Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Exams Thread (Procrastination ftw!)

• 03-01-2011 10:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭

Because we all know talking about studying is so much better than actually doing it.

Here, my chums, is a thread full of wonder and joyness. The NUIM forum's version of R&R for the exam season, if you will. Three weeks of the utmost despair is upon us, but we will stand tall and defeat it.

<insert obligatory Father Ted quote here>

I <3 Mark Lanegan, and tbh some of us need one of these right now.

Edit: The song is called Miracle. Stupid youtube >_<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

My advice to anyone worrying about the exams would be this:

Stop worrying. Relax. Don't drink coffee (or anything with caffeine). If you can help it, don't smoke before an exam, but that seems to be preferential more than anything.

Don't cram. You'll wreck your brain.

DON'T be that person pouring over notes 10 seconds before you enter an exam hall. Give yourself 60 mins- 30 mins breathing space before an exam starts, you'll be less stressed.

Best of luck everyone. They'll be over before you know it.`

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,645 ✭✭✭Daemos

Who in their right minds thought it would be a good idea to have exams on Saturday? Saturday! I actually think they did it to see how committed we really are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭jubella

This thread is just a new excuse for me to spend more time not studying... prepare to see me a lot here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭squishykins

Hells yeeeeah! Studying's for losers anyways denial denial denial Once I have music history over I should be ok...kinda...I just keep reminding myself, it's first year, I only need 40% :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

amyputz wrote: »
    I only need 40%

I wish 'twas so easy, smelly third year! ;_;

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

Stayed up all night to write essays due today, king of procrastination.

Also, I didn't delete any of you, I disabled my Facebook page. Reccomend everyone do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

PrivateEye wrote: »
    Also, I didn't delete any of you, I disabled my Facebook page. Reccomend everyone do it.

Now I can boast my right-wing views on facebook without reproach! :p

All in favour of privatising the senate?

I do that every year or so, keep coming back though :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,195 ✭✭✭✭Michellenman

*stretches arms* Ahhhh, I love having no exams left to do :pac:

/runs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Bhoy_

I bought Red Dead Redemption yesterday. Best idea I've ever had coming up to exams....

Good luck with that......I had it during my finals last year. IT SUCKS YOU IN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭lsuzanne1987

I second that. Facebook is the devil when you are trying to study. I got rid of mine last year- completely. You have to properly disable it though and let go of your page otherwise you can get straight back into it through the login thing. Go to the account help section to properly disable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭A Changer

Good luck with that......I had it during my finals last year. IT SUCKS YOU IN.

Aye. I've recently discovered Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, which is similarly absorbing. Thankfully, I've only two exams, so I feel I can balance studious activity with rampant dude-stabbings. :D

Waaah I'm so ****ed for my music history exam! :( I only need an extra 15% or so from the paper to pass, but I have no idea where to start or what to do! I looked at the exam papers which only succeeded in confusing and panicking me more! :(

A Changer wrote: »
    Aye. I've recently discovered Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood, which is similarly absorbing. Thankfully, I've only two exams, so I feel I can balance studious activity with rampant dude-stabbings. :D

SNAP

'Cept I got it in November, so it's out of my system now! :p

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,441 Mod ✭✭✭✭XxMCRxBabyxX

That should have been me last night but luckily I managed to get myself a sick note and the history dept have given me an extension for the essay!

There's no way I could have written it! Got the worst flu ever! Got sick everywhere last night, and a fever and the whole lot :(

Awh no :( I hope you feel better soon!

Trust me, so do I! :D

Thanks! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

DON'T be that person pouring over notes 10 seconds before you enter an exam hall. Give yourself 60 mins- 30 mins breathing space before an exam starts, you'll be less stressed.

I always am that guy. But I think it kinda works in certain situations. If there are some formulae or something I need to know that I don't have really well-revised, just cramming them in for the few minutes between putting my bag away and getting my answer book so I can scrawl them all down, it can be alright.

Probably not best for the exams involving essays.

5326456097_64e46cf35b.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Bhoy_ wrote: »
    I bought Red Dead Redemption yesterday. Best idea I've ever had coming up to exams....

I bought an XBOX last week...must...not....play....Oblivion....:(

Horray for JJ Kavanagh, just found out they're running their bus up and down for the exams, even on Saturdays! Now I can spare the embarrassment of having to get my father to drive me up and down this weekend :o

Does anyone know if there'll be somewhere to leave our books, bags, etc. since we can't bring them into the hall with us?

And just double-checking my facts (I'm more nervous about getting lost than I am of the actual exams), Lower Loftus is in Loftus Halls in South Campus, and the Small and Main Sports Halls are in the Gym Building, North Campus? Are those rooms easy to find once you're there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 MaynoothSU

Sports Halls are grand.

Counting first-years wandering around looking for Lower Loftus is still something of a sport.

To get to Lower Loftus:

Come over the bridge from north campus,
    pass the library on your right hand side,
    go over the wee bridge,
    keep walking until St Patrick's (Hogwarts) is on your right hand side,
    turn right at the end of St Patrick's (literally follow the building around to the right),
    you're there.

