Its all about Time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

MisterDrak wrote: »
    28/09/2017 Thursday - Easy

Down to Quinta in Portugal for a spot of warm weather training (actually no, the missus said, if I didn't bring here away, there would be trouble)...

Ran at 8ish for avoid the higher temperatures. Stayed off the main road to avoid the traffic.

7m in 54mins for 07:47 avg.

30/09/2017 Saturday - Steady

A bit longer with more loops to get the miles in. Got in a few strava segments to keep the pace up...

8.2miles in 01:03 for 07:40.

Ah now - when I seen this on Strava, I thought you'd really milk in in the update................ but its just become so commonplace for you nowadays :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭MisterDrak

Ah now - when I seen this on Strava, I thought you'd really milk in in the update................ but its just become so commonplace for you nowadays :)

Just trying to get a tan like your Alan :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Just trying to get a tan like your Alan :cool:

You'd need a tin of Ronseal mahogany :)

TbL

Mad busy in work, hence the lack of updates :mad:

September Summary

Ran 24 / 30 days
    210 miles
    LSR's - (20), (21.1), (21.5), (14 Day after Half - that wasn't a half !)
    2 Parkrun's (20.46), (20.34)

Looking back over the last month, there are a lack or faster running there. No Session and no Hills. Most of the runs are in the 7:30, 7:40 range, with the recoveries over all 8:10 8:20 range.

Most of the longer Tempos (Wednesdays) were executed at a faster that MP. All of which leaves me wondering whats my MP... Something to figure out over the next 2 weeks :)

Back to work Dave ...

October - Jesus the years is nearly over already !!!

01/10/2017 - LSR Portugal.

One of the nicest runs ever, ran from the Conrad, down to Quinta Lake. Was just going to take the path around the lake and back up the main road and would have finished with 6-7 miles.

Instead I opted for the trails through the salt marshes, which are composed of hardened sand and some parts gravel. Absolutely lovely to run and watch the sun climb. Temps still a nice 20c at 8am. I Followed the trail around the edge of Quinta, and was beginning to get worried that I my struggle to find my way back. Luckily met up with 2 groups of 3, local runners, a similar vintage to myself. Got past the first group, and imbedded myself with the front group or 3.

Absolutely no English between them, but we got by with a thumbs up or a signal to the right or left, to direct the route forward. At this stage we were running at the edge or golf courses (something I wouldn't do on my own), past villas, and around smaller lakes. Back and forth across routes that I didn't know existed, but beautiful all the same. The pace started to creep up towards 7:00, which proved difficult to hold on the undulating route, and the continued lack of water after over an hour of running.

We finally split up with the strongest local putting down a few 6:30s and leaving me for dead. The other local headed off right towards Val De lobo on the return leg to the salt marshes. I briefly stopped for a break to catch my breath and admire the vista, and bird song, now in full report.

Took it easy over the last to mile back on my own, to the hotel, sweating buckets. Definitely one of the nicest runs in a long long time. One to savour.

11.1 miles in 1:23 for a 7:31 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2025928896

02/10/2017 - Easy Portugal.

Just easy / Steady miles, again around Quinta. Pushed the pace on the first part down to the beach on Avenue Ayrton Senna, as there are a few Segments there. Tired after the run yesterday and the wine the night before... Some of the new villas here €10m+.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2032882559

6.3 miles in 48min for 7:41avg.

03/October - Easy

Back home and just easy miles around St Annes. Stupidly used the Adidas boost to try to preserve the DCM Asics runners. Paid the price the next day with a sore Achilles. I should know better.

7.7 miles in 1:02 for 8:08 avg.

04/October - Steady.

Ran with PL and Mary W, from the clubhouse, to Sutton Cross and up Howth hill to the final hill, across from the baily lighthouse with 200 odd feet of climbing. Pushed the pace back down with Mary, and Paul got dropped. A few solid miles on the return, with the pair of us running stride for stride for 3 miles.

11.9 miles in 1:31 for 7:41 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2043911978

So far behind due to work so ill keep it short...

05/10 - Thursday - Run-mute home, and I didn't start until Ulster Bank on the keys, due to the public congestion. 5.1 mile sin 39mins.

