If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

anyone see any cull fr cows in the mart recently, bringing 2 on tuesday. whats the price like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

sold a fresh calved heifer in the mart today- she was the first milking daughter from a bull we got into ai( ftv not Flt )

she made 2100 and is an easy VG heifer-
    002bst.jpg
    By stanflt at 2012-03-22
    004tak.jpg
    By stanflt at 2012-03-22
    not enough credit is given to irish bulls especially from the ihfa- how can so many irish bulls have so poor linear scores yet their progeny consistanly classify well-rant over

a happy day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

whelan1 wrote: »
    anyone see any cull fr cows in the mart recently, bringing 2 on tuesday. whats the price like

cows were making 700-1380 in carnaross on monday

600kg were avg 950

stanflt wrote: »
    cows were making 700-1380 in carnaross on monday

600kg were avg 950
    good job, need them to pay for my holidays next week!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

good job, need them to pay for my holidays next week!:)

Anywhere exotic?

Bizzum wrote: »
    Anywhere exotic?
    same as last year benalmadena, in spain sunset beach club :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

same as last year benalmadena, in spain sunset beach club :)

Enjoy yourself. I'm off the following week, though not just as exotic! Limerick. Hope the weather stays like this week.

kids where checking weather for next week 21 degrees for the day we arrive, which is managable for the kids (and me!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

The uncle brought his Charolais bull to ennis today. He was 1100kg, couldnt fit up any of the chutes so they let him in through the sheep pens. Unsold at €2200, said he wants €2500 for him!!

Any pics?? ;) How old is he? Fair play to him for holding out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

Heard of a lad getting 1560 for a 720 empty suckler last week.
    we sold 7 weanlins today aug 11, between 240-330kg went between 580-620 along with their weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Most folks with any sense are at the moment being priced out of stock in the ring... 300kg weanlings making €3.5 >€3.7 a kg.. Lads are buying them to run to grass for the summer, some I know of with borrowed money and rented land which I presume is common..
    Can anyone enlighten me as to where the profit in these animals is going to be??
    There seems to be no end to the money to buy them, I just can't see where it's going..

My BIL had a cow lost a calf and bought a €550 suck to run on her. Now I know lads like to keep numbers up but it just didn't make financial sense to me... That suck has essentially cost €1000 at 4 weeks old.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Is it true that banks are throwing monay at people to buy stock? Heard that guy on The Saturday Show last week say that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 32,286 Mod ✭✭✭✭The_Conductor

pakalasa wrote: »
    Is it true that banks are throwing monay at people to buy stock? Heard that guy on The Saturday Show last week say that.

No idea- but the prices marts are paying at the moment are a very very welcome change from the past few years...........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Muckit wrote: »
    Any pics?? ;) How old is he? Fair play to him for holding out

Think hes a 6 year old muckit. Dont have any but if I am down at his place over the next few days I will get one.

pakalasa wrote: »

My sister works in the AIB in Meath and said that they are just throwing money out to farmers for anything, dairy expansion is drawing huge loans with what I could tell were business plans showing milk at 30c and above for the foreseeable future!
    Business in stocking loans is also being pushed hard and is way up on previous years.
    It's allot of borrowed money at a time when prices are very high, very risky business. I know there is an argument that when your in the business full time what else can you do, however many seem to be exercising little caution. It's as if the building boom has already been forgotten!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Best to be squeezing out the best deals you can with your own money! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

bbam wrote: »
    My sister works in the AIB in Meath and said that they are just throwing money out to farmers for anything, dairy expansion is drawing huge loans with what I could tell were business plans showing milk at 30c and above for the foreseeable future!
    Business in stocking loans is also being pushed hard and is way up on previous years.
    It's allot of borrowed money at a time when prices are very high, very risky business. I know there is an argument that when your in the business full time what else can you do, however many seem to be exercising little caution. It's as if the building boom has already been forgotten!!

Someone is going to lose somewhere. If there is one rule about price rises, its that everyone can't win. The more its artifically pumped, the bigger the fall in the end.

reilig wrote: »
    Someone is going to lose somewhere. If there is one rule about price rises, its that everyone can't win. The more its artifically pumped, the bigger the fall in the end.

The shamful thing is that their "sales" targets are just as aggressive as during the boom, it's just that they are being directed to chase the business from farming rather than building. Things just don't change in this country.

We were hoping to buy another few heifers to summer graze but I just can't justify the spend. Rather well spend less on fertiliser and try to increase the margins on our existing stock to compensate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,038 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

reilig wrote: »

Theres an old saying that states "If there's anything we have learned from history, its that we've learn't nothing from history" - which I think just about sums up the Goldfish like memory of a signficant number of people in this country when it comes to such issues:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

bbam wrote: »
    It's as if the building boom has already been forgotten!!

