If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Farming Chit Chat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Bodacious

Muckit wrote: »
    Oh I couldn't say. But I think I'm on the right track ;)
    Bizzum wrote: »
    I'd say you are alright! Finally the big time..........Onwards and upwards from here:)
    Feck it, never thought to buy the journal today!!
    Bodacious wrote: »
    You popping them out all sides red!! Lovely pics too, great that's it's so dry out but it's cold enough tonight out
    If they were all as good as they look in the pics ;) I make sure not to get their bad side. Tis chilly alright, I went down the field at about 40 miles an hour on the quad and I came in home shaking!!

It's cold for sure. Would you have many houses near where you calve the cows? I'd go out at night but generally take the jeep and walk the rest of the way, quad awful purr to it at like 4am, I'd be afraid I'd piddle off the neighbours!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

It's cold for sure. Would you have many houses near where you calve the cows? I'd go out at night but generally take the jeep and walk the rest of the way, quad awful purr to it at like 4am, I'd be afraid I'd piddle off the neighbours!!

No neighbours close enough to piss off. Were in the back of beyonds you'd say :) Shes after producing 2 legs, i'll give her another half an hour and hopefully she will have the deed done of her own accord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

Is there someone we know in the Journal this week? :rolleyes::)
    :D........I spotted that myself, but didn't want to say. Anonymity and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Is there someone we know in the Journal this week? :rolleyes::)

Where abouts in the journal?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Me know nothin' :D

I was looking at it myself and I was thinking - Jeez, that crush and handling facilites look familar.......:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,438 ✭✭✭5live

pakalasa wrote: »
    I was looking at it myself and I was thinking - Jeez, that crush and handling facilites look familar.......:rolleyes:
    Meh...better pics in a different thread;). Is he going to get his own column now, his second time in 3 months in the journal:D

pakalasa wrote: »

So much for anonymity!! :D

5live wrote: »
    Meh...better pics in a different thread;). Is he going to get his own column now, his second time in 3 months in the journal:D

Mightn't be a bad idea. Someone would want to take the crayons off some of them so called journalists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

The ould fella had his first lamb today, a ram lamb, doesn't know where he came from. Wasn't impressed when I cast aspersions on the morals of some of his ewes :pac:

The dads are gas, its goes from another unnecessary fancy toy/gadget to being essential very quickly.

Well you're not wrong there!

We were moving feed today to top up barrels around the farm. I was told not to get the quad, himself would take the 135. I made up a little platform for on the lift arms and tied it up, put 10 25kg bags on it, secured them and away he went.

All went grand until he got to one awkward spot on the old track, it's all grown over with creeping gorse, there are some rocks sticking up that had to be gone around plus it's steep in spots.

Dad got out of the cab and we had a look around for the best route through that spot. Found a way and just as he left his hand on the tractor door away she went downhill and into the gorse :eek: We reckon the brake hadn't engaged properly. I don't like to think what might have happened if he'd been half way up into the cab.

That bit of drama over we forged ahead and stopped at the first spot, where he turned off the tractor forgetting we had to jump start it :D She's still there now :pac: I carried the stuff the rest of the way.

All in all he reckoned the quad is a better job, I nearly dropped :eek: :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Not quite farming but I taught my auld lad how to play solitaire on my mothers laptop........big mistake. Now they have competitions for best score:pac:

And it's his birthday on Sunday, April Fools Day. Any suggestions?;)

Karen112 wrote: »
    Not quite farming but I taught my auld lad how to play solitaire on my mothers laptop........big mistake. Now they have competitions for best score:pac:

A deck of cards.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭tanko

Had a couple of calves of the limousin bull HCA this week, they arrived only 6 and 7 days after due dates. He seems to have an unusually short gestation for a limousin, so far anyway. Very easy calved too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

tanko wrote: »
    Had a couple of calves of the limousin bull HCA this week, they arrived only 6 and 7 days after due dates. He seems to have an unusually short gestation for a limousin, so far anyway. Very easy calved too.

What are they like? I've had a few by the easy calving FL22 - easy calving alright but they are narrow, tall and lean. Gestations with FL22: 284d, 298d, 281d and 278d. The heifer that had the 298d gestation last year is now in calf to FL25 and is 302d and counting!!!:eek:

This year the AI man used HCA for the first heifer when he advised me against using the gene ireland straws I'd ordered. Since then I went looking at bulls for the heifers and have settled on the Simmental bull HUZ. He hasn't got them yet so I've used ... a shorthorn LYJ! I'm looking for docile cattle and replacements hence the selections. There is alot of LM breeding in the stock so I wanted to mix in other breeds and took gestation length into consideration in my selections as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭snowman707

a laptop with internet access

I'm sure he's curious to know what you're up to on boards.ie :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I was just having a look at the Sligo AI site. A few special offers available there, in the BB, Lim and Sim bulls. 10 straws with 2 free on Hatcliffe Dancer for example. Or if Sim is your thing 10 straws with 4 free on a new bull Chyanhal Amos.
    Anyone looking for a few straws it could be worth a punt!
    http://sligoai-com.doodlekit.com/home/sligo_ai_services_beef_sires

All the same suggestions you received at Christmas except for the one you got him!;)

snowman707 wrote: »
    a laptop with internet access
    I'm sure he's curious to know what you're up to on boards.ie :rolleyes:

hHahhaah. I think it may well be worth a couple of hours teaching him how to use the met eirann website. So rather than guessing, he will know if it's coming. Patience needed today so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭wesleysniper38

tanko wrote: »

yeah I,m curious 2 know what your HCA calves are like too. I AI'd a good few heifers with him. They are due in August. The AI man recommended him. At 34e a pop plus 12euor for repeats he'd wanta be good.
    I did another 8 with sligo AI HCF at 30 a pop plus repeats free of charge.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

i'm back , just in time for milking... had a great time... will read through posts after milking:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,408 ✭✭✭bbam

whelan1 wrote: »
    i'm back , just in time for milking... had a great time... will read through posts after milking:cool:

Hope ye all had a good time, hopefully things at home were under control too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Quad ran out of petrol when I was going down the field, awful annoying :mad:

whelan1 wrote: »
    Welcome back and hope you'd a great time.

Who was looking after them while you were gone, the guy you were unhappy with a while back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭daniels.ducks

Avian flu breakout in Cork!

Hide yo ducks,
    hide yo chickens!!

Hide yo ducks,
    hide yo chickens!!

Hide yo wife?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,038 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

Hide yo ducks,
    hide yo chickens!!

I wonder will their be a media circus over this as there was over Swine Flu - which turned out to be about as deadly as the common cold:rolleyes:

Birdnuts wrote: »
    I wonder will their be a media circus over this as there was over Swine Flu - which turned out to be about as deadly as the common cold:rolleyes:

I am falling about laughing at your username here:D

Just mind he don't sneeze on ya :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,038 ✭✭✭✭Birdnuts

johngalway wrote: »
    Just mind he don't sneeze on ya :D

Don't worry - I'm getting my flu shots tommorrow:pac: