Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Official Cavan GAA Discussion thread.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭Cavan_King

They still have the 2 points on the table...

Fixtures & Results - Cavan GAA

One of those may have been a blood sub.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,432 ✭✭✭celt262

Waiting game to see if there is any announcement i suppose. @Thunderbirds you hear it from a reliable source?

• Registered Users Posts: 498 ✭✭Thunderbirds

Knockbride used too many subs it turns out but Maghera didn't object.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭rrs

Maghera were beaten by 30 pts or something? And error from knockbride to use 6 subs, but would have been embarrassing for Maghera to get the 2 pass.

I was at the game. Good to see a crowd back in Breffni. Laragh were impressive and are well fit to mix it up. They had the right referee in James Clarke to allow them to do it too. Noel Mooney was even making faces as linesman when McKenna took the head off the Lavey back that pulled his jersey and Clarke didn't throw it up. McKenna & Paul Smith pulled the strings well and Paddy Rudden is a forward that you can put any sort of ball into and he'll make something of it.

To compete at senior, Lavey need all their big names playing well and that isn't happening. Conroy even off frees at the minute. Cusack on the bench injured and, by the time they got Gilcreest on, their one shining light Gerry Smith was gone off. They're in big trouble if he misses the rest of the championship. Tierney is off form too.

Change of goalkeeper or kick out strategy needed badly too. Bombing it down the middle repeatedly won't get you anywhere.

Wouldn't blame them if a replay was ordered they would only get another hammering which would be no good to anyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,249 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Getting hammerings doesn't seem to bother them every other week :)

When you see the crowd at Breffni last night and the quality of some of the games last night, there's what, 39 clubs now, you could amalgamate 9 or so and have a decent quality senior, junior and intermediate of ten teams.

The will isn't there for amalgamations unfortunately and clubs won't do it until they have no other option.

Meant to say the quality of some of the games last week. I agree totally with your point but there's little point in the likes of Maghera continuing when Munterconnaught are on their doorstep. Fair play to Corlough for eventually accepting the inevitable.

Corlough haven't really though they are still operating as a club but are just no fielding teams at Senior level and sending there players to swad. They still run a lotto and will accept your membership if you wish to join the club.

It's just a wait and see exercise before the inevitable happens.

I wonder does Keoghan regret going back for a second stint with Casterahan. They look a poor enough team now. Mullahoran were impressive in the first half. Cormac Reilly kicked some good scores, Enda Reilly was dangerous and Philip Brady. Mullahoran were wasteful in the second half, and had poor shot selection. They hung on for the win but a deserved win

Oisin Kiernan kicked some quality scores for Castlerahan but they were limited enough asides.

Wasn’t expecting that Castlerahan loss tonight. Damien Donohoe very biased in the commentary as per normal for one of his former teams. He couldn’t hide the delight and excitement in his voice and as for some me of the opinions - Killian Brady best tackler in the county and this the biggest shock of the championship!!!

From what I’ve heard, Keoghan had expected Pauric Lukie, Ronan Flanagan & Sean Brady to be coaxed out of retirement like they were last year but that didn’t happen.

He was also up to his old transfer tricks. Gerard O’Kane from Derry is moving to the BJD area as he married a girl from Lavey/Killinkere direction and Donal had been on the phone but was rebuffed. O’Kane is related to the Bradley’s and will only play for his own club.

Castlerahan have nothing coming up through the ranks either. They’re in minor level Division 4 when you’ve the likes of Knockbride competing in Division 1.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭baconsarnie

Conor Brady was hugely impressive for Gowna last night. Power, direct running and took his goal really well. The game was effectively over by the first water break.

Anyone at the Gaels Vs Lough game? It doesn't seem like it would be worth watching on deferred coverage. Barring shellackings for Lavey and Lacken lots of close games so far in the Senior championship, which is always a good sign. I know it is hard to even think of ruling Castlerahan out but they looked very poor on Friday night and seriously lacking in ideas when on the ball. Ballinagh showing that they are more than capable of competing with the best and they've had a tough draw so far. And yet another marginal loss for Killygarry but would anyone on here have any confidence in their ability to close out a tight game? I certainly wouldn't.

