option.A superb corner back or half back and a great man marker and well able to break the tackle but ni where near a full back.Cussen of all people caused him big problems in the County final.Enough said .

Our hope is Limerick wont play Downes and go with a two man full forward line but in saying all that Allen is surely going to have the penny drop and realise Downes could do real damage at full forward.

Murphy was at best a stop gap but without him we are ten times worse.Killan Murphy went in for a spell against KK in the league at full back but was in huge trouble .Connor Sullivan is a corner back by trade.

O Mahony from the U21 team is a fine talent but cannot start as he was just called in to the panel and full back is not hes position .Spillane or Cahalane will be ahead of him for full back for the U22 team if both are fit.

So yes,Cork have 6 good backs,in fact we have up to 7 or 8 top clasd backs but what we do not have now is a top class full back or even an average enough stop gap to come in.