If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

stanflt wrote: »
    i have a cow down with milk fever since sunday morning. i have tried everything. shes getting 4bottles a day into the vein (plus more under skin on sunday), ive given her 20cc phosporus yesterday and today and i gave her a bottle of mag yesterday. she is eating and drinking and has passed her cleanings. she is getting chanadol twice daily with 40lt water and ive given her pen strep for a temp.

now how long have you seen a cow down before she gets up. dont want to lose this cow as she was an ex90 oman as a 3year old

If she's inside she could be down for up to 3 weeks. Its not milk fever, it's paralysis, get her out the field and she'l get up herself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

whelan1 wrote: »
    even cheaper if you use prosolven (sp) instead of estrumate:)

Whelan1, Whats the story with Estrumate or Prosolven? Does it have any impact on the animal?

I have a pedigree heifer that I just can't get in heat. Its time for her to get a straw. Would this work for her?

Do you get it from your vet? Is it prescription only?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

leg wax wrote: »
    just back from loading cows with heifer calves and bringing then over the road to 25 acres, on my last load got back to field with calves to find the cow that i had at ploughing dead in middle of the field.:mad::(:eek:

oh balls, sorry to hear that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

just do it wrote: »
    They're an aid alright, but I'd say the more you can observe them the better. I used them but not with great success. I've a vasectomised bill now and he's a far better job. I don't have the time to watch them closely enough.

Best of luck!

Poor old Bill. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Karen112 wrote: »

Poor old Bill. ;)
    That's too good a mistake to correct!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Just got a letter out in the post telling us our herd is restricted. Said we bought a cow that hadn't been blood tested, I checked the card and she was moved on the 59th day of test, rang the man we bought the cow off and he got a letter threatening to suspend his sfp. Can't figure out how this came about because everything had been done above board :mad:

But was that the day she was moved onto the farm or was it the day the movement went through? Private sales can take a while to be processed and even in marts the AIM may not be closed for a couple of days.
    The auld lad went to meet your man and turns out the movement date he had put on the back of the card was different to the one on the permit and she was moved on the 61st day, why he didn't do the paperwork in time I don't know because we bought the cow off him before she was tested and he spent years dealing in cattle, hopefully it can be sorted tho because it's a balls putting heavy incalf cows up a crush.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

just back from loading cows with heifer calves and bringing then over the road to 25 acres, on my last load got back to field with calves to find the cow that i had at ploughing dead in middle of the field.:mad::(:eek:

What a balls. Have you any suspicion as to what it was? What age is the calf on her?

:eek: Sorry to heat that legwax, will you have a PM done on her?
    The auld lad went to meet your man and turns out the movement date he had put on the back of the card was different to the one on the permit and she was moved on the 61st day, why he didn't do the paperwork in time I don't know because we bought the cow off him before she was tested and he spent years dealing in cattle, hopefully it can be sorted tho because it's a balls putting heavy incalf cows up a crush.

Well that's a tad annoying for ye isn't it:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Muckit wrote: »
    What a balls. Have you any suspicion as to what it was? What age is the calf on her?
    dont have a clue ,i presume heart attack,july calf i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

:eek: Sorry to heat that legwax, will you have a PM done on her? no shes gone,i dont see the point as she was perfect at loading and when been brought into pen to load.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

all the more reason to get a pm done. especially as she was a real good cow, at least you would have a reason, even just ask the knackery lads to have a look at her to see if there was anything different ...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

Jesus leg wax that's a bummer OK...

@ whelan1... would the lads in the knackery have an idea?? NEver thought of doing that in the past...

bbam wrote: »
    Jesus leg wax that's a bummer OK...

@ whelan1... would the lads in the knackery have an idea?? NEver thought of doing that in the past...

