Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Last night a "friend" of mine posted that she needed boy's names for her imminent newborn. She said she would announce the winner later on. The then said "I'm serious".

This morning she announced baby had arrived. When asked what she was calling baby she said she didn't know yet as she'll have to study the names suggested on facebook.

Seriously.

Speechless!! Or is it just me?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

I guess it saves her reading through a whole book of baby names! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

ratmouse wrote: »
    Speechless!! Or is it just me?!
    Nah I dont like that name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭jousting with chairs

She got fed up with reading the names as well so the one with the most likes wins :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭ArtyM

Last night a "friend" of mine posted that she needed boys' names for her imminent newborn. She said she would announce the winner later on. The then said "I'm serious".

This morning she announced baby had arrived. When asked what she was calling baby she said she didn't know yet as she'll have to study the names suggested on facebook.

Seriously.

Hopefully she doesn't name him newsfeed or timeline.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Muise... wrote: »
    Do you need to be connected to her for work or friend-of-friend reasons? Cause she sounds like a headwreck even at facebook feed distance.

Nah, she is purely for the entertainment value. Ive been tempted to post some of it here but dont want to spam the thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭Newaglish

Nah, she is purely for the entertainment value. Ive been tempted to post some of it here but dont want to spam the thread.

You better start spamming, bro

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

ArtyM wrote: »
    Hopefully she doesn't name him newsfeed or timeline.
    One woman named her baby girl Hashtag :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

I thought I'd seen it all in the dumb status updates until this morning when I saw a woman check in from a hospital about her seriously sick daughter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

A friend of a friend once posted a photo of her house on fire at 3am, with the fire brigade on the scene. Proper flames, not just smouldering or anything.

I promptly unfriended her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

A friend of a friend once posted a photo of her house on fire at 3am, with the fire brigade on the scene. Proper flames, not just smouldering or anything.

I promptly unfriended her.

Why? That is actually news that you want to hear about rather than the inane waffle that most of us are subject to on a daily basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Friend posted: "Thanks for all your well wishes on the birth of our new baby girl who arrived today. Will share the name and pictures soon, we just want to keep her to ourselves a little longer!"

Erm, you're hardly Beyonce and Jay-Z and to be honest, I've seen babies before and they pretty much look the same...and I know what people will comment under each photo: "She's beautiful" "She's gorgeous"...

Well yeah you're hardly going to say: "She's a minger", now are you?
    Not interested in this big secrecy thing around the name either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

fussyonion wrote: »
    Friend posted: "Thanks for all your well wishes on the birth of our new baby girl who arrived today. Will share the name and pictures soon, we just want to keep her to ourselves a little longer!"

Erm, you're hardly Beyonce and Jay-Z and to be honest, I've seen babies before and they pretty much look the same...and I know what people will comment under each photo: "She's beautiful" "She's gorgeous"...

Well yeah you're hardly going to say: "She's a minger", now are you?
    Not interested in this big secrecy thing around the name either.

It's absolutely noones business but their own what the name is and if they want to keep the pictures and that to themselves for now then more power to them, better than the people who share all over Facebook before they've even had a chance to look at their child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

desultory wrote: »
    It's absolutely noones business but their own what the name is and if they want to keep the pictures and that to themselves for now then more power to them, better than the people who share all over Facebook before they've even had a chance to look at their child.

I agree, but this whole "We will show you pics but not yet" thing is pointless.
    Either keep the photos to yourself OR show them; why say something like "We want to keep her to ourselves for a bit"? like she's a trophy or something.

To be honest though, I wish parents wouldn't share their baby photos on Facebook. It's beyond boring and once someone has had a child, their whole timeline becomes a running narrative on what said child is doing with accompanying dull pics.
    Bore off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭desultory

I agree, but this whole "We will show you pics but not yet" thing is pointless.
    Either keep the photos to yourself OR show them; why say something like "We want to keep her to ourselves for a bit"? like she's a trophy or something.

To be honest though, I wish parents wouldn't share their baby photos on Facebook. It's beyond boring and once someone has had a child, their whole timeline becomes a running narrative on what said child is doing with accompanying dull pics.
    Bore off!

Probably because they wanted to thank people for well wishes and knew people would in turn be asking for pictures, like people do.
    To be fair the child probably is like a trophy, to them.

But yeah agree with the photos. It's very annoying

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

Pawwed Rig wrote: »
    Why? That is actually news that you want to hear about rather than the inane waffle that most of us are subject to on a daily basis.

Because I didn't want to be friends with someone who posted something as serious as that right when it happened. I just thought it was stupid - 'Holy crap my house is on fire. Better post a status...'

