Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,955 ✭✭✭threeball

He was injured for the Sligo match anyway (hamstring I heard). I dont know if he is fit for Sunday. However, if I was KW, I think I'd have gone with Flynn. He must be in good form in training - it is the only explanation for why he was picked v Mayo as he had a very indifferent league. He was ok v Mayo but he was superb when he came back on. Then, he followed that up with a very dominant display. He is more mobile than Duggan too. I like Duggan a lot but I can see why KW is going for Flynn here (assuming both are fit). Despite his flaws, Conroy remains our best midfielder. And Cooke hasnt done enough this year to be starting.

I think v Sligo, the Sligo goal came from very poor defending despite their being numbers back. Wynne got caught between 2 players without covering any which led to the goal. He does have pace though so I suspect that is why KW likes to play him.

If McHugh isn't going well you'd imagine Cooke would be a good option instead. He can kick placed balls and would be very dangerous to let drift in around the square with Burke and Comer feeding off him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

threeball wrote: »
    If McHugh isn't going well you'd imagine Cooke would be a good option instead. He can kick placed balls and would be very dangerous to let drift in around the square with Burke and Comer feeding off him.

Good options on the bench in fairness - Armstrong, Daly, Cooke, Duggan (if fit). Duane & O'Donnell are decent lads to come on in case of a black card. Can't see Cooke being deployed in the position you said, not this year anyway. He spent many of the league matches sitting back in defence rather than driving forward

Which is a pity as he was very offensive in the u21 campaign 2yrs ago. He can score and offers a great option if you need a boost up front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭rgace

Shane Walsh stood up and performed today in a game where he was really needed.

The experience of the super8's should bring this team on a lot for the future I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Shane Walsh was outstanding today. Kept us alive first half and drove us on like a proper leader.

Tom Flynn was really good in a packed midfield.

Kelly, Bradshaw and Sweeney in the 2nd were very good too.

Army off the bench made a huge difference too.

Was around some absolutely ignorant Rossies (there's plenty of sound ones too don't get me wrong) and they got what they deserved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭mjp

We got very lucky to come out with a win. Worrying part was that when things weren't going our way in first half there was no attempt to change tactics or even a player to put in a hit on a Roscommon man which could have given the team some sort of impetus. Poor in all that Roscommon were in 2nd half already they were getting tackles in and getting turnovers.

Our half forward line were non existent in 1st half and lacked strength and physicality. Mc Hugh looked lost at 11 and expect Armstrong to replace him for next day out which I'll likely be Kerry in croker.

Brannigan was very poor in first half and took on some wayward shots but like Heaney they are both players that are suited to playing against the wind and using their speed and fitness in carrying ball. That's why I think Walsh persisted with them when others might have taken them off at half time.

The ultimate game of two halves. Completely inept first half and very good second half. Actually got better the more it went on.
    I really hope the management can finally see that playing with 12 back is pointless and counter productive. None of the other teams play with more than 4 forwards up anyway.

Horrible game of football but after last years pathetic capitulation this group just had to win today by hook or by crook.

Defensively in the first half it just didn't work. We stood off and marked space and Roscommon worked it through the lines. Roscommons forwards were hyped up all week but they blew the game with their shooting. I was happy to go in only 3 down after that display.

2nd half for me the turning point was Sean Andy saying f**k this let's take the game to them driving forward and winning a free. After that we had the momentum and really should never have given them the lifeline of the penalty.

In fairness we steadied the ship again and we were going away at the end. The bench is a positive this year and has made an impact on both big matches to date.

In terms of any future progress lots of players will need to step it up. Heaney, Brannigan, Kelly and even Comer amongst others didn't do enough. McHugh was there for frees but didn't make any impact.

Super 8s is where everyone wants to be so objective 1 achieved but lots to be done while we wait for the qualifiers to play out. The freshness of coming through the front door should hopefully benefit Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭crusier

mjp wrote:
    Brannigan was very poor in first half and took on some wayward shots but like Heaney they are both players that are suited to playing against the wind and using their speed and fitness in carrying ball. That's why I think Walsh persisted with them when others might have taken them off at half time.

mjp wrote:
    Our half forward line were non existent in 1st half and lacked strength and physicality. Mc Hugh looked lost at 11 and expect Armstrong to replace him for next day out which I'll likely be Kerry in croker.

mjp wrote:
    We got very lucky to come out with a win. Worrying part was that when things weren't going our way in first half there was no attempt to change tactics or even a player to put in a hit on a Roscommon man which could have given the team some sort of impetus. Poor in all that Roscommon were in 2nd half already they were getting tackles in and getting turnovers.