And sure why not, didn't Brian Lenihan guarantee that no bank in this country would ever pay for it's bad business.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭roran

Birdnuts wrote: »
    Theres an old saying that states "If there's anything we have learned from history, its that we've learn't nothing from history" - which I think just about sums up the Goldfish like memory of a signficant number of people in this country when it comes to such issues:(

Yabadabadoooo....Spend! Spend! Spend! ...now where's me lotus??? :pac::pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

While we are on the subject of banks.........:D

AND THEY WONDER WHY THE COUNTRY IS BANKRUPT????

> Subject: Fw: Barclays Bank - This is true
    >
    >
    > You will all love this, the brains behind the service centres
    >
    > Note to self: 'Cancel credit cards prior to death!
    >
    > Be sure and cancel your credit cards before you die!
    > This is so priceless and so easy to see happening - customer service,
    > being what it is today!
    >
    > A lady died this past January, and Barclays Bank billed her for February and
    > March for their annual service charges on her credit card, and
    > Then added late fees and interest on the monthly charge. The balance had
    > Been £0.00, now is somewhere around £60.00.
    >
    > A family member placed a call to Barclays Bank:
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'I am calling to tell you that she died in January.'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'The account was never closed and the late fees and charges still apply.'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'Maybe, you should turn it over to collections.'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'Since it is two months past due, it already has been..'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > So, what will they do when they find out she is dead?'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'Either report her account to the frauds division or report her to
    > the credit bureau, maybe both!'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'Do you think God will be mad at her?'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'Excuse me?'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'Did you just get what I was telling you . . . The part about her
    > being dead?'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'Sir, you'll have to speak to my supervisor.'
    >
    > Supervisor gets on the phone:
    > Family Member:
    > 'I'm calling to tell you, she died in January.'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'The account was never closed and the late fees and charges still apply.'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'You mean you want to collect from her estate?'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > (Stammer) 'Are you her lawyer?'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'No, I'm her great nephew.'
    > (Lawyer info given)
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'Could you fax us a certificate of death?'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'Sure.'
    > ( fax number is given )
    >
    > After they get the fax:
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'Our system just isn't set up for death. I don't know what more I
    > can do to help.'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'Well, if you figure it out, great! If not, you could just keep billing
    > her. I don't think she will care.'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'Well, the late fees and charges do still apply.'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'Would you like her new billing address?'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'That might help.'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > ' Finchley Memorial Cemetery , Great North Road, Finchley, London Plot Number
    > 1049.'
    >
    > Barclays:
    > 'Sir, that's a cemetery!'
    >
    > Family Member:
    > 'Well, what the **** do you do with dead people on your planet?'.............

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭C0N0R

400 Cows milked and in for the breakfast at quarter to eight, only problem is i have to go and feed them now! In real good form today, you honestly can't beat this farming craic.

On another note, what percentage will a bank lend for purchasing stock??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Another new arrival just in, lovely wee blue off a full sister to the one that was sectioned. Same bull too! Calves are so similar!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭limo_100

Karen112 wrote: »
    Another new arrival just in, lovely wee blue off a full sister to the one that was sectioned. Same bull too! Calves are so similar!

which bull are you using karen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Upstream

got the last oocide disenfectant buckets that my vet had today, its off the market:mad: only thing for disenfecting and killing the crypto bacteria in a shed

Hi Whelan,
    I think I read somewhere that steam cleaners can kill these spores. I'm not completely sure about this but it would be good if it was true as I'd say those disinfectants weren't taken off the market for no reason.
    Have you ever heard if steam cleaners are up to the job?

Upstream wrote: »
    Hi Whelan,
    I think I read somewhere that steam cleaners can kill these spores. I'm not completely sure about this but it would be good if it was true as I'd say those disinfectants weren't taken off the market for no reason.
    ye, will have to do more research in to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭dar31

Upstream wrote: »
    got the last oocide disenfectant buckets that my vet had today, its off the market:mad: only thing for disenfecting and killing the crypto bacteria in a shed

Hi Whelan,

Steam cleaners will only help with hygiene around crypto but won't kill off the spores

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

ye, will have to do more research in to it

Was talking to the oul lad about this , and he was saying formalin (formaldehyde) sprayed in a knapsack can also kill it... I dunno what sort of mixture to water , if any, is required.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Went to look at a 5 year old limo bull yesterday. Man was selling him because he has heifers kept out of him. He was bringing him to the mart today so went down to the mart with the auld lad and said we'd have a stab at him. Thought he would be bought for a bit less than 2k. The auld lad went to €2450 on him :eek: Just as well he didnt get him!! You'd get a lovely young bull for that many bucks!!