Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Festina lente

• Registered Users Posts: 6,554 ✭✭✭Mr Slow

RayCun wrote: »
    Time to reset the training paces

Recovery: 5.47-6.06 5.27 - 5.46
    Easy: 5.10-5.28 4.50 - 5.09
    Long: 5.10-5.47 4.50 - 5.27
    Tempo run/interval 4.25-4.37/4.21-4.31 4.07-4.18/4.04-4.12

Those paces look very impressive, wow, oh wait they're in km's :P

• Registered Users Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

8.76k in 47.35 (5.26 average)

Meant to take this slower, but need to find that gear between 'easy' and 'slow jog'. Leg still a bit stiff, but better than yesterday.

Month|2010|2011|2012
    January|38.8|105.61|187.46
    February|35.5|106.68|
    March|53.2|121.83|
    April|72|106.33|
    May|75.9|107.13|
    June|90.2|64.85|
    July|118.1|126.92|
    August|124.4|168|
    September|154|171.75|
    October|108.7|191.2|
    November|58.4|128.9|
    December|83|166.58|
    Total|1012.2|1578.1|

A good start to the year. Two fun cross-country races, and a decent PB in Raheny. The only downside is that all the racing meant I didn't keep to my 10k a day average, but that's still my second-biggest month.

kmtd: 301.69
    Runs: 31

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

Ray - That leg doesn't sound right...
    Perhaps you should give it a break/rest day now that you have completed your perfect month??;)

Not while I can still hop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I'm surprised at you Ray, not having a recovery run the day after a race, I expect you to set a better example. Tut tut.

14.22k in 47.35 (5.26 average)

hmmm :(

Running home at the new, harder 'easy' pace. Was going okay - not so easy, and calves were feeling a bit tight, but grand really - until I was almost home. But then suddenly, pain in the joint of my left big toe :eek: It has been a bit sore before now and then, but this was actual pain. Stopped running, started again, same pain :( Stopped again, took off my shoe, and sock, had a look, but nothing to see. Started running again very slowly, and this time I could continue - but I wasn't running properly, I was basically rolling off the side of my foot rather than forward.

So... tomorrow I see if a day's rest and a different pair of runners helps. If not, looks like I'll be buying a bike :eek:

this month: 1/14.22
    this year: 21/315.91

Sorry to hear that, your streak was going well.

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

Get your peas out of the freezer quick. Sorry to hear that. Damn injuries :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

PM me for medical advice :P

• Registered Users Posts: 3,156 ✭✭✭jcsmum

Ah sorry to hear that Ray.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

Sorry to hear about the injury. Play it safe and take a couple of days off. I heard of a man who had a pain in his toe but refused to rest - lost the toe - seriously.;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭drquirky

Hey Ray-

I actually get sporadic big toe pain but only in winter. A friend of mine is a doctor and swears to me that it is related to Vitamin D levels. They get quite low in winter especially as far north as Ireland is- dunno if this is helpful but I've found taking a good vitamin supplement in winter eliminates this pain...

You're al just jealous of the streak, I'll never stop, never, never!

I'll try another run tomorrow, just an easy one club training session in different runners, and see how I feel. I got a physical therapy/massage voucher for my birthday which I was planning to use soon anyway...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

You really should take the safer option of a rest day because if I keep having to catch up to you I'm afraid I'll get injured soon too it may get worse!!:D

9.1k in 41.40 (4.35 average)

Risky run tonight, but I had to go up to the club anyway to drop the kid off at his training and pay my subs, so might as well run myself too...
    2k warmup, then 2 x 1200m, with a couple of minutes recovery, at about 10k pace (4.10 ish), then 2 x 1000, more or less the same (4.08ish), finally 2 x 700m, more like 5k pace (3.58, and 3.38), and about a k warmdown.

I was very conscious of the toe joint all evening, and did have a couple of twinges, but tbh there were twinges everywhere - hip, calves, heel - so I mightn't have thought anything of it if it wasn't for yesterday's run. Anyway, I'm going to be sensible and back off for a while. Not stop running, but bring down the pace and the distances, for at least the next week. I can't make Saturday's BHAA race anyway, so the next race on the calendar is not for two weeks. I should know by then how I am...

this month: 2/23.12
    this year: 33/325.01

8.65k in 51.33 (5.57 average)

Slow, slow run into work today, made slower by the bag on my back (didn't leave clothes in work yesterday because I didn't know if I'd be able to run at all today)

this month: 3/31.77
    this year: 34/333.66

• Registered Users Posts: 2,546 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Ray, impressive streak of running but go and get that injury checked out or you might only make it worse.

Unfortunately, I don't really have time for another week and a half, but I will be getting it checked out then. For the next week it's going to be easy, short runs, mostly on grass, and constant monitoring. It wasn't sore this morning - the rest of my legs gave me more trouble - but I am very conscious of it.

5.1k in 29.08 (5.42 average)

Slow, short and easy. Feeling much better already, but will do my best to restrain myself for the next few days anyway.

this month: 4/36.87
    this year: 35/338.76

5.65k in 33.24 (5.55 average)

ditto

this month: 5/42.52
    this year: 36/344.41

7.06k in 38.45 (5.30 average)

Ran into St James' to donate platelets. Bag on my bag and meant to keep the pace easy, but it did creep up. My foot was feeling fine during the day, and for most of the run, but I don't think it liked the concrete pavements and was starting to get a little uncomfortable towards the end.

Then I nearly couldn't give blood, my blood pressure was 98/62 at first, I had to go walk around a bit to get my systolic over 100...

this month: 6/49.58
    this year: 37/351.47

Stopped the watch by accident on my way into work, so no detailed stats today...

this month: 7/58.08
    this year: 38/359.97

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭digger2d2

7.06k in 38.45 (5.30 average)

Ran into St James' to donate platelets. Bag on my bag and meant to keep the pace easy, but it did creep up. My foot was feeling fine during the day, and for most of the run, but I don't think it liked the concrete pavements and was starting to get a little uncomfortable towards the end.

Then I nearly couldn't give blood, my blood pressure was 98/62 at first, I had to go walk around a bit to get my systolic over 100...

this month: 6/49.58
    this year: 37/351.47

Did that not chafe? ;)

typo - it should be 'bag* in my bag**'

*containing the clothes I would change into***
    **the larger bag being carried on my back
    *** which were the clothes I had changed out of ****
    **** I was wearing running clothes, I didn't run naked to the hospital, carrying all my clothes in a bag

Glad we could get that sorted out :)

8.69k in 47.19 (5.27 average)

Run home from work, felt very tired and generally in bits. Blood donation hangover, I think...

this month: 8/66.77
    this year: 39/368.64

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭sunflowerRo

I cant believe you gave platelets again. You are putting the rest of us to shame :o. Fair play dhuit

I seem to be paying for it though - must make sure not to schedule any donations in the week before big races...

Great Karma Ray, fair play to you.

8.64k in 48.53 (5.39 average)

Can't make the club training this evening :( so ran into work instead. Since this run was unplanned, I had to bring in my change of clothes too. I'm looking forward to being able to run without a bag :rolleyes:

this month: 9/75.41
    this year: 40/377.28

8.65k in 47.44 (5.31 average)

Another day, another easy run into work with a bag. Getting a bit boring.
    Long run to look forward to on Sunday, and physio some time next week - if both go okay I'll be able to start running faster again.

this month: 10/84.06
    this year: 41/385.93