Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Thinkstoomuch

As regards Harnedy, players mature at different rates - just shows why minor teams should not automatically be the same at under 21 level etc

Id agree but in he's case he has always be listed as having potential.And when you see some of the players picked ahead of him it raises the question why he was not on at least one of the panels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 piplin

You Cork lads need to have more faith in your team. Great win for Cork today.

PP has the Munster Hurling Final at even money for both teams and a one point handicap.It will be very hard to call.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

When Cork come under the radar they are very dangerous. All the talk was about Clare and their emerging talent. This suited Cork. This was like 2010 when Tipp were expected to beat Cork off the park but the opposite happened. Every so often this happens with Cork, however we need to back this win up and win Munster.

Limerick will be a tough test for us and will put it up to us big time but if Cork can reproduce the form they showed today, there is no reason why we cant be Munster champions. It will be a tight game and whoever wins will earn it.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,076 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

It was a bit of an "In fact they all have lovely bottoms" moment from donal og :p.

In fairness I thought it was a bit unfair to ask the question, perhaps Des was hoping for another Eamon O'Hara type rant.

EDIT. Good win today by the way, ye bet us well in the end. Good luck in the final.

marco_polo wrote: »
    It was a bit of an "In fact they all have lovely bottoms" moment from donal og :p.

In fairness I thought it was a bit unfair to ask the question, perhaps Des was hoping for another Eamon O'Hara type rant.

EDIT. Good win today by the way, ye bet us well in the end. Good luck in the final.
    It was to put him on the spot but if he asked the question Cahill should have asked about the small clubs .Cusack would be cute enough not to be drawn in to it but he would still stand up for the small clubs.Cusack is a devoted club man through and through.Thats the reason i wanted him to be asked the question.

Cheers for the best wishes.It will be a close final.

Amprodude wrote: »
    When Cork come under the radar they are very dangerous. All the talk was about Clare and their emerging talent. This suited Cork. This was like 2010 when Tipp were expected to beat Cork off the park but the opposite happened. Every so often this happens with Cork, however we need to back this win up and win Munster.

Limerick will be a tough test for us and will put it up to us big time but if Cork can reproduce the form they showed today, there is no reason why we cant be Munster champions. It will be a tight game and whoever wins will earn it.
    This was much better than 2010 as we beat a team that basically did not want to know on the day and had no stomach for battle.As it proved it was a false dawn and made Walsh and Co look better than they were.

Yesterday we beat a team that wanted to win and were without 4 keys players.
    Throw in a not fully fit Coughlan as well.

I say 4 players as i include Colm Spillane.People will say he was no loss as he has not played much for cork.However he was a cruical lost yesterday and i have no doubt he would have seen some game time if he was a sub such that Mcdonnell was roasted.

Spillane is one for the future.With Egan,Harnedy,Joyce,lehane,Connor Sul,Coughlan,Farell etc is the new breed of Cork hurlers

Spillane could yet have a vital role to play somewhere for Cork in this championship.
    At least we will face Limerick with Cronin,Mcloughlin ,Spillane and Jamie Coughlan all fighting fit.

At least we have the build up to a munster hurling final for these cork players to enjoy.

A great month for Cork Gaa.The football final on the 7th and the hurling a week. later.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,770 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Donal Óg was spot on last night in saying that hearing the views from honest, knowledgeable and opinionated people like Seán Óg is good for the game.

By all means, argue all you like about the merits of what he says, but the people calling on him to "keep his opinions to himself" baffle me.

keane2097 wrote: »
    Donal Óg was spot on last night in saying that hearing the views from honest, knowledgeable and opinionated people like Seán Óg is good for the game.

By all means, argue all you like about the merits of what he says, but the people calling on him to "keep his opinions to himself" baffle me.
    I agree with you he entitled to hes opinions.Like John Mullane,Gardiner, the Rock etc they earned that right.

Speaking to a lot of Cork people yesterday nobody wants Sean og to shut up and keep quiet.It what he says is the problem.Cork people have always admired Sean og for calling a spade a spade.But dont turn on your own,those that supported him through thick and thin when the so called "bigger clubs in the city had not the balls to stand up against the County Board.

It should not be a case of eaten bread is soon forgotten.

Its grand to have a gun but its how you use it is what matters.In the same context,its grand for Sean og to have a voice,by all means contuine to do so, but use it in the right direction and dont turn against your own.
    He uses the word loyalty.He owes the small clubs a huge amounty of loyalty in fairness.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭Nonoperational

The qualifier draw looks like Kilkenny or Tipp and Clare or Waterford will be gone before we play a quarter or semi which is nice.

