Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Take Me Out - Irish Version [ATTN: Please read Mod Note in OP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭FrostyJack

donfers wrote: »
    Disclaimer: I'm not saying the gals on the show are hideous toads, I am using an extreme analogy to illustrate my point

Yes you are mate. If you weren't, then the rant before the disclaimer has no basis. Not the first time you contradicted yourself in that post either ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭adomino

Newlie unemplied as lost job as panel beater due to those bankers and Anglo, hav decided to start postin on dis 2 pas de time :mad: Watchd dis show for 1st tme on the world wide wen, waz embarazed for all involved. De amount of tick, ignorant people on de show was bafflin. Seemed to be full of nackers and attention seekers.

De contestants must have been stuck and desperete. De fireman was the one bright lite, seemd up for the buzz. De rest were useless and stoopid. The curly haired lad will regret goin on and the Beckham chap seemd like a clown and got his just deserts. Taut it was rather patetic de way he said the womin were not good lookin after they shot him down. Lookd like sour grapes 2 me, obviously a bit stoopid too doin the Beckham impression wearin an English jerzey. Any ticko could tell you that the lower class element Sinn Fein supporters on the show were not going 2 be impresed. Patetic show.

howaiya! da foyerman says it woz all fweezin that noight an all so it woz

Why are so many people from the show becoming members of boards to post on here and try to deflect the criticism, seems to me that the whole "we couldn't care less, we're only having a bit of craic" stuff is nonsense.

Don't go on a tv show if you are so hypersensitive that a few comments from strangers provokes your outrage.

Nobody is saying that girls should drop their standards or give a guy a chance who they don't fancy so your argument is fallacious

I think what a lot of people on here are saying is that the girls on the show don't seem very nice, attractive or intelligent and thus it is surprising that they reject a series of guys (to be fair some of the guys are oddballs too). To be fair it's in the nature of the show for the contestants to behave in asuperficial way but you'd have to question why people go on it and why they are chosen to go on it and no that "sure, it's a bit of craic" argument doesn't cover it.

tis all a bit of craic my **** , yea for them standing behind their safe light box. lets swing it around and let them go up.

@nig: you hardly believe now they turned their light off for fear of rejection? didnt stop them leaving it on for mr fireman. its the old safe cop out you got there young man. you be grand, its obvious theyre not looking for a nice fella but a stripper. nice fella, cross it out = lots of money, fancy car, six pack, brain or no brain, as long as theres great gain. gardas, solicitors, even rugby players now are the in thing, sure where is the love in that? a nice fella is a walk over in comparison to a bad boy, player, one more likely to kick the **** out of them, but thats what they want? or hold on, they want a nice fella. you cant feckin win, only that...

ye don't know what ye want, until youre about 35 when nobody else wants you lol

this all leads us to the fussy debate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

FrostyJack wrote: »
    Yes you are mate. If you weren't, then the rant before the disclaimer has no basis. Not the first time you contradicted yourself in that post either ;)

No I'm not mate, don't put words in my mouth, i'll distill it so you might better understand me- some of the girls in my view were rejecting guys that were either in their league or above their league - I just commented on that phenomenon, it wasn't a rant either.

Please go ahead and point out the so-called other contradictions in my post, oh and go ahead and offer us your own view while you're at it (on the lights out phenomenon rather than focusing solely on the tone of my posts)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭fruvai

nig09 wrote: »
    Learn how to spell before you post on boards.
    And know it wasn't sour grapes.

Learn the difference between 'know' and 'no' before you post on boards. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Why are so many people from the show becoming members of boards to post on here and try to deflect the criticism, seems to me that the whole "we couldn't care less, we're only having a bit of craic" stuff is nonsense.

Don't go on a tv show if you are so hypersensitive that a few comments from strangers provokes your outrage.

Nobody is saying that girls should drop their standards or give a guy a chance who they don't fancy so your argument is fallacious

I think what a lot of people on here are saying is that the girls on the show don't seem very nice, attractive or intelligent and thus it is surprising that they reject a series of guys (to be fair some of the guys are oddballs too). To be fair it's in the nature of the show for the contestants to behave in asuperficial way but you'd have to question why people go on it and why they are chosen to go on it and no that "sure, it's a bit of craic" argument doesn't cover it.