She's the kind of person who would post a selfie with her grandad clutching his chest mid heart attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

who would post a selfie with her grandad clutching his chest mid heart attack.

LOL :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

Oh for God's sake, just don't put a status up at all if you want to have some privacy! The parents will have been in contact with the people who give a sh*t anyway, so the important people will already know.

It reminds me of the people who ask for a social media blackout on wedding invitations. As if it's going to ruin some mult-million euro OK magazine deal...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Newaglish wrote: »
    You better start spamming, bro

Most of the stuff is her feeling sorry for herself. At this point I look like this from the eye rolling.
    http://9gag.com/gag/3839094/but-moooom

Heres one from the book of hating everyone:
    do ya ever have dat moment when u wanna scream in a jar then smash it in someone u hate face then run of laughing xD

And here is one with a mix of feeling sorry and hating everyone.:
    I WANT TO SAY THANK YOU ALL OF YOU GUYS WHO ARE BULLYING ME AND SENDING ME NASTY MESSAGES THEN BLOCKING ME AND CALLING ME A STUPID CHEAP BITCH JUST BECAUSE I DONT HAVE WHATSUP OR VIBER OR HAVE A SMARTPHONE OR a iIPHONE. AND WHEN I BECAME FRIENDS WITH SOMEONE JUST FOR ME U SEEM TO THINK ITS A WONDERFUL IDEA TO TURN THEM AGANISTS ME SO WHEN I NOW TALK TO THEM THEY ACT LIKE THEY DONT GIVE A **** NO MORE.. SO NOW I FEEL #WORTHLESS PEICE OF **** FORVER ALONE. MITE ASWELL DIE .

There was also one asking about what love feels like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,203 ✭✭✭dee_mc

do ya ever have dat moment when u wanna scream in a jar then smash it in someone u hate face then run of laughing xD
    :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Hearing and seeing the news reports of the guy going on the shooting spree in California my first thought was it sounds like the loner (stalker unlucky in love) guy from this thread!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Chattastrophe!

Jesus! :eek:

Reminds me of a guy I know who is living in Australia, he posted a photo of his badly smashed up car immediately after he crashed it. This was followed by dozens of frantic messages from his family and friends in Ireland worrying whether he'd been injured in the crash ... imagine putting up a photo like that without actually contacting people first and letting them know what happened and that you were OK!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

So proud of or girl erin 2 nty she graduated 2 nty we r missin her dad in the photo buh he wud b proud of yu erin xxxx

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,279 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

I don't think Erin would be proud of her mothers spelling. How is nty anything like night? I know I can't do text speak but what the hell???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Chillin an snuggled watchin da footie wit da sexy man himself

desultory wrote: »

I hear what you're saying about maybe acknowledging the well wishes of everyone, but still! If you're wanting to keep the baby to yourselves and have time with the baby by yourselves and some privacy, then maybe get off Facebook for a while and do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭sashafierce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

People are under an impression that other people care waaaay more about their kids (not their own kids, but these people's kids) than they do, to an unreal level.

'Here's another pic of a me little potatoe head, exact same as the one yesterday and it'll be the same as the one tomorrow'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Some gems on a chap I knows page these days:

"People in de world ar jellis basters, channin tatum is on gream nortan show, fukin gentle man he is, lisen to his intervew and shut de fuk up, its great to see sumone doin well"

"Lonford/westmeed vote fina gayle, shower of ***** de lot inclewdin de peeple who voted for dem"

"Fina gayl me bolox, feena fall ma bolox, layber party me bolox, evryone vote shin fayne, all 3 have dun nutin for anyone we ar all in bits coz of dem, give shin fayne a go and see how we get on, dessitions in de cuntry has to be opiniated, I hope to see shin fayne, fuk de rest, guvernment is corrupt, ‪#‎basterds‬"

He is a nice chap all the same... :-)

Fieldog wrote: »
    Some gems on a chap I knows page these days:

"People in de world ar jellis basters, channin tatum is on gream nortan show, fukin gentle man he is, lisen to his intervew and shut de fuk up, its great to see sumone doin well"

"Lonford/westmeed vote fina gayle, shower of ***** de lot inclewdin de peeple who voted for dem"

"Fina gayl me bolox, feena fall ma bolox, layber party me bolox, evryone vote shin fayne, all 3 have dun nutin for anyone we ar all in bits coz of dem, give shin fayne a go and see how we get on, dessitions in de cuntry has to be opiniated, I hope to see shin fayne, fuk de rest, guvernment is corrupt, ‪#‎basterds‬"

He is a nice chap all the same... :-)

Adoring the "spelling" :-)