Clare missed lots of chances, but us having a top keeper and playing with fitness and intensity helped pressure them.

Also in the first half we passed the ball to Clare players for 3 points, and then missed a goal chance ourselves. Horgan missed an easy free in the second half too. That's 6 points right there. Every game has maybes after the fact, but all that matters is that we won, and won comfortably.

The qualifier draw looks like Kilkenny or Tipp and Clare or Waterford will be gone before we play a quarter or semi which is nice.

Clare missed lots of chances, but us having a top keeper and playing with fitness and intensity helped pressure them.

Also in the first half we passed the ball to Clare players for 3 points, and then missed a goal chance ourselves. Horgan missed an easy free in the second half too. That's 6 points right there. Every game has maybes after the fact, but all that matters is that we won, and won comfortably.
    Id agree.Egan,Joyce and Kenny all gave away soft points but overall Cork fully deserved the win.All 6 forwards scoring and 15'points from play showed we fully deserved the win.
    Horgan's free i thought was hard enough in he's defence even with the wind it was swirling so much.

After the league play off I had said Clare fully deserved to win and for all their wides it would have been an injustice for them to loose.

Yesterday was different.It would have been an injustice if we lost considering the way we played and with so many injuries.

Clare had Morey and Conlon injured but they still had a stronger bench.We were without 4 key players yesterday and Limerick was like a home game for them.

The win was fully deserved but its just one game.As cruical as it was we have no trophies yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

JBM is wrong when he says this squad is surrounded by all ireland medal winners.This team has only two all ireland medal winners starting of underage success.

Three if you throw in Nasher as he won at intermediate level.

Clare have about 12 players with all ireland medals starting today.

My reading of the article was that JBM was referring to himself, Johhny Crowley, Kieran Kingston and Seanie McGrath and that their experience and winning mentality would be of a benefit to the players.

Fair enough i misread it.

• Registered Users Posts: 802 ✭✭✭Rebel1977

Sean og simply loves the attention and the limelight always has in my opinion, he is bitter because JBM got rid of gardiner and donal og who are his buddies. A disgraceful comment he made about some of the so called clube he never heard of on the Cork panel, he has lost a lot of respect for that interview.

Rebel1977 wrote: »
    Sean og simply loves the attention and the limelight always has in my opinion, he is bitter because JBM got rid of gardiner and donal og who are his buddies. A disgraceful comment he made about some of the so called clube he never heard of on the Cork panel, he has lost a lot of respect for that interview.
    He made a lot of good points but its lost in translation for the bit about the Clubs.

Speaking to a lot of hard core cork fans there very angry and dissappointed by the comment.Today should be all about yesterdays glourious win but unfortunately it is clouded by hes comments as he bit the hand that feed him on many an occasion so to speak .
    That comment was a bitter pill to swallow for many.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭.E_C_K_S.

Minor team taken from Cork gaa website for whoever is interested :

The Cork Minor Hurling team to play Waterford in the Munster Semi-Final on June 26th at 7.30pm in Páirc Uí Rinn will line out as follows:

1. Patrick Collins
    Ballinhassig

2. Shane O'Brien 3. Killian O'Connor 4. Kieran Histon
    St. Catherine's Mallow Cobh

5. Alan O'Callaghan 6. Conor Twomey 7. Cathal Cormack
    Blackrock Newtownshandrum Blackrock

8. Michael Cahalane 9. Rickard Cahalane
    Bandon Ballymartle

10. Peter Kelleher 11. Kevin O'Neill 12. Trevor Horgan
    Kilmichael Watergrasshill Newcestown

13. Mark O'Connor 14. Pa O'Callaghan 15. Anthony Spillane
    Douglas Ballyhea Castlelyons

16. Michael Browne Ballyhea
    17. Dylan Quinn St. Finbarr's
    18. Conor Kelleher Sarsfields
    19. Mark O'Keeffe Fr. O Neill's
    20. David Noonan Glen Rovers
    21. Donal Hannon Newmarket
    22. Aaron Ward Douglas
    23. Sean Bourke Grenagh
    24. Sean Hayes Mallow

The team shows two changes from the victory over Clare as Alan O'Callaghan comes in at wing-back in place of Mark O'Keeffe, while Mark O'Connor replaces Aaron Ward at corner-forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Cork were also gifted a few points due to misplaced passes by Clare players.
    I think JBM would be concerned with the amount of goal chances given up versus the amount created.
    The 2 that stood out for me were Honan's one that went over and Paudge Collinss one that went wide both in the 1st half.