In fairness the made the changes in the second half and won the game, credit where it's due!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,838 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Galway played about 8 to 10 minutes of quality football today and apart from that they were fcukin cat melodeon.
    First half with a strong wind lavelle should have been bombing big kick outs out onto flynn.mark the man and play fast football and not that everyone behind the ball boll1x.its an insult to Galway football to entertain that tactical sh1te.
    If that Galway team are let play ball they will.i can’t bear some of lavelles kick outs.why can’t he put them long and as for the Schmeichel attacks coming out the field they produce the sweet sum of fcuk all.
    Fair play for grinding it out and getting a result but they need to focus on football and not this new found love of the northern vomit ball.

Galway played about 8 to 10 minutes of quality football today and apart from that they were fcukin cat melodeon. First half with a strong wind lavelle should have been bombing big kick outs out onto flynn.mark the man and play fast football and not that everyone behind the ball boll1x.its an insult to Galway football to entertain that tactical sh1te. If that Galway team are let play ball they will.i can’t bear some of lavelles kick outs.why can’t he put them long and as for the Schmeichel attacks coming out the field they produce the sweet sum of fcuk all. Fair play for grinding it out and getting a result but they need to focus on football and not this new found love of the northern vomit ball.

I hear u Joe and you don't like Paddy Tally either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,928 ✭✭✭BENDYBINN

Well done Galway! Connacht champions
    Great to see the smug smile wiped off Mcstays face at the end!
    Gailimh abu!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,689 ✭✭✭testtech05

Galway played about 8 to 10 minutes of quality football today and apart from that they were fcukin cat melodeon.
    First half with a strong wind lavelle should have been bombing big kick outs out onto flynn.mark the man and play fast football and not that everyone behind the ball boll1x.its an insult to Galway football to entertain that tactical sh1te.
    If that Galway team are let play ball they will.i can’t bear some of lavelles kick outs.why can’t he put them long and as for the Schmeichel attacks coming out the field they produce the sweet sum of fcuk all.
    Fair play for grinding it out and getting a result but they need to focus on football and not this new found love of the northern vomit ball.

I actually thought Lavelles kick outs today were pretty good often found men in space and hit long when had to but not aimlessly. I think there was one in the first half he miscued out over the sideline but overall they were decent.

When he did hit it long in the first half breaks were often being won by Ros so I think he had to keep some shorter ones to get some possession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,726 ✭✭✭Robson99

Gave a piss poor Roscommon team far too much respect. We have to have more balls and push onto teams from the word go.
    Thought Kerin coming on steadied us at a critical time.
    Also Walsh and Flynn outstanding

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭LoveMeSexy

testtech05 wrote: »
    I actually thought Lavelles kick outs today were pretty good often found men in space and hit long when had to but not aimlessly. I think there was one in the first half he miscued out over the sideline but overall they were decent.

When he did hit it long in the first half breaks were often being won by Ros so I think he had to keep some shorter ones to get some possession.

I agree, not sure what the problem is he found the open man more often than not and dealt with any long ball in adequately, can't fault him for the goals. Anyway thought the second half was overall good but plenty of improvement to be made. Shane Walsh and Ian Burke were the standouts, but also credit to Tom Flynn dominated midfield in the second half. Fair play to all involved, should be very competitive in super 8's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Kerin is top class. Has come on leaps and bounds. Tom Flynn another one who has really kicked on the past few games. Roscommon were specifically blocking and checking him from kick outs to prevent him from leaping. Shows how much respect they must have to shower that much attention on him. Really hope this is the game to kick Walsh on to becoming the really top quality forward his talent so clearly indicates he should be. He really was immense

Hulk Hands wrote: »
    Kerin is top class. Has come on leaps and bounds. Tom Flynn another one who has really kicked on the past few games. Roscommon were specifically blocking and checking him from kick outs to prevent him from leaping. Shows how much respect they must have to shower that much attention on him. Really hope this is the game to kick Walsh on to becoming the really top quality forward his talent so clearly indicates he should be. He really was immense

You could see he was chuffed with the MOTM award. That will do wonders for his confidence and he should flourish from here. The stage is set for him.

