Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First record U bought!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Indiana Wants Me - R Dean Taylor .

Think it was the police siren at the beginning and end that got me to ......sad :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rubik.

• Registered Users Posts: 196 ✭✭tskk

Colour by numbers by Culture Club....1983...bought it in The Ilac Centre.

I seem to remember buying it in Easons? Did Easons sell LP'S back then?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Banjara wrote: »
    Just found this info on wiki:

Top of the Pops is the name of a series of records issued by Pickwick Records, which contain anonymous cover versions of recent and current hit singles. The recordings were intended to replicate the sound of the original hits as closely as possible.

Elton John and Joe Cocker were singers on those albums.

First Album - The Clash by The Clash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

tskk wrote: »

I seem to remember buying it in Easons? Did Easons sell LP'S back then?

Yeah I'm sure I remember there being a music section in the O'Connell street branch (Dublin) at one stage. Think it was in the basement.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭big b

First single - Come & Get It by Badfinger

First Album - Hunky Dory by Bowie

closely followed by

Floyd - Dark Side of the Moon
    Zeppelin - 2
    Genesis- Live

Most of the kids in my class were buying TOTP compilations & Top 20 singles, I hung around with older kids!

• Registered Users Posts: 43,025 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

DS_Brothers_in_Arms.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,108 ✭✭✭Jellybaby1

Janey mack! Some of yiz are as ould as meself, and others are just babes in arms!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,808 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

@ SEPT 23 1989

Way back in '85 (I was an early adopter :)) that was the first of them new fangled Compact Discs I bought

Seven Worlds will Collide

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭meolwan

First two singles I bought were Schools Out by Alice Cooper and Silver Machine by Hawkwind got them in record shop in Northside

First LP was Himself by Gilbert O'Sullivan

"Bridge Over Troubled Water" (Simon And Garfunkle1971). Incredible to believe that Paul is still as good as ever. And I have tickets to see him in Vicar St next week!! Can't wait:D.

• Registered Users Posts: 673 ✭✭✭merlie

The Tourists "I only wanna be with you!"

Great song still :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

First single: "Excerpt From A Teenage Opera" in 1967

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J534B5NsVzU

First album: You Can Never Be Wrong (The Flower Pot Men) 1968

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qRJM7WoCh8I

• Registered Users Posts: 35 clashextra

First album I bought was 'Live at the Apollo' Status Quo, which,I suppose was a nod to the influence of one of my older brothers. Was that 1976? I was around 12 0r 13 at the time.
    Next up was 'Never mind the bollocks' which was fun asking for in the company of an older sister.
    Nice thread to stumble across-I'm normally stuck in the cycling section-even though it's made me realise that I am a bit of an oul'fella now!
    Feel sorry for kids who will never know the absolute magic of walking into a record shop on a saturday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

The first records I got were Christmas presents: "Ghost in the Machine" by the Police and "Shaky" by Shakin' Stevens.

The first ones I bought were "American Pie" by Don McLean and "Greatest Hits" by Z. Z. Top... both on cassette.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,717 ✭✭✭pappyodaniel

This was the first album I bought
    ash-trailer-album-cover-56048.jpeg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

first album i bought was dire straits - brothers in arms , still a classic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭TentCrasher

DS_Brothers_in_Arms.jpg
    Not as old as ye lot:D But i do remember my brother hanging this poster in our room. Think the first tape i purchased was either Legend or Rebel Music by Bob Marley

• Registered Users Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭Hippo

First single: Get it On, T Rex

First album: Electric Warrior, T Rex.

I was an unhealthily-obsessed 11 year old...

• Registered Users Posts: 22,749 ✭✭✭✭The Hill Billy

'The Wombling Song' by The Wombles in 1973.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭meep

Springsteen's Born to Run just after Christmas '75.

All downhill from there, then!

First Single: Frankie - Sister Sledge
    First Album: Prince Charming - Adam & The Ants
    First CD: Eurythmics Greatest Hits
    First Download: None

Not a great track record, on the face of it!

• Registered Users Posts: 735 ✭✭✭KK4SAM

First Single :
    Rock'n Roll I Gave You All The Best Years Of My Life_____ Kevin Johnson

• Registered Users Posts: 5,580 ✭✭✭deisemum

Brown Girl in a Ring - Boney M ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭Rubecula

BS4.jpg

I believe this was the first album I bought with my own money

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭jordata

First Single:

The Pointer Sisters - Slow Hand :D

• Registered Users Posts: 18,582 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Please don't judge me-Chris de Burgh's 'Lady in Red'-

All I'll say is,I was young:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭washiskin

First 45 - "Einstein A-Go-Go" by Landscape
    First Album - "Kings of the Wild Frontier" by Adam & The Ants
    First CD - "Faith" by George Michael

• Registered Users Posts: 34 breadman

[
    QUOTE=sgb;71719833]Melting Pot by Blue Mink[/QUOTE]

last train to clarksville. didnt even have a record player.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,997 ✭✭✭✭Johnboy1951

I didn't buy singles .... but did get one .... Stones - Honky Tonk Woman from some promotion by Coke I think.

No recollection what might have been the first album .... do recall about 71 getting a record token for a real old record shop which didn't have 'modern' stuff ..... got Neilson's album which had 'Without You' on it.

I recall being very impressed by the stereo effects on Baby Driver and loved the Beatles Sgt Pepper & Abbey Road albums.

The Freshmen - Peace on Earth (with Micheál Mc Liamóir) left a lasting impression too.

Mostly live gigs ..... Thin Lizzy, Skid Row ...... remember Jim Mc Cann when he was a one man and guitar touring player .... radios Luxembourg & Caroline for most listening ... remember listening to T-Rex when they were Tyranasaurus Rex .... before the commercial stuff I guess .... and picking up the police band break-through on a receiver I went into hock to get because it had stereo FM ... which I tried to pick up from the UK ...... and 2 x MW, 1 x LW and 1 x SW bands .... I was working by then and could afford the repayments :D

..... Jeeeze .... did I write all that? ..... I can't remember what I did yesterday ....

• Registered Users Posts: 7,189 ✭✭✭jos28

This was my first purchase
    http://eil.com/shop/moreinfo.asp?catalogid=426338
    Bought it in a record shop in Marlborough Street, can't remember the name of the shop.