Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

CHELTENHAM - DAY 4: Friday 18th March

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

Leroy Lita wrote: »
    1:30 Unaccompanied e/w
    2:05 Pidgeon Island e/w
    5:15 Get Me Out Of Here e/w

taughts?

My THOUGHTS are.

Unaccompanied won't like the ground and may not run.

Pidgeon Island definitely won't run in the 2.05 ( County Hurdle )

Get me out of here definitely won't run in the 5.15 ( Grand Annual )

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

Mr.Conners wrote: »
    Possibly, he did seem very enthusiastic over the rain. There will have to be more over night for it to change the ground obviously but after a hot day it is a good sign for those who want soft ground.
    Turns out your friend was very drunk indeed and probably having a shower to sober up.:D
    Chase course has dried up a little and is now Good all round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Imperial on the drift 5.50 now

Has someone got a source to where Dermot Weld says Unaccompanied needs soft ground?
    I see he's run and won on Good ground on the flat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭TanG411

€5 Placepot

1:30 - Grandouet
    2:05 - Final Approach
    2:40 - Bobs Worth
    3:20 - Kauto Star
    4:00 - Just Amazing
    4:40 - Sir Des Champs

Never looked at the final race because the placepot only covers the first six.

• Registered Users Posts: 544 ✭✭✭Name Changed

Did anyone hear the big tip that Leon Blanch gave on Newstalk this morning?

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭shawty

Gold Cup (3.20)

€50 each way on Weird Al at 25/1

And €40 each way on the following:

1.30 Unaccompanied at 13/2

2.05 Zanir at 33/1

2.40 Gagewell Flyer at 10/1

4.40 Rose of the Moon at 20/1

5.15 Shoreacres at 8/1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Onecoolcookie

Did anyone hear the big tip that Leon Blanch gave on Newstalk this morning?

Missed this aswell anyone hear it?

Have a strong fancy for Blackstairmountain in the 2.05, nice price too I got 20's last night

• Registered Users Posts: 8,871 ✭✭✭Soarer

Right lads.

Don't mind yere tips...I need absolute e/w bankers for today. Something to cushion the blow from Wednesday (took yesterday off!).

What ye think?

What time are the tips given out, you can play back todays show here
    http://www.newstalk.ie/programmes/all/breakfast/listen-back/

Soarer wrote: »
    Right lads.

Don't mind yere tips...I need absolute e/w bankers for today. Something to cushion the blow from Wednesday (took yesterday off!).

What ye think?
    And yesterday was the day where we all made money:D

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭S. Goodspeed

Missed this aswell anyone hear it?

Have a strong fancy for Blackstairmountain in the 2.05, nice price too I got 20's last night

It was Sam Winner in the first. 6/1 with PP at the moment.

I've a lot riding on Thrid Intention in that one so I'm hoping Yates/Blanche are wrong again!

mike65 wrote: »
    What time are the tips given out, you can play back todays show here
    http://www.newstalk.ie/programmes/all/breakfast/listen-back/
    It was Sam Winner that Leon Blanche tipped in the first

Here are Leon Blanch tips today

1.30 Sam Winner
    2.40 Gagewell Flyer
    3.20 Long Run
    4.00 Baby Run

mike65 wrote: »
    Here are Leon Blanch tips today

1.30 Sam Winner
    2.40 Gagewell Flyer
    3.20 Long Run
    4.00 Baby Run
    Nice of the bookie to deflect away from On the fringe:D

• Registered Users Posts: 7,692 ✭✭✭Dublin_Gunner

amiable wrote: »
    Nice of the bookie to deflect away from On the fringe:D

They're same odds now on PP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

CHELTENHAM 5:15 GRAND ANNUAL HANDICAP CHASE 2m 1/2f
    18-03-2011 17:15
    Win or E/W
    Each Way Odds: 1/4 places 1,2,3,4
    De Boitron @ 8/1 (GP)

CHELTENHAM 4:40 MARTIN PIPE HANDICAP HURDLE 2m 4 1/2f
    18-03-2011 16:40
    Win or E/W
    Each Way Odds: 1/4 places 1,2,3,4
    Sir Des Champs @ 4/1 (GP)

