Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway GAA discussion thread

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭from_atozinc

What evenings and times do the Galway senior hurling team train in Athenry ?

I've never seen a more comical hammering before.

Tipp got three of the worst goals you'd see while Galway butchered a few chances with errand last passes, including directly before the third goal.

Added to that Galway have had 8/9 wides including 5/6 while sitting on a point.

Need to abandon the sweeper and bring Sammon on at FF.

Cant fathom why that wasn't done when going 8 down as the Tipp sweeper is helping them massively on puck outs.

And another dreadful goal.... My god, an 11 point lead and in no way dominant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,037 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

hi guys, can someone answer me a question. I have read somewhere that Cyrill Farrell (and Justin McCarthy) came on as subs in the 1985 All Ireland semi final. This was the match played in treachorous conditions that reulted in only 8000 making the match.

Is this just a fictional legend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Robson99

hi guys, can someone answer me a question. I have read somewhere that Cyrill Farrell (and Justin McCarthy) came on as subs in the 1985 All Ireland semi final. This was the match played in treachorous conditions that reulted in only 8000 making the match.

Is this just a fictional legend?

Fiction

Robson99 wrote: »
    Fiction

ha, ok! I read it before but I was reassured it was fiction! Doesn't seem all that implausible however that Farrell may of been forced to throw on a jersey to make up the numbers after a few injuries. He was only 35! And McCarthy was still playing club hurling until 1991!

Seemed like a strange piece of fiction!!

Thanks, just needed clarification! A few KK boys giving me hassle for bringing it up! ;)

ha, ok! I read it before but I was reassured it was fiction! Doesn't seem all that implausible however that Farrell may of been forced to throw on a jersey to make up the numbers after a few injuries. He was only 35! And McCarthy was still playing club hurling until 1991!

Seemed like a strange piece of fiction!!

Thanks, just needed clarification! A few KK boys giving me hassle for bringing it up! ;)

Them lads would fight with their toe nails!!!!.
    Dont think Farrell ever played hurling fir Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭dirtyden

A quick Google suggests both managers brought themselves on as subs. I can't find a decent match report though.

oh, no he didnt but it doesn't seem implausible that at 35 he may have been forced to throw himself on to make up numbers if a few injuries happened. Sure half the players may not have made the match with the weather that day :D

thanks, good luck today, hopefully you can defend better than the minors in the full back line!

oh, no he didnt but it doesn't seem implausible that at 35 he may have been forced to throw himself on to make up numbers if a few injuries happened. Sure half the players may not have made the match with the weather that day :D

thanks, good luck today, hopefully you can defend better than the minors in the full back line!

Just dont think we gave improved from last year where I think Tipp have. Could see Tipp beating KK in the final where's we wouldnt

We were in hard luck. Loss of canning didn't help.

Cathal Mannion should have been taken off way sooner. He should have taken his point around the 62nd minute.

Same old story.... What was Mannion at for the second goal. Lets Callanan leak out the back ball watching.

Cathal as said, should have went far earlier, was a passenger the entire game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭Offaly Exile

It's not easy when you lose a tight game.

Unfortunately the post-Kilkenny era that many of us have been looking forward to seems to be a while away yet judging from last night. And I mean no slight on Kilkenny by the way, or 'the empire' as Derek McGrath called them after the game.

However it's important that ye keep plugging away as Waterford also need to do, for the sake of the game of hurling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Joe canning going off injured was the only difference today thems is the breaks as much as it kills me to say it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Moo Moo Land

Tipp were the better hurlers. The backs did their best to hold them at bay but the half forward line let us down.

Tipp well beat KK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,029 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Tipp were the better hurlers. The backs did their best to hold them at bay but the half forward line let us down.

Tipp well beat KK.

Actually felt we were slightly the better side in general play. Tipp survived on frees for long spells and they only scored twice during the last 17 minutes of the game. Unfortunately for Galway it was two goals. Nothing between these two sides as the last two meetings have shown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Tipp well beat KK.

Bs we have the beating of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

I see a lot of comments on twitter along the lines of:

"At least Anthony Cunningham got Galway to an All Ireland final, they have regressed"

"Who are the players going to blame now?"