07/10/2017 - Saturday - Easy with hills - Joints a bit sore (old age ?), so just opted for an easy few miles, with a relatively easy 4 * Yangs Hills for a bit of fun. 4.4 miles in total.

08/10/2017 - Sunday - LSR

Started off from the clubhouse at 7:30am, with 5 other brave runners. Fairview, park, into town, The Green, Leason St, Donnybrook, up Eglin road, and onto the marathon Route at Clonskeagh. Pushed on from this point with DR Ger, and dropped the others. Robuck road, Nutley lane, but took a right at St Vincents and over to Merrion Gates, and Sandymount strand, Eastlink, 3 Areana, and Clontarf, and Raheny. Held a steady pace through, finisheing with 21m exactly in 2:26 for a 7:26 confidence builder.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2065204218

09/10/2017 - Monday - Just 4.9 easy miles from the house to St Annes.

10/10/2017 - Tuesday - 7.2 easy miles from the house to St Annes, and took in most of the park, mainly on the grass and back home.

11/10/2017 - Wednesday - Steady

Steady run with Mary W, out to Sutton dingy club, and around St Fintons Road, and back. Ran stride for stride with her for most of the run. 11.32 in 1:25 for 07:32 avg.

14/10/2017 - Couple of rest days previously. Body is just jaded with the steady paced longer runs, and need the rest as a result.

Parkrun St Annes.

Raheny were taking over the management of St Annes park run for the day. The Club was covering everything from Marshalling, to Time keeping to tokens, and pacing. I asked to pace 21, but got given 22 instead. (somebody trying to suggest I cant run 21 ? :P).
    The splits were to be about 7:04 mile pace. First mile a bit quick at 6:55, with a few lads behind depending on my pacing skills :P Second mile 07:08, and only 2-3 back there. Miles 3 in 7:05, and only 1 lads left. Finished off in 21:42 for the 5K, with a black slap and thinks for the one remaining guy...

15/10/2017 - LSR

Firs tapering run. Setup out from the clubhouse with Ger, LB, EMac, and PL. We took in the usual town, Merrion gates and East link route, with Ger LB and myself pushing on from 5 miles. 16.9m in 02:08 for 07:35avg.

17/10/2017 - Easy

Missed the opportunity to run in before the Hurricane, and after 1pm, it was pointless. But I guess there was a mile PB in there if you got the wind right ?

Tuesday 6.1 miles in 48mins, just up to the park and around home.

18/10/2017 - Easy / Hard / Easy

2miles easy from house to the Wade Ave loop. Then 2 miles @ tempo pace (6:45). Followed by 2 miles easy. Just wanted to get some harder running into the body before its to late. Felt all the better for it after the run.

19/10/2017 - MLR

Horrible night for a run, not that it dark be the time I get out. Not helped by the fact that big bad hurricane breeze Brian, was blowing on the sea front, and the parallel rain making everything just that bit worse. :mad:

Ran in the Adidas Boost alternates, and was suffering after 2 miles as a result. Pushed on with a few faster passed miles towards the end, as I ran with a lad doing mile reps.

8 miles in 1:04 for a8m/m avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2143515702

21/10/2017 - Parkrun St Annes

Have been promising myself a park run holiday for a weeks, but unfortunately not this week. There will be time for that after the marathon. Easy jog to the start line, and met up with some of the stalwarts. Called to the start I joined into the second line, and off at a good clip immediately. Pushed the pace as much as I dared, wanting a hard leg stretcher. Finished in 20:16 holding back for the last mile. So happy enough with that.

Easy jog back to the house, made for 6 miles total for the day.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2155263664

22/10/2017 - LSR (last one).

On my last marathon (2013), as a group we did the last 10 miles of the marathon route. Which I found very beneficial, as the hurt set in, that year at around the 16 mile mark. Got a taxi at 7:30am to Kimmage road west, and started running from 7:45am. Unfortunately (due to a miss communication) I was running solo this year.

With the early start and almost no traffic, I was running on the open roads for most of the last 10 miles. Not knowing the route from there until Clonskeagh that well, I had watched the DCM bike video several time on the Saturday to memorise the few turns and twists around Dublin 6.

