Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unusual punishments in school

• Registered Users Posts: 17,187 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

Write an essay on the life of a golf ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,615 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Nodin wrote: »
    I heard this, and thus have no idea whether its true or not - it would relate to about 25 years ago - A young one being forced to clean the toilets in a secondary school (run by nuns).

Ah, the nuns, pillars of society. Why doesn't that story surprise me?
    I bet that was one of their lenient punishments.

I remember I was maybe 5 or 6, it was just before corporal punishment
    was outlawed, the teacher, a female, whacking me on the bare hand
    with a wooden ruler. What depraved pleasure could an adult get
    from doing this to a young child? Very disturbed people.

If I saw the cnut today, I'd knock her out! No, hitting women? Damn me to hell.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Jesus, you lot had it rough!

I've not had any majorly unusual ones - I was acting the bollix in maths, so I had to copy out a psalm from the Bible about how I was a sinner... Protestant bitch of a teacher.

I sat in my RE Teacher's chair for a laugh when he left the room, he came back in and marched me to the RE office, where I washed all the mugs up. He made me make him a cup of coffee one lesson for talking during a film (on the last day of term!)

Same teacher once told a mate to draw "1,000 wasps". He did, and was told they weren't wasps, "they were bees"; he was made to re-draw them.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

When I was at school I was beaten regularly every thirty minutes, and it never did me any harm - except for the psychological maladjustment and
    blurred vision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

I remember in 5th class the head master accused me of digging a hole in the desk with my compass (which I did).

I wouldn't admit to it so he slapped me around a good bit and digged the compass into my side, I was in tears and was well embarrassed in front of the class, I went home and told my dad what happened and the next day the head master came into the class and completely apologised for what he did to me in front of the class and the teacher. It kinda helped that my uncle was the regional school inspector! I had diplomatic immunity from that day forward.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

It's wrong of course, but that the reality of schools in the 70s and 80s and tbh I think those who attended school in the 50 and 60s got it even worse. However, it is a tad disturbing to think that certain people put though into designing leathers with coins, sticks with nails, etc. When you think of that mentality and the putting children into their care, it's amazing more people weren't damaged by it.

Then again it would be wrong to paint all of the countries teachers as being like that at the time, so really cared about the kids they had in their care.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Copper23

I was just past the age of going to the christian brothers but a lot of the old school male teachers couldn't get it out of their system.

There was never direct striking of a student but there was plenty of pushing, shoving, shrowing, roaring, mental torture kinda stuff.

During my time in primary the primcipal broke a students arm/wrist a one leg but it was all covered up quite well at the time. Anything from chalk to a table flying at your head wasn't uncommon.

Stupid homework and weird detention activities were normal enough, I was probably too scared crapless at the time to get the worst of it.

The principal would come into the room and ask random things like times tables and god help you if you got your 17 times tables wrong in 1st class or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭ollie1

The worst punishment I ever had when I was in Primary school and was made stand up for 45 minutes with my arms in the air.
    It hurt so bad keeping your arms up for that long I hated that teacher :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Kimono-Girl

unusual punishments we had?

i remember one teacher we had in both junior infants and 3rd class used draw a chalk circle on the floor and we had to stand in it, or another one was to stand on the red bricks during lunch if we were caught talking in english (it was a gaelscoil)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 2,283 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chorcai

There was one bítch of teacher in 3rd class, about 24yrs ago, she beat the living day light out of one the lads. I met him about 2months ago, he still has the marks on his forehead from these huge pointed jewl rings she wore on her fingers. She was one nasty cúnt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

I attended a national primary school where the headmaster used to beat and kick kids as young as 5 like they were adults with the fury of Thor.It was unbelievable, but we actually all kind of loved it , even the kids who used to get leathered all the time.You only got a hiding if you did something wrong,but what a hiding.

One particular incident stands out for it's unusualness.I'll bet it may even be unique.

In 5th class, one of the lads brought in a very softcore porn mag and got nabbed by teacher who notified the head master who promptly arrived and administered the usual introductory pasting, before he'd even seen the evidence.

