Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AH Beers - Saturday 5th March - Dublin - O'Reilly's Sub Lounge - 8pm

• Registered Users Posts: 4,381 ✭✭✭snorlax

it's my birthday on the 5th so would definelty be up for it!

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Jonniealan

3.20 a pint in o'reilly's is that true ? or is that just 11- 12 on a monday morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

The Bleeding horse
    Nope, 3.20 all night all pints. Even cheaper for pitchers of fosters.

• Registered Users Posts: 56 ✭✭Jonniealan

Thats spot on even if it is under a dart station and has pj wearin smackheads outside shtill great value. can't believe i've been paying 5.50 in the hairy lemon whenevr in town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 yahooguy

Just beware O'Reillys is Heavy Metal night on a Saturday and wont suit all.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,297 ✭✭✭Jaxxy

The Bleeding horse
    NothingMan wrote: »
    Nope, 3.20 all night all pints. Even cheaper for pitchers of fosters.

Yup, and €5 cocktails all night, and that wheel thing that has €2 drinks for an hour.

<3
    yahooguy wrote: »
    Just beware O'Reillys is Heavy Metal night on a Saturday and wont suit all.

It's not that heavy.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

The Bleeding horse
    Was there a few weeks ago and it's metal but more ac/dc, zeppilin stuff not slipknot and cradle of filth. Should be fairly neutral.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

The Bleeding horse
    NothingMan wrote: »
    Was there a few weeks ago and it's metal but more ac/dc, zeppilin stuff not slipknot and cradle of filth. Should be fairly neutral.

So like Bruxelles Rock bar?

Do you have to have lots of posts to go?
    I'm a lurker mostly, trying to involve myself more!

I could lurk in the corner, watching you all drinking and ear wigging on your conversations :D

• Registered Users Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Dicey Reilly's
    Starla_o0 wrote: »

I could lurk in the corner, watching you all drinking and ear wigging on your conversations :D
    You could have joined yesterday, made one post and you would still be welcomed with open arms.

Also, €3.20 a pint and rock music?
    Count me in.

I probably won't go.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Dicey Reilly's
    Starla_o0 wrote: »

Nope, just show up and introduce yourself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

O'Neill's
    Keyboard anonymity FTW. :D

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 21,502 Mod ✭✭✭✭Agent Smith

i enjoy beer

• Registered Users Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Do you have to go on your own or can you bring others?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,831 ✭✭✭✭Busi_Girl08

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,308 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

The Bleeding horse
    Just talking to the manager in O'Reilly's Sub Lounge and we're all sorted.

We have the raised area to your left as you enter the pub.

There's a map where the pub is in the opening post.

Hope to see you there

Think I might make my way to this one. Will be in Kerry that week but might be back up in time.

The Bleeding horse
    Do you have to go on your own or can you bring others?

As in non-boardsies? Yes, I think so. I know others have in the past but its a bit strange for them. They don't seem to last long. :pac:

Fair play The Master for getting a spot reserved. The area, if its the one I'm thinking of, is actually through a doorway to the left after you walk in, as if you are going towards the toilets. Grand auld spot. Has a fire place and it has doors out to the smoking area. [i.e. escape exit]. Just a bit of a trek to the bar! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 11,996 ✭✭✭✭billymitchell

Balls, a mates birthday is on the same night :(
    Although, maybe me avoiding the cheap jaeger and sambuca may not be a bad thing....

• Registered Users Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Sanjuro

The Bleeding horse
    So is there some sort of secret handshake we have to know, or an initiation ceremony for us newbs?

• Registered Users Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Sanjuro wrote: »
    So is there some sort of secret handshake we have to know, or an initiation ceremony for us newbs?

Just cruise in and look for a Reserved for boards.ie sign.

I have decided I'm going top go, Had great craic the last time I was at a AH beers and the last time I was at the sub, so it's full of win. :D

Just to be sure, The Sub Lounge isn't Over 21s or anything, is it?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,308 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

The Bleeding horse

Larianne has described the location of the reserved area perfectly and as Micky
    said just look out for the "reserved for boards.ie" sign

You cant miss us

Just to be sure, The Sub Lounge isn't Over 21s or anything, is it?

No, it's 18s, but the door men get a lot stricter as the night goes on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭Trog

The Bleeding horse
    Door men? In sub lounge? Never seen that. If you're over 18 most places will let you in even if they say over 21's, unless you look really young or are hammered.

I'm going to try to come to this if I can manage to get enough dissertation work done to take the break. I have absolutely no idea what to expect but if my da is there I'm splitting...

Actually...now that I think of it, I may not have any age ID then (I'll be renewing my passport, and getting a Garda Age card the week before, won't get them for another couple of weeks). Unless I'm lucky and get the age card by Friday (doubt it), I don't think I would get too far :(

The Bleeding horse
    or an initiation ceremony for us newbs?

No there isn't, but I think we should start one. :pac:
    Trog wrote: »
    Door men? In sub lounge? Never seen that. If you're over 18 most places will let you in even if they say over 21's, unless you look really young or are hammered.

Yes, there is usually doormen there.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,725 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Actually...now that I think of it, I may not have any age ID then (I'll be renewing my passport, and getting a Garda Age card the week before, won't get them for another couple of weeks). Unless I'm lucky and get the age card by Friday (doubt it), I don't think I would get too far :(

get a photocopy of your passport, get it signed and stamped at the station and use that.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

O'Neill's
    Larianne wrote: »
    No there isn't, but I think we should start one. :pac:

And YOU didn't want me to scare off newbs...

:P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭Poor Craythur

O'Neill's

Awww. :(

I shall be in Whelan's that night for my friend's birthday.

I'm way too shy and awkward to go anyways.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0