Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dry Spell

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

I don't think anybody can say that magnetic can't have a personal taste in men. But I agree big time that it is way OTT to cast aside all Irish men on the basis of a few men.

Or the reverse either. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,289 ✭✭✭parker kent

Or the reverse either. ;)

Oh yeah I think I covered that in my mini-rant a few minutes ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭magneticimpulse

OK, she's exaggerating with regards to casual sex but relationships? Pretty tricky to find! Generally men I find myself interested in are one of three things:

a) not interested in me (this one is fair enough)
    b) spoken for (also fair enough though can be frustrating)
    c) hung up on someone else

There's not much one can do about a) and b) but c) is the frustrating one.

No Im not exaggerating with casual sex in Ireland. I was a virgin leaving the country and I have never met a guy in Ireland for one night/relationship to this day. Either one would be very welcomed. I had this guy I used to kiss when I lived in Ireland and I called him around one night to lose my virginity and he couldnt even do that!!! He was like, oh im an asshole, you should wait for someone better!!! I mean come on, I think I can decide myself if I want to sleep with someone! Why did they have to assume stuff?

Ive many attractive female friends in Ireland and they have gone years without sex back in Ireland. Im back in the country every month and go out all the time and wear nice clothes...and never even have a guy come up and chat to me.

Irish guys to me, are too picky or whatever...i dont know what it is. But they just dont do anything towards me.

Whereas I just have to look at an English guy and 2 hours later we are in bed together having fun. And these are absolutely lovely, hot guys better looking then an Hollywood actor/model. I wouldnt even stand a chance with attractive guys like that in Ireland, let alone just looking for an average guy (which I would be very happy with too).

The exaggeration that Irish men are somehow not as good as English or Scottish blokes or that they make better relationship material than us is frankly preposterous.

She has said herself that she has lived outside of Ireland over the last number of years so how could she be possibly able to make an assertation like that?

Thats where the exaggeration is.

I left Ireland (FULL TIME) because I could not bare to have no sex in my life. However im back in Ireland every 3 weeks and still nothing and still nothing with my friends. Im even talking about being approached for a fling...that doesnt even happen in Dublin...at least not to me or any of my attractive friends who live there. Of course my friends would prefer relationships...they are so nice, ive no idea why they are single!!

Im not saying English/Scottish guys are better then Irish guys. Im saying they just seem to be more direct about letting a girl know they are interested. I find Irish guys run away if you show an interest in them...they label you bunny boiler etc. I never have that with British guys, they love being in bed etc. to worry about labeling a girl a bunny boiler, or whatever other label. They seem open to getting to know you as a person and a friend as well. Ive a good personality, but Irish guys just dont like me...i dont know why to this day??

Whatever it is, I wish it was that simple to get with an Irish guy. Maybe they have fear? Maybe theres too much competition? I dont know?

No Im not exaggerating with casual sex in Ireland. I was a virgin leaving the country and I have never met a guy in Ireland for one night/relationship to this day. Either one would be very welcomed. I had this guy I used to kiss when I lived in Ireland and I called him around one night to lose my virginity and he couldnt even do that!!! He was like, oh im an asshole, you should wait for someone better!!! I mean come on, I think I can decide myself if I want to sleep with someone! Why did they have to assume stuff?

Ive many attractive female friends in Ireland and they have gone years without sex back in Ireland. Im back in the country every month and go out all the time and wear nice clothes...and never even have a guy come up and chat to me.

Irish guys to me, are too picky or whatever...i dont know what it is. But they just dont do anything towards me.

Whereas I just have to look at an English guy and 2 hours later we are in bed together having fun. And we are talking about absolutely lovely, hot guys.

So the guy who was cautious about taking your virginity (which is a big deal to a lot people and can be regretted by some) is an asshole? I mean I'd be delighted if somebody called me up looking for sex, but being called over to take somebodies virginity is not a little thing to be treated lightly. What if he had gone for it and then you regretted it afterwards? Would you have said he took advantage or should have been more cautious? I'm not trying to pick a fight, but I'm just saying you should view it from his perspective. It may have been a shock to him. I'm not saying he handled it well, but think from his perspective for a minute.

On nights out in Ireland, it is pretty clear to me that Irish men are not too picky. There will be more than enough men looking for sex, whether it be casual, a booty call buddy or in a relationship.

Trust me, I'm an Irish man. It will not be that hard to get with me or anybody like me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 237 ✭✭greengiant09

I left Ireland (FULL TIME) because I could not bare to have no sex in my life. However im back in Ireland every 3 weeks and still nothing and still nothing with my friends. Im even talking about being approached for a fling...that doesnt even happen in Dublin...at least not to me or any of my attractive friends who live there. Of course my friends would prefer relationships...they are so nice, ive no idea why they are single!!

Im not saying English/Scottish guys are better then Irish guys. Im saying they just seem to be more direct about letting a girl know they are interested. I find Irish guys run away if you show an interest in them...they label you bunny boiler etc. I never have that with British guys, they love being in bed etc. to worry about labeling a girl a bunny boiler, or whatever other label.

Whatever it is, I wish it was that simple to get with an Irish guy. Maybe they have fear? Maybe theres too much competition? I dont know?

i have to say your assertions are quite frankly 'unbelievable'!!!!!...if dublin is the way you described it, then i mustn' be living in it right now!!

i mean i read about how women come on boards giving out about how sleazy irish men can be in nite clubs.....and now you're saying that irish lads aren't even up for flings!!!

what you're saying is quite frankly rediculous! if you're serious, go to coppers at the weekend.

So the guy who was cautious about taking your virginity (which is a big deal to a lot people and can be regretted by some) is an asshole? I mean I'd be delighted if somebody called me up looking for sex, but being called over to take somebodies virginity is not a little thing to be treated lightly. What if he had gone for it and then you regretted it afterwards? Would you have said he took advantage or should have been more cautious? I'm not trying to pick a fight, but I'm just saying you should view it from his perspective. It may have been a shock to him. I'm not saying he handled it well, but think from his perspective for a minute.

On nights out in Ireland, it is pretty clear to me that Irish men are not too picky. There will be more than enough men looking for sex, whether it be casual, a booty call buddy or in a relationship.

Trust me, I'm an Irish man. It will not be that hard to get with me or anybody like me.

Well I was so frustrated I lost it by a one night stand with somebody I never saw again in the end!! It was bit ****ty, but I was human at the end of the day and badly wanted sex.

Exactly my point...Irish girls dont want to think from his perspective...if i called someone around for sex and we are both naked, I expect we are going to have sex!!! Its exactly what Im trying to point out!! Irish guys think about a number of reasons why they cannot have sex with you...they are an asshole, they are not good enough, list goes on.

I dont care if the guy is an asshole...if im in bed with him, he is obviously good enough to have sex with!!! Irish guys think too much and are too complicated. I wish they would just let their hair down. You would never hear of other guys thinking like this...hence why I compared to British guys...they think: naked woman, boobs etc...horny, game on!!! Why cant it be that simple in Ireland?

I tested this out with a female friend who said "no Irish guy will sleep with me". She wrote off me saying she was hot as me just being a friend. We were in Coppers at the time (as you do) and I literally tipped the shoulder of the guy beside us and asked would he have sex with her. Which led to the very awkward conversation where we explained we were not in fact swingers and that I was proving a point!

i have to say your assertions are quite frankly 'unbelievable'!!!!!...if dublin is the way you described it, then i mustn' be living in it right now!!

i mean i read about how women come on boards giving out about how sleazy irish men can be in nite clubs.....and now you're saying that irish lads aren't even up for flings!!!

what you're saying is quite frankly rediculous! if you're serious, go to coppers at the weekend.

I have gone to Coppers and never got anything and so did all my friends...theres alot of competition on Coppers. You look around and everybody seems to be loved up with somebody else. It became so impossible to meet someone there I gave up going. Not only that but none of us could understand what any of the guys were saying because they had thick Irish accents. I deal with foreign people all the time and make an effort for them to understand me...these guys I had to pretend I was foreign as I hadnt a clue what they were saying...Epic Fail.

I dont care if the guy is an asshole...if im in bed with him, he is obviously good enough to have sex with!!! Irish guys think too much and are too complicated. I wish they would just let their hair down. You would never hear of other guys thinking like this...hence why I compared to British guys...they think: naked woman, boobs etc...horny, game on!!! Why cant it be that simple in Ireland?

Seriously, you must have met the wrong kind of Irish men. It is that simple in Ireland. Men are men. Women are women. Ireland is not some special sex-free place. I have walked into a pillar in a night club checking out a girls boobs, we DO think like men in every other country.

There is an enormous difference between me comparing a guy being reluctant to have sex with a girl who drops in "would you come over and take my virginity?" to most other sex related scenarios.

I can guarantee if a girl gave me the green light, I would not "make my excuses" and leave.

I think mi must be meeting the wrong kinds, I've never had a problem :confused:

Seriously, you must have met the wrong kind of Irish men. It is that simple in Ireland. Men are men. Women are women. Ireland is not some special sex-free place. I have walked into a pillar in a night club checking out a girls boobs, we DO think like men in every other country.

There is an enormous difference between me comparing a guy being reluctant to have sex with a girl who drops in "would you come over and take my virginity?" to most other sex related scenarios.

I can guarantee if a girl gave me the green light, I would not "make my excuses" and leave.