A combination of something different, the thoughts of running this for real in just a week, and running on silent roads, meant that I probably pushed the pace harder that I needed to. The route is easy enough from Kimmage to the Clonskeagh. However once the drag kicks in from Clonskeagh Motors, to the top of Fosters Avenue, you loose precious seconds per mile. After that its just a matter of ticking off the miles until the finish line. Hopefully it will be that easy on the big day.

Finished the run in 1:16 for 10.46 for a 7:20avg

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2163257378

After had an easy mile jog back to my office, and a warm shower and some stretching in the gym.

Prediction Time

Might as well put down some numbers to hang myself on :(

The training for this marathon has only been OK. My stalwart running buddy JF, has been out of sorts for most of the year, and as a result some of the tempo sessions / MLR has been less effective. In saying that my "unstructured" marathon plan just running 6 days a week for most of the summer, has provided a decent base for the longer runs.

Iv only managed 3 of them longer runs at 20, 21.1 and 21.4 with 3 others at just over 17m. Unfortunately I missed the Dublin half due to the traffic issues, so I don't have much longer race pace info to go on. This is at best a guess...

A goal will be 3:14:00

I ran 3:14:07 back in DCM 2010, when I was 43) so anything faster that that and ill be delighted.

B Goal 3:17.

No reason other that its less that 3:20 and I'm confident I can run that.

If it all goes to S**t, 3:19:59 !!!

Loving the lack of training that the taper week affords.

Monday 23/10 - Rest

Was a day off everything, and it was really required, the combination of the park run (a hard effort) and the last 10 miles of the route on Sunday (mostly at tempo pace), had left me tired. I compounded matters with an admittedly light workout after the run. I woke up on Monday feeling a cold coming on. Wrapped up like an Eskimo heading to work on Monday, to prevent any more inbound sickness. Thankfully it turned out that I only needed a good sleep and was back to normal on Tuesday morning.

Tuesday 24/10 - 6 miles Easy.

Just easy miles from the house to Vernon avenue, sea front, and back around. To ensure I keep the pace easy, I wore my "slow shorts" (non branded, slightly to long, and not the best fit) - no way I would ever run a 5K in them !

Also trying to keep the food intake in check and eat fresh and healthy. Green salad and a chicken Brest.

Wednesday 25/10 - Sports Massage.

Decent sports massage in the gym beside work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

You're going to knock it out of the park on Sunday D. Rest well and good luck Sunday!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Good luck on Sunday. That 3:14 is very achievable!

Run well on Sunday Dave - best of luck!

DCM 2017 - Sunday 29/10/2017

I had decided that DCM 2017 would be my last marathon. While I do love the event, the training required to run a decent time is getting to much. I do love the range of shorter events through the summer, many of which needed to be avoided or skipped due to mid-week medium long runs. All of which means that I was going to go for broke on this one. As mentioned some posts ago, this training segment was somewhat compromised due to the fact my stalwart running buddy JF was laid up for most of the last 12 weeks. By way of training volume, I had completed 3 20+ runs, all at a faster pace, that is par for the course for me. 6 days running for the whole summer, composing of plenty of 45 - 60 mile weeks.

I had booked into fly fit gym for a shower after the event, which proved to be a good call, dropping the bag before, around 8:30am. A short walk around to Merion Square, and the segregation point for the different waves. I had the short walk up Fitzwilliam St, Street to the middle of wave 1. Briefly exchanged words with Tommy and his son, another Raheny runner of a similar vintage, looking for a 3:30 finish. After a rather muted national anthem, off we went and I almost immediately ran into the back of 2 misplaced female runners, walking down the right hand side of the course, and around the first corner on to Leeson Street ? The crowding meant that the pace down Lesson street was 8:00ish. I found that I was running parallel to the 3:20 pacers for most of this section, well behind where I wanted to be. Moving on to the green and through a particular narrow gap of spectators at Earlsford Terrace.

Pushed on after the green, when the 3:20 pacers balloon caught the signpost directly on front of me and deflated. Kind of funny watching trying to untangle himself. The drag up Clanbrassil Street was unwelcome, and I let the pace drop here to preserve effort levels, with plenty of runners forging ahead of me. Down onto the Liffey, and over the James Joyce Bridge, I had now comfortably left the 3:20 pacers behind. Now Manor street and a more serious drag to contend with (mile 1,2,3 (7:37, 7:04, 7:22). Left on to North Circular and a welcome first view of the Phoenix Park. Entering into the park gave a brief break from the great support and a chance to see how I felt. Everything seemed normal at this early stage. Chesterfield with plenty of space offered plenty of overtaking options, and in turn, a chance to be overtaken.