The Munster Final will be a different game, you'd imagine that Limerick's halfback line will be stronger and hurl more ball than Clare's. They're a stronger more physical side around the middle, players like Dodge, James Ryan.

That said, if the injuries Cork had last Sunday clear up and those lads get some training under their belts, it gives JBM some great options for the final.

.E_C_K_S. wrote: »
    Minor team taken from Cork gaa website for whoever is interested :

The Cork Minor Hurling team to play Waterford in the Munster Semi-Final on June 26th at 7.30pm in Páirc Uí Rinn will line out as follows:

1. Patrick Collins
    Ballinhassig

2. Shane O'Brien 3. Killian O'Connor 4. Kieran Histon
    St. Catherine's Mallow Cobh

5. Alan O'Callaghan 6. Conor Twomey 7. Cathal Cormack
    Blackrock Newtownshandrum Blackrock

8. Michael Cahalane 9. Rickard Cahalane
    Bandon Ballymartle

10. Peter Kelleher 11. Kevin O'Neill 12. Trevor Horgan
    Kilmichael Watergrasshill Newcestown

13. Mark O'Connor 14. Pa O'Callaghan 15. Anthony Spillane
    Douglas Ballyhea Castlelyons

16. Michael Browne Ballyhea
    17. Dylan Quinn St. Finbarr's
    18. Conor Kelleher Sarsfields
    19. Mark O'Keeffe Fr. O Neill's
    20. David Noonan Glen Rovers
    21. Donal Hannon Newmarket
    22. Aaron Ward Douglas
    23. Sean Bourke Grenagh
    24. Sean Hayes Mallow

The team shows two changes from the victory over Clare as Alan O'Callaghan comes in at wing-back in place of Mark O'Keeffe, while Mark O'Connor replaces Aaron Ward at corner-forward.

It will be tough game against Waterford.They drew the last time they met 3 years ago in the Park.

A big game id expect from Pa Callaghan.

The u16 development A and B squads are playing Kilkenny in Castlelyons and youghal tonight for anyone interested.I wont be able to go so any reports from anybody at these games would be welcomed.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,005 ✭✭✭willietherock

It will be tough game against Waterford.They drew the last time they met 3 years ago in the Park.

A big game id expect from Pa Callaghan.

The u16 development A and B squads are playing Kilkenny in Castlelyons and youghal tonight for anyone interested.I wont be able to go so any reports from anybody at these games would be welcomed.

What time is the Castlelyons game on?

The A game in Castlelyons is on at 7.15.
    The B game is on in Youghal at 7 pm

• Registered Users Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭zetecescort

just after seeing that Munster Hurling final tickets up on tickets.ie should be a sellout so get in early

Thanks very much kid...no flies on you:-)

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Jamie Cal

Was buzzed with the win on Sunday, still am in fact, really had a good time in Luimneach. Especially as I was quite pessimistic about it to say the least.

That Davy Fitz is full of ****, one of the lads on TV3 was saying about how it's all for his ego, and it totally is. Watching his pre and post match interviews certainly made it seem that way. I hate that **** of how he mentions he's disgusted by a few things but doesn't go into 'em. To be fair, he gave Cork their props though.

And yeah, **** Sean Og. The comments he made about "players from clubs he'd never heard of" was clearly about Seamus Harnedy, and he ends up getting man of the match, lol. Says the fella from f-cking Fiji. I wouldn't mind The Rock giving his answer about expecting Cork to be beat, that's his opinion, but Sean Og was just rotten about it.

Anyway, I digress, I thought the ever-brilliant Dan Kearney deserved the MOTM award a bit more. It was clear to see; match Clare for legs and they've nothing.

Roll on Killarney for the footy in 2 weeks!

• Registered Users Posts: 53 ✭✭Jamie Cal

Oh yeah, and looking forward to the minors tomorrow as well.

Jamie Cal wrote: »
    Was buzzed with the win on Sunday, still am in fact, really had a good time in Luimneach. Especially as I was quite pessimistic about it to say the least.

That Davy Fitz is full of ****, one of the lads on TV3 was saying about how it's all for his ego, and it totally is. Watching his pre and post match interviews certainly made it seem that way. I hate that **** of how he mentions he's disgusted by a few things but doesn't go into 'em. To be fair, he gave Cork their props though.