Having seen the evidence the head grabs the sobbing kid and takes him to the class kitchen area.He proceeds to empty the bottles out of one of those red hard plastic milk-bottle crates with the quad spike separators.

Then he removes the boy's shoes, picks him up, stands him in the crate with his feet on the separators and slams him up and down for 10 -15 seconds.The soles of his feet were so bruised he could barely walk at the end of the day.
    The class thought it was hilarious.

• Registered Users Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

Some of these stories are awful.

Luckily when I attended school you weren't allowed to lay a hand on pupils. However, some of the teachers played psycholoigcal games with you and to this day I am still a bit affected by that. I enjoyed school, but there was one teacher who was a ligtening b***h. I still see her now and shudder

Copper23 wrote: »
    I was just past the age of going to the christian brothers but a lot of the old school male teachers couldn't get it out of their system.

There was never direct striking of a student but there was plenty of pushing, shoving, shrowing, roaring, mental torture kinda stuff.

During my time in primary the primcipal broke a students arm/wrist a one leg but it was all covered up quite well at the time. Anything from chalk to a table flying at your head wasn't uncommon.

Stupid homework and weird detention activities were normal enough, I was probably too scared crapless at the time to get the worst of it.

The principal would come into the room and ask random things like times tables and god help you if you got your 17 times tables wrong in 1st class or something.

Sounds so familiar.We might have gone to the same school.

UpCork wrote: »
    Some of these stories are awful.

Luckily when I attended school you weren't allowed to lay a hand on pupils. However, some of the teachers played psycholoigcal games with you and to this day I am still a bit affected by that. I enjoyed school, but there was one teacher who was a ligtening b***h. I still see her now and shudder

The mind games are a million times worse than any asswhupping.When I went to secondary it was mostly mind games from teachers and that **** never heals.
    There are actually a couple of beatings I took that I am glad about.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,464 ✭✭✭Celly Smunt

there was one teacher who'd make me count all the little holes in a brick on the wall and take a note of it before class and then at the end of the year he made me tell everyone how many little holes were in every little brick in the whole classroom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,919 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

a good crack on the arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,919 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

pmcmahon wrote: »
    there was one teacher who'd make me count all the little holes in a brick on the wall and take a note of it before class and then at the end of the year he made me tell everyone how many little holes were in every little brick in the whole classroom

It could have been worse, you could have been looking at stones rather that bricks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Ice cubed

Beating kids was still permitted in Primary school when I was there, outlawed towards the end but some habits are hard to break. Nothing unusual though, slapped about a bit, rulers across the knuckles.

But the priests and a few of the lay teachers in secondary school...I saw lads getting beatings, punched in the side of the head, canned, kicked. Savage stuff from some very sick people.

A friend of mine did have the pleasure of meeting one of his former teachers in Dublin one night, the man responsable for causing deafness in one of his ears from a beating, which was duly repaid with interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Instead of suspending me, the dean of discipline made me sit in his class everyday for two weeks. At the start of each class i had to sing Mary had a little lamb and then apologise to each class for wasting their time in no less than 500 words. The class then had to decide whether or not to accept my apology. If they didn't then i had to write lines for the rest of the class. Needless to say i had to write lines for every single class. I wrote over 5000 lines in those two weeks. I would have prefered to be back in primary school getting hit with a huge plastic compass(the type you draw circles with)

• Registered Users Posts: 182 ✭✭The Scawgeen

When I was in fourth class I was always getting slaps with the ruler on the hands, but I had this nervous thing where I used to laugh after each slap, the more I got slapped the more I'd laugh, and the nun Sr C*l***a used to get 'madder' the more I'd laugh, anyway my mother told me instead of laughing try to cry or pretend to cry instead.
    One day she was in a hoor of a humour and she hurt me so much with the f**kin' ruler I really did cry, I don't think I ever cried as much, she put me up on the desk and put a jam jar under my chin to catch the tears, 'Cry the Shannon into the jar for Ireland' says she. She had her next least favourite pupil stand up and hold the jam jar under my chin for half an hour to catch the tears, to make a long story short, Sr C. left the classroom to take a telephone call and the other girl went over to the alter and half filled the jam jar with the water from a flower vase, I craved her not to do it. Sr.C came back and one look at the jam jar and she was like a ringing hoor, she went ape****, out came the ruler and both of us got about ten slaps each, nobody in the class said that they saw anything and the whole class got punished also, I think they weren't allowed out at lunchtime, and we were. They liked to play us off each other, I personally didn't like when her pets got away with stuff the rest of us were nearly killed over. I think the twisted c*nt got some sort of pleasure out of making our lives a misery.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