Thus the conclusion is that nobody is saying that the gals whould go with a guy just to be nice, what we are saying is to be aware of your own "value" (for want of a better word)

If you are a hideous toad don't be expecting to kiss a prince anytime soon as you'll be waiting a while (although sometimes the guy will settle for a quick shag but no more than that)

Disclaimer: I'm not saying the gals on the show are hideous toads, I am using an extreme analogy to illustrate my point

Haha I didn't sign up to boards for this thread. I've read a bit but didn't want to post. Then when I saw people taking the 'male suicide' angle I had to say something to quell the madness. I also don't want to be 'one of the people from the show', I just felt I should state a vested interest in it. None of this has anything to do with whether or not I was on it.

The problem is people are complaining, then saying the result of a complaint, therefore it's easy to assume that you are saying that the result would not be there if not for the initial complaint. For example, if I said, "The government are killing the economy because they are bailing out the banks"...the inference would be that they should stop bailing out the banks to save the economy.

It's the exact same thing as saying, "Girls are fussy and that leads to male suicide". Except, when you see that argument laid out to you in leyman's terms, you're starting to realise that it's absolutely ridiculous and back-track. ;)

Now...all that you're really arguing is, "I'm not saying the government SHOULDN'T bail out the banks. It's just surprising that they are when the country is in such a mess..."

It must be cold sitting on fences in this weather is it? :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,634 ✭✭✭✭Richard Dower

leggo wrote: »

Rachel, is that you :confused:

fruvai wrote: »
    Learn the difference between 'know' and 'no' before you post on boards. :D

That + there is a capital letter in Boards :p

No I'm not mate, don't put words in my mouth, i'll distill it so you might better understand me- some of the girls in my view were rejecting guys that were either in their league or above their league - I just commented on that phenomenon, it wasn't a rant either.

Please go ahead and point out the so-called other contradictions in my post, oh and go ahead and offer us your own view while you're at it (on the lights out phenomenon rather than focusing solely on the tone of my posts)
    Nobody is saying that girls should drop their standards
    people on here are saying is that the girls on the show don't seem very nice, attractive or intelligent and thus it is surprising that they reject a series of guys
    If you are a hideous toad don't be expecting to kiss a prince anytime soon

You say nobody should drop their standards but are surprised when they don't. You say some of the girls are not nice or attractive then say you aren't calling them toads? You are wording things differently with the same meaning.

As for where I sit on the lights out. Read back through the thread I commented on most of them what I thought at the time. Natural selection will always mean the opposite sex will always want the better of two options and the fact it is an entertainment show means that they do not have to "settle" for anyone. As I have said before some of the lights out have been harsh and some reasons giving have been stupid but at the end of the day who cares. Why should you dictate who goes with who, who's in who's league. You only see the girls for a 20 second sound byte between rounds, yet you know their life story?

As for the other posts relating suicide to Irish women, of course rejection can lead to depression of sorts but to put it as the main factor is ridiculous and especially relating it to the show, if it wasn't such a serious issue I would laugh. If every guy who was ever rejected or embarressed threw themselves off a bridge I think this island would be male free fairly soon. Most of the suicide cases I know of personally ALL were going out with great girls so in those cases there must have been other major factors. This is going miles off topic.

It's the exact same thing as saying, "Girls are fussy and that leads to male suicide". Except, when you see that argument laid out to you in leyman's terms, you're starting to realise that it's absolutely ridiculous and back-track. ;)

Now...all that you're really arguing is, "I'm not saying the government SHOULDN'T bail out the banks. It's just surprising that they are when the country is in such a mess..."

finished? and perhaps the reason the government failed was because it was
    controlled by... men? you're heading that way so i might as well say it for you.

so you agree then, that relationship problems, difficulties etc have had rubbish all to do with suicide, particularly amongst young men as it far exceeds female?

"Girls are fussy and that leads to male suicide"

theres a difference in saying 'that' and 'can' lead. it can be a factor within lets call it 'relationship difficulties' and to dismiss it is ignorance. likewise vice versa, can lead to female suicide or attempt to do it. brush it under the carpet there, cos really nobody wants to talk about it, just ignore it and call these people 'selfish' or perhaps 'shallow'?

i think we've seen enough shallow, superficiality on that tv show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

As for the other posts relating suicide to Irish women, of course rejection can lead to depression of sorts but to put it as the main factor is ridiculous and especially relating it to the show, if it wasn't such a serious issue I would laugh.

Did you even read my post or are you just twisting my words around to strengthen your own stance on this? I said:

"I don't think people are suggesting that women should drop their standards or men will kill themselves, I don't think that it is as straight forward as that and there are many different factors to be taken into consideration".

Where in that quote do you see me suggesting that female rejection is the main factor in male suicide? :confused:
    If every guy who was ever rejected or embarressed threw themselves off a bridge I think this island would be male free fairly soon. Most of the suicide cases I know of personally ALL were going out with great girls so in those cases there must have been other major factors. This is going miles off topic.