"Galway really need to get rid of AC, oh wait"

etc..!

I didn't realise another player along with Joe had been injured. If those two injuries didn't happen we could well have took it to a replay at least. I think Joe had a few scores left in him at the time he was injured. A shame, sports is cruel :/

Tipp well beat KK.

Thanks for this information.

I have just put 1000 Euro on Tipp to win final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Actually felt we were slightly the better side in general play. Tipp survived on frees for long spells and they only scored twice during the last 17 minutes of the game. Unfortunately for Galway it was two goals. Nothing between these two sides as the last two meetings have shown.

I think Galway were the better team too. Unlucky to lose, imo. Thought Tipp looked pretty average for most of the match. Slightly better decision making at a couple of different moments and no injury to Joe Canning and things might have been different for Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

I'm a tipp fan and thought ye were better in general play. Your backs as a unit were good. Always baffled how Galway always up the level playing us compared to other counties. Some battle, relieved we won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭letsseehere14

I think Galway did have a very good display. More physical and bigger side than Tipp. Had Tipps half forward line in all sorts of trouble in the 1st half. Seemed to be winning every 50/50. But it also has to be noted both Galway goals came off bad Tipp mistakes. From the tipp player taking 3 goes and failing to rise it in the the first half and the misplace hand passed for the second goal. All in all I don't think there can be too much complaints on coming up so short after a good performance like that. 2 years now and we seem to have 4 top teams with consistency. Clare and Limerick need to step up now and we'll have a serious championship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭Lollipop95

Considering some of our forwards (mostly Cathal Mannion and Jason Flynn, though to be JF did get some great points but he was brilliant last year and it probably just wasn't Cathal Mannion's day) weren't in firing form as usual, I think only losing by a point was 'good' (for want of a better word!)

I reckon for next year if the forwards can hit the heights of 2015 once again then we can take Tipp and meet Kilkenny in the final..though if Waterford improve, it would be great to meet them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭MfMan

digzy wrote: »
    I'm a tipp fan and thought ye were better in general play. Your backs as a unit were good. Always baffled how Galway always up the level playing us compared to other counties. Some battle, relieved we won.

No great mystery. Think it's down to both team's approach to playing the game where each are I think content to play mostly orthodox and see where it takes them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭T0001

Where Galway lost it:

1) The Galway players take too much out the ball. Opting to run from midfield, then stay going when put under pressure instead of hand passing to the runner. There was at least 4 times today that happened.

2) The short puck out in the first half to the 'corner back' that was overcarried and was converted.

3) Backs not looking up when clearing and regularly hit it on to of the spare man in the Tipp defense.

Otherwise it was a solid performance, and one they can be proud of. Hard one to take but they kept fighting til the end and in general I thought they were the better team. They made Tipp look very ordinary at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,592 ✭✭✭MfMan

Should have left Coen midfield and Donnellan on the bench.

T0001 wrote: »
    Where Galway lost it:

3) Backs not looking up when clearing and regularly hit it on to of the spare man in the Tipp defense.

This was a real killer in the second half. Started playing with a sweeper in the second half and had silly clearances which led to Tipp scores. Should have stayed man for man.
    Have we learned anything or progressed since last year??? NO same style same faces same old storey

MfMan wrote: »

Donnellan has good heart. But lord, how many bloody times in a game does he fall.

It seems every time he gets the ball that he falls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,888 ✭✭✭threeball

Thought today's game was poor enough myself. Poor first touch, dropping balls left and right, not raising the ball first time. Way below the level of both games of the other semi. Tipp helped over the line by really basic mistakes by Galway. Carrying ball into contact having already taken their first touch to hand, winding up shots when it was clear they would be hooked, trying to strike the ball out of a crowd.
    Tipp on this form won't get next nor near kk. They'll need a huge improvement to even challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,643 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

MfMan wrote: »

+1000 I was saying it to myself when I seen him coming on that there must be a better option to bring off the bench in Galway. I don't like to be too hard on players but he adds nothing only awkwardness.