I was taking a short drink at every table, happy to be losing that few seconds, each time. Just a small swig to keep the fluids topped up. The few miles of Chesterfield avenue were over in a blink, and strangely I can't remember anything about this part of the race. (miles 4,5,6 - 7:08, 7:16, 7:13) Through the gates and into Castleknock village, and the support levels went through the roof. The "clackers" and the fantastic band playing something from the 80's as I went past. The left turn at Myo's and I expected the crowds to lessen as we moved away from the village, if anything they actually increased for the next few hundred meters. I held back on the effort down the descent down Tower road, and the turn back into the Park. At this point one of my training Partners Declan, moved past with some smart quip about a owing me a bottle of water from the last LSR? I couldn’t do much, bar let him move past me and into the distance. More fab support on exiting the Park, and the entry into Chapelizod. (Miles 7,8,9 - 7:25, 7:08, 7:07). Don’t know this part of the city well and again seemed to pass in the blur. (Miles 10,11,12 - 7:11, 726, 7:14)

By mile 12 a slight pain was apparent in the left Achilles, which seemed to be way too early in the race for anything like this? Kept form and tried to ignore. Said a brief hello to Damo and the Blind man who he was assisting, who jointly had a great race to finish in 3:27. Again great support along this part of the route. The very slight drag up the Crumlin road was anonymous, where I passed Declan from the club.

In 2013 I was motoring at this part of the race, watching the miles tick past, now I was already looking for this to be over, as the effort levels were definitely rising and still only half way. I was already convinced that this was not going to be pretty at the end. Next few miles (13,14,15 - 7:07, 7:22, 7:15)

By the Kimmage Road, I was back to where I ran the last 10 miles last Sunday. Unlike previous years this didn't seem to help the mood? I had to admit that I was really beginning to struggle with the effort levels. The pace was holding but perceived effort higher that I wanted with 10 miles still to go. On Finisher Pix, I noted that my form was very poor, I look like I'm shuffling along rather that covering ground efficiently.

By mile 17, I caught up with Loraine, one of my Tempo training partners, who seemed to be also struggling, but more so than me. We briefly exchanged encouraging words as I slowly moved past. Effort levels still surging, possibly down to the direct sunlight and the increasing temperatures. I tried to combat the direct sun, this by running in the shadows whenever possible. Bushy park and a good downward stretch to Terenure village helping slightly. A shout out from some friends just after the village, as I tried to look strong and efficient (Miles 16,17 - 7:09, 7:10). I knew the right turn away from the finished line at Clonskeagh road would be difficult, and had probably over hyped this in my mind, with the result that it actually wasn't that bad. The drag starts at the bridge over the Dodder and after 21miles running all the more difficult. Miles 18,19,20 (7:06, 7:09, 7:17).

New levels of suffering took hold from this point onward. Stupidly I decided to take a High 5 Gel from the table at UCD, to be washed down with a Lucozade orange, and more water. Also sprayed water over the head and on my legs. Mostly to no avail. Heartbreak hill mostly a non-event, in terms of a hill (thanks Howth), but trying to maintain the effort was becoming impossible. I needed and wanted to stop... Down Fosters and left, at last, heading directly towards the finish line. Mile 21, 22 ( 7:25, 7:44)

By the top of the Stillorgan Flyover I spotted AMK, hunched over getting his legs rubbed by some girl, My first reaction was "Are you ok, and what the F*** are you doing way back here"... Second reaction "I'm ahead of AMK" ��. The effort levels were now nearing maximum. The speed bumps down Nutley lane were unwelcome, and jarring to the burning quads. The left turn onto Merrion Road, and more great support. Calls of come on Raheny and well done... Plenty of my Raheny Club mates were staffing the closed roads leading on to Merrion Road, and I get a "come on" every few seconds. At this stage I was in my own Private Hell, and mostly ignored or couldn’t hear the calls of support. Mile 23,24, 25, 26 (7:34, 7:37, 7:46, 7:55)...

