Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Its all about Time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Tuesday 12/03/ - Session with Mick

An easy mile jog down to the sea front, and met up with Conor and a few others, for an easy warmup. When I say that the wind was mental, is was actually way way worse.
    The session was 10*400 with 100m jog recoveries, so the start point would move around 100m each rep. At lease that offered some verity regarding the conditions. Running with the wind for the first 100m, was a joy, actually slightly mad, as you were blown past the turn post by a few meters, turning into the wind was like running into a wall. Progress was difficult in the extreme.

I bugged out after 8 reps, with the Bohermeen half still in the legs, and the wind taking its toll, and a gentle jog back to the car (with the wind).

Wednesday 13/03/ - Easy

Just easy miles from the house, to St Annes and around. 5.8 miles in 47 for 8.08 avg.

Thursday 14/03/ - RunMute

Given that it take around 45 minutes to get the Dart into work, and I can run it in 43, it make since to do this a bit more often, weather allowing. 5.7 miles in 43:46 for 7:40 avg.
    Sat in a puddle of sweat for the 10am meeting, before getting to the showers :(

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3461153637

Saturday 16/03/2019 - Parkrun

The Saturday default option for training. It really boils down to a run and a chat with the lads at this stage. Normally the race gets off at around 9:35ish, however this morning it was bang on 9:30, as a result I was the last to start, and had to work through the field. Still happy with the 21:37 for a7:03 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3466282081

Sunday 17/03 - LSR.

JF and Dave away at the moment, and with the MSB on the next day I didn't want to get drawn into a longer and faster than necessary LSR. Headed out at 7:30 for a steady Howth based run. Grand on the way out with the strong tail wind, no so much on the way back. Carribrack road as challenging as ever
    8.64 miles in 07:53 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3469083087

Monday 18/03 - MSB 5K

One of the best road races on the calendar, and I always try to be around for it. A big club contingent for this one, with plenty of familiar faces. Easy jog from my office to the green, then a few shuttles before joining in about 10 row back from the front line. A few chats before the off. Pushed from the word go, with a strong wind in the face for a good part of the canal section. Splits were 6:27, 6:32, 6:32, 5:33 for a 6:27 avg.

If I had been a bit of careful and considerate with the pervious few days, and less running and beer, I could have broken 20minutes.... :mad:

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3472990098

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

MisterDrak wrote: »
    Saturday 16/03/2019 - Parkrun

The Saturday default option for training. It really boils down to a run and a chat with the lads at this stage. Normally the race gets off at around 9:35ish, however this morning it was bang on 9:30, as a result I was the last to start, and had to work through the field. Still happy with the 21:37 for a7:03 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3466282081

Sunday 17/03 - LSR.

JF and Dave away at the moment, and with the MSB on the next day I didn't want to get drawn into a longer and faster than necessary LSR. Headed out at 7:30 for a steady Howth based run. Grand on the way out with the strong tail wind, no so much on the way back. Carribrack road as challenging as ever
    8.64 miles in 07:53 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3469083087

Monday 18/03 - MSB 5K

One of the best road races on the calendar, and I always try to be around for it. A big club contingent for this one, with plenty of familiar faces. Easy jog from my office to the green, then a few shuttles before joining in about 10 row back from the front line. A few chats before the off. Pushed from the word go, with a strong wind in the face for a good part of the canal section. Splits were 6:27, 6:32, 6:32, 5:33 for a 6:27 avg.

If I had been a bit of careful and considerate with the pervious few days, and less running and beer, I could have broken 20minutes.... :mad:

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3472990098

Well done!! (I've mentioned trying to shelter behind you along the canal over on the MSB 5k event thread :))

HelenAnne wrote: »
    Well done!! (I've mentioned trying to shelter behind you along the canal over on the MSB 5k event thread :))

Cheers Helen, you were going well yesterday alright, indeed all of the crew ran well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Cheers Helen, you were going well yesterday alright, indeed all of the crew ran well :D

They did! Age category wins galore! My time was a bit slower than I hoped, but I'm blaming the wind, because I think I ran ok - I certainly passed a few people I didn't expect to finish ahead of ... roll on windless summer days :)

Tuesday 19th - Easy

Just easy miles from the house to St Annes, and some grass running, out to the coast road, and along. 5.77 miles in 46min for 8:02 avg.

Thursday 21/03 - 3miles on 3 miles off.

