Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Trigger" McAteer getting decked by Stephen Cluxton at charity soccer game in Santry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭bubbleking

K-9 wrote: »
    It's mostly the Thomas Davis vs. Rovers thing. Tends to be Rovers supporters making the pointless digs.

cliffs on that incident please? I'd heard about it but never really passed any remarks.

Is that really the only bone of contention though? Speaks volumes if it is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,814 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

bubbleking wrote: »
    bump

Id genuinely like to know

If you google Thomas Davis and get the wiki page up there's a bit about it.

From there I'm sure you could find any more reading material on the subject you wanted.

It's basically that the Government were putting up funding for a sports arena and the GAA club objected because the pitch they were putting in wasn't big enough for senior GAA matches.

This led to a lot of hassle and eventually the whole thing got canned, costing Shamrock Rovers a gov-funded stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,988 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

cliffs on that incident please? I'd heard about it but never really passed any remarks.

Mostly, and it's a bloody big one if you are a Rovers fan. They've every right to have animosity towards the GAA after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,491 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

theteal wrote: »
    It was better than Trigger's getting hit in the face technique in fairness :D

What did he say to get that response? (i've not studied the thread yet)

Body rearing upright, weight on wrong feet, etc... Thought this guy was a GAA player!:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

For a couple of the more vehement posters here, yes, though I'm sure they'll clarify.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Was Trigger playing in a charity game when he landed the kick?

I'll refrain from expanding on that, because the Gahliban are closing ranks and ratting people out to the moderators for daring to suggest there is a culture of casual violence in their sport that reared its head here.

Care to elaborate?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Mostly, and it's a bloody big one if you are a Rovers fan. They've every right to have animosity towards the GAA after that.

Surely they have every right to have animosity towards the Thomas Davis club rather than the GAA as a whole?

why do Rovers care? I was at a couple of games there last year and they had a pretty impressive stadium already.

Also tarring all GAA members because of the actions of one club is like tarring all soccer fans as cheats because of the match fixing in Italy - it doesnt really cut it for me but I suppose if people are narrow minded enough I can see where the hatred comes from

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭TheBigLebowski

Check my sig.

Add to that the fact that the GAA banned any of their members from playing or even attending 'foreign' sports for the best part of a century, rule 42 obviously, their fascist-like behaviour towards football clubs around the country and you'll be just about scraping the surface of where the dislike of GAA comes from...

why do Rovers care? I was at a couple of games there last year and they had a pretty impressive stadium already.

You're missing the point. The stadium happened in spite of the GAA who also delayed the opening of the stadium. Also, anybody who thinks that Thomas Davis were operating in isolation without backing from the GAA don't know the facts of the case.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

reprazant wrote: »
    Surely they have every right to have animosity towards the Thomas Davis club rather than the GAA as a whole?

The Gah as a whole backed and funded the court challenge.

Like it or not, most people involved in grassroots football have issues with how the Gah behave. Look at them down in Kerry last year, basically stealing a football clubs pitches. The ban might be gone, but the spirit is alive and well.

Like a lot of things on this hallowed portal, most of the people defending the Gah from legitimate criticism by crying to the mods don't actually have an involvment beyond going to the odd game and are oblivious to this and use the 'bitter' line in ignorance.

I read the sig - it seems like a well written piece but is still not written in the objective imo. Rule 42 has been abolished and the current generation should not be punished for the crimes of the past.

The only problem where the 2 codes clash in our parish is because soccer seems to lose players to the GAA - but thats a players choice and not really relevant imo

Like a lot of things on this hallowed portal, most of the people defending the Gah from legitimate criticism by crying to the mods don't actually have an involvment beyond going to the odd game and are oblivious to this and use the 'bitter' line in ignorance.

List out the points of "legitimate criticism" and the Gah heads will do our best to answer

Check my sig.

Add to that the fact that the GAA banned any of their members from playing or even attending 'foreign' sports for the best part of a century, rule 42 obviously, their fascist-like behaviour towards football clubs around the country and you'll be just about scraping the surface of where the dislike of GAA comes from...

The ban is long gone. Sometimes managers ban players from playing other sports but that isn't just a "foreign sport" thing, they do it for players who play hurling and Gaelic too.
    The Gah as a whole backed and funded the court challenge.

Like it or not, most people involved in grassroots football have issues with how the Gah behave. Look at them down in Kerry last year, basically stealing a football clubs pitches. The ban might be gone, but the spirit is alive and well.