Thats the point!! What is the green light? Im fairly shy and so are my friends. We kinda depend on guys to be abit more direct. I mean ive become so frustrated after not having sex for 2 years...that ive become ****ty and shagged my friend who has a girlfriend. Even worse was that I really enjoyed it and want to find more sex. The frustration inside me...is prob the only driving force that will make me become a man eater. Ive been really reserved for so long...but no more. I need sex!!

If there is one good thing to come out of this...I think I will start to approach guys directly, as im so hungary for sex that I dont care what the outcome will be. (i kinda now know what it must feel like for a man).

Sorry but relationships, being myself and nice just didnt work!! I really dont care anymore...sex is my mission.

Maybe you should stop being shy instead of blaming irish men :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Thats the point!! What is the green light? Im fairly shy and so are my friends. We kinda depend on guys to be abit more direct. I mean ive become so frustrated after not having sex for 2 years...that ive become ****ty and shagged my friend who has a girlfriend. Even worse was that I really enjoyed it and want to find more sex. The frustration inside me...is prob the only driving force that will make me become a man eater. Ive been really reserved for so long...but no more. I need sex!!

If there is one good thing to come out of this...I think I will start to approach guys directly, as im so hungary for sex that I dont care what the outcome will be. (i kinda now know what it must feel like for a man).

Sorry but relationships, being myself and nice just didnt work!! I really dont care anymore...sex is my mission.

You sound a bit weird to be honest. I'd avoid you!

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    You sound a bit weird to be honest. I'd avoid you!

^^ Exactly and an Irish mans usual view point! Scared off by the fact that a woman is interested in men and shock horror interested and enjoys having sex.

Thankfully British guys dont think im weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

PM me some pics and we'll see what I can do

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

^^ Exactly and Irish mans type of view point! Scared off by the fact that a woman is interested in men and shock horror interested and enjoys having sex.

Thankfully British guys dont think im weird.

What are you on about? All women enjoy sex. Why do you think you're special? I've been with women from all over and you're all the same!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

seems to me theres your answer most red blooded males wont turn down a chance in fact it takes the onus off of them to do the approaching which can be quite scarey in ireland with some of the knock backs they recieve.if that happened to me i would'nt look at it as the girls easy more she knows what she wants.im of the opinion that women should be more pro-active in the dating game in ireland instead of just throwing looks in your direction hoping you will approach.

BraziliaNZ wrote: »
    What are you on about? All women enjoy sex. Why do you think you're special? I've been with women from all over and you're all the same!

Well another Irish mans view point....I dont think im special, you said that!!

Dont worry I'll just stick to having sex with the Brit's. Irish men have too many assumptions...

You seem to be the one with too many assumptions

bluewolf wrote: »
    You seem to be the one with too many assumptions

Not at all...if an Irish guy was more then willing, id be happy to go.

So far ive been called "why do i think im so special", and things reflected at me.

Im just pointing out, the biggest problems associated with Dry Spells and lack of sex from my perspective. Id be more then willing to get with an Irish guy ;)

If there is one good thing to come out of this...I think I will start to approach guys directly, as im so hungary for sex that I dont care whaT.

It is not written into to law that men must approach women. You could have done that a long time ago if you really wanted sex. I 100% guarantee if you went out in Ireland and approached guys, you get as much sex as you want.

I'll repeat this for the 1000th time, Irish men and women are no different to any other type. Nobody here is "shocked" that women like sex. I'd only be shocked if you didn't.

So far ive been called "why do i think im so special", and things reflected at me.

Im just pointing out, the biggest problems associated with Dry Spells and lack of sex from my perspective. Id be more then willing to get with an Irish guy ;)

That line was probably directed at Irish women, not you personally.

It is simple. Irish men want to have sex. That is it.

That line was probably directed at Irish women, not you personally.

It is simple. Irish men want to have sex. That is it.

Ok so...i know, and my guy friends have been telling me this. And my approach recently has been working. I do agree with that. I definitely wont be letting things go on for as long as 2 years next time. Even 1 week now without sex has been difficult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭beano345

Ok so...i know, and my guy friends have been telling me this. And my approach recently has been working. I do agree with that. I definitely wont be letting things go on for as long as 2 years next time. Even 1 week now without sex has been difficult.

have you tried online dating and joining clubs or sports groups to try and meet men. the bar scene in ireland isnt always a great place to meet people..well sober people

beano345 wrote: »
    have you tried online dating and joining clubs or sports groups to try and meet men. the bar scene in ireland isnt always a great place to meet people..well sober people

Yep and ive gone into detail about it on the Online Dating thread here.

The friend I had sex with last week, could not believe that the Irish guy was so anti attracted to me etc etc.

Er, different strokes?

dont understand??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭Matthewthebig

dont understand??
    Different people find different things attractive. As the existence of tranny midget porn shows.

dont understand??

Well you said:

Perhaps the guy wasn't into you because different people are into different things?