Just felt like something different, and knew I was not able for 4*1, or 2*2. " miles easy from the house down Howth road.

On miles were 6:57, 6:56, 6:43 (wind in the face for these).

Off miles were 7:42, 7:46, 7:49.

I had the HRM on for these, which I never use, so I have no way to gauge a 151 avg for the run ???

8.07 miles in 59:36 for 7:23 avg.

Parkrun St Annes.

Turned up this week with plenty of time to spare, and shared a few words with a few of the lads before the off. More of the club were acting as pacers for the day.

I again started way to far back, relative to my expected pace, but this easier pace could have helped in the later stages of the run? Started pushing hard from the all weather pitched on, (first 1/2 mile). Passed loads of runner down the avenue the first time (miles 1 6:52).
    Upped the pace for the 2nd and 3rd miles (6:33, 6:26), an finished with a 20:07 on the watch. Pretty happy with the time, and with a faster start could have probably broken the 20min. The encouraging thing is that while I was running hard, it was still well within myself. I put it down to the now regular sessions with Mick.

3.1 miles in 20:07 for a 6:36 avg.

Sunday 24/03 - LSR

MrsDrak had her first Bike Race, at 10am, so had to go out and support, given that she has supported my races numerous time over the years. This meant that I have to head out at 7:30am to get back in time. Just 8 miles at a steady pace... Nothing more to report :o

8.02 miles in 1:01 for 7:39 avg.

Monday 25/03 - Gym in town for medium and core work.

Tuesday 26/03 - Sessions

Easy 2.6 miles from the house down to the wooden bridge, and the group sessions. Nice to see some brightness in the sky for a change.
    No Mick this week. Conor was the nominated coach for the session. The session was 3 *1200 with 2 min static recovery, then 4*400 with 60 sec recovery. I opted for the faster group for the first time. Grand for most of the reps. Pushed when i needed to and held on when i was empty. Finished with 3.28 miles in 21:41 for 6:35 avg.

Wednesday 27/03 - Easy

Great to feel some heat when out running. Opted for St Annes and an easy 5.2 miles in 40 odd minutes for 7:49 avg.

Thursday 28/03 - Gym and core.

Not sleeping well at the moment with the contract crap in work, so opted out of the Thursday (usually steady run), and the TV instead. Mistake and should have went for the run :(

Saturday 20/03 - BHAA 4 Mile (St Annes Park)

I had signed up for the Dunboyne 10K on Sunday, but was having doubts doing it. A 12 pm race, with driving to, and from, finding parking warmup and down, means loosing 4 hours plus.

Instead decided to do the BHAA 4 miler in the park. Lovely run, and plenty of Raheny folks doing it too. Lined up 2 rows from the front. Pushed from the off:-
    Mile 1 - 6:29
    Mile 2 - 6:45
    Mile 3 - 6:31
    Mile 4 - 6:37

Finished in 26:36 for 51 place (out of 450 ) for 6:36 avg. Lovely local run and delighted i got past a few of the club mates.

Sunday 31/03 - LSR

Plenty of the club doing to Dunboyne 10K race, so a quiet morning ahead. Started out with the Berlin and Rotterdam crew, but they were running 7:20 pace, and i was dropped in the first mile. Took it handy and ran the coast for 8.5 miles in 1:06 for 7:50 avg.

Finished the month with 130 miles. Which is about when i want to be at the moment. With my history of injury, the closer i get to 150m the increasing risk...

Monday 01 -April - Gym

Lunch time session in town, with upper body and core work. Also some TRX which is great for the hams and knees, (got to look after the knees when you getting on) ...

Tuesday 02-April - 10 * Hill Sessions

Howth Hill session with Mick, was in work late so the warm-up suffered as a result. Jim parks up at the bottom of the Carribrack road, and runs up the 3 miles up to the summit. I only managed to get in a 1.5 miles before at very easy pace.

The session was 10 hill repeats of 200m with zero recovery. I'm slowly graduating out of the slower group, but for these i opted to alternate between the slower groups 200m rep and the faster groups 250m. The extra 50m had me blowing hard for each rep. Still when coach is urging you on, you dig a little deeper.

Empty at the end, and cooled down with another half mile easy.
    Finished with 5 miles in around 41 minutes including the very slow cool down.