Might make a 30-second walk-from-the-library video tomorrow. (Nobody can ever, ever find this place)

Daemos wrote: »
    Does anyone know if there'll be somewhere to leave our books, bags, etc. since we can't bring them into the hall with us?

And just double-checking my facts (I'm more nervous about getting lost than I am of the actual exams), Lower Loftus is in Loftus Halls in South Campus, and the Small and Main Sports Halls are in the Gym Building, North Campus? Are those rooms easy to find once you're there?

Courtesy of exams last year a friend and I made this!

Where the hell is lower loftus?!

I recommend that Maynooth SU does indeed make that video and posts it on the page aswell as advertising the page on the Maynooth SU page! :P

You're exactly right with your locations there Daemos, and don't worry, the exam halls will be well signposted! Make sure to get there about twenty or so minutes before so you have time to look up your table number and find where you're sitting, because that will probably take a while. And I assume people usually just leave their bags and stuff outside? Although I do my exams in JH so take that with an extremely large pinch of salt! There's a lot less of us in JH than other places :P And don't forget your student card :D

I keep looking up info on Masters courses I want to do instead of studying. Although if I don't study I won't get the marks to do any of them >_< NEED TO STOP PROCRASTINATING!

You're exactly right with your locations there Daemos, and don't worry, the exam halls will be well signposted! Make sure to get there about twenty or so minutes before so you have time to look up your table number and find where you're sitting, because that will probably take a while. And I assume people usually just leave their bags and stuff outside? Although I do my exams in JH so take that with an extremely large pinch of salt! There's a lot less of us in JH than other places :P And don't forget your student card :D

I keep looking up info on Masters courses I want to do instead of studying. Although if I don't study I won't get the marks to do any of them >_< NEED TO STOP PROCRASTINATING!

Signposted?! Never were for me last year! Except the sports hall iirc!
    And in the sports hall there was a cloakroom and for rye and loftus an attendant was outside and would mind anything important if you asked nicely enough!

Signposted?! Never were for me last year!

I just assumed they would be :o like I said, I do my exams in JH, and there's always a few signs pointing to what rooms are being used.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

I do this too! Except it makes more sense for you, I've got an extra year to go :p

I'm kinda REALLY PANICKING now! Just kinda =/

Srs, if anyone sees me on here tomorrow, tell me to GTFO! AHhhhhh *hyperventilates*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭PrivateEye

The relax part that is.

Don't do it would be crap advice before an exam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭manic mailman

So I'm not the only one! Is anyone else completely at a loss as to what they are doing after they graduate (assuming i do that is)? feck all jobs going, masters are expensive + there is high demand for the one's i want to do so i'd need to be getting top marks on top of that.....
    This exactly. It's a lot of pressure on top of the exams as well! I was thinking of taking a year out because Masters are hard and I need to be fully sure my head's in a good place/I'm able for it before I start, but now I'm thinking I want to start one this September... :/ It's all very confusing.

MaynoothSU wrote: »
    Sports Halls are grand.
    Might make a 30-second walk-from-the-library video tomorrow. (Nobody can ever, ever find this place)

Doing this today, assuming I can drag Aengus away from the Hunt Report...

Done! Jiggering video now...

I recommend that Maynooth SU does indeed make that video and posts it on the page aswell as advertising the page on the Maynooth SU page! :P[/QUOTE]
    banquo wrote: »

And of course linking the below page as suggested... :P
    Courtesy of exams last year a friend and I made this!

Where the hell is lower loftus?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,836 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

am i going mad, or is my maths exam at half three tommorow? :eek:

If you're doing MT101s or MT131p then no :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

If you're doing MT101s or MT131p then no :P

What?? mine says half 3 too

he means no, im not mad. it is infact 3 30

what module?

MT101s. you're right(of course), just seemed late. i see all exams are either 9 or 3 30

• Closed Accounts Posts: 699 ✭✭✭LeahBaby

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    MT101s. you're right(of course), just seemed late. i see all exams are either 9 or 3 30
    Cool!! I was panicking there as I have to make it in from laois!!

Now all i gotta go is pass!

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    i see all exams are either 9 or 3 30

Or 12:30 ;)

Or 12:30 ;)

shhhhhhhhhhh!.......................:p

Been in the library all week and been wondering why they have chosen this very important study week to start chopping down trees. I know its for the library extension but couldn't they have waited for a couple of weeks!!??

In other news, who finds it irritating that ppl are taking up valuable desks in the library on their laptops on Facebook. I didn't realise there was a module called 'Facebook 101' in Maynooth. Get out of the library!!!

Okay, rant over!

Been in the library all week and been wondering why they have chosen this very important study week to start chopping down trees. I know its for the library extension but couldn't they have waited for a couple of weeks!!??

In other news, who finds it irritating that ppl are taking up valuable desks in the library on their laptops on Facebook. I didn't realise there was a module called 'Facebook 101' in Maynooth. Get out of the library!!!

Okay, rant over!

5330833048_0bab4b2d9c.jpg

Haha, knew someone would put that up!

I'd probably fail that exam too :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭Bhoy_

Just saw the video there, good lads :D