A very high score in the Junior Championship. Redhills 6-10 Kildallon 3-16.. Buterslbridge put up a big score against Killenkere in the Intermediate .

Conor Brady was very good for Gowna. A brilliant goal. He has a lot of talent , had a few bad injuries. Missed most of 2020 , returned against Dublin. Killygarry playing Mullahoran next Saturday night, which is a big game for them. Martin Reilly obviously is a big loss, but they have had lots of players who featured for Cavan at various levels..

Gerard O Kane lives beside the pitch in BJD so why wouldn't he contact him? Sure a neighbouring club contacted him too who are fond of a transfer also. A team in division 4 reflects on a team and not individual players.

O Kane still commutes back to play with his Club in Derry, Glenullin. That's some journey from Ballyjamesduff.

Big news for Cavan football on the back page of the Celt today as Dermot McCabe steps down from his role on the senior team. How much say will Mickey Graham get in choosing his replacement? If the board are backing Mickey Graham (and they should do, but not without some targets for 2022 to be met) they need to back him fully in this process.

If that's the way the club wants to move forward (Oisin Kiernan, Brian Ennis, a man from Derry that has no connection to the club) than you can see why they will make short term gains and not strive long term. What's it like for a young lad played 14 years with the club to try and break into the senior team and a player is parachuted in from another county with no connection to the club?

Castlerahan are a town team. They should be competing at a higher level underage than Division 4. Even the likes of Knockbride and Lavey, rural clubs, are managing to put teams on their own into Division 1 minor.

He's living in the community so don't see the big deal.

As I said, say that to the young lad who has played for the club for 14 years, or maybe more, and is bypassed so a blow in can play. Also say it to his family who have karted him to training and matches for all those years. Maybe that's why the club seem to have very little coming through - young U16s and minors saw their senior team with Brian Ennis and Oisin Kiernan getting in ahead of their mates and decided it best to give up then.

I'm sure if he wanted to find a club, and the pitch is beside his house as you say, he'd make contact himself.

I always laugh that the likes of the Gaels received alot of criticism in the noughties that their players wouldn't play for the county and thought they were too good for it, as well as getting criticism about the numbers of transfers in. The same seems to apply to Castlerahan now and they don't get the same bad press.

Brilliant news. That's a very positive change from what I've heard of the way things are in there. You're right, the County Board need to back him fully now and let him chose his own team. We need to start in January and get back up to at least Division 3 quickly.

Graham might have targets but will they be willing to work with a team in Division 4? Some might , either way he'll have to get promotion. Cavan are the only County from Ulster in Divison 4 so will be going into the championship from a low base.

Gearoid McKiernan will be 32 next year. He might play another couple of years but its unlikely he'll get to play in Division 1 again.

McCabe stepping back to step back in whenever Graham goes.

Promotion is a must. This crap of not rating the League can't continue and I'd hope that we will get proven club players being brought up to the panel; not young lads that haven't even earned the right to be on the panel at club level yet.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭tanko

Who are the well proven club players who will improve the team?

With the usual caveat of they may well have been asked and refused to come in for whatever reason, surely James Brady (Ramor), Paul Smith (Laragh), Jack McKenna (Laragh), Niall McDermott (Ballinagh), David Brady (Ballyhaise) are worth a look (just off the top of my head). We definitely need to bring in a few forwards- that was clear over the last few years by bringing in Doughty, Pierson, Cormac Reilly, Oisin Brady, Lynch and Mc Govern in. We also need to give some of these lads time to develop and get up to speed but sadly the pressure is on in the league now to perform and get results which isn't always ideal for blooding a load of new players.

Genuine question, where would that leave his paid role? Surely he couldn't do both?