Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Trigger" McAteer getting decked by Stephen Cluxton at charity soccer game in Santry

14567810»

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

fair enough ONYD. you win. like I said, I dont know why I even bothered to try have any sort of reasoned debate with you.

I'll just crawl back into my hole with the rest of the culchies and bigots and we will keep plotting how to take down all those evil foreign sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

When I said that there is no rhyme or reason behind it, I was referring to the broader picture. There is no real reason why the two sports simply can't co-exist in this country & get along with each other.

Obviously, if you take specific examples - as in the Tallaght Stadium case - there will be reasons & motivations behind what the GAA did & subsequent feelings of distrust & hatred from the football community.

Another poster referred to my take on this as "too simplistic". Perhaps it is simplistic, but then again common sense & cop on were never really rocket science.

At some stage, it is not unthinkable that a line on all these issues could be drawn in the sand & that the two sporting creeds could reach a mutual understanding. The bickering that exists at the minute does nothing for either side & detracts from the real benefits that both could offer each other.

Thats all very well and good, but, and I am aware this is unashamedly partisan, its them that are at it. Have been since the 1880's.

Name me one grievance football has caused the Gah?

I would love all sports to work in harmony and share scarce facilities and resources. But one body and one body alone refuses as a policy.

The moral equivalence argument is extremely flimsy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

I initimatly understood the review and why it would fail. Don't be so patronising.

No. You understood the outcome, and you believed it would fail throughout the process. You used the word "unreasonable" in an incorrect context having quotated it. It as a cause of action, and your incorrect use of the term allows me to draw inferences of your purported understanding. Im not going to discuss this any further.

So the ban didn't happen? The President of the Republic wasn't expelled from the Gah for going to a football international? Vigilance committees?

We know the history. I full accept it, and disagree with how the GAA conducted itself. However, you are living in the past, and its time to get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭dcr22B

So the ban didn't happen? The President of the Republic wasn't expelled from the Gah for going to a football international? Vigilance committees?
    73 years ago.

Good man, get a grip on yourself. That chip on your shoulder will amputate your arm some day it cuts that deep.

bruschi wrote: »
    fair enough ONYD. you win. like I said, I dont know why I even bothered to try have any sort of reasoned debate with you.

I'll just crawl back into my hole with the rest of the culchies and bigots and we will keep plotting how to take down all those evil foreign sports.

You are factually inaccurate in your interpretation of the case.

You seem a reasonable guy and I doubt strongly you fall into the category of Gah heads I am talking about. But at the same time you did nothing when this was being done in your name, as did every Gah man I know who didn't support Thomas Davis.

Like it or not, elements of the Gah still play dirty to get at football. Progressive elements of the Gah, like you, are no-where to be seen when it happens.

Football in this country rid itself of the chancers and spivs that populated Merrion Square in the 80's and 90's. You can do the same if you wanted to.

Even though they did?

Right despite what you saw in the Sunday Times here is what my understanding of it was, it was asked about, but planning stated they couldn't expand the footprint of the ground any more due to domestic dwellings and the DART lines etc. That basically ruled out a full sized GAA ground.

That came from 2 people. A buddy of mine whos da is high up in Leinster rugby, and a lady I know who works in Croker...

Hardly a DEMAND now was it?

Het-Field wrote: »
    No. You understood the outcome, and you believed it would fail throughout the process. You used the word "unreasonable" in an incorrect context having quotated it. It as a cause of action, and your incorrect use of the term allows me to draw inferences of your purported understanding. Im not going to discuss this any further.

What bit of 'don't waste my time with semantics' don't you get?

My point was clearly that Gah fans acting all precious and professing not to understand why grassroots football has issues with elements of their association is lame.

Het-Field wrote: »
    We know the history. I full accept it, and disagree with how the GAA conducted itself. However, you are living in the past, and its time to get over it.