The difference between our first and second half display was as stark as night and day. If we produce the overly cautious muck against any of the top four we'll suffer the consequences. If we swing the emphasis even 20% more towards offence we'll go toe to toe with anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,892 ✭✭✭Redo91

How exactly do the super 8s work? Am I right in saying we are in the pool with the Munster champs and are avoiding Dublin? Are all games in Croke Park?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭SecretsOfEarth

Redo91 wrote: »
    How exactly do the super 8s work? Am I right in saying we are in the pool with the Munster champs and are avoiding Dublin? Are all games in Croke Park?

Groups are:

Group 1: Munster winners, Connacht winners, Leinster runner-up (or qualifier who beats them in Rd. 4), Ulster runner-up (or qualifier who beats them in Rd. 4)

Group 2: Leinster winners, Ulster winners, Munster runner-up (or qualifier who beats them in Rd. 4)

Regarding fixtures, the first set will be played in Croke Park where the two provincial champions will play each other e.g. if the group was Kerry, Galway, Mayo and Fermanagh, Kerry v Galway and Mayo v Fermanagh would be in Croke Park.

Galway would then have a game at home against either Mayo or Fermanagh and a game away to either Mayo or Fermanagh.

It's easier to sort it out through this http://www.gaa.ie/wallchart/football/2018

According to this, if Fermanagh and Mayo were to progress to the Group (Fermanagh winning their Rd. 4 game and Mayo drawing and beating Leinster runner-up) then Galway would be away to Fermanagh in Rd. 2 and home to Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

It may seem harsh but I still think this team is being held back by poor management. KW and his management team can feel vindicated because we won but Galway only came into the game when they started to play a bit of football and abandoned the poison that we had to endure for the first 35 mins.

If not for Shane Walsh we'd have been in big trouble today. Thomas Flynn was excellent aswell. Well done to two players that had come in for a lot of criticism.

But that first 35 minutes today was a disgrace, and it's not the players fault, the game was won despite management and not because of them. I'd give the players 10/10 for the way they battled back in the last 20-25 mins, and management 0/10 for a shambolic and utterly illogical tactical approach. We got away with it today because Roscommon didn't bring their shooting boots but this is a disaster waiting to happen.

On a positive note the subs made an impact again when introduced, Armstrong was good as were Varley and Duggan. Varley always seems to do well when brought on and for me he is a better player than McHugh. When the freetaking goes amiss as it did today McHugh becomes a bit of a liability because he doesn't do a whole lot in general play.

Armstrong is also a much better player and between himself and Walsh they will kick most of the frees that McHugh scores, so I wouldn't be surprised to see McHugh dropped the next day.

not meaning to have a go at McHugh who is a good lad and gives 100% but I just think he is an example of a really good club player who isn't quite top level county standard even though his freetaking is normally top class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,687 ✭✭✭elefant

aidan24326 wrote: »
    It may seem harsh but I still think this team is being held back by poor management. KW and his management team can feel vindicated because we won but Galway only came into the game when they started to play a bit of football and abandoned the poison that we had to endure for the first 35 mins. .

You're right, that is harsh.

KW wasn't the one making basic handling errors and kicking balls over the endlines yesterday.

The way Galway play has its critics, but we've seen the results of it in every single game we've played this year, bar the league final. We've scored 5-42 in 3 championship games. If only the management would stop holding them back we'd... continue winning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

aidan24326 wrote: »
    It may seem harsh but I still think this team is being held back by poor management. KW and his management team can feel vindicated because we won but Galway only came into the game when they started to play a bit of football and abandoned the poison that we had to endure for the first 35 mins.

If not for Shane Walsh we'd have been in big trouble today. Thomas Flynn was excellent aswell. Well done to two players that had come in for a lot of criticism.

But that first 35 minutes today was a disgrace, and it's not the players fault, the game was won despite management and not because of them. I'd give the players 10/10 for the way they battled back in the last 20-25 mins, and management 0/10 for a shambolic and utterly illogical tactical approach. We got away with it today because Roscommon didn't bring their shooting boots but this is a disaster waiting to happen.