There is talk of lifting the ban on training facilities as it's not really followed anyway, barring rare cases. The Irish Rugby team have used GAA facilities for training.

As for the GAA funding it, I thought that's why the Thomas Davis debt is so high, the GAA didn't fund it, hence the huge debt.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

I read the sig - it seems like a well written piece but is still not written in the objective imo. Rule 42 has been abolished and the current generation should not be punished for the crimes of the past.

Rule 42 hasn't been abolished. There was a temporary relaxation of the rule during the reconstruction of Landsdowne Rd. The temporary amendment also only applied to Croke Park.
    The only problem where the 2 codes clash in our parish is because soccer seems to lose players to the GAA - but thats a players choice and not really relevant imo

This happens in my parish too. The reason being that the soccer club is totally accepting and accomodating towards players who want to play other sports. The GAA is the opposite and puts pressure on players to 'pick one or the other' and people who want to play GAA have to abondon the 'soccer'.

Its actually worrying how many Gah fans believe this...

As for the GAA funding it, I thought that's why the Thomas Davis debt is so high, the GAA didn't fund it, hence the huge debt.

God no. The DCB paid the legal debt (or at least are in discussions to do so, havent actually discharged it yet.)

The debt level TD have is soely down to building astro pitches and refurbishing the clubhouse.

This happens in my parish too. The reason being that the soccer club is totally accepting and accomodating towards players who want to play other sports. The GAA is the opposite and puts pressure on players to 'pick one or the other' and people who want to play GAA have to abondon the 'soccer'.

They also put pressure on players to play one code. Damn racists.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

There's a photo of the incident here..

http://www.flickr.com/photos/paulwa/5586195371/

One of the lads from the Photography Forum was at the match & took the photo... he's had it published in all the major tabloids today and some well known websites too.

Fair play!

They also put pressure on players to play one code. Damn racists.

Football requires better conditioning and aerobic fitness. If they have no problem with players playing other sports, especially as kids, why on earth would the Gah object?

There are bigots within the Gah who still peddle this diddly eye nationalist nonsense of 'protecting' kids from 'foreign' influence. Thankfully football doesn't rise to the bait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

There are bigots within the Gah who still peddle this diddly eye nationalist nonsense of 'protecting' kids from 'foreign' influence. Thankfully football doesn't rise to the bait.

I can honestly say that i have only ever come across one such person in years of being involved with and attending gaa matches.

Football requires better conditioning and aerobic fitness. If they have no problem with players playing other sports, especially as kids, why on earth would the Gah object?

I don't go throwing around pointless cliches because of a few bigots. As I said, often managers ask players not to play hurling or Gaelic and concentrate on one. Don't take it personally.

wow I think people here have completely the wrong idea about how things actually work.

Up until the age of 14 all I played was soccer. At 14 I got into hurling and football and never really looked back. Some of the reasons were

1. The GAA is better run at local and national level. There are more games/cups and generally stuff to keep you interested. Although I will admit both organisations are corrupt - i.e. the GAA and the FAI

2. The GAA is better supported at Local and National level. In a premier division tie in the meath and district league you would get less supporters there than a junior B championship match.

3. No pressure was ever put on us to play one sport or another - It really came down to if you wernt training for GAA you wouldnt make the team. Not because of any bigotry it would be down to not having the strength and/or fitness

4. My last dealing with the local soccer club was when we were told we "were not wanted" after a group of us went back to play soccer at the end of the GAA season - I can accept this was a local issue and not relevant to all clubs.

5. Rule 42 states that GAA stadiums cant be used for non GAA matches (put simply I know). Why would people who follow soccer in Ireland care? Thje only useable stadium the GAA have is croke park (all the others have too many terraces) and to be fair it would be a bit of a waste considering the gaping holes that can be seen in the aviva any time there is a soccer match there - a stadium that has a capacity that is 30k less than croke park

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

"If Shamrock Rovers get sole use of the stadium, the youth of Tallaght will be subjected to a diet of association football".
    The above quote was part of a submission in court by Thomas Davis in their objection to Rovers.
    Rovers never asked for "sole use". Since the stadium opened, there has been a rugby B international and an American Football final in the stadium, with talks of European Championship boxing also. It's great to see the stadium being used for lots of different events.
    Hopefully, that clears up why League of Ireland ( mainly Rovers ) fans have a dislike for the gah.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

just you then is it?