I went to a small national school and when I was in 3rd class I was to say the least a little bit shy. Anyway my evil c**t of a teacher was best buds with this other C**t that taught 2nd class. We used to buy pencils and the like off our teacher and I went up to buy some and being shy said it in a low voice. Well the scabby ould cow started eating the head off me in front of everyone and sent me next door into the other cow who I had to explain to that I was sent in because I would not speak loud enough. Then that f**king heifer also gave me her punishment shouting at the top of my voice HIP HIP HOORAY until she thought id reached the right pitch. What a shower of b**ches and it didnt cure my shyness either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 283 ✭✭mikerowsopht

ahh ye don't know how easy ye all had it.
    I used to get caned at school
    put your hand out, hold in flat, whack
    if you moved your hand you got 2 and so on

count the blades of grass in an area in the school yard

sure I had to walk 5 miles to school in the snow, with no shoes or socks across glass, uphill both ways etc...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,407 ✭✭✭RedXIV

jaysus, i've nothing on that.

I do remember though that we used to get in trouble if caught running, and if you were caught you had to "walk the line" which was a painted rectangle on the school playground. Every lunchtime, used to have a good 30 kids walking the line, remember it fondly :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

alwaysadub wrote: »
    In primary-used to get hung out the 2nd floor window by your ankles, get your head stuck under the cold tap, get the duster flung at you if you weren't paying attention. And that was all by the same teacher!

Mr Casey in the Ballyfermot De La Salle school??

• Registered Users Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Mr Casey in the
    Ballyfermot De La Salle school??

Nope. Jaysus-was there two of them? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭kelle

If we couldn't answer a question or spell a word, our primary school teacher pulled our cheek or the side of our neck - of course, this would help us remember :rolleyes:.

She had cruel exercises like asking everybody in the class to sing a song, but the next person had to sing a different song. By the time it came to the 15th person, it became difficult to think of something different, so she would ask this person, and the next, to stand beside her desk - then slap us all across the face.

First thing in the morning, she would ask one of the pupils to go out and get a stick from under the trees. Sometimes, she would hit so hard the stick broke and one of us would be sent out to find another.

When we got to 3rd class, we had a different teacher. As punishment, he would grab us by the ears lifting us up onto the table, making us stand on the table for the rest of the day.

Parents just accepted it, just a wee hug and "Never mind". I think of when my children were starting school, it was nerveracking enough - but if they had to be under the control of animals like those, I would have been inconsolable.

Thank God things are different today - looking at other posts here it is clear that it was always the wrong kids these teachers picked on.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

Were you in the Delear crazy rabbit?

alwaysadub wrote: »
    Nope. Jaysus-was there two of them? :eek:

I guess so. Mr Casey was old-school. Very very good at getting you to learn, and quickly. But a right bastard when it came to punishments. He'd regularly give us 'haymaker' punches if he even suspected we'd done anything (unexpected noise, whispering etc). He basically took the Stalin/Kim Jong-il approach...rule by fear.

He only ever got into trouble when he hung one of the students upside down from out the 2nd floor window. And that's why your post made me think it was the same teacher.

Odysseus wrote: »
    Were you in the Delear crazy rabbit?

Yup. For a few years. Lived there for a while (In Ballyer, not 'in' the school)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

bigneacy wrote: »
    I got a fair few pieces of chalk and dusters thrown at me for not paying attention... we always got the old reliable - made stand with the seat down, so that your legs could not straighten... Got the essays about the inside of golf balls, writing out the phonebook, lines etc.

Strange to think this was about 15 years ago... It'd be front page news if it happened today! Stupid PC society. Did us no harm.

(I'm talking after corporal punishment.... that was just sick and wrong... screwed a lot of people up in the head)

Benildus?