With the slowing pace Loraine came past me at the American Embassy, Normally I could respond and put up some opposition, however, at this stage I just wanted to finish without walking. Pushed on and got to Mount St, and JF and Jenny marshalling. Can't remember what they said??? At this stage I was almost oblivious to the massive crowds on Mount Street, nothing could have pushed me on harder. I was running purely on instinct at this stage. One foot on front of the other to the finish...

With 10 meters to go, and as I ran over the first timing mat, I got a massive cramp in the left leg, that stopped me in my tracks. Would have fallen over, were it not for the timing gantry extending down the road to this point. Grabbed the gantry and literally crawled, hand over hand my way over the finish line, with 3:13:43 on the watch... The fact that the race was actually over was a bigger comfort, than hitting my sub 3:14 target...

Got a well done from Pat Hooper, over the line, and then a "Dave do you want a wheel chair, you don’t look to good". Politely refused and decided to walk it off.

This was easily the hardest race I have ever run. Really dropped off the pace for the last 6 miles, far worse than I expected. Really sick for 3-4 hours after, and only for the Mrs, would not have made it home.

Still finished in 1088 place and 62nd M50. Very happy to have got the A goal (Sub 3:14).

Should the last Marathon be that hard ??? I'll never know :confused:

MrDrak Out...

Great report and congrats on the time - really well deserved!

After DCM...

The resulting sickness for 4-5 hours after the race meant that I could not stomach food until around 6pm that evening. Which in turn, meant that the stiffness and soreness for the next few days were all the worse. Plenty of stairs descended down backwards, with a busy Tara street station the worst experience on the Tuesday.

While Tiredness was a factor for the last few miles of the Marathon, I think the building nausea caused the larges drop in pace. Anyway don't need to worry about it, as that was my last marathon.:(

Monday - 30/10 - Gym

Down to Westwood gym, and 30 minutes in the sauna, plunge pool, Steam room, meant I was bouncing for a few hours after.

Wednesday - 01/11 - Easy

A very short and very easy 2.9 miles (with 2 walk breaks) from the house up to the park and around the coast. Very tired both physical and mental (I just didn't want to be out running today). Still It eased the recovery the next day.

Saturday - 04/11 - Parkrun

More of a case of getting out, and saying hello to the lads. Stupidly I didn't wear the Marathon shirt, as a badge of honour. Pushed reasonably hard considering, and finished with a 21:02. Grand for a 6:52 avg.

Sunday - 05/11 - Steady.

Down to the clubhouse and met up with Will and Jenny. OK for a few miles, but again fatigue took over, and I have to drop back as a result. 6.5 miles in 49minutes for a 7:40 avg.

Jesus has it been that long ? - Log update - The abridged version

Tuesday 07/11/2017 - Double Day.

First ever Double day, with thanks to the Dart Strike. The traffic down the Howth road, was at a full stop, and the busses, were all full by Raheny, leaving groups of people at every stop. At easy 5.6 miles into work @ 8:00pace, and 5.11m home at 7.37pace. (Had to walk to Ulster Bank before being able to run home).

Great feeling being able to easily outpace cars in the jam.

Wednesday 08/11/2017 - Easy

Just 4 easy miles from the house to the park around.

Thursday 09/11/2017 - Runmute.

More Runmute, with a bit extra coast for good measure. 6.3 miles @ 7:37 pace.

Saturday 11/11/2017 - Reps 7*400

Easy warmup from the house to the Gym in the Village, and dropped off the RunBag. Then on to the park and a brief active stretching.

Reps were all around 93-95sec 400. Added up to almost 2 miles @ 5:52 pace. Didn't want to push to much with the marathon only 2 weeks before.

Easy back to the gym and upper body and core work.

Sunday - 12/11/2017 - Steady

Ran with one of the faster and younger lads, and more of the others did the remembrance run in the PP. I couldn't as we had relations down. 7.4 miles @ 7:39 pace. Grand.

Tuesday 14/11/2017 - Crash Smash Bash !

Off work early and headed out for a steady run. Rounding the turn from the Howth Road to Vernon Ave, I had to go wide around a double parked van on the footpath. Coming the other way on the footpath was a cyclist, and smacks into me at full tilt. I came off the worst, and took the full force on my face. Dazed enough I had to sit for 2 minutes.