We got them to check a cow for us once, bit of an easier problem that time though when they found a four inch piece of wire in her.
    If she had a heart attack I wonder if the heart would be any different looing than that of a healthy cow.

they are opening animals every day, have often asked them to have a look and they come back to me- unless they are making it up:rolleyes: cheaper than getting the vet to pm... it would annoy me not to know what an animal died of as i would be hopeful that i would learn from it and prevent another one... but each to their own

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

Finno59 wrote: »
    If she's inside she could be down for up to 3 weeks. Its not milk fever, it's paralysis, get her out the field and she'l get up herself.

how do you cure paralysis- she out since sunday- lifted her today, she stood for 10mins

stanflt wrote: »
    how do you cure paralysis- she out since sunday- lifted her today, she stood for 10mins
    is she putting weight on all legs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,954 ✭✭✭stanflt

whelan1 wrote: »
    is she putting weight on all legs?

on front two shes grand but cant really support back legs

lift her a few times tomorrow she might have pins and needles in the back legs, try to get the circulation going..... time consuming, also might be an idea to tie a rope on her back legs so she doesnt do the splits, good luck with her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

:eek: Sorry to heat that legwax, will you have a PM done on her? no shes gone,i dont see the point as she was perfect at loading and when been brought into pen to load.

had one drop dead in field a few years back, auld lad thought the same as yourself at the time right or wrong, heart attack. its nearly bound to be if she was perfect up till then

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

You'd wonder if you'd be better off getting rid of cows when they get to a certain age regardless of how good or bad they are. Older cows tend to get sicker more often. I know some of the well known suckler farmers, in the Journal and that, have a policy of doing this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

pakalasa wrote: »
    You'd wonder if you'd be better off getting rid of cows when they get to a certain age regardless of how good or bad they are. Older cows tend to get sicker more often. I know some of the well known suckler farmers, in the Journal and that, have a policy of doing this.

Yes, same as sheep.

pakalasa wrote: »

It can be hit and miss with us. We have a 7yr old cow here and dropped our first blonde. He will only suck a front spin that was used solely by that dwarf calf last year. Was strugging the back two at the weekend and the calf would latch on but stop after a few sucks. So typical me, I had a taste of both the front & back spins. The back ones tasted like they had been over-heated:confused: Like milk that had been boiled a wee bit over the pasteurisation level. Anyone any idea? Would it have anything to do with them being out of action last year? Think she's on the cull list next year anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

That's terrible luck leg wax

Heart attack?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Vick7

My Dad got a letter today that his new tractor, 94 Ursus, has not been taxed yet. He won't be going on the roads with it so does he just ignore the letter or does he need to inform them it's not for road use.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Vick7 wrote: »
    My Dad got a letter today that his new tractor, 94 Ursus, has not been taxed yet. He won't be going on the roads with it so does he just ignore the letter or does he need to inform them it's not for road use.

He can just ignore it. As long as he will never bring it on a public road or cross a public road now or in the future, there is no need to have road tax on it.

However, remember that if he ever plans bringing it onto the road in the future or selling it to someone that plans to drive it on the road in the future, then it will have to be back taxed for the years missed. There are new rules coming in that you can no longer go to the guards to get them to sign a declaration that the vehicle was off the road in order to avoid paying the road tax for the period that it was off the road. In this case, it might be a cheap option to keep the tax up to date?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,961 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Hard luck with that legwax, she must have been stressed when seperated from the calf. Looks like the heart, or possibly borderline grass tetany, and the extra stress killed her. Sh1t happens.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Vick7 wrote: »

Ring the number on the form, better to be on the right side of the law. Especially when it comes to selling the tractor;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

reilig wrote: »

that's awful Leg wax, I'm really sorry for your loss, it would test the best of us a fine Cow like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,716 ✭✭✭1chippy

sorry to hear about that leg wax. serious animal if its the same one im thinking of. what kinda age and how long was she calved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭Finno59

i'd say leave her alone, the only cure is time, The back legs being weaker than front means its defo paralysis, the nerves will heal up over time. Lift her if you like but not sure if it will speed things up.