Wednesday 03 April - Easy

Very easy after the session day before. Just 6.6 miles from the house to St Annes Park and around. Still freezing weather, and had to wear gloves to stave off Frost Bite.

6.6 miles in 54 mins for 8:11 avg.

2 manic days in work including contract negotiations have left me empty, and zero training. No running until Parkrun tomorrow. :D

Saturday - 06/April - Park Run St Annes

Dropped my son to Lesson St for 9, which gives just enough time for get out to St Annes, and have a 5 minute Warmup.

Exchanged a few works with Dave and Jim before lining up 2 rows from the front. Off immediately, and passed by 30-40 runners. No worries as I just treat these as the Tempo effort for the week. Settled into 6:50 pace, and pushed on past the overly eager runners each mile. Finished in 20:27 for 6:43 avg and 35th place.

Sunday 07/04 - Steady run.

What is usually the LSR for the week, turned into a steady paced run. Easy from the house up to the club house, and met up with the lads. The easy, paced was dropped as I joined up with the Boston lads, and pushed the pace down the Howth road.

The group broke up around Fairview park, and I tried to maintain the same pace. Lovely run along the coast road, with temps around 10c.

Finished with 9 miles in 1:05, for 7:18avg pace. Happy with the harder effort for a change.

09/04/2019 - Tuesday - Porto Running

A few days in Porto with the Mrs. Opted for an easy run down to the river and along the banks. Given that the City is very hilly the "down" to the river was handy enough, as was the beautiful run out and back along the Douro River. The "back up to the hotel" not so much :eek:

5.85 miles in 47mins for 8:03 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3539403171

10/04/2019 - Wednesday - Porto Running.

Different day and different route to the Port houses and then the river. Again great scenery. 4.55 miles in 37 mins for 8:14 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3542441752

12/04/2019 - Friday - Porto Running

Last day in a great city, and highly recommended. Upped the pace for the run as we had moved to an AirB&B closer to the river for the second 2 days, that has less climbing. Just a 5K again along the river, as 7:15 pace.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3548207820

13/04/2019 Saturday - Park Run St Annes.

Standard local parkrun, and was a bit tired after the few days holiday (and drinking). Just 3.1 mile sin 20:51 for 6:49 avg.

14/04/2019 - Sunday - LSR

Down to the clubhouse and not many there at 8am, as the national 10K was on and also a few brave souls away running the Boston marathon. A useful 10.1 miles with DG, and 2 of the younger lads, where we had to avoid the coast road with the high winds.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3554033034

Tuesday 16/04 - Club Sessions

An easy 1.5m jog up to St Anne's and met up the the group. A few hello's followed by another 1m easy and a dynamic warm-up. Mick had the following session set for the evening. 2 * (3*300, 2*400, 1*800), with 70 second recovery, for the reps and 4 minutes between the sets.

I fell into the back of the faster group, with 6-7 other faster lads. The 300m, were handy enough (about 60 seconds), the 400 harder, and I was blowing after 300m. The 800m, slightly slower pace offered little respite.

Unfortunately the runners I selected were the new Nike ???, and were lifting the right big toe nail off with the harder running, with each stride. By the time sessions were finished I was limping badly as a result. Not a pretty sight when I took the runners when i got home. :(

Hopefully wont impair running for the next few days.

18/04/2019 - Thursday - RunMute

Took a rest day on the Wednesday to avoid any more damage to the toe nail. Fel all the worse for it. :(

Thursday - RunMute into work and an at easy pace, just 5.55 miles in 44 mins for 7:59avg. Grand and nice and relaxed all day at the desk.

19/04/2019 - Friday - Race

Signed up for the "Good Run" charity race in aid of Motor Neuron research in st Annes, as this horrible disease had effected us many years ago, and decided to do a small part to help.

Two races on the day a 2.5k off at 10:30am and a 5K off at 11am. Privately thought about running the 2.5 as there didn't seem to be much in the way of serious runners doing the shorter event, and I harbored thoughts of an easy win. Suggested to myself that the same might be true for the 5K. Lined up on the front row, right beside an ex Olympian and her husband. So much for an easy win :(

Ran the race as a tempo effort and finished in 20:40ish. Lovely to run in a warm weather and do your bit...

20/04/2019 - Saturday ( Run - Gym - Run)

Easy from the house to the Gym in the village, short light workout, then on home via St Annes, and the sea front. Finished with 3.7 miles as easy pace, at 8:10 avg.