I think you have a point re KW.

Galway were embarrassed by Kerry in the QF last year.
    They had none of the physical intensity or game intelegence that is required at that level.

So Walsh decided to change things and go for a ridgid defensive system, that has worked thus far as they are Connacht championship and league finalists.

But I think Galway have the ability to be far more complex as a team, they can mix it and be less one dimensional, however I don't think Walsh has the ability to come up with such a system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭briandebum

I wouldn't consider myself a fan of Kevin Walsh at all and god knows the first half was absolute muck from Galway. However after yesterday I've been trying to look at the silver linings of his tenure.

It's fair to say Galway were looked at as being soft touches prior to him taking over, therefore it's actually quite logical that he would firstly look to toughen up the defense. The fact that Mayo are the biggest obstacle to overcome for us in the Championship and they struggle horribly against the blanket could also have been a factor.

Now we've all watched some absolute puke football from this team over the last few years (Tipp in Croker being my personal lowlight) but you can't deny Walsh has taken us leaps and bounds from where we were when he took over, all the while continually introducing young blood as well.

Then there's the biggest silver lining from the match yesterday, there was a definite shift in tactics to push up on Roscommon in the second half. This gives me a bit of hope that the game plan is evolving beyond the blanket.
    All of the top teams are able to shift tactics based on the situation (So called purveyors of the beautiful game Kerry & Dublin will drop behind the ball when there's a need) and it wasn't just the players deciding to push up, it had to have come from the management at half time.

So there are signs of a developing gameplan, and every year there's been undeniable progress from this team. The hope would have to be that Walsh will take stock of our success when we do push up and it will become our default strategy, with the blanket only being brought out in case of emergencies.

Maybe Walsh won't take us all the way to the promised land but in any case he may deserve the benefit of the doubt for the work he's done so far.

In fairness fr Tom you hate Galway and you hope they don't come up with a system. The reality is they are adapting and do appear to have more than one plan. This team can win an all ireland, it needs just a few players to come on a bit and the panel is there to do it. Mayo are good at beating ****e teams in the back door and getting all excited. No matter how far they go they don't have the forwards and won't get over the finishing line!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭GS11

Why did we wait until the 2nd half to move onto plan B or C, the 1st half was brutal yet we continued the same stupid system, I could understand it if we were against the wind, sit back etc.

Lavelle's kick outs are much improved but I thought he was very poor for the 1st goal, didn't get the angle right at all.

Walsh, Burke, Armstrong and Comer in the end were great, the difference was we have forwards that can put the ball over the bar. Well done Flynn, not his biggest fan but he was excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

crusier wrote: »
    Mayo are good at beating ****e teams in the back door and getting all excited. No matter how far they go they don't have the forwards and won't get over the finishing line!

Well Mayo beat Kerry last year who beat Galway pulling up. They've been a kick of the ball away from Dublin a few times

It does sound strange to say, but even after winning a 2nd Connacht title, I still think Galway are being seriously held back by the management. With more adventure I could see them being definite contenders

As it is, if they continue to set up like yesterday Kerry and Dublin will likely pick them off easy enough, and Tyrone, Monaghan and Donegal would never be as lacklustre as Roscommon in front of goal

I'd fully expect mayo to be a different proposition in CP, but they would struggle with Galway's defensive system again. But it's no good just setting up to pick up wins against your rivals

All that said, it's a results business, it has been every team's ambition to get into the super 8's so Galway have ticked that box off now and who knows what will transpire from here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,014 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

Yeah because Kyne, Sweeney, Bradshaw, O'Donnell and Flynn are really top notch players 😂😂😂

This backfired on ya fairly spectacularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭MattressRick

Was sure at half time Galways goose was cooked and Roscommon would go on to win pulling up like last year. Delighted at least to see Galway winning ball in midfield and kickouts working out.
    Roscommon did kick it away though so Galway really need to stop letting teams come untouched up to the 45 yard line. It's just inviting trouble and they'll be crucified against Kerry for it. Fine sitting back defending, just get the hand in and push up a small bit.
    All in all great to grind it out when some of the forwards had an off day.