And yeah, **** Sean Og. The comments he made about "players from clubs he'd never heard of" was clearly about Seamus Harnedy, and he ends up getting man of the match, lol. Says the fella from f-cking Fiji. I wouldn't mind The Rock giving his answer about expecting Cork to be beat, that's his opinion, but Sean Og was just rotten about it.

Anyway, I digress, I thought the ever-brilliant Dan Kearney deserved the MOTM award a bit more. It was clear to see; match Clare for legs and they've nothing.

Youre wrong there.It was not just about Seamus harnedy.It was also at the likes of Kikworth,Kikdorrey who had players on the panel and Ballygarvan

It was not a wtich hunt on Just harnedy.

I agree hes comments were wrong and have already expressed my views.

But with all due respect your not exactly much better with your comments on Fiji.
    Theres nothing wrong with that country.In fact their widely known for producing top class rubgy stars.

Sean og was bang out of order but dont condemn a nation just based on one mans comments.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭lukin

Just got mine, Mackey Stand on the half-back line, Clare End side. Would have preferred something more central but I'm happy enough. The tickets on tickets.ie will all be in that section anyway I'd say.

• Registered Users Posts: 165 ✭✭CorkonianRebel

Jamie Cal wrote: »

I know you kinda bleeped yourself out, but you can't be saying things like that about Davy Fitz and Sean Og when they both give everything they have all the time no matter what they do.So what that Sean Og has Fiji relations? Thats nothing to do with it.

I wouldnt expect Davy Fitz to say "yes I'm really happy with the game" Its good that he is disgusted. I would want a manager to be like that.He cares and wants to win so he wants to bounce back in the next game.

They both are entitled to their opinions about refs and who plays.You can disagree but lets not insult them

• Registered Users Posts: 10,824 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

I know you kinda bleeped yourself out, but you can't be saying things like that about Davy Fitz and Sean Og when they both give everything they have all the time no matter what they do.So what that Sean Og has Fiji relations? Thats nothing to do with it.

I wouldnt expect Davy Fitz to say "yes I'm really happy with the game" Its good that he is disgusted. I would want a manager to be like that.He cares and wants to win so he wants to bounce back in the next game.

They both are entitled to their opinions about refs and who plays.You can disagree but lets not insult them
    I took the Fiji comment to mean: "it's a bit rich criticising the selection of players from non-traditional hurling clubs when you yourself probably faced plenty of prejudice about your ability to play due to your own origins. Given that you yourself were ultimately judged and achieved what you did on your own merits, it's pretty ignorant to now dismiss young players based on where they're from". I think that's a valid point and I don't think the poster was insulting Sean Og for being from Fiji.

As for not using bad language...about Davy Fitz? Are you ****ing kidding me? That's the same lad, remember, who roared at the top of his lungs at John Mullane "I've two All Ireland medals, you've won **** all!"

Last I checked, you earn respect. If you dish out that kind of ****e you can expect to hear it as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,964 ✭✭✭lukin

I like Davy Fitz, he's passionate about our national sport and I wish more people in this country had the same passion for it as they have for those over-paid primadonnas across the water.
    However he brings a lot of abuse upon himself with his whining (especially as others have said when he doesn't actually say what he is whining about).
    He did say Cork were the better team, fair play to him for that.
    The incident which made him so mad was the injury to Conlon (after an elbow by William Egan I think). As a Corkman I wouldn't condone it, it was dirty play, should have been a yellow, possibly a red.
    I don't know if Conlon had stayed on whether Clare would have won. Given the margin of victory, I would say probably not.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,824 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

lukin wrote: »
    I like Davy Fitz, he's passionate about our national sport and I wish more people in this country had the same passion for it as they have for those over-paid primadonnas across the water.
    However he brings a lot of abuse upon himself with his whining (especially as others have said when he doesn't actually say what he is whining about).
    He did say Cork were the better team, fair play to him for that.
    The incident which made him so mad was the injury to Conlon (after an elbow by William Egan I think). As a Corkman I wouldn't condone it, it was dirty play, should have been a yellow, possibly a red.
    I don't know if Conlon had stayed on whether Clare would have won. Given the margin of victory, I would say probably not.

To be fair to Davy, regarding that injury he did seem genuinely more concerned about the safety of the player than the impact it had on the result.

Whether he'd have been as worried about safety (or would even have brought up the injury) if they had won in the end, is another matter.