22/04/2019 - Monday - Leinster 10 Road Champs.

One of my favorite races of the year, given that it is both local and 10 miles which is possibly my best distance. Short and easy warmup, with a few of the lads, and lined up 2 rows from the front. Temperatures were hovering around 15c with clear blue skies.
    Off at the gun at 10am, and settled into a steady 6:45 up the avenue. A short section of the course is "out and back", so afforded to opportunity to see runners ahead and also behind. Turned at the top of the avenue, and back down. By way of race strategy I had decided to hold on to 7:00 pace until i could push on for the last 2 miles.

Loads of support on the course, with the race pace settling in nicely. Miles 1,2,3 (6:45, 6:59, 7:10). Reeled in a few of my club mates, over the next few miles. Constant support from a few of the coaches also. Miles 4,5,6,7 (6:59, 6:47, 7:09, 7:01). Beginning to fatigue from mile 7 on, but was given a small boost passing both MK and DG. Miles 8,9.10 (7:01, 6:50, 6:38).

Over the line in 1:08:40 for 87 place, and 3 in the Team M50 with Paul and Philip. Nice to get a team bronze for a hard but rewarding race. Also nice to get under the 70min again, which is getting harder and harder each year :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Nice one - glad to see you on Strava being happy with the result. Super to get a medal too!!

Tuesday 23/04 - Very Recovery run

Very much a recovery run, after the 10 miler on the Monday. Just easy miles from the house to St Annes park and around via the Coast road. Even had to stop in the park to catch my breath. :eek:

3 miles in 25 minutes for 8:15avg.

Wednesday 24/04 - Raheny open mile.

The open mile is the selection race for the National Road relays, and as such invited down the fast lads or all ages for a "sprint" around the wade avenue loop. Given that i was in action in the Leinster 10 mile, on the Monday, i was never treating this race as a real chance of getting a team place. Still must try.

An easy 2.8 mile warmup, on the loop with plenty of others. A big crowd down for the race. Lined up on the 3rd row, and off at 8:05pm. Running at this pace where the field is still moving away from you at pace, is somewhat disconcerting. Still i tried to hold position, but after 30seconds I was blowing hard and loosing places. The fatigue from Monday was making itself known.

I good battle with the Adrienne, for the second half, but ultimately the fatigue had the last say in the performance and I had to settle for a 5:53 and 45th place on the day. I ran 5 seconds faster last year, with the 10 miler just as "fresh" (stale) in the legs. Must be getting older :confused:

Back to the clubhouse for a coffee and buns and bickies and... Stayed around for the presentation of the winter league titles. Also got the promised bronze for the Team M50 from the Leinster 10 miler.

After (12:01am), went to see Avengers Endgame with my boys, big dumb (marathon length) fun... Bed at 4am :eek:

Friday 26th April - Easy

Just easy miles from the house to St Annes and back in poor weather. Had to drive up to Sligo after the run, so didnt want to empty myself.

4.6 miles in 8:11 avg.

Sunday 28th April - Long Steady

Up early and out for the run as I wanted to watch the London Marathon, as Mick was running it, also the Road relays were on after.

House to the sea front and around Sutton Cross, then Strand Road, Corkscrew, and Carribrack road, and then Windgate road (always up and up). then back on to Carribrack and reverse. Lovely run and kept the pace up there for most of the sections.

Happy with 10.15 in 1:16 for 7:36avg.

Road Relays
    Disappointed not to get picked for one of the M50 road relay teams. 3 teams this year, and i felt that i could have made it on to one of them for sure, but it was not to be. Anyway nice not to have any pressure, and enjoyed the event from the side lines. The team of Peter, Des and Mick got the M50 Silver again.

April overview

2 Parkruns, both Local, and 20:27 the better one.
    3 Races, Good Run (fun run really), and the Leinster 10 mile champs, Raheny open mile
    2 Sessions, Hills reps, and 300, 400, 800s...
    3 LSR's longest 10.14

18 Days run and 106 miles covered. Not great considering im down to do the marathon this year. Still 6 months left...

01/05/2019 - Wednesday - Easy

Just easy miles from teh house to St Anes and around the park. 6.82 miles in 53 minutes for 7:51avg.