I'm not even sure why I am bothering to converse with you, as you have just continuously launched tirades and ignorant comments against an organisation due to whatever reasons you have, but you speak as if you have complete and utter authority on what the GAA does and stands for.

WRT rule 42, it is not abolished, but should be. It is a ridiculous rule and it is bening flaunted at club grounds all over teh country. Astro pitchs, club halls etc are often being rented by local soccer clubs. Only this year a club in Wexford were reprimanded because some backwards thinking idiot reported them for letting out their astro turf to the local soccer team.

I didnt agree with Thomas Davis' stance on holding up the development of Tallaght. I thought it was selfish in the extreme and a pure case of jealousy. But does that mean I am a bigot now because I am a member of the GAA?

I dont know what the GAA did to you as a young man, but it must have been horrible for you to have such a grudge against it and everyone a part of it for you to be so abusive in your condemnation of the whole association. You seem to think you have the ultimate word on how these sports interact, but I know personally, where I am, our soccer, hurling and football teams are almost entirely made up of the same players. there is no animosity and they co exist perfectly together.

but then what would I know. apparently I'm a bogwarrior culchie bigot etc etc.

5. Rule 42 states that GAA stadiums cant be used for non GAA matches (put simply I know). Why would people who follow soccer in Ireland care? Thje only useable stadium the GAA have is croke park (all the others have too many terraces) and to be fair it would be a bit of a waste considering the gaping holes that can be seen in the aviva any time there is a soccer match there - a stadium that has a capacity that is 30k less than croke park

Because the Gah, despite refusing to share their facilities, demand access to football facilities. They failed in a high court challenge to get (free) access to Tallaght, demanded use of the Aviva and have stated they will take a court challenge if the Lusk facility gets built. And there was the ludicrious case in Kerry last year where the Gah essentially stole a community pitch that football was played on by stuffing the local trustee board.

If you just did your own thing and let us do ours, there would be no problem. But you don't.

bruschi wrote: »
    I'm not even sure why I am bothering to converse with you, as you have just continuously launched tirades and ignorant comments against an organisation due to whatever reasons you have, but you speak as if you have complete and utter authority on what the GAA does and stands for.

I made no such claim. I am reporting what experiences I have had, as both a Gah player and LoI fan and football coach.

WRT rule 42, it is not abolished, but should be. It is a ridiculous rule and it is bening flaunted at club grounds all over teh country. Astro pitchs, club halls etc are often being rented by local soccer clubs. Only this year a club in Wexford were reprimanded because some backwards thinking idiot reported them for letting out their astro turf to the local soccer team.

But its still the rule. Have you put a motion forward to abolish it?
    I didnt agree with Thomas Davis' stance on holding up the development of Tallaght. I thought it was selfish in the extreme and a pure case of jealousy. But does that mean I am a bigot now because I am a member of the GAA?

Did you speak out against your clubs support? You can't champion the Gah's internal democracy then distance yourself from their bad decisions you had a say in.
    I dont know what the GAA did to you as a young man, but it must have been horrible for you to have such a grudge against it and everyone a part of it for you to be so abusive in your condemnation of the whole association. You seem to think you have the ultimate word on how these sports interact, but I know personally, where I am, our soccer, hurling and football teams are almost entirely made up of the same players. there is no animosity and they co exist perfectly together.

but then what would I know. apparently I'm a bogwarrior culchie bigot etc etc.

Spare me the amateur psychology. I have explained the problems I have with the Gah and their sycophants.

One thing you cannot deny. As a sport, your lot do not do introspection and self criticism.

Has one Gah administrator ever been fired?

Because the Gah, despite refusing to share their facilities, demand access to football facilities. They failed in a high court challenge to get (free) access to Tallaght, demanded use of the Aviva and have stated they will take a court challenge if the Lusk facility gets built. And there was the ludicrious case in Kerry last year where the Gah essentially stole a community pitch that football was played on by stuffing the local trustee board.

If you just did your own thing and let us do ours, there would be no problem. But you don't.

dont know anything about Lusk or Kerry but the rest of your post is nonsense and shows a real ignorance of the actual issues. Are you even thinking before you type or just mashing the keyboard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

The sooner the better the "us & them" attitude that remains with a small segment of supporters, players & organisers of both GAA & football is banished for good, the better it will be for everyone.

There's no rhyme or reason behind it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

but the rest of your post is nonsense and shows a real ignorance of the actual issues. Are you even thinking before you type or just mashing the keyboard?

You know more about the Rovers/Thomas Davis court case than a member(s) of one of the clubs involved?