Looked like the elephant man after 5 minutes, with the swelling. As no help was forthcoming, I had to jog back to the house, trying to hide the lump! Felt pretty sorry for myself for the next few days, and no running as a result.

Marathon Update.

Benefits of being an old lad.... We managed to get both a Dublin and Leinster Team M50 bronze for our efforts, with yours truly being the top scorer. :D

Got the medals in the clubhouse after the winter league race on Wednesday.
    Pretty bloody pleased I have to say. :)

Brief Update... Work is mad busy as a result there is no time for boards...

18/11/2017 - 400s

Warmup and cool down from the house to St annes. Then 7*400 at around 93-95sec per 400. 5:55 mile pace. Still didn't push to hard.

Also light Gym for core and upper in the village before going home.

19/11/2017 - LSR

Sunday LSR, missed the 8:00am start and a chat with the lads. Just opted for a steady run on my own, to Fairview, then the coast road , and back around.

8 miles in 59:45 for 7:28 avg.

Rest of Week

Tuesday - 4.3 miles @ 7:50 pace.
    Wednesday - 3.4 miles Fast @ 6:53 pace.
    Saturday - 5.1 miles @ steady pace (7:47) in Malahide
    Sunday - 7.9 miles @ 7:37 pace.

Tuesday - PP - Steady

Opted to return to the PP for a lunch time run, as I had only done this one in 2017. Lovely is Cold run for 6.6 miles @ 07:17 pace. Nice to run fast for a change.

Thursday - 31/11 - Easy

Freezing cold run and just getting the miles in. 4.1 miles in 32 mins.

Hopefully work will ease up for the next few weeks, and I can enjoy my running again.

Upcoming races...

Raheny Winter League Round 2 - 6/Dec 2 miles
    Raheny Winter League Round 2 - 13/Dec 3 miles
    Joe Noonan 24/Dec 6 miles
    Goal Mile Xmas Day 1 mile
    Fat Turkey 10K 27/Dec 6.2 miles

Still mad busy in work and scant time for logging or even reading logs :(

A few brief highlights :-

03/12/2017 - Sunday - LSR

Lovely run from the house to Sutton Cross, Burrow Road, (where Larry Mullen Lives), back through offington park and on to Carribrack Hill, up to The top of Corkscrew will and the steep descent down to the sea front at the Strand Road. Then the return home. Lovely run and great to get out for a decent spin. 9.1 miles in 1:10 for a 7:44 avg.

https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/2363738783

06/12/2017 - Winter League Round 2 - 2 miler.

The second round of the club winter season race, as usual run on the wade avenue 1 mile loop. With scant sessions and a general lull in the run volume I was expecting difficulty in breaking 13min for the 2 miles.

Pushed as hard as I could and finished in 13th out of about 60 runners, in 12:34 for a 6:18. Delighted with the run and great to run fast again.

09/12/2017 - Saturday - Easy.

Freezing temps, and I was wrapped up like a Eskimo, also had my companies Xmas party the previous night, so the head and body and everything else was still recovering from the Beer, Brandy and Red wine. 5.2 easy mile in -2 temps around St Annes park.

13/12/2017 - Winter League Round 3 - 3 miler.

Another freezing and windy night to run with the lads. Privately wanted to run sub 20mins for the 2 miles, anything faster would be a bonus. Lined up with 60 odd others, pushed hard for the first mile (6:18), asleep for the second (6:32), and holding on for the last mile (6:26).

Still got past a few of my running buddies and happy to get the scalps, finishing in 13th.

3 miles in 19:10 for 6:26avg.

Jesus has it been that long since I updated ?

Work continues to be manic, with the result that I don't get time to think about running far less, writing about it.

From Mid December, I have been getting out for 3-4 runs per week, however there has been no sessions in there, and everything is of a shorter distance, typically 5 miles or less. Beginning to feel the lack of speed as a result, with the net time in the Parkruns heading south.

Some general highlights:-

Fat Turkey 10K - December 28th - Race from St Fintans Church in Sutton, to the Summit car park, and back down. Basically 450 feet of ascending for 5K, and the same of descending. Finished in 43:40, in 47th out of about 450 other and 4th M50. Grand to get the legs moving again.