03/05/2019 - Friday - Steady

Steady miles from the house to Sutton Cross, and along Burrow road, then Offington park and back via Sutton Cross and the sea front. Love this run, as you get a bit of everything and usually quiet empty roads.
    7 miles in 53 minutes 7:38

04/05/2019 - Saturday - Parkrun

I big night out on the beer, the previous night meant that i was intending to take it easy. Up to the gym and do a workout for a change, but the gym was closed for renovations, so opted for parkrun instead. Made it just in time, and was the last starter. Held back marker for 2 minutes but pushed on from there. Pushed hard from miles 2,3, and finished in 52 for 21:10 finish.

Stupidly got a resulting cold from the above effort and laid up as a result.

08/05/2019 - Wednesday

Cold still making running almost impossible, no energy and lack of sleep. Still got out for Easy mile from the house up to St Annes and around. 3.5 miles in 8 min avg.

11/05/2019 - Saturday.

Parkrun St Annes, lined up 1 row back and determined to give it a good go with the lack of running hopefully providing fresh legs. 5 seconds before the off the Claw drops into the front line, at the hooter he casually loops off into the distance leaving leaving everyone in his wake. By the first turn left he is out of sight... I pushed for most of the race but dissiponted with a 32nd - 20:28 and 6:39 avg.

12/05/2019 - LSR

JF texted and suggested a long run up to the summit along with Martin and jim. A good 13.2 miles in 1:43 for 7:48 avg and 420 feet of climbing.

14/05/2019 - Sessions - 3*600, 1K, 3*600 with 70sec off.

Micks sessions and 40 odd turned up. Into the faster group with 6-7 others. The first 600 proved simple, the others not so much. The 1K effort difficult as i was falling off the pace. I put it down to the relative lack of running the previous week.

Still 2.7 miles in 6:09avg and 2.7 miles warmup and down.

15/05/19 - Wednesday - Easy

Just easy miles from the house up to the park and around, then back along the coast rod. The "go to route" when I'm tired the day after sessions. 4.55 miles in 36 minutes for 8:04 avg.

Followed by a short and easy gym session in the village gym.

16/05/2019 - Thursday - Tempo.

Walked from the office down to the quays and got a Taxi from there to the bottom of Chesterfield ave. Stashed my track bottoms in the bushes, always hoping that they are there when i get back.

Feeling strong from the previous days easy run, so pushed the pace. The PP is lovely and green this time of the year, and you get to forget about the office for a bit.

Very happy with 7.15 miles in 52 minutes for 7:20 avg.

Tried to flag down a taxi at Parkgate Street (took 10 minutes), but it seems to be getting more and more difficult. Mentioned this back in the office, and one of the lads suggested bringing the phone, my response of being light when running was totally lost on him...

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3654106207

Friday - Rest Day.

18/05/2019 - Saturday - Easy

Drove up to the gym and stashed the bag. Easy from there to the park, then the coast road, wooden Bridge, Dollymount bridge, and back over cause way road, and back to the gym. The Garmin on the fritz for last few days , so no route logged. Easy Gym after.

Lovely run 6.2 miles in 49 minutes, for 7:54 avg.

19/05/2019 - Sunday - Steady.

JF over from London, and i was intending to run with him. Started with MW and DG with Mary pushing the pace as usual. Clubhouse to Fairview park, Coast road, MW and DG broke off and headed up watermill road, I headed on along the coast road for a few mile miles on my own.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3666237060

11.1 miles in 1:22 for 7:26.

Very happy with the weeks running and a few tempo paces were easy enough to hold on to.

21/05/2019 - Tuesday - Session.

Gym the day before. Lots of stretches and light weights.

Easy jog from the house to Micks session, with about 40 others. 5 minutes of Dynamics and the session was announced. 2*1600m, 2*800m, 2*400m with reducing recoveries from 120 seconds to 90sec to 60sec.

Hanging on for most of the reps to the back of the faster group. Blowing hard for all of them, but glad to get through it. Mostly collapsed at the end of the set. 3.21 miles in 20:07 for 6:17 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3670670125

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

How you finding Micks sessions?

Really good. More to have a bit of structure and run with other lads at a certain pace, than Mick imparting the "wisdom of the ages". In fairness he does mix up the sessions from hill reps to differing distances and multiple sets.

He has a decent following on Tuesday evenings now. Highly recommended.

Just found this on youtube, 2 * 2 * 400m, really exciting track stuff. This should absolutely be included in the Olympics.

