Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Trigger" McAteer getting decked by Stephen Cluxton at charity soccer game in Santry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,270 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

Regardless of what people's views are on Cluxton's actions, the pictures are great :Dhttp://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-gallery/exclusive-cluxton-v-mcateer-in-pictures-0011097-1

Thanks. :D Nice to have my work appreciated.
    revz wrote: »
    For the record, cluxton is a very good outfield football (as in soccer) player. Wouldn't be surprised if he nicked it off McAteer and outdid him for pace; would say McAteer clipped his heels out of frustration by being shown up.

Yeah, that's exactly it. Cluxton was very good during the game.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Folks this is not going to turn into another epic Soccer V Gaa thread,we have been their before and I hope we have moved on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,300 ✭✭✭CiaranC

Dub13 wrote: »
    Folks this is not going to turn into another epic Soccer V Gaa thread,we have been their before and I hope we have moved on.

I certainly havent :P

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,250 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

CiaranC wrote: »
    I certainly havent :P

Ha ha,I meant as a forum I know a post from me is not going to heel the Soccer V Gaa rift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭TheRedDevil10

saw cluxton today...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Cluxton has gone way up in my estimation:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,270 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

5589724902_5d18d20e0e.jpgPW2_7400.jpg by PaulWa, on Flickr

The left side of McAteer's face is nice and red from the punch.

No faking that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

McAteer gonna be interviewed on Newstalk in a few mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

Class, Trigger can put it in his book if he can remember where he left his crayons.

McAteer having a right pop at Cluxton on the radio!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭stumpypeeps

flahavaj wrote: »
    McAteer having a right pop at Cluxton on the radio!!!

Jesus Mcateer is making a clown of himself!

LOL McAteer GAA expert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

What station lads??

Nailz wrote: »
    What station lads??

Newstalk. Its over now.

I always quite liked McAteer, feel sorry for him there, really embarrassed himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,490 ✭✭✭Ordinary man

Never liked him, hyperactive attention seeker. An early version of jedward.:mad:

He was never the brightest was our Triggs. He should have said nothing and left it be. He got trolled on twitter basically and came across as a whinger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭Joekers

What did he say ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

Ireland Legend v Parish Punk

Joekers wrote: »
    What did he say ??

He apologised to the people at Darndale for his part in it which in fairness was pretty decent.

But instead of leaving it at that he went on a bit of a silly rant about how Cluxton has a history of this kind of thing and cost Dublin an All Ireland 8 years ago with his behaviour. There was some self congratulatory stuff about his charity work as well, it all got a bit cringe worthy by the end of it. It seems he was annoyed by the people commentimng on twitter about it and felt the need to set things straight which seems a bit pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,058 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

kraggy wrote: »
    Who said he's a hardman? One guy behaves stupidly and irresponsibly at a charity match (even though provoked, he shouldn't have hit out) and y'all can't wait to lay into the GAA.

His point does stand somewhat. I cannot help but think that if it were a soccer player he'd be deemed scum of the earth.

He apologised to the people at Darndale for his part in it which in fairness was pretty decent.

But instead of leaving it at that he went on a bit of a silly rant about how Cluxton has a history of this kind of thing and cost Dublin an All Ireland 8 years ago with his behaviour. There was some self congratulatory stuff about his charity work as well, it all got a bit cringe worthy by the end of it. It seems he was annoyed by the people commentimng on twitter about it and felt the need to set things straight which seems a bit pathetic.

In his defence, he was right. Cluxton should have had the grace to keep his head and not to be throwing punches at a charity event.

Though I've no doubt McAteer lost his too with the tackle.

In his defence, he was right. Cluxton should have had the grace to keep his head and not to be throwing punches at a charity event.

Though I've no doubt McAteer lost his too with the tackle.

I have no problkem with his point there.

But teh whole dig about Cluxton'd past that he obviously read on wikipedia came across as pathetic. He should've come on, apologised and left it at that instead of stoking the flames further.

I have no problkem with his point there.

But teh whole dig about Cluxton'd past that he obviously read on wikipedia came across as pathetic. He should've come on, apologised and left it at that instead of stoking the flames further.

Oh it was utterly shameful. He lost any dignity he had remaining. I genuinely feel sorry for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭Mister men

Fair play to McAteer he told it like it was. Hard to believe some see violence at a charity match okay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Both of them are grade A clowns and Bernard Dunne isnt much better condoning fighting at a charity event.

• Subscribers Posts: 16,754 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

Mister men wrote: »
    Fair play to McAteer he told it like it was. Hard to believe some see violence at a charity match okay.

fair play? he came across as a right simpering idiot, basically said he started it but it wasn't his fault really it was everyone else and he is a great guy and cluxton isn't so it must all be cluxtons fault.

Hard to believe he could go any lower in estimation but he managed it quite easily. Tries to start trouble with numerous opposition players at a charity match, gets pretty much what he was asking for then cries and moans on the radio about it.

Cluxton shouldn't have stooped to his level, but whoever was managing the legends side should have taken McAteer off. Running around trying to injure amateur players who have a ongoing career but turned out for a charity game anyway is pretty low.

Mister men wrote: »

^ ^ ^

Didn't even hear the show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

That's been a long, long time coming for McAteer.

Paully D wrote: »
    That's been a long, long time coming for McAteer.

From whence does this dislike stem Paully?