2017 - Finished with 1,742 miles for the year.
    Managed to run without injury for the whole year.
    Hit most of my Goals - Ran DCM
    Got a sub 20 5K,
    Ran in the National Road relays.
    Earned a few hard won accolades, including DCM M50 Team Bronze
    10mile Road Team Bronze
    Club Winter league division 2 winner.

2018 - New Years Parkrun

Given we were in the Mansion house for the new years ball, and only getting to bed at 3am, with many glass of wine meant that 21:57 for St Annes was amazing.

03/01 - Winter League - 3Mile.

Freezing and windy down the first leg of the route. Finished in 13th out of about 60, in 19:28. Pushed as hard as I could for the final lap.

07/01 - Masters XC.

Home race and pretty much most of the club was out to run this one. A nice 3 lap course composed of both grass and train, and a tasty log jump half way around. The goal was not to get lapped and run as hard as I could sustain. Finished in 197th place in 27:27 for 7:06.

14/01 - Leinster Masters XC

The lovely muddy Dunboyne 3 lap course offered a more demanding course that the Dublin masters. The surface was in places very challenging, with several seasoned athletes looking spikes on the way around. Got a warm hello from Wubble Wubble before the freezing start. Off immediately, and settled into the back of the field. Worked hard to pass runners every few minutes. Pushed hard for the whole race and finished in 25:53 for 121 place. Great day.

2018 - New Years Parkrun

Given we were in the Mansion house for the new years ball, and only getting to bed at 3am, with many glass of wine meant that 21:57 for St Annes was amazing.

03/01 - Winter League - 3Mile.

Freezing and windy down the first leg of the route. Finished in 13th out of about 60, in 19:28. Pushed as hard as I could for the final lap.

07/01 - Masters XC.

Home race and pretty much most of the club was out to run this one. A nice 3 lap course composed of both grass and train, and a tasty log jump half way around. The goal was not to get lapped and run as hard as I could sustain. Finished in 197th place in 27:27 for 7:06.

14/01 - Leinster Masters XC

The lovely muddy Dunboyne 3 lap course offered a more demanding course that the Dublin masters. The surface was in places very challenging, with several seasoned athletes looking spikes on the way around. Got a warm hello from Wubble Wubble before the freezing start. Off immediately, and settled into the back of the field. Worked hard to pass runners every few minutes. Pushed hard for the whole race and finished in 25:53 for 121 place. Great day.

I actually don't remember you passing me, although you're behind me in this photo by Lindie Naughton, taken on Lap 1. Nicely done.

EDIT: That link takes you to the top level page for the Leinster Races. Page 3 of these, top row, fourth slide from the left.

Raheny 5 - 2018

Had absolutely no expectations for this race, save getting out and running again, given that I had a bad bout of Man Flu for the week. That coupled with doing the numbers on race day, and standing still for 2 hours before the meant that stiffness or cramp could become a factor.

15 mines before the race I was still giving out numbers, as most of the helpers were not running and were co-opted into race marshalling and needed to leave to get to their positions. At 2:50 I said "sod it" and got out for .3 of a mile warmup, bumping into AMK in the process. Lined up beside one of my Raheny buddies DF, about 20 rows from the front.

Off within 30s of getting my place, and settled into a decent pace. I was passed by 60-80 runners for the first 2-3 minutes, until we sorted out our relative positions. I was very conscious of not pushing to hard in the early stages given the very low run volume in Jan running (65miles to that point).

Fantastic support, pretty much the whole route, and a bonus that the weather played ball with only relatively light winds from the west hampering progress in the exposed sections. The new rout proved very acceptable with the closed road on All saints proving to be better than the comparative Howth Road.

First Mile in a pacey 6:25, and mile 2 in 6:35, by halfway I was into my running and beginning to reel in some of my Raheny running partners, with PL first to go. Passed Marshal JF at mile 3 in 6:32 split, and I was beginning to count down the minutes.

Caught sight of EmcN 10m ahead and reeled her in, by the Kids playground. St Annes Avenue offered a glimpse of runners ahead and moving opposite direction. Miles 4 in 6:38, and realising that a sub 33 was on the cards.