Highlights - and a catch-up

May 25 - Parkrun St Annes,

Chat with the lads and a good hard run. finished in 20:27 and 6:42 avg.

May 26 - LSR

Sunday LSR with a few of the lads, Temps were heavy at 19c (not of late though), 8.61miles in 7:46 avg. Clubhouse to Fairview and coast road.

May 28 - BHAA Dunboyne

Out early, but slightly dissipointed to see that the track was closed for repairs, so not nice finish to look forward to. Easy job to the start line, with Dave and Jim, and off after 5 minutes. Pushed from the off with first mile in 6:26 (bit to hot for me) second in 6:28. Just tried to hold form and pace from there on.

The new finish was up a steep but short incline and 1 lap around a "rutted Field ". Still pushed on as much as i dared, and delighted to finish in 32:41, for 6:35 avg.

Sambos, Cakes and bickies to finish :D

June 1 - Malahide Parkrun

St Anens closed due to the concerts, so opted for Malahide instead. Big crowd down. Run as well as could be expected and finished in 20:36, and 33rd place.

02/06/2019 - Sunday - LSR

Not many turned up to the club for the Sunday run, so opted for a trip to Howth Hill. Joined up with Eoin (a younger, faster lad), for a good run and a chat out to Burrow road, Offington, Sutton, sea front and back home.

12 miles in 1:32 for 7:42 avg.

03/06/2019 - Monday (Bank Holiday) - Steady.

Out to Malahide for the now standard holiday Monday park plod. About 20 odd out for the trot, with Dave G pushing the pace for the first 2 miles. Some residual fatigue from the 12m the day before, had me wheesing to stay with the pace. Getting more fatigued from mile 5 on, I called a stop and left the others to finish with 6 miles, me just 5.6, in 42 minutes for 7:33 avg.

04/06/2019 - Tuesday Easy.

Normally Micks session, but due to the downpour I opted to go easy and short. Easy up to St Annes, around and home via the sea front. Pretty tired and sore after the few days relatively hard running.

3.8 miles in 30minutes for 8:05 avg.

05/06/2019 - Club Sessions - Santry Track

Possibly 4 years since I did track sessions last, so I had forgotten :-
    1. How hard they are
    2. What a buzz you get from running fast (that's a relative term now :()

A short 1.75 mile warmup around Santry demise, before dynamic warmup from Coach.

Around 20 in our "Slow Group", and were were allocated 12*300m with 65 sec off. While Mick sessions tend to be a more "friendly affair", partly down to Mick being a cool guy, and partly being run on grass, track session are far more serious. Added to the fact that the "fast" groups were hammering out 16 * 400 at crazy paces.

Decided to stay at the rear for each set and work through the group each rep, using the bends to pump the arms and generate some extra pace. Usually finishing each 300 in 60-62 seconds. Had a "Dave lead out" around the 6-7th rep, and duly dispatched that 300m in 54 :). Empty for the next rep.

While it is great to run track again, the pain in the achillies the next days has warned me to take these session sparingly for the next few months. "What the track giveth, the Achilles taketh away"...

Cumulative 2.6 miles in 12:10 for 5:23 avg.

06/06 - Thursday - Gym.

Work very busy also tired and sore, so opted for easy Gym, and stretching instead of run.

08/06/2019 - Saturday - Parkrun St Annes.

Friday, big system going live, so down in Kerry to overview the launch, so no running, just a several red wines on the return train trip.

Saturday - Easy from the house up to St Annes, I usually drive up to PR, but decided on an Easy jog instead. Quick chat with Dave F before the off, meant that I was lined up at the front for a change. Off and settled into a 6:40ish pace with 30-40 runners passing me easily in the first 100-200m. First Mile in 6:43, some of the runners were coming back to me from this point on. Upped the effore slightly from second mile (6:41), and now tracking Dave F. Opened the taps for last mile, down the avenue, and caught Dave, PL, and closing on DG.

Finished in 20:14 for 6:35 avg, and 27th place. Definitively on for a sub 20 in the next few weeks, if i get the head right and conditions play ball :)

09/06/2019 - Sunday LSR.

Dave G had suggested a change to the PP for the 8am Sunday LSR, and 9 of us turned up for it. We split into 2 groups with me joining the (Slightly faster lads). Opted for the north road, then onto trails around to Astown gate, furrey glen, and the S-bands. Towards the end i have several shooting pains under the right knee that caused some concern. I put it down to the track session and the park run the few days before.