CHELTENHAM 4:00 FOXHUNTER CHASE CHALLENGE CUP 3m 2 1/2f
    18-03-2011 16:00
    Win or E/W
    Each Way Odds: 1/4 places 1,2,3
    Oscar Delta @ 20/1 (GP)

CHELTENHAM 2:40 ALBERT BARTLETT NOVICES' HURDLE 3m
    18-03-2011 14:40
    Win or E/W
    Kilcrea Kim @ 9/1 (GP)

CHELTENHAM 2:05 VINCENT O'BRIEN COUNTY HURDLE 2m 1f
    18-03-2011 14:05
    Win or E/W
    Each Way Odds: 1/4 places 1,2,3,4,5
    Alaivan @ 8/1 (GP)

CHELTENHAM 1:30 JCB TRIUMPH HURDLE 2m 1f
    18-03-2011 13:30
    Win or E/W
    Unaccompanied @ 6/1 (GP)

And 200 e/w on Kauto Star. The horse owes me nothing. If he jumps around he has every chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Ok, i've gone with -

1.30 Sam Winner @ 6/1
    2.10 Final Approach @ 10/1
    2.40 Gagewell Flyer e/w @ 9/1
    3.20 Long Run @ 9/2
    4.00 Baby Run @ 7/2
    4.40 Sir De Champs @ 4/1
    5.15 Shoreacres @ 7/1

Last day, I figure i'll play on the nose more - if none of them come in, I'll be back where I started on Tuesday. No harm no foul!

From racing post -

Bad news for Denman fans - the ground will almost certainly not be soft for the Gold Cup this afternoon.

Clerk of the course Simon Claisse said: "We had very little rain overnight, it was barely measurable.

"It is good all round on the chase course.

"We may get a little bit of rain between now and midday but I don't think it will be enough to change the going."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,163 ✭✭✭2qk4u

Ill have a go with -

1.30 Sam Winner @ 6/1
    2.10 Blackstairmountain @ 12/1
    2.40 Gagewell Flyer @ 9/1
    3.20 Long Run @ 9/2
    4.00 Dantes Storm @ 8/1
    4.40 Sir Des Champs @ 4/1
    5.15 Shoreacres @ 7/1

Just to remind people that the last race is named after Nicky Henderson's father and likes to aim a horse for it.
    Doesn't mean he'll definitely win it but worth a reminder IMO

• Registered Users Posts: 77 ✭✭cunninstunt

How do people rate Gagewell Flyers chances in the Albert Bartlett, good staying power. What will he make of the ground?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭Brian010

A P McCoy reckons A Media Luz is his best shot at winning today. 10/1 in the 1.30. Worth an e/w punt!?

• Registered Users Posts: 85,888 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Imperial Commander for the Gold Cup

• Registered Users Posts: 180 ✭✭JohnP199

I was thinking €100 e/w on Sam Winner. Is it a bit risky do you think? Im far from an expert when it comes to horses and after a bad first 3 days I need a big win.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭brandon_flowers

JohnP199 wrote: »
    I was thinking €100 e/w on Sam Winner. Is it a bit risky do you think? Im far from an expert when it comes to horses and after a bad first 3 days I need a big win.

Dodgy bet in a 24 runner 4 yo race IMO but don't let that stop you. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭fabregas4cesc

sam winner and long run seem to be the bankers, puttin a few bob on them e/w in an accum with one more horse for the odds, maybe final approach or kilcrea kim

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭fabregas4cesc

Brian010 wrote: »
    A P McCoy reckons A Media Luz is his best shot at winning today. 10/1 in the 1.30. Worth an e/w punt!?
    finish in the top 3 from 23 horses i think? somebody has to! no harm

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 26 COB_here

Mine for the day;
    1.30 - Sam Winner e/w
    2.05 - Zanir e/w
    2.40 - Join Together e/w
    3.20 - Kauto Star win
    4.00- Just Amazing e/w
    4.40- Qaspal e/w

Any thoughts in the last? Im tempted by Pigeon Island...

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Mr November

Sam winner loves cheltenham and is a solid each way bet back on good ground... Lump it on! :D