Of course there are other major factors, nobody is disputing that fact, you even said yourself that rejection can lead to depression yet still deny that it has anything to do with it :confused:

It's like someone saying that junk-food is one of the factors in people becoming overweight. Then people arguing that they always eat McDonalds and aren't fat and they know loads of other people that eat lots of takeaways but are still of average weight. Well that's marvellous, but it still doesn't mean that people don't became fat or even obese by eating junk-food. Is junk-food the only factor in becoming overweight? Of course not, other factors like lack of exercise, slow metabolism, illness, hormones, etc can lead to becoming overweight so eating unheatlhy is just a part of it.

Okay that was just another example, it was obviously be picked apart like my 'farmers' one but at least posters are tying to make points and back them up in layman's terms with simple examples. I could have just stuck with the trend of this thread and said something like this:

"Yez wanna ta b bleenin' tick knot ta tink that fellez toppin' demselvz haz nuthin' got ta do wit youngwanz who are rejectin' dem coz dare 2 bleen' stuk up 4 dare owen gud. In uttr wurdz fah, bet down lookin' Irish burdz wood wanna cop da fuk on an kno dare roll in sosyity an chut dare bleen' gobs an stop actin' like dare Miss Bleen' Unneveress or sumtin.........coz dare far from it"!

adomino wrote: »
    finished? and perhaps the reason the government failed was because it was
    controlled by... men? you're heading that way so i might as well say it for you.

so you agree then, that relationship problems, difficulties etc have had rubbish all to do with suicide, particularly amongst young men as it far exceeds female?

"Girls are fussy and that leads to male suicide"

theres a difference in saying 'that' and 'can' lead. it can be a factor within lets call it 'relationship difficulties' and to dismiss it is ignorance. likewise vice versa, can lead to female suicide or attempt to do it. brush it under the carpet there, cos really nobody wants to talk about it, just ignore it and call these people 'selfish' or perhaps 'shallow'?

i think we've seen enough shallow, superficiality on that tv show.

I don't see how people can still type this stuff and not see how ridiculous they're sounding.

You're still arguing that females should drop their standards for the sake of protecting men from commiting suicide. Whether you like to word it that way or not...that's what you're arguing!

If I'm not...or you're not...attracted to someone, I shouldn't FORCE myself to be attracted to them for the sake of protecting their life.

If men feel suicidal because they're not attracting women then the onus is on them to change that...not the women to 'settle for less' to appease them. That brings with it its own set of problems. There's nothing wrong with a woman (or man) having high standards and doing what he/she can to uphold them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭santana75

Elysium wrote: »
    Thanks Santana ;)

You're welcome Mairead/Lorraine:). Go easy on the lads ok, you dont want to be contributing to the male suicide rate in this country.........

Phat Cat wrote: »
    Did you even read my post or are you just twisting my words around to strengthen your own stance on this? I said:

"I don't think people are suggesting that women should drop their standards or men will kill themselves, I don't think that it is as straight forward as that and there are many different factors to be taken into consideration".

Where in that quote do you see me suggesting that female rejection is the main factor in male suicide? :confused:

I would bother responding only you didn't bother to see that I wasn't talking to you in the first place, unless you are posting under 2 accounts :o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

I would bother responding only you didn't bother to see that I wasn't talking to you in the first place, unless you are posting under 2 accounts :o

well if you were talking to me about the male suicide thing then I don't see why as I never mentioned it

again I say

I don't advocate anybody dropping their standards, what I do suggest is people get real and be aware of their "value".

To boil it down even more

a girl of 4/10 physical attractiveness has the right to reject anybody she wants.

If a girl of 4/10 attractiveness rejects a guy of 4/10 attractiveness or below then I will accept that and will not criticise her

If a girl of 4/10 attractiveness rejects a guy of 5/10 or even 6/10 attractiveness then I can even accept that although it strikes me as a lack of self-awareness on her part and perhaps being a victim of the hollywood syndrome and holding out for Mr. Wonderful (buying into slushy pop songs and rom-coms)

If she (4/10 girl) rejects a guy of 7/10 or above then she has the right to do that but I will openly criticise her for being delusional in terms of her own level of attractiveness and expectations in terms of finding a partner, she will be destined to be alone (except for maybe a few one night stands with high value males who have no intention of having a meaningful with her) and have to settle maybe for a 1/10 or 2/10 man when she is 35 and panicking about having kids

a very simplistic analysis but there you go

you see I want people to get with people, I am but a poor idealistic matchmaker who wants to unite the sexes (according to a pre-arranged rating system) and watch them blossom and grow

I want to end the bitterness caused by the delusions

the number of times I've heard a girl saying "the perfect guy was before my very eyes all the time" and "although I fancied him I was holding out for male model/stripper guy etc." and male model/stripper guy would usually sleep with her and dump her and then she'd go running to nice guy and realise she fancied him along and he was great but maybe by that stage he's bitter himself

this post is a mess, isn't it?

but trust every word as I am wise!