Pushed again, and got a few more scalps on the run to exit the park. Only the support and the sounds from Dick Hooper on the loudspeaker kept me going. Pushed on around the park and delighted to see 32:XX on the gantry with only 30m to run. Finished with a sprint and over the line in 32:33 for 6:33 average.

Delighted with the time and result. Not so much that the winter league resumes on Wednesday, and ill be running on tired legs. !...

Raheny 5 - 2018

Had absolutely no expectations for this race, save getting out and running again, given that I had a bad bout of Man Flu for the week. That coupled with doing the numbers on race day, and standing still for 2 hours before the meant that stiffness or cramp could become a factor.

15 mines before the race I was still giving out numbers, as most of the helpers were not running and were co-opted into race marshalling and needed to leave to get to their positions. At 2:50 I said "sod it" and got out for .3 of a mile warmup, bumping into AMK in the process. Lined up beside one of my Raheny buddies DF, about 20 rows from the front.

Off within 30s of getting my place, and settled into a decent pace. I was passed by 60-80 runners for the first 2-3 minutes, until we sorted out our relative positions. I was very conscious of not pushing to hard in the early stages given the very low run volume in Jan running (65miles to that point).

Fantastic support, pretty much the whole route, and a bonus that the weather played ball with only relatively light winds from the west hampering progress in the exposed sections. The new rout proved very acceptable with the closed road on All saints proving to be better than the comparative Howth Road.

First Mile in a pacey 6:25, and mile 2 in 6:35, by halfway I was into my running and beginning to reel in some of my Raheny running partners, with PL first to go. Passed Marshal JF at mile 3 in 6:32 split, and I was beginning to count down the minutes.

Caught sight of EmcN 10m ahead and reeled her in, by the Kids playground. St Annes Avenue offered a glimpse of runners ahead and moving opposite direction. Miles 4 in 6:38, and realising that a sub 33 was on the cards.

Pushed again, and got a few more scalps on the run to exit the park. Only the support and the sounds from Dick Hooper on the loudspeaker kept me going. Pushed on around the park and delighted to see 32:XX on the gantry with only 30m to run. Finished with a sprint and over the line in 32:33 for 6:33 average.

Delighted with the time and result. Not so much that the winter league resumes on Wednesday, and ill be running on tired legs. !...

That is indeed a fine result, especially coming off the back of being ill and not running a lot lately anyway.

I presume that's DF the ref.

That is indeed a fine result, especially coming off the back of being ill and not running a lot lately anyway.

I presume that's DF the ref.

Thanks J, a few weeks ago, I was aiming for 32:5X, but with the few setbacks, 33:5X would have been fine on the day. Still you can underestimate the ability to empty yourself for a home race...

DF the ex Solider ? Bit of a nemeses on the Winter league and Parkrun. ..

Thanks J, a few weeks ago, I was aiming for 32:5X, but with the few setbacks, 33:5X would have been fine on the day. Still you can underestimate the ability to empty yourself for a home race...

DF the ex Solider ? Bit of a nemeses on the Winter league and Parkrun. ..

Yeah, the same fella, although I know of him through the GAA....good tough footballer in his day, refereeing for a number of years now.

31/01/2018 - RS - Winter League - Round 6

A freezing dark, and windy night, but still 45 brave soles turned up for the 3 miler. Still tired from the efforts of the Raheny 5, and 2 days Runmuting, meant that I have scant expectation other than to get out and enjoy myself.

Lined up eventually at 8:10, and off within 30 seconds. Settled in the second pace group with 5 others, including EmcN and DF. Held position at the back of the group for the first mile loop, and after the first 5 minutes running effort levels evened out and the going felt easier. First mile in 6:28.

Immediately after the first mile split call, I made my move, and pashed past 4 of the 5 in the group I was running with. Up on the shoulder of DF, and I was telling myself to hold position and don't pass him until the last mile. Eagerness over took me and I passed him after another 300m.

Pushed hard for 2 minutes until I heard his steps fade. Pushing hard, I was conscious of the fatigue from the 5 mounting. Mile 2 in 6:25.

Last mile and I could make out KF, 20m ahead. Tried to reel him in, but he maintained his advantage. Finished off in 19:21 for 6:33 average. and 7th place.

Happy with the result and getting a few places and seconds over DF in the league...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

How does your league operate? Are there divisions, handicaps, stuff like that?