The rest were going 15miles, but i stopped after 8. Nice run, especially around the castleknock area on the trails.

8miles in 1:03 for 7:56 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3729518736

11/06/2019 - Easy - St Annes

Just easy miles from the house up to St Annes, and then the sea front, and back around. 4.5 miles in 35 minutes for 7:55 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3737785835

12/06/2019 - Club Sessions - Santry.

Turned up 20 minutes early and turn out that the track was already in use for a Graded meet, we were moved the field to the left of the stadium.

Met up with Dave F and DZ for an easy 1.5 miles around the Demise. The settled into the session details from Coach.

3 groups of runners with Dave and myself in the slowest. Session was 10*400, measured out on the grass field, with 80s recovery.

Completed each rep in around 85-87, with the fastest at 80, and slowest at 89. The Grass was probably 3-4 seconds slower that the track? Still the softer surface offered some limited comfort.

Finished with 2.52 miles in 14:31 for 5:46avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3741397164

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

You nearly knocked me over on the last rep. ;)

By the last lap, i was ready to collapse, let alone trip you up :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

By the last lap, i was ready to collapse, let alone trip you up :p

Seemed like you had a bit in reserve. Nice going.

13/06/2019 - Thursday - Easy

Just easy miles around Trinity Track for a change. A good group there doing 400s from around 1:00pm. I was still hurting from the session the previous night, so i stayed well away. Does get a bit boring running approx 500m repeats though.

2.7 miles in 22:23 for 8:17 avg.

After a short gym session for core and arms.

15/06/2019 - Park Run Fairview.

Was out at Taste of Dublin (corporate gig) the previous night, and no lack of wine, beer and spirits was consumed. Feeling all the worse for it on the Saturday morning. Opted to travel the extra mile to Fairview and see what was what!

Well organised run with around 70 people at the start. Far more of a relaxed atmosphere for the run, than St Annes. The course was a 3 lap affair, with some grass running, and plenty of turns added in.

Settled into a steady 7m/m for the first mile, finding my way around. No energy to push on for the 2nd and 3rd laps. Finished in 22:00 for 14th place.

Grand, and nice to tick off another Parkrun.

16/06/2019 - Sunday - LSR.

Any brightness in the morning and Im awake , regardless of the time going to bed. Sunday had a bright start, so woke up at 5:30ish. After an hour, decided to hit the roads at 6:50am. Running on my own offered the opportunity to change the normal club route.

Down the Howth Road, and turned right at Collins Avenue and headed up the slight drag to Whitehall, then left and down and left onto Griffith Avenue, which is a lovely stretch for running. Then right again down the Malahide Road right around Fairview park and out on to Alfie Byrne Road, and the coast road to finish. Pushed the pace for most of the run.

11.1 miles in 1:23 for 7:31

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3751870848

17/06/2019 - Monday - Easy

Just easy miles from the house to St Annes and Around. 4.4 miles in 35mins for 8:00avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3756616947

18/06/2019 - Tuesday - Micks Session

Opted for this session rather that the club one on the Wednesday as they are a bit more intense, with the track running and the higher tempo. Maybe Im getting a bit soft in my old age...

A good 40 other down for this session. Coach had the session being 400m, 4*1K, 400m, with 120 sec recovery on the 1K and 80 on the 400m. Naturally fitted into the faster paced group, with 10 odd other lads, most of which were far younger. I was fighting for last place after each rep as a result.

Enjoyable session and great to be joined by Dave W for last couple. Finished with 2.9miles in 17:36 for 6:05 avg pace. With the WU and CD a total of 7.63 miles for the day.

19/06/2019 - Wednesday - Easy

Just easy miles from the house to St Annes, and then Coast road and back. 5 miles in 39minutes for 7:49avg.

20/06/2019 - Thursday - MLR

A nice run from the house to Sutton cross, along strand road, and up corkscrew hill (where I nearly stopped), then Carribrrack, and further up Windgate road, (fab views), and back down to Carribrrack, Sutton and home.

Love this route, as it offers coast, sea, hills, and views. Pushed a few faster miles towards the end, and finished with 9.8 miles in 1:14 for 7:35 avg, including 450 feet of climbing.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/3767094494