Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Mr Slow: The Return

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭neilc

Mr Slow wrote: »
    Ran the same loop today, while there was no discomfort my hr was still above lactate threshold for the most part and about half way through it hit me, my intestines are so swollen with the IBS it hurts to bend, they must be restricting my diaphragm thus making each breath more shallow therefore the heart has to work harder.:) In a week or so it will have settled and I'll have a more realistic idea of how far I have slipped.

2.37 miles average hr 159 average pace 8:29
    you're really going through the wars, hopefully there'll be light at the end of the tunnel soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

neilc wrote: »
    you're really going through the wars, hopefully there'll be light at the end of the tunnel soon!

Thanks Neil, the only way is up.

In an effort to counteract the IBS while not doing too much to hamper the recovery from fatigue I pushed out the distance a touch.

4 miles average pace 8:39, hr monitor is caput so I ran on feel starting at 9:20 pace and tried to keep what felt like easy pace, most of it was around the 9 min mark but I managed to pick it up for the last mile dipping well below 8 as I finished up.

2.5 Miles - horrible, that is all! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

:(

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,368 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Does the IBS flare up when you're not running? Can you do something else to counteract, dare I say swim or cycle? I find I swim well even when I can't get the legs to run properly.

Here's the problem, it's all down to energy, if I had a muscular injury I could do something else, with fatigue I'm going to struggle no matter what I do. I'm sick of being negative and posting a new drama here every week, I'm hoping that in the New Year my log title will make sense and 2012 will just be a sh1tty chapter. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

Here's the problem, it's all down to energy, if I had a muscular injury I could do something else, with fatigue I'm going to struggle no matter what I do. I'm sick of being negative and posting a new drama here every week, I'm hoping that in the New Year my log title will make sense and 2012 will just be a sh1tty chapter. :)

+1, I could post the same thing, but lets not depress everyone further :)

I wish i was injured, never thought i'd say that.

+1, I could post the same thing, but lets not depress everyone further :)

I wish i was injured, never thought i'd say that.

A broken leg would be grand, you'd have a timeline for recovery then :o

Jaysus I know that feeling. Sure I've been doing that for nearly 3 years. :D

You're still running.....and improving ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭Brianderunner

A broken leg would be grand, you'd have a timeline for recovery then :o

And people might stop giving you dirty looks for not giving up your seat for an old woman/pregnant woman on a bus/train. I need it more than them, leave me alone :D

You're still running.....and improving ;)

Well if you can make steady improvements when banjaxed think of the improvements I'll make when I'm finally fixed. Oh for those days when I went for 12 mile runs straight from work. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Sounds familiar, but it's injuries 99% of the time for me :eek:

*crock*

4 miles last night average pace 8:30, the last mile was a flat spot, not down to fatigue but a serious lack of fitness, I'm going to start tipping away gently until I'm at the point that I can start building. I've been close to 1,000 junk miles for the last month, 16 to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

4 miles last night average pace 8:30, the last mile was a flat spot, not down to fatigue but a serious lack of fitness, I'm going to start tipping away gently until I'm at the point that I can start building. I've been close to 1,000 junk miles for the last month, 16 to go.

What's keeping ya, slowcoach? :P

12.41 miles to go :o

3.59 miles average pace 8:53 it was cold, I didn't like it.:cool:

4 miles.

Started slow (8:45) and fell into a rhythm, felt strong throughout and averaged 7:55 all told. My first enjoyable run in a long time.:)

6.53 miles average pace 8:22 average hr 160

Lots of effort in last night's run, it's gonna take a while to get back to anywhere near my best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Slow & Steady, thats the way and you'll get there:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,934 ✭✭✭career_move

8.22/8.30/8.53 - is that not very fast? I mean if you slowed it right down (like you're always telling us novices to do!)to say 10m/m would it not be a bit easier?

You're absolutely right but the choice was to run alone in the rain and cold at 9/9:30 (I've lost hardiness along with fitness :))or have company and get it done quicker ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

You're absolutely right but the choice was to run alone in the rain and cold at 9/9:30 (I've lost hardiness along with fitness :))or have company and get it done quicker ;)

I'm gonna have to put you over my knee My Slow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

I've lost hardiness

I hear there's some pills that can help you with that!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

rasher_m wrote: »

That's a paddlin' :pac:

Sounds fun! :D

belcarra wrote: »
    I hear there's some pills that can help you with that!:D

How are they working out for you? :pac::P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

How are they working out for you? :pac::P

I made sure to include the all-absolving words "I hear" before hitting enter!
    Read my run report from last night and you'll have no doubt about my hardiness...although I think I could do with a few pills after going out in that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 788 ✭✭✭rasher_m

Sounds fun! :D

It is! It involves a forceps and tweezers ;)

Whatever floats your boat. ;)