Well I am extremely privileged that you took time out of your very busy schedule to answer me even though, and yet again, you have made zero contribution to this discussion. Plus the fact that you are now even resorting to nit picking and making accusations shows that your arguments are weak and you cannot back up anything you say.

Also for your information, you said, and I quote: "As for the other posts relating suicide to Irish women". That was posts, as in plural, that you wrote and not post, as in singular, correct? Because if you said post then you would be referring solely to donfers but you said posts so that would mean anyone who commented on this topic.

santana75 wrote: »
    You're welcome Mairead/Lorraine:). Go easy on the lads ok, you dont want to be contributing to the male suicide rate in this country.........

Making jokes about suicide.......and even getting thanked for it! :eek: That's a new low for a thread that was already lower then a snakes belly to begin with.

As for the other posts relating suicide to Irish women, of course rejection can lead to depression of sorts but to put it as the main factor is ridiculous

ah ah now now, there you go again, none of us said that. it can, it will, and has had lead to depression and downwards amongst other reasons.

higher demands, no other bag will do, it has to be louis vuiton or whatever. greed, materialism, mass media overloading their brains with pure rubbish.

I don't see how people can still type this stuff and not see how ridiculous they're sounding.

You're still arguing that females should drop their standards for the sake of protecting men from commiting suicide. Whether you like to word it that way or not...that's what you're arguing!

If I'm not...or you're not...attracted to someone, I shouldn't FORCE myself to be attracted to them for the sake of protecting their life.

If men feel suicidal because they're not attracting women then the onus is on them to change that...not the women to 'settle for less' to appease them. That brings with it its own set of problems. There's nothing wrong with a woman (or man) having high standards and doing what he/she can to uphold them.

i never argued anything of the sort, that they should drop their standards, biffo has though :)

you're blowing this thing way up

Phat Cat wrote: »
    Making jokes about suicide.......and even getting thanked for it! :eek: That's a new low for a thread that was already lower then a snakes belly to begin with.

:rolleyes: i think most posts are tongue-in-cheek, nobody is seriously suggesting male suicide is being linked to this show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,940 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

this thread is getting hilarious now!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 mynamesjay

Its true to say in most cases people end up with people of an equal level of attractiveness... Attractiveness not always based solely on looks but on achievements, personality, success, intelligence etc. The only thing I find frustrating is watching guys walk out on that runaway on the show and appear to have no awareness of how what they say or do is going to affect there chances of getting the date. Women can turn down who they want - Just hate when they give reasons like the guy doing a sport etc and say, "when will he have time for me foley?" ... Also is sickening to see bunches of women salivating over the muscley stripper dude while ignoring other guys but thats just reality and one sided, because I know if I were there I would be swayed by a women having impressive "assets" :D Can anyone tell me do the guys get any control over the editing of there video section?

adomino : it can have severe negative effects on the 'not so tough' male, finding it more and more difficult to mate, and keep up with their unreal sensibility. a resulting factor on young male suicide
    Raekwon :That's actually quite interesting because I already mentioned something on this thread about the link between Irish women's attitudes and the high percentage of Irish male suicide.
    Phat Cat: But to totally dismiss the link between Irish male suicide and the negative effect Irish women have on their mental heath would be foolish and naive IMO....
    all I said was that you cannot dismiss the link between male suicide and women's negative attitudes in modern society after two other posters had already brought it up in the first place!
    adomino :ah ah now now, there you go again, none of us said that. it can, it will, and has had lead to depression and downwards amongst other reasons.

I never said it wasn't a factor, I said it is, you guys brought it up in relation to the show, do you go on threads about economics and say "...and it is one of the major factors of Irish male suicide", no you don't so you must see this as a major factor if you felt it needed to be brought up on a thread about a light hearted show. If you are looking for some facts to read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_suicide_rate , Ireland is 50th , Sweden is 28th. The people in Sweden are MUCH better looking than here and they are much nicer, smarter people. Obviously isolation, culture and lifestyles are much higher factors. Also you will see the Eastern European countries are generally higher as well. The grass is always greener on the other side!
    Richard Dower :nobody is seriously suggesting male suicide is being linked to this show.

