If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

reilig wrote: »
    He stomach tubes every calf with colostrum after the calf drops from the cow - this has seen a much reduced mortality rate on the farm.

Hi Reilig

Did he say was this colostrum from the birthing cow herself, was it from a local dairy farmer or was it one of those manufactured 'colostrums'?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭vincenzolorenzo

bbam wrote: »
    maybe sometimes people take advantage of this and "bend" the facts a little to further their case..

i.e. Sean Quinn :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Any bank will gladly accept payment if money is arrears and will be happy to work with a problems as long as the plan is attainable and both sides hold their promise.

Plenty of support from one particular political party have arrived to 'support this individual'. Im sorry if you borrowed money and refuse to pay you should be out on your ear, otherwise its unfair on us guys slaving to try and pay our way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Bizzum wrote: »
    Anyone on Facebook take a look at "Irish Farm'n Craic" .

Some funny pics! Some rubbish too but worth a gander.

Just spotted this video there, I don't know if its been posted here before, but anyways, its funny but WTF, no wonder the farmplace has the highest number of work related deaths/accidents when ya got crap like this going on! I'd hope the likes of them never set foot inside my gate!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Muckit wrote: »
    Hi Reilig

Did he say was this colostrum from the birthing cow herself, was it from a local dairy farmer or was it one of those manufactured 'colostrums'?
    I did that, this year with a few newborns who wouln't drink the cow at birth. They probably would have drank in time, but I wanted to go to bed. Tubing is a lot easier than wrestling with a stubborn calf. You can sleep well then, knowing the calf has got 2 Litres inside in him. I always take ths colostrum from the mother. I milk her by hand in the chute.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

pakalasa wrote: »
    I did that, this year with a few newborns who wouln't drink the cow at birth. They probably would have drank in time, but I wanted to go to bed. Tubing is a lot easier than wrestling with a stubborn calf. You can sleep well then, knowing the calf has got 2 Litres inside in him. I always take ths colostrum from the mother. I milk her by hand in the chute.

I'm the other extreme. I just never, ever, ever interfere with a newborn calf.
    They will suck if left alone in my experience.
    I would always hang around end ensure a springer was letting the calf suck. If not I give a bit of a hand.
    Apart from that, I let nature do it's stuff, and feck off to bed out of the way:o
    Of course if I had a very weak calf patently unable to do it's thing, I would also get involved, but thankfully have'nt had that situation in my memory. Touch wood!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Fair play Pak... this guy has 90 cows though... just wondering was he claiming to have milked and stomach tubed all his calves?? Reading in the Journal that he has lands rented 40km in one direction and something like 15km other way. So he sounds like big enough a nut to do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Fair play Pak... this guy has 90 cows though... just wondering was he claiming to have milked and stomach tubed all his calves?? Reading in the Journal that he has lands rented 40km in one direction and something like 15km other way. So he sounds like big enough a nut to do it.

If you saw what were at you'd think we were pure bonkers so:D

15km would be on our doorstep!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

reilig wrote: »
    He said that he calved down at 24 months and he has great success with this practice.

Any idea ? Continental bull or what? Or is it AA the first time round?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

The export trade is in full flow lads. I'd let go when ye can. Anything 4-500 kgs making 1350/1450.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    The export trade is in full flow lads. I'd let go when ye can. Anything 4-500 kgs making 1350/1450.
    where are they makingthat money:confused:

leg wax wrote: »
    where are they makingthat money:confused:

ah sure they are making more down here[ feck sake]why the secrets,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

Ok then. You can have the pick of mine for €1100. White Charolais bulls. Make yourself a nice margin!

Pity I'm not in the export trade Smokes! Seen one gorg heif make over €5.10 a kilo today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Pity I'm not in the export trade Smokes! Seen one gorg heif make over €5.10 a kilo today.

Is it true the farmer had to be helped out of the seller's box?.....:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Ballymote today great export trade for the quality animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

these prices are great but just makes it more difficult when you loose one. lost a good 10 week old bb bull last night. had vet with him yesterday evening no temp little draw in one lung empty in himself and lookin miserable treated him for cocsidiosis and pnemonia covered him well or so we thought. stone dead this morning. post mortem showed he inhaled some of his stomach contents:eek: vet said sometimes he saw this when an animal would get stuck in a rut or ditch... but this lad was out in a grand flat field. Just one of those freeky things:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Hi Reilig

He didn't say. He has a compact calving so I imagine he always has cow colostrum on hand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Bizzum wrote: »
    Any idea ? Continental bull or what? Or is it AA the first time round?

Always either an angus or an easy calving Limousin for a heifer calving at 24 months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

What a difference a dry day makes, finally got to spray 3 fields with rushes coming up. Got fertiliser spread. Weighed all the lambs and picked out lambs for the mart next week and dosed all the rest with cobalt and a worm dose . Got the ewes in and checked them before the ram goes out dosed them too. Tired now but think I might go for a few pints tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Miserable this morning. Heavy rain at 4 am and it's still raining since :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

just do it wrote: »
    i was coming home at half 2 and it wasnt raining but raining at half 6 when i got up:cool: edited to say i am going back to bed now , hurty head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    i was coming home at half 2 and it wasnt raining but raining at half 6 when i got up:cool: edited to say i am going back to bed now , hurty head

Ahhh
    Past the age where the candle can't be burned at both ends. It's fun to try every now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

just do it wrote: »

ya last night kinda finished things for me, brought in a good few calves and cows this morning..better off in doors judging by poorly they are thriving outside i reckon

so will you be keeping them in or will you be selling them
    ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

leg wax wrote: »
    so will you be keeping them in or will you be selling them
    ?

would sell them but most are still pretty young, better hang on them another while, if weather improves they can go back out, not overly optimistic about that though

god thats hard going and hard very hard on the pocket how do you do it,can see myself getting to 1 nov unless it gets bad before i start to bring in some of them,my spring born bulls have done very well this year and out of the 12 of them 8 could be sold,the heifers have not done as well for me this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Richk2012

First 2 cows calved this week . Both BB 3rd calvers .
    First cow calved tuesday morning to BBQ Belgian . Gave her plenty of time but she was struggling . Ended up helping her , and was a hard enough calving but not terrible . She had a great white bull calf with a huge pair of hips . He was a bit slow to get up and suck with the weight of him but hes flying now .

The second was a bad start to the calving . Her time wasnt up until this coming saturday but she started Thursday morning , 9 days early .. Got her in the crush to see what was going on and realised the calf was dead . She was carrying VDV Maserati BB . Let her back into the shed an gave her more time but she wasnt making progress and couldnt pass the head . A shocking rough calving , got caught at the shoulders and then the hips were disasterous . Bent the new calving jack with the goings on , but finally got her out . Couldnt believe the cow was back up within the hour ..

Have taken up some more springers that are carrying BB and put them in the shed this morning on a diet of straw and pre calving minerals hoping this will help . They were on a bare enough sod before this as i am always cautious of their diet within the last six weeks of pregnancy

caseman wrote: »
    Ballymote today great export trade for the quality animals.

No doubt you saw the heifer I'm on about!
    Is it true the farmer had to be helped out of the seller's box?.....:D

Yup, but I got the bull code and breeding details so I'm happy with trying myself!:D