The Kerry case I referred to happend last year. The threat of (another) judicial review into Fingal County Council building football facilities happened in 2009. If you think that this mindset has gone, you are wrong. The tactics have shifted only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭flas

bubbleking wrote: »
    wow I think people here have completely the wrong idea about how things actually work.

Up until the age of 14 all I played was soccer. At 14 I got into hurling and football and never really looked back. Some of the reasons were

1. The GAA is better run at local and national level. There are more games/cups and generally stuff to keep you interested. Although I will admit both organisations are corrupt - i.e. the GAA and the FAI

2. The GAA is better supported at Local and National level. In a premier division tie in the meath and district league you would get less supporters there than a junior B championship match.

3. No pressure was ever put on us to play one sport or another - It really came down to if you wernt training for GAA you wouldnt make the team. Not because of any bigotry it would be down to not having the strength and/or fitness

4. My last dealing with the local soccer club was when we were told we "were not wanted" after a group of us went back to play soccer at the end of the GAA season - I can accept this was a local issue and not relevant to all clubs.

5. Rule 42 states that GAA stadiums cant be used for non GAA matches (put simply I know). Why would people who follow soccer in Ireland care? Thje only useable stadium the GAA have is croke park (all the others have too many terraces) and to be fair it would be a bit of a waste considering the gaping holes that can be seen in the aviva any time there is a soccer match there - a stadium that has a capacity that is 30k less than croke park

to be fair if your playing football there is usually around 20 league games or more, that would be with a 10 team league, and then there is at least 2 cups in every league in the country. the GAA season in the 2 counties i would know about would never have anywhere near this amount of games in one season, unless your taking about the club playing senior, junior and intermediate leagues and championships which is never really the case, and if it is the same players can not play in all these. its the GAA who were the only ones when we were younger to make us choose to play one or the other.

and the part about the GAA being better oprganised at local and national level, any football game i have played has usually kicked off on time, the GAA matches i have played could start at any time, i know its a generalisation but its something that is usually laughed at and is seen as a small thing but stinks of poor lack of organisation. the same with the training, iv seen cross country runners do less laps than some under12 teams.

in my local GAA club i know of only one person who has any sort of coaching badges, in the football clubs in know locally, all the coaches have to have at least started their kick start level one coaching badges and the higher up the age level the kids go they can not be coached by someone without the relevant coaching badges and training, which also includes garda clearance, this is just the way "association football" is run now in this country, and its all for the better of the kids and teenagers playing.

dcr22B wrote: »
    Right despite what you saw in the Sunday Times here is what my understanding of it was, it was asked about, but planning stated they couldn't expand the footprint of the ground any more due to domestic dwellings and the DART lines etc. That basically ruled out a full sized GAA ground.

That came from 2 people. A buddy of mine whos da is high up in Leinster rugby, and a lady I know who works in Croker...

Hardly a DEMAND now was it?

Why were they even asking in the first place? Not their ground, not their business and they weren't willing to throw money in

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭reprazant

Football in this country rid itself of the chancers and spivs that populated Merrion Square in the 80's and 90's.

This is a joke, surely?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

This thread has become a monster! Please mods, put it out of its misery

Why were they even asking in the first place? Not their ground, not their business and they weren't willing to throw money in
    I don't know if it was the GAA that asked. I don't remember specifically asking if that was the case.

How do you know that IF it had come to fruition that they wouldn't throw money into it?

Football in this country rid itself of the chancers and spivs that populated Merrion Square in the 80's and 90's. You can do the same if you wanted to.
    Yet we still have LOI clubs going to the wall for flúirseach like overspending while getting licences from the governing body?

That's a really funny statement, I'd nearly use it as my signature it's that preposterous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

I read the first page about this scuffle. Had a giggle.

Skip to the last page and I see "Ohnoyoudidnt" and the word "gah". Alarm bells start to ring. Go back a few pages before that and see "Thomas Davis" in another post.

/Close thread

Same old story with this forum and certain members. Have to turn it into a b*tching session.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Het-Field

What bit of 'don't waste my time with semantics' don't you get?

My point was clearly that Gah fans acting all precious and professing not to understand why grassroots football has issues with elements of their association is lame..

Iv made my point, and I have said that I am finished.

The Kerry case I referred to happend last year. The threat of (another) judicial review into Fingal County Council building football facilities happened in 2009. If you think that this mindset has gone, you are wrong. The tactics have shifted only.[/QUOTE]

Comparing a "threat" of Judicial Review proceedings to the "ban" is ludicriously disproportionate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,270 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Next time, I'll have to watch out for what picts I send to the papers. I didn't mean to cause all this hassle and disagreement. :eek:

Bottom line - both players were in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 946 ✭✭✭Predalien

Paulw wrote: »
    Next time, I'll have to watch out for what picts I send to the papers. I didn't mean to cause all this hassle and disagreement. :eek:

Bottom line - both players were in the wrong.

Unfortunately this was always going to descend into a GAA vs. Soccer debacle, for some reason there's followers of both sports who feel threatened by the other.

It's a terrific photo, nicely captures the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Thats all very well and good, but, and I am aware this is unashamedly partisan, its them that are at it. Have been since the 1880's.

Name me one grievance football has caused the Gah?

I would love all sports to work in harmony and share scarce facilities and resources. But one body and one body alone refuses as a policy.

The moral equivalence argument is extremely flimsy

I would also love the above highlighted bit, but the soccer clubs in Ireland along with the FAI have no money to invest in these shared facilities. It would be the GAA putting up most of the funding.

Before you come back with the same drivel you have spouted out over the last few pages I am involved in both a Soccer and GAA club in my area. The soccer club are getting there and working with the GAA club to facilitate kids playing both sports. You really need to get over your hatred of the GAA.

On another note, I have played LOI and Intercounty football and held 6 block booked tickets for Lansdowne since 1984.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,941 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

So they asked did they? Why did you say they demanded earlier?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Pity you're not getting paid per page view on here. :)

Cluxton deserves to be done for assault... plenty of good photographs showing the punch- clear cut case imo.

There were plenty of Gardai there during the event. I think the Legends XI (company) video taped the game. Not sure if they caught the incident, since like the majority, they were watching the ball.

There were 4-5 photographers (accredited) to cover the event, and I believe I'm the only one who got the incident, and I was in the best position to see what happened.

My photos, even in court, would not be enough for any criminal charges to be brought. It would also be up to McAteer to file a formal complaint, and then get the Gardai to follow up.

It would have nothing to do with the GAA, or any other organisation.

I must admit, it's sad to see so much bickering between football and GAA, or any other sports. Maybe some people need to learn to grow up.

Sport, any sport, is good. It's just a shame that sometimes incidents happen (like this one), which cast a bad light on sport.

As a sports photographer, I have seen similar punches thrown at GAA, football and rugby events. It's not something that is unique to any one sport.

stovelid wrote: »
    Pity you're not getting paid per page view on here. :)

Only getting paid per usage by the papers. ;)

Once this has calmed down in the media, and they stop paying to use my images, :D, I will release a gallery of approx 40 photos, taken over 50 seconds, which show all of what I captured.

Obviously, for now, these images are all commercially sensitive to me, and are earning me a little pocket money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

As a sports photographer, I have seen similar punches thrown at GAA, football and rugby events. It's not something that is unique to any one sport.

It's particularly prevalent in boxing. It seems to happen at every single event & it's ruining the reputation of the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭patmac

I must admit, it's sad to see so much bickering between football and GAA, or any other sports. Maybe some people need to learn to grow up.

QUOTE]

Couldn't agree more the minute I saw this thread it was obvious it was going to descend into the usual small minded people throwing insults around, I used to take the bait but then I learnt to ignore it, it's a shame really as I used to like this forum, but unfortunately some people have difficulty in understanding that there is a lot who like both the GAA and soccer.