It was brought up in this thread so I fear some people do
    Anyway that is slightly off topic and probably deserves it's own thread because you could talk forever about it.

Good idea, take it to AH or something and lets keep this thread on topic. That is all I have to say on the matter to prevent it going even further off.
    you said, and I quote: "As for the other posts relating suicide to Irish women". That was posts, as in plural, that you wrote and not post, as in singular, correct? Because if you said post then you would be referring solely to donfers but you said posts so that would mean anyone who commented on this topic.

You are correct, I was extremely tired yesterday and I didn't full read all the posts. My apologies, I will try to pay more attention in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,397 ✭✭✭✭FreudianSlippers

Wait, is somebody trying to seriously put forward that being rejected on Take Me Out is leading to more male suicides, or... am I just super confused?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

OisinT wrote: »
    Wait, is somebody trying to seriously put forward that being rejected on Take Me Out is leading to more male suicides, or... am I just super confused?
    Hmmm...well after the first episode, someone commented on the fact that these women were too fussy and said something along the lines of "no wonder so many Irish men commit suicide," to which i replied with something like "please don't suggest you could link the two."

I hope the poster wasn't thinking straight when he made that comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Titian

All this suicide talk is making me depressed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 mimz2010

well if you were talking to me about the male suicide thing then I don't see why as I never mentioned it

again I say

I don't advocate anybody dropping their standards, what I do suggest is people get real and be aware of their "value".

To boil it down even more

a girl of 4/10 physical attractiveness has the right to reject anybody she wants.

If a girl of 4/10 attractiveness rejects a guy of 4/10 attractiveness or below then I will accept that and will not criticise her

If a girl of 4/10 attractiveness rejects a guy of 5/10 or even 6/10 attractiveness then I can even accept that although it strikes me as a lack of self-awareness on her part and perhaps being a victim of the hollywood syndrome and holding out for Mr. Wonderful (buying into slushy pop songs and rom-coms)

If she (4/10 girl) rejects a guy of 7/10 or above then she has the right to do that but I will openly criticise her for being delusional in terms of her own level of attractiveness and expectations in terms of finding a partner, she will be destined to be alone (except for maybe a few one night stands with high value males who have no intention of having a meaningful with her) and have to settle maybe for a 1/10 or 2/10 man when she is 35 and panicking about having kids

a very simplistic analysis but there you go

okay, so i wasnt gonna bother sayin anythin cuz ye get so worked up, but just read that there.....so here goes.....
    if you have been watchin the show, kinda shows that EVERYONE has different taste,no one has the same taste!! Who I may think is a ' 9/10' the next girl may think is revolting,its down to personal taste!
    Yes, I'm another girl from the show, got taken out, by one of the nicest guys I've ever met, and who I think is gorgeous, but saying that, I've been asked, by numerous people, what the hell I was thinkin!! And it's not a reflection on the guy at all, it's all down to personal taste. When people don't realise this, they shouldn't bother givin an opinion!!always remember,no one is the same and everyone is different and you can't blame them for that!!!
    :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭rebel10

Titian wrote: »
    All this suicide talk is making me depressed
    Yes, i think its time we moved on.
    Only in Ireland, could a light-hearted discussion of a tacky dating show suddenly shift focus towards a discussion of male suicide.:rolleyes:
    We Irish would feel too much guilt for being too chirpy!

And moving on.....

Forget Ireland. Only on boards...haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Wow this thread really has derailed, I feel kind of responsible.......opps :D
    rebel10 wrote: »
    Hmmm...well after the first episode, someone commented on the fact that these women were too fussy and said something along the lines of "no wonder so many Irish men commit suicide," to which i replied with something like "please don't suggest you could link the two."

I hope the poster wasn't thinking straight when he made that comment.

I said it and yes I was thinking straight, but not in context to the show which is just abit of fun more then anything. But in all seriousness I wouldn't blame a fella feeling suicidal after being rejected by 30 very average looking yokes that think that they are gods gift to mankind. At least on the English show some of the girls are absolutely stunning! Niamh C is the only stunner on the Irish show. Btw it would be interesting to see if the tables were turned and 30 blokes started to make comments on 1 female contestant like "I turned off my light because she has an arse like a hippo and she has a tash like me da". There would be blue murder!

But please, no more talk of suicide, with this weather and with the economy in the state it's in I think we could be putting ideas in some peoples heads ;)