Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Conor Lenihan on Vincent Browne tonight

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

zig wrote: »
    ignoring is right, i still think he believes what hes saying,i.e. hes fairly clear in his point, he agrees with their policies regarding bank guarantee etc, he had nothing but praise for Cowen in that aspect, but just the last few days have been a disaster.

Maybe he truely believes his clan have a divine right to the leadership of Ireland - is that where it's coming from?!?!?

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Holy **** he just paid a compliment to Enda Kenny and his idea on scrapping the Seanad!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,073 ✭✭✭Devilman40k

He's obviously looking for a new home because after that performance no one in FF will want to be associated with him!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

Sounds like he's going to be asking Enda for a job in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,460 ✭✭✭Slideshowbob

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

just saw that FYI one, a nice finish to an entertaining show!:D

Jaysus he wants to lead FF after that performance backing up the hated Greens and complimenting Fianna Fails arch enemies Fine Gael. Another political career goes up in flames today :)

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭bhovaspack

Missed it. Anybody know can this show be watched online yet, or do I need to wait until tomorrow?

• Registered Users Posts: 13,291 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

bhovaspack wrote: »
    Missed it. Anybody know can this show be watched online yet, or do I need to wait until tomorrow?

Not up on the site until tomorrow. Vincent also had a very good bout with Dan Boyle. Fantastic tv.

Lenihan surely has to be sacked.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

This is typical of someone like Lenihan; you also see it with his brother and Cowen.
    When someone touches on the truth about their motivations they launch into high-dudgeon.
    Shakespeare nailed it with 'The lady doth protest too much'.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭ArtSmart

gandalf wrote: »
    After that outburst and the others earlier Cowen will have to fire him in the morning. One more down. I have a feeling this Government will not last the 50 days.

He is one of my local TD's (for the moment ;) )
    yeah, i get that feeling as well.

bleg wrote: »
    This is absolutely hilarious. Vincent is the ultimate troll. Doubt lenny will come on this show again.
    em, doubt lenny will be in politics come March.

Ok anyone who reads this thread who didn't see that show. Make sure you watch it when it is up on TV3's website tomorrow. I thought it was great viewing when Dan Boyle lost his temper with Vincent Browne but that was just the introduction to Conor Lenihans Shakespherian (thanks to ascanbe for that image) outburst after that. Car crash telly at its best.

Conor should be fired in the morning.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

Strange how Conor can go from ready for a scrap to buddy again so quickly. Excellent actor. His turning will backfire though hitting out at Cowan and even his brother to save himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

How in your opinion does Vincent Browne vote?
    Does it show on his show?
    Did he quiz Enda & co as much

gandalf wrote: »
    Ok anyone who reads this thread who didn't see that show. Make sure you watch it when it is up on TV3's website tomorrow. I thought it was great viewing when Dan Boyle lost his temper with Vincent Browne but that was just the introduction to Conor Lenihans Shakespherian (thanks to ascanbe for that image) outburst after that. Car crash telly at its best.

Conor should be fired in the morning.
    cowen cant fire him - would backfire.

ah, great to see a bit of hair flying. if only we could see some fookin banker hair flying...

Wide Road wrote: »
    VB sees himself as a hard leftie/ socialist, more or less. but hard to know for sure.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭zig

20Cent wrote: »
    Strange how Conor can go from ready for a scrap to buddy again so quickly. Excellent actor.
    I noticed that too, completely lost the head and a few seconds later hes answering the next question in a calm polite manner again.

For once can you answer something that is directly related to the topic at hand which was tonights Vincent Browne show?

Can you answer me this as a loyal FF supporter are you happy with Conor Lenihan...

1. Sticking the knife into your party leader repeatly live on air?
    2. Backing up the party that appears to have stitched your leader and Taoiseach up royally today?
    3. paying a compliment to a policy of your deadly rivals FG live on air?

He wanted to run for FG in '92 but was unsuccessful. Ever since he's been a critic of the party.

To be fair, he attacks and embarrasses all parties equally.

Enda, Biffo and Gilmore have not appeared on the programme.

So to sum up what Lenihan revealed tonight:

1. He wants Cowen to resign.
    2. He's going to consider his position in the morning.
    3. He was disappointed with Brian's decision to back Cowen in the confidence motion.

Did I miss anything?

ArtSmart wrote: »
    cowen cant fire him - would backfire.

ah, great to see a bit of hair flying. if only we could see some fookin banker hair flying...
    In fairness I think we're Way past things backfiring on Cowen

• Registered Users Posts: 796 ✭✭✭eoinbn

20Cent wrote: »
    Strange how Conor can go from ready for a scrap to buddy again so quickly. Excellent actor. His turning will backfire though hitting out at Cowan and even his brother to save himself.

Well he has every right to hit out at both. There is no need to explain Cowen's error's and Brian Lenihan made a huge error backing Cowen. I can't see Cowen surviving today's blunders and will be gone within days, if not hours. The only person that really can lead the party(personally would like to see it disband) is now Martin as B.Lenihan has made a huge ass of himself by misleading the guys that he needs to vote him in as leader.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭lugha

I noticed that too, completely lost the head and a few seconds later hes answering the next question in a calm polite manner again.
    I think he gets that from Auntie Mammy; I've seen her do that more than once. For some reason tonight I really noticed the similarity between Mary and Conor, especially in voice.
    Bizarre performance all told. Hugely enjoyable mind.

In fairness I think we're W

ArtSmart wrote: »

Bloody mobile...edited above

• Registered Users Posts: 8,934 ✭✭✭20Cent

eoinbn wrote: »
    Well he has every right to hit out at both. There is no need to explain Cowen's error's and Brian Lenihan made a huge error backing Cowen. I can't see Cowen surviving today's blunders and will be gone within days, if not hours. The only person that really can lead the party(personally would like to see it disband) is now Martin as B.Lenihan has made a huge ass of himself by misleading the guys that he needs to vote him in as leader.

Bit late to be hitting out now. Wish he showed some of that anger earlier, that is if it is genuine. I think not. They are all over the tv and radio when their jobs are on the line shouting and fighting. Kept pretty quiet as the IMF/ECB took over the country, rolled over for the banks/developers etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭Wide Road

Conor is brilliant like that.
    He really made Vincent sound like an idiot.
    Vincent uses too many words to make a simple point.

• Registered Users Posts: 566 ✭✭✭SB-08

Lenny's outbust was was an astonishing end to an astonishing day. He was nearly having a breakdown and I expected violence at one point. :eek:

Vinny riled him up to an unbelievable extent. And then when he said he would take Vinny on in relation to his accusations Vinny said "You can take me full on all you bloody like!":D

He HAS to be sacked in the morning for his amazing attack on Cowen today. "He can sack me if he wants" is what he shouted.

People say Eastenders is unrealistic but today in Irish politics has surpassed any kind of soap opera. Astonishing stuff.

On a side note - why does Conor keep looking over at the other guests constantly when ranting? It's very odd.

• Registered Users Posts: 886 ✭✭✭Drummerboy2

Great TV. What an act young Conor is. “Back off Vincent”. What a line. Have to say VB has made this a great show, don't know